Force of Nature

Standard

When I arrived at work at 6:45 a.m. this morning, my good filipino

friends were chattering about something, with a distraught look

on their faces and a higher pitch to their native language. I have

spoken about my friends, Mary Jane (“M.J.”), May and Felda. I am

closest to Felda, due to her daughter going to my grandsons’

babysitter that I matched her with back four years ago.

It turns out there was an earthquake sometime recently, during

the night on the island of Cebu. Felda was awakened early with

a call from her siblings who said they were fine, along with her

dear, precious mother. I was relieved but could tell there were

others who may have some destruction… I inquired of Felda,

“Were there any other friends or family injured or houses

demolished?”

She held my hand, squeezed it and said, that her very special

cousin who is also in her late thirties had a big crack in the entire

house. Walls were crumbling inward, so they had to gather a few

of their memorabilia and leave for a different, safer location.

M.J. was still upset, so I asked her while she was speaking to May,

“Excuse me, how are both of your families?”

May said her parents and siblings were very well and not near the

epicenter of the quake. She was still worried about one sister who

was away at college on a different area from the earthquake. She

had not answered her phone. Mary Jane told me her mother was

nervous, she has had a heart attack in the last two years, her father

had passed away the first year M.J. came to work at Advance Auto

distribution center. I asked if maybe her husband, David, who is

sometimes off and not well, could connect with them all via Skype

or emails while we had to put our phones in our lockers until first

break?

Mary Jane (who can be sarcastic and funny, in a rather bawdy way,

answered, “Are you kidding me? Robin, that man is so lazy that he

won’t even consider helping me move a dish from the table back

to the sink, where I am washing dishes!”

We burst into laughter at her tone and emphasis! She is used to

being our “comic relief” during exercises, morning meetings and

even our upcoming Quarterly meeting (which is tomorrow, Wed.

Oct. 16th). She rolled her eyes, shrugged her shoulders and told

her 2 younger friends,

“Whatever happens is meant to be! Robin, say a prayer for our

families and homes, please!”

We all exchanged hugs then, the trio whispering a few contrite

requests I believe to God. (They are all devoted Catholics.)

We disbursed to get our equipment and find out our daily area

assignments since at 7:00 a.m. we would be doing exercises with

our boss and boss’ boss today.

Keep the Philippines and its people in your prayers and any other

surrounding areas that may be effected by the earthquake on Cebu.

Especially, if you are one to pray, include my three friends who are

all citizens, having married men who they mutually chose and fell

in love with here on the “mainland.”

About reocochran

I am experiencing crazy and hapless adventures in dating that may interest people over fifty. I am now approaching 62 later this year and enjoy taking photographs, incorporating stories or poetry on my blog. I have many old posts which are informative and written like essays. I have several love stories collected from family and friends. Even strangers spill their stories, since I am a grown version of the girl next door. I have been trying to live a healthy lifestyle with better food selections and active hiking and walking. I have written four children's books and illustrated them. They are not published but a battered women's shelter used one about neglect and abuse for their children's program and a 4H group used my "Kissing a Bunny is like saying a Prayer" as a coloring book. Please comment or respond so I may get a chance to know you. Sincerely, Robin

15 responses »

    • I am so glad that you are well informed and keeping the people in the world in your prayers! I am definitely glad to have met these three women, working with them is very wonderful and being included in what they term “filipino parties,” is especially a treat for me!

    • Thank you so very much, every prayer added together will be voices sent to Heaven! I love these women and their families, too. Felda’s baby is going to be christened on Sunday and I am invited to the church and also the filipino party afterwards! I love the unique foods and I always bring a dish that my family likes to share, too.

  1. I’ll be keeping them in my thoughts and prayers. Earthquakes are dreadful, experienced one in 1994 (Northridge, California). I thought I was going to faint from the fear. My husband (boyfriend at the time) kept trying to get me up to go under a door frame, but my legs couldn’t move. He managed to drag me before a glass frame came down the wall where I had been!

    • Thank you, Brenda! I appreciate that the news doesn’t cover everything but earthquakes and monsoons, along with natural disasters should be focused on. There may be travelers or family members somewhere that would be affected. I don’t know if the Weather Channel may have covered this. I would not have heard had I not made friends with these 3!

      • I agree we are a global community now with connections everywhere. The news should do a better job for us. Sadly, we often look at the BBC for news. That’s not even US!

    • Thank you for your thoughts about those there in the Philippines. I was relieved that the one who had a college sister was found and they are not suffering from anything else. So sorry about the cousin’s split house and the walls caving inward, though. That is devastating and I am not sure how insurance covers that on islands with the different forces of nature….

Leave a Reply

