Hope

Standard

I have a trio of sources of Hope. Daffodils give hope in a

book by Lisa Genova, called “Love Anthony.” The main character,

Olivia, lives on Nantucket Island, where we know New England’s

winters are a ‘bear!’

Even while the winter is long, the daffodils break through

the frigid ground. There is a scene or time when Olivia is

watching the delicate flowers,

“Shivering in the wind, impossibly bright and fragile and

brave against the cold grayness.”

There is a plot that includes deep grief, almost overwhelming

Olivia. She finds hope in the beautiful yellow flowers. They

are, to her, a poignant sign that summer will come again,

“and life will return to her as well.”

When we have faith, there is always hope in something that

will shine into our darkest days. It will give us signs, like

the purple crocuses, the bright and gay daffodils, and the

multiple colored tulips, all whose blooms have managed to

survive the coldest of winters.

Another message, from a man named Reverend Louis E. Campbell,

who wrote in 1982,

“One robin does not make a Spring.”

He goes on to tell us of the hopeful messengers

or ‘Harbingers’ of Spring:

“One (robin) can make the spirit sing!

The tardy snowflakes yet may drift,

But cannot cancel out the gift.

Brave prophecies can lift the heart,

And spur the soul’s ascents to start,

The crowing cock foretells the dawn,

Before the glooms of night are gone.”

I have a funny or silly, but hopeful little story

about my weekend visit with my two grandsons. We

like to walk over to and alongside the little creek

by the side of my apartment building.

There are three bridges that we can go across,

one we must go one at a time, holding Nana’s

hands.

When we get in the middle of the two ‘safer’

bridges, the boys (and my little M & M girls

on a different occasion) like to toss pieces

of whole grain bread to the ducks.

I have mentioned, off and on, to them and maybe

to you, that the ducks wake me before the ‘dawn’s

early light.’ They are sending up a cacophony of

quacks to the skies lately!

I usually look at my bedside alarm clock, tuck

my head deeper into my feather pillow, and sigh,

trying to get my last moments of sleep.

Well, guess what my oldest grandson exclaimed,

upon seeing that there were a total of eight

ducks, six male mallards and only two females?

It is almost risquรฉ but he would not really at

the age of nine, mean it in that way, but he said,

quite excitedly,

“Those girl ducks are ‘lucky ducks!'”

I studied his face for a moment, to see his intent

and serious countenance. He was not meaning to be

disrespectful or improper. So, I asked him,

“Skyler, why do you think the girls are so lucky?”

His answer made sense. It gave me hope, too, in little

quiet soap bubbles floating in my ‘bathtub of life.’

“Nana, they are lucky because they have lots of

boy ducks to protect and fight for them. Oh, and

they can choose which ones to ‘date!'”

He is on the ‘cusp’ of knowing about sexual behavior

but not really thinking of the mating calls and the

ducks with their needs and urges to propagate.

Innocence prevails, that gives me Hope!

About reocochran

I am experiencing crazy and hapless adventures in dating that may interest people over fifty. I am now approaching 62 later this year and enjoy taking photographs, incorporating stories or poetry on my blog. I have many old posts which are informative and written like essays. I have several love stories collected from family and friends. Even strangers spill their stories, since I am a grown version of the girl next door. I have been trying to live a healthy lifestyle with better food selections and active hiking and walking. I have written four children's books and illustrated them. They are not published but a battered women's shelter used one about neglect and abuse for their children's program and a 4H group used my "Kissing a Bunny is like saying a Prayer" as a coloring book. Please comment or respond so I may get a chance to know you. Sincerely, Robin

20 responses »

  1. I have “Love Anthony” on my Kindle…I might need to move that up in my TBR list. “Lucky duck”…that was one of my favorite sayings in elementary school. ๐Ÿ™‚ Happy Tuesday, Robin!

    • I am so glad you liked this post. I hope you will enjoy the book on your Kindle! I also used to say that expression, but had not used it for awhile. I was surprised my 9 year old grandson knew it! It did make me smile, too! Thanks for the Happy Tuesday and I will say I hope the rest of your week goes well.
      I nominated you on my next post for Five Awards! Congratulations, Jill!

    • Jill, please look down at Cathmae’s comment, so if you aren’t wishing to be sad or weeping you may not read this. As a special needs teacher, I felt the story was compelling, heartfelt and yes, I did cry during the book. It is hard since Cathmae’s son is autistic to read of another’s story that does not have a happy ending. Maybe think about this, before reading or check out her link! Thanks for understanding and I guess, I should have mentioned that I love tear-jerkers. (The Notebook, Love Story, and This Boy’s Life all made me cry…) Hugs, Robin

    • I am sorry, I like tear-jerkers and heartfelt stories. I am so glad that you are warning others, though of the sadness depicted in this book. I have loved ones that make me think and weep, too. Take care and thanks for the link for anyone to share this post you wrote. Take care and hugs, Robin

      • I actually would recommend the book to others, but not to autism mothers. To us, it is dark in a way that is not resolvable. Caring for our children in a fully positive way is so important, so I have to be careful not to let that darkness in.

      • I am so proud of you, telling us about your personal story and challenges, and protecting parents so that they won’t allow the darkness to creep into their lives. I find that your recent post about how Graeme has been able to express himself, through the use of technology to be fascinating! Anyone who did not notice this link, check out a positive recent development in cathmae’s story…hugs, robin
        http://choosingmyownwellbeing.wordpress.com

  2. What a great and optimistic topic you chose to share with this post. I think hope, like love, is one of the most powerful drives that keeps us humans on a path of goodness. We are bombarded with so many messages of darkness and things gone wrong that it would be easy to lose track of the many things that give us hope, keep us faithful, and bring light and love to our world. The wonderful comment by Skyler is a perfect example. It tells me he has hope that his Nana will one day meet and date that ‘lucky duck’ who is just right for her. That made me smile! – Mike

    • I think you are a big sweetie, Mike! You see that happy ending and remind me to keep my faith and believe in it! Thanks for the fun message and the deeper message, too. We are all being bombarded with the realities of the world, war, plane’s missing and now, the Chilean earthquake. All sad things but the power of love, hope and faith are very wonderful to help us keep going and face another day! Hugs, Robin

  3. I love your message of hope. To me it is the deepest drive for my instinct to survive. My hope comes in the form of watching the sunrise. Seeing each brand new day begin encourages me to take each day as a new beginning.

    • This is such a poetic comment to make, Elizabeth! Hopeful and encouraging to us, too! This is how I try to see my mornings, too. That I have a new chance to have a good day, that things too will pass and we have new beginnings… Smiles, Robin

Leave a Reply

