A Leader in Her “Field”

Standard

Alice Waters has been advocating for natural farming and gardening,

since the seventies. She has been best known for her support of local,

organically grown food choices. She is considered the “Mother of the

Farm-to-Table Movement.” Her vision includes having children become

part of gardening projects and creating sustainable garden school

programs for schools.

Alice Waters is responsible for the opening of Berkeley’s Chez Panisse

back in 1971. She was considered avante garde then, with a vision and

a mission!

Alice has put into action another equally valuable program while

supporting her beliefs. I was excited to learn something new about

this innovative woman’s spreading a healthy message in wider and

more expanded ways. Reaching out to schools and city children is

a great move right now.

Thousands of United States’ classrooms have become part of Alice

Water’s “Edible Schoolyard Project.” Students, ranging from younger

ages, in elementary schools and beyond, are learning how to grow

and cook ‘real’ food. I do realize that there are a lot of ‘country kids’

who have known this all along!

Alice’s goal is to ‘plant the seed’ of healthy and wholesome living

in this next generation. She believes that this is such a worthy

cause to ‘fight for.’ I just wanted to help her along and champion

her cause!

I had just written about our local Delaware Community Market’s

plot of land, where last year children in gardening gloves and

work aprons dug into the dirt and planted seeds and seedlings.

Their goal had been to “grow a pizza garden.” I hoped by passing

this idea on, it would become a way for families and communities

to connect children. Making the chores of weeding and gardening

more fun as a team with a goal in mind. Especially if their focus

was on the finished food items.

I had suggested for Cinco de Mayo, to start a “Taco Garden.”

While sitting in the doctor’s office today, I saw March, 2014’s copy

of “Prevention” Magazine with information about Alice Waters. This

is yet another resource on this subject to introduce to some who may

have not heard of her. I enjoy all the delicious and nutritious

recipes that are ‘good for you,’ every time I get a chance to read

this magazine.

The “Postscript” for the magazine has a photo of Alice Waters and

the article is entitled, “A New Harvest.” Tall green plants, with

sunflowers and trees behind her, with her smiling profile captured

my attention.

To find out more, please check out Alice Water’s website:

http://edibleshoolyard.org

Hope the weather won’t be too chilly in your neighborhood, that you

may get out to take a lovely hike and enjoy some Spring flowers!

I am hoping to have a grand time touring among the artists, crafts-

persons and artisans with their displays and booths tomorrow at the

Delaware Arts Festival. I enjoyed my walk to the library, noting all

the Ohio Wesleyan Alumni filling the local restaurants and walking

about town. Wonder if there are many who were rowdy and remember a

wilder time?

Maybe in the seventies, while Alice Waters was ‘preaching’ about

subjects that only hippies who lived on communes and people who

lived on farms were interested in. She was bandying around words

like, “ecological,” “natural fertilizer,” and “sustainable.”

I have mentioned to a few of my friends who complain about all the

rain and wind, expecting to see the 30 degree mark possibly along

with the Full Moon tonight:

“Come on! It is Spring until June 21st, expect incredible weather

changes!”

On the other hand, I hope that all the ones who have had drought out

West with fires, too much rain or tornadoes, and other truly dangerous

weather conditions, through it all…

You have been safe and sound.

25 responses »

  1. Let’s share our rain with the dry states. I wish it could work like that. Alice Walker’s plan was ahead of its time, too, right, Robin? Enjoy the full moon over Delaware County, my friend.

    • I am sure it would be lovely if we could spread the water and rain around, to those deserts in other countries and our own dry states in the U.S. She was ahead of her time! Thanks, Mark for the kind wishes but it was too cloudy last night for the full moon!

    • Thanks, Jonathan! This was a clever way to get others to read my gardening post, Jonathan! I have used that Mary, Mary Quite Contrary, in verse on a wooden toy chest with little critters like hedgehogs, rabbits and squirrels dancing in a garden. It was painted and designed by me for a little girl named, Mary! This was such a nice memory your poem brought to mind!

