Have You Ever Been Framed?

Standard

Super sleuths and detectives face the possibility that

the ones who are the accused in some murder mysteries

may actually have been “framed!”

I would like to analyze the definition of “framed.”

As an adjective, it has only two meanings in a modern

dictionary:

The first one says,

“Of a picture or similar, held in the frame.”

And the second one says,

“Of a building, having a frame of a specific material.”

Then, if you look farther, you can find the word,

“framed” being used in film and the industry. Another use

of the word can be on a computer. In photography, you

may use a bright scene at the end of the tunnel, using

the dark tunnel as a frame. Or a window or doorway can

also “frame” a picture. I have “framed” a beautiful

photograph in my collection, using an old, battered

gray doorway of a barn, looking out on a pastoral

scene.

In literature, this definition is one which we, as

writers, may utilize. You can use “framing” as a

literary device, where a secondary story or stories

are embedded in the main story. I think sometimes this

is a wonderful and very fascinating way of writing

(and reading another’s work.)

Since the period of 1895 (or around the 1900’s), the

phrase, it’s a “frame-up” first appeared. I like this

‘slang’ usage by sleuths and police detectives the best.

I am such a murder mystery fan! The primary suspect in

most murders is the spouse or a family member. This

person sometimes can be “framed.” I am sure that you

know this reference and it is a great way to throw

people ‘off the track’ of the true murderer!

In this case, when someone who is not guilty, is being

“framed,” it is being used as a noun. The meaning is a

“fraudulent incrimination of an innocent person.”

The next part of this post, is my own inventive way

of playing with both the words, “frame” and “framed!”

I did not find this somewhere else, I created this

fun way of wordplay.

There is always your “frame of mind.”

Another way of looking at things is to change

your “frame of reference.”

We have all been “framed” in photographs on our

parents’ walls, from childhood until we graduate

and ‘do them proud!’

Do you wear glasses? My “frames” are forever

getting bent, since I like to lie down while

viewing television.

I take my “frames” off, to read a book or look

at the needle to thread it, in sewing.

Children with bangs and some adults, look nice

while their face is “framed” with their hair.

When a parent or lover holds your face in his

or her hands, it is “framed” with love.

When we “framed” in the second house I ever lived

in, it was in Bretton Ridge development, North

Olmsted, Ohio. We loved collecting pop bottles

and turning them in for penny candy, at Szarka’s

Delicatessen.

This was while I was in third grade, the last

picture taken in elementary school, before my

parents invested in glasses “frames” for me.

After that, my “frames” ranged from being black

with white sparkles, cat-like in appearance,

to a crazy and bold red pair.

When I “framed” my three children in their senior

year high school photos, I chose three individually

unique picture “frames.”

My oldest daughter had an ornate cream-colored

ceramic “frame,” with her artistically posed photo

of a Roman column she is leaning against.

Carrie is wearing a black, gray and white ‘floaty’

print dress she bought at an antique dress shop,

that is no longer around Delaware. It used to be

a place to get costumes for theater productions

and it was called, “Captain Betty’s.”

Captain Betty had a huge poster with famous band

members’ signatures who had visited in Central

Ohio and chosen to stop in to purchase one of her

fantastic vintage clothing items. These ranged from

the Flapper age through the seventies. That poster,

“framed” in black, is a wonderful piece of memorabilia!

Might bring a ‘pretty penny’ to the family!

I dropped off a big box of my seventies’ clothes,

donated to her shop, for all the times she had

helped Carrie choose a special outfit for a dance

or play. (I am afraid she had been ill, possibly

passed away… My friend says only a few months

ago.)

The second senior photograph is in a rugged pine

“frame” and holds my son, James, sitting in a

large armchair, where the photographer threw a

white sheet over. He is ‘posed,’how I asked him

to sit. The photographer allowed me to “frame” him

in this chair. With his bare feet and lovely toes

I used to tickle and even, while he was a baby,

nibble on. Jamie’s pose is a natural one.

The last “frame” is a golden one. If you ever saw

my youngest daughter, Felicia, you may understand

why I chose this frame. She has golden hair, a

throw-back to my Swedish Grandpa Mattson. She was

a runner-up for Homecoming Queen, a soccer player,

a long distance runner when they benched her in

soccer, and third place winner of Cross Country

regionals.

When she was in high school they called, Felicia,

“Fox.” She was called that, as she placed a mini-

microphone into people’s faces, interviewing them

for her high school news channel. “Fox on your side.”

