A Handful of Humor for Hump Day

Standard

Do you sometimes find it hard to choose your favorite title for your posts?

I had a few, I will try them out on you…

Wednesday Humor

Midweek Chuckles

Smart Aleck Retorts

Quick Comebacks

and

Smarty Pants!

Here are some carefully chosen situations that there is a funny response given:

1. The police officer got out of his car, as the kid who was stopped for speeding,

rolled down his window.

The officer said,

“I’ve been waiting for you all day!”

The teenager replied,

“Yeah, well I got here as fast as I could!”

The cop finally stopped laughing, sending the teen on his way without a ticket.

 

2. A truck driver was driving along on the freeway when he noticed a sign that

read:  “Low Bridge Ahead.”

Before he knew it, the bridge was right in front of him and his truck got wedged

under it. (This happened on Central Avenue which is Rte. 37, Delaware, Ohio.)

Cars were backed up for miles, back into town.

Finally, a police car made it through on the traffic.  The other side of the road

was open, so it was hard to convince people to let him through!

The policeman got out of his car, walked to the truck driver, put his hands on

his hips and said, “Got stuck, huh?”

“As the small town legend goes” the truck driver replied in a smart a- – way,

“No, I was delivering this bridge and ran out of gas.”

 

3. It was mealtime on an airline flight. (Wonder what airline still serves a meal?)

The flight attendant asked a passenger seated in First Class section:

“Would you like dinner?”

The person asked,

“What are my choices?”

She smiled and leaned over, saying in a confidential tone:

“Yes or no.”

 

4. A lady was picking through the frozen turkeys last Thanksgiving, at the grocery

store. She couldn’t find one big enough for her large family, coming from out of

town. She finally flagged down a stocker, a young man, asking:

“Do these turkeys get any bigger?”

In a deadpan tone, he replied, biting his grin back:

“No, ma’am, they’re dead.”

 

5. A flight attendant was stationed at the departure gate, to check tickets.

As a man approached, she extended her hand for the ticket and he opened

his trench coat and flashed her.

Without missing a beat, she requested:

“Sir, I need to see your ticket, not your stub.”

 

I have become rather ‘lazy’ on Wednesdays, giving you smiles but no original

thoughts. It was another hot day and hope you found these to be ‘cool’ and

‘fresh!’

Let me know if you don’t mind this kind of  ‘break’ from my usual researched

and informative essays or my activity oriented adventures with friends and

family!

About reocochran

I am experiencing crazy and hapless adventures in dating that may interest people over fifty. I am now approaching 62 later this year and enjoy taking photographs, incorporating stories or poetry on my blog. I have many old posts which are informative and written like essays. I have several love stories collected from family and friends. Even strangers spill their stories, since I am a grown version of the girl next door. I have been trying to live a healthy lifestyle with better food selections and active hiking and walking. I have written four children's books and illustrated them. They are not published but a battered women's shelter used one about neglect and abuse for their children's program and a 4H group used my "Kissing a Bunny is like saying a Prayer" as a coloring book. Please comment or respond so I may get a chance to know you. Sincerely, Robin

38 responses »

    • So glad you found them cute, MH! I am sure there are many of us that would like to take a break. I will be going to my Mom’s later today, waiting until my oldest daughter gets off work. We have a fun weekend ahead, a wedding of my niece. My son, his wife and 4 kids (2 stepkids and 2 together) are all driving up to Lake Erie for the wedding and following barbecue at my parents’ retirement cottage. I will not be blogging until Sunday or perhaps, on Monday! Yeah! I like your Take Me Back Tuesday and Throwback Thursday posts. I need to get busy and read more of the past ones, though! Smiles, Robin

      • Thanks Robin! Have a lovely weekend, and i hope everything goes well at the wedding. In any case, enjoy your time with your family! We will catch up when you get back. Happy travels!

  1. I think Wednesday’s Chuckles might be a good title. Having the day of the week in your title helps to quickly situate the reader. And chuckles or humour says what the post will be about. 😀

    • “Summer Laughs!” That is another post coming up, soon! I will take these suggested titles and put into my drafts, Mark! Glad one or more of these gave you a ‘guffaw!’ Have a great weekend, Mark and Karen!

    • You are on summer break, so glad you have already started your vacation, Judy! I remember seeing some of your recent adventures and was wistfully thinking of, soon I will be on vacation, too! (for a week!) Take it easy and enjoy your freedom, Judy!

  2. i think it’s great to mix things up a bit, robin. sometimes just making people laugh and smile, (like you did here), is plenty and just what we need )

    • This is a break and gives you all an ‘easier’ read, too! So glad you found this one that brought you smiles, Beth! Hope you are having a great time, and enjoy your weekend, too! Can’t wait to hear of the Aussies’ Invasion!!

    • Good to know this, always wondering whether it is a good choice or not. You are often a great provider for me, of challenges, lists and learning about how to choose good goals, too. I enjoy your uplifting posts, glad you are on this journey and walk through life, sharing our lives. Smiles, Robin

    • So glad you specified which ones gave you the most smiles, since I am always glad for feedback! Thanks for all the fun I get when I have a chance to check out your posts! The winter and fall squirrels have been my favorite posts, since that is when I see them the most around here! I do think of you, like when the “Nut Job” cartoon, children’s animated film came out, and other crazy squirrel moments! Thanks, ES!

    • I am so glad that I went through all the old ones until I found ones that kind of came together with one-liners, at their closing. It was a fun post to write, so glad people found it fun to read! I am always happy to see you rolling, my dear!

    • You’re welcome! Glad to give you a laugh! I am responding a day later, since it was a hot and sticky week! I just didn’t have the energy on a couple of days to write or read, either! I will tell you that it will be this way all summer, “a day late,” but hopefully not a “dollar short!” Smiles, Robin

  3. I loved your jokes – short and sweet, and most of them I had not heard before. Or I had but I don’t remember. I especially liked the teenage driver’s response to the cop. Thanks for the chuckles. – Mike

    • I am glad you liked these and also, providing some chuckles for you! I am glad you let me know, Mike, which one you liked the best. This helps me, for future funny posts… You are smiling and I am smiling, too! Always happy when things go well. I loved your coincidentally being in the ‘right places at the right times’ post, Mike! You have been close to amazing events, such as the changing of the royalty in Spain, the baby’s birth in England, the ‘right place’ to celebrate FIMA World Cup events, where they call it ‘futbol!’ and you have been close to where Pope Francis came from, in Argentina! These are such awesome moments, I may have left one or two off, so hope someone reading my comments will check yours out! Hugs, Robin

    • Thanks for this! I have missed visiting you, sorry that I get side-tracked. You had lovely flowers, thoughtful poetry and beauty is flowing in your posts! Smiles, Robin

Leave a Reply

