Your kiss is on my list

Standard

While I told you about several men who have met me for coffee,

I am giving you just examples of the variety of men who I would never

have run into during the course of my everyday life. That is the reason to

look at online dating sites and other meet-up and group functions.

I would like to tell you that of those 100 first dates, only 3 got kisses

and that is NOT because they bought me dinner!

I was not sure about one who I felt should be in the friend category

right from the beginning. That person is a good man who is raising

wife is. They stay with him, he has a neighborhood pool close by.

This man is named Gary. He is a sports writer and editor for the

Columbus Dispatch. He is caring and takes them to movies with their

friends, too. He recently, even took his daughter and friend to Cedar

Point. This is amazing on two levels, his and hers.

Who has a teenager who would allow his/her Dad to hang out with them

at Cedar Point? Or anywhere these days? More power to that relationship!

I just allowed  time to share ice cream and coffee on the date with this guy,

but did think that we could try a kiss.

It might make me change my mind on whether I felt he was ‘just a friend.’

Nothing ventured, nothing gained, right?

I know that is so basic (probably dumb to make conclusions from…)

maybe not realistic to judge whether there is “chemistry” but it did help me

to determine he was just a friend.

The other two kissers out of 100 dates include the man who pulled my hair,

if you want to look back at that disaster it was entitled “you know things aren’t

going well when…” and the other man is the one who I am taking a big chance

on. He is the “bad boy/man” that I am starting to care about because of that

darn kiss.

Faith Hill is so right in her song about kissing, Cher is also right about

its all about the kiss, and I think maybe even Shania is one who would

agree the way you kiss a woman can clinch the deal. And of course,

the great Hall and Oates, “Your Kiss Is On My List (for the best things

in life…)”

If the kiss knocks your socks off, it is hard not to move onto

date #2

or 3 or….

Unfortunately, I am old enough to know that is no guarantee of any

sort of commitment, emotion or lasting outcome. I cannot help my

reaction though, and it makes me think of a much older song from

of all things, the musical “My Fair Lady.” When poor Eliza Doolittle

is being courted/wooed, she sings a song about “Don’t tell me….

just show me!” Meaning don’t tell me all of your love and affection

grab me and kiss me, man!

About reocochran

I am experiencing crazy and hapless adventures in dating that may interest people over fifty. I am now approaching 62 later this year and enjoy taking photographs, incorporating stories or poetry on my blog. I have many old posts which are informative and written like essays. I have several love stories collected from family and friends. Even strangers spill their stories, since I am a grown version of the girl next door. I have been trying to live a healthy lifestyle with better food selections and active hiking and walking. I have written four children's books and illustrated them. They are not published but a battered women's shelter used one about neglect and abuse for their children's program and a 4H group used my "Kissing a Bunny is like saying a Prayer" as a coloring book. Please comment or respond so I may get a chance to know you. Sincerely, Robin

2 responses »

  1. What about the man who hasn’t tried to kiss, now past date #4? Hmmmm, I could use some advice here…. 😉

    • I am not sure I am an expert. I have men who think a hug means a kiss. I always give hugs and turn my cheek to receive the sisterly kiss. I try to use my words to show my interest and affection, which as we get older we get bolder! So, if you would like a kiss, tell the man if he is taller to lean down for a second, then kiss him. Or, ask, would you like to kiss me, please do….take care and good luck!

Leave a Reply