  2. I ate at Chez Panisse, and it was divine!! My stepmother planted a garden in the ’70s, but it only lasted until the first time she saw a snake. I don’t know if I can plant a big garden this year. We will be doing a lot of traveling. We won’t be there to water and care for it. I did plant some Kale seeds, though. I love kale. Hope you are well, Brenda

    • Too bad about the garden snake, Brenda. I would not worry about a big garden with your busy summer!
      I like the fact you went to Chez Panisse! So great to know someone with the actual experience in my post!
      I love Kale, more and more, too! At first I thought it was ‘too chewy’ and fell for the olive oil and sea salt “chips” you can make in your oven. Then, I found “baby kale” and I adore its sweeter and less stiff texture to have in salads! Let me know how your Kale seeds do, maybe a post when you can get pictures later this summer? I can imagine little elves or sprites hiding between the leaves! Smiles, Robin

      • I like to put kale in soups or stir fry it with shallots and craisins. I usually cook it, come to think of it. My hubby likes to pick the baby kale and eat it in the garden.

      • Oh, like these suggestions, Brenda! I will try the stir fry one, since I like oniony flavors with sweetness of the craisins, too! I may have to wait on the soups till Fall! I am trying more cooler items on my plates!

    • I am so glad that you commented positively on this post! Thanks for the good addition of those supportive words, too! “We have lost touch so much with food and where it comes from!” Loved that!

    • The home grown vegetables are always the best! I enjoyed having tomatoes and a few things like pumpkins, squash, zucchini and onions. My son has been going ‘all out’ on his gardening for a few years. I am glad I can say to him, “Remember when we made homemade spaghetti sauce and salsa?” He grins and says, “That is why I am doing this with my kids, Mom!” I love tomatoes the very best, warm out of the garden, rinsed and eaten. Sometimes with the drips coming down your chin….

  3. I like Mark’s idea of sharing rain…. We are taking an urban hike despite the chill and threat of rain. Nothing like checking out an unknown city and their local creativity in a city flea market for local artists and home growers. 🙂

    • I am excited to hear about the unknown city, their creativity with a city flea market, artists and growers there. I hope you will post about it! Today is our Arts Festival and I am hoping tomorrow it will be warmer. I browsed a bit downtown and was very pleased at the beautiful art displays. I was trying to get here and avoid the delicious food aromas on the very street, (Winter Street) that I walk on to get to the library! The vendors have burgers, gyros, funnel cakes.Oh my! Maybe at lunch time…

      • I did! 🙂 Though I forgot to mention the art we saw. And the sidewalk art…those people are AMAZING! Sadly I did NOT avoid the food…..

  4. Hah, I love the title! I’ve been toying with the idea of ordering food from local farmers again. I’ve loved it in the past, although once I got a scorpion in the bag and didn’t realize it . . . .

    • Oh my! I am not crazy about the idea of big spiders or scorpions! How do you get it out of the house, once it is released from the bag, Luanne? I like going to our local community market year round for vegetables, but am so excited about the downtown Farmer’s Market opening after this weekend….Thanks, Luanne, for reminding us, without meaning to, to be careful of bugs in our homegrown food items! I love berries, too!

      • I love raspberries! and Farmers Markets! My cats found the scorpion. Luckily, I believe it was my cat Felix who got the scorpion. He has big claws and I think he killed it before it could get him.
        On another note, my old cat Mac I believe was stung by a scorpion a few months ago. He was temporarily paralyzed in the legs from it.

      • So glad that Felix was on the job, with his big claws! So sorry about your older cat, Mac, having been stung by a scorpion and being temporarily paralyzed! How scary, Luanne!
        I do love raspberries, strawberries, blackberries and blueberries… plain, with sugar, over ice cream… Yumm! Hope you are having a pleasant Sunday evening. I am leaving when it closes here, at 5 p.m. It was a great and warm day, walked around the arts and crafts festival. Hugs, Robin

    • This is so sweet of you, Beth! I think mentioning the planet makes me think once again, why can’t we all be careful and yet, generous with our resources! I would be glad to give some water to the desert and arid climate states and other countries, too. We are so lucky!

  5. Somehow I missed this post, Robin. I must make a note to recheck your blog as life gets busier! I absolutely adore Alice Waters. I’m a fan of baby kale, as well. (Can’t handle the grow up version) I have her cookbook from the restaurant. I think I shall open her cookbook and make something Chez Panisse style tonight! Yummy post, Robin! Hope all is well. hugs ~Karen~

Leave a Reply