Then, like a different spin on that, she was using

for awhile this ‘brand’ for her blog, “Finding Your

Fox.” She has been, even at age 28, fighting and

winning her battle against her rheumatoid arthritis.

She was diagnosed at age 13, (called JRA) and we feel

it may have started at age 11.

How do you best enjoy the word, “framed?”

Have you chosen special photographs to place in

a prominent place on your walls or mantel?

How did you match the subject matter or their

occupants with the “frames” you chose?

18 responses »

  1. Fascinating post, Robin. I like framing as a literary device. It seems to be a natural way to provide context to a story. Or ballast, if that makes sense. I often try to use frames that match the room they are in, but when I take something to be professionally framed, it’s what looks best for the picture being framed. I have one long hallway with photos and they are all in plain black frames. If they were individually framed according to what looks best for each picture, each one would be best set off, but the wall would be chaotic, I think. This way, the frames fall into the background and you just see the photos for what they are–my smiling kids ;).

    • I’m glad you agree that it is interesting to use the devise of framing a story. I agree with the way you may group pictures in similar frames, to allow the photos to show the faces shining out at you! I have done this many different ways, enjoy both techniques. I can see how if you had a whole hallway of pictures that they may look chaotic. My brother’s artwork, if they are mosaics all have the same frames. But his paintings, are like the ones you take to the frame shop, individually matted and framed to enhance the artwork. Carrie’s artwork, also have their own individual frames. I like that the pen and ink drawings and the mosaics have black frames. I am happy with the individuality and creative look that the three children have their own ‘style’ of frames. I wrote a review of a woman who wrote a memoir and also, a novel. (Posting this tomorrow.) Thanks for your supportive comments, Luanne!

  2. I am forever unintentionally most of the time framing words into poetic little ditties or flash fiction pieced. I tend to stay within the fame of the page to draw my picture or to let readers draw their own conclusions. Word play is fun. Thanks for an entertainingly framed post!

  3. It is an interesting concept when the definitions of a single word can be so contrasting, Robin. Somebody must hate you a bunch to frame you for a crime. On the other hand, somebody must love you a bunch to frame your picture and hang it on the wall. Happy Daytona 500 Day!

    • Thanks, but when will they have the race, since it was rained out, Mark? I was ‘bummed!’ This was a clever way of using the word “framed” in both contrasting ways! I am always enjoying how words are used and love to find out why and the history behind them. That is something I have done with many words in my posts over time…

      • Bad news, Robin. They did race after the rain stopped in Daytona, last night, back on the track from around 9 p.m. to 11:15 p.m. Dale Earnhardt Jr. won. Karen and I watched to the end.

      • I know that I missed it, so sorry that your ‘man’ didn’t win! I meant to write this awhile ago, just ran out of time when I was checking back on comments! Thank you for telling me the outcome, since someone else may also benefit from this update! I was hooked on another show by 9 p.m. that evening! (and missed they were racing…) Smiles, Robin

  4. i love all of your uses for the word. my favorite is the mystery/crime use of the word, as i am a huge true crime fan, (i know, you seem to be my long lost sister from ohio), and while i don’t want to be involved in crime, i am fascinated by the whole thing. i hope that your daughter is doing okay, i know there is such progress in medicine, but we still have such a long way to go. great post, robin.

    • Thanks, Beth! My youngest daughter is a ‘trooper!’ She is trying to live without Celebrex, Vioxx, or other arthritis meds, since she had reached the 15 year mark, they told her some of the side effects and that sealed the deal. I had so much fun thinking about us riding around together after I first found out about your love of mysteries and intrigue. I know we would have a blast spying on people, but there is also danger attached. Since we are grandmothers, I suppose, we are still needed! This will only be in our dreams…

      • yes, but what about us being under the radar, as we are innocent grandmothers? maybe we could really get away with all of our p.i. work without being suspected ?

      • I agree with this! My young, black friend Darryl from work (of Darryl and Samantha’s kingdom poetry and their children he considers “swirls” of mixed colors) says I could ‘get away with holding up banks’ with my innocent look! You and I could be excellent p.i’s!

  5. Before reading this post, my answer was “No, I’ve never been framed,” but you’ve made me see otherwise. What fun wordplay chica – you’re so clever. I love how my bangs frame my face, by the way. Have a lovely week! Celeste πŸ™‚

    • I love how your bangs frame your face, too, Celeste! I have done this on several of my past posts, I enjoy looking up different ways to interpret words, along with historical references. This was the most fun one, ever! Thanks for your comments and hope you have a great week. Today was sad, I wrote on a different post, why… Hugs, Robin

Leave a Reply

