Short but Profound Words to Share

Standard

I love when you see things like wooden signs with old sayings.

I enjoy those old tin signs that were filled with advertising and

slogans.

In our laundry room, at my apartment building, someone found

a wooden sign with fancy lettering in a rainbow of colors, with a

simple message: “Laundry Room: 25 Cents a Load.”

(It really costs us $1.50 f0r our wash loads and $1.25 for our dryer.)

 

This laundry room sign, motivated me to look for some messages

to impart, give smiles out, with meaning that may last in your mind.

 

HOUSE RULES

Be Kind.

Laugh.  A.  Lot.

Apologize.

Work Hard  (or Try Hard).

Play Fair.

Tell the Truth.

Listen.

Care.

Offer to Help.

Share.

Say, “Thank You.”

(Found on the Internet, Anonymous.)

 

~~~~~Mary Oliver~~~~~

“Instructions for Living a Life.

Pay Attention.

Be Astonished.

Tell About It.”

 

“A Penny for Your Thoughts!”

 

 

About reocochran

I am experiencing crazy and hapless adventures in dating that may interest people over fifty. I am now approaching 62 later this year and enjoy taking photographs, incorporating stories or poetry on my blog. I have many old posts which are informative and written like essays. I have several love stories collected from family and friends. Even strangers spill their stories, since I am a grown version of the girl next door. I have been trying to live a healthy lifestyle with better food selections and active hiking and walking. I have written four children's books and illustrated them. They are not published but a battered women's shelter used one about neglect and abuse for their children's program and a 4H group used my "Kissing a Bunny is like saying a Prayer" as a coloring book. Please comment or respond so I may get a chance to know you. Sincerely, Robin

60 responses »

  1. My favorite is:

    “Happiness is a journey, not a destination.
    Work like you don’t need the money,
    Love like you have never been hurt,
    And dance like no one is watching.”

      • So Funny!
        There are several places in the world, I have heard, that may be giving up their lowest valued (denomination) money. I keep my pennies and feel that it is well worth giving some of them away, when I take it to the coin counting machine! I remember my parents putting them into those reddish brown ‘sleeves’ and cannot imagine me ever doing this!

      • Yes, sleeves for nickels and dimes and quarters, too! I’ve bundled coins into those as well as breaking them to fill my change drawer back up again!

        The USA keeps trying to drop the penny, but the idea is always voted down. Usually by the citizens of Illinois… birthplace of Abraham Lincoln.

        Actual physical money is becoming slowly obsolete anyway. The number of places I use my credit card (versus cash) is constantly growing, and I was one of the last “CASH, dammit!” hold outs.

      • You are quite industrious, will have money to show for it, in the end… Anyway, it used to be fun to help my Mom, when I was little to put ‘savings’ stamps, green ones and gold ones, on their respective pages. Not sure now when that was in time… Take it easy, W.S.!

  2. These are great, Robin! I think out of all “Listen” is my favorite. So many people don’t listen any longer because they have their face in their iPhone while the live person standing in front of them is trying to have a conversation. Can you tell I have a problem with phones and texting? 🙂

    • Yes, but the sign is such a vintage style, with its colorful writing that makes it special when one is in the laundry room there. They must have bought it, hung it on a simple nail, and left it for us all. I had 3 five foot sunflowers that I hand-painted in my laundry room on the first floor in the house we built in 1999. I liked looking eye to eye at them, the little details in the seeds… What brightens you up, any simple signs around your home or other places you go, Jen? My refrigerator collects some of my quotes…

  3. Or my favorite high-tech one:

    There are 10 kinds of people in the world:
    Those who can count in binary.
    And those who can’t.

    I had that one outside my cube at work for years, and it was a stitch to watch people come by, read it and then either walk away grinning or puzzled — thereby confirming the assertion! 😀

  4. Here is a blast from the past:

    Past Schoolhouses
    Take it slow
    Let the little
    Shavers grow
    – Burma-Shave

    and

    If you dislike
    Big traffic fines
    Slow down
    Till you
    Can read these signs
    – Burma-Shave

    🙂 – Mike

    • Oh, I had forgotten those Burma Shave road signs, Mike! Yes, one or two words at a time, each spaced just right to get the whole message put together in the end! Great additions, Mike and I appreciate when you research and add to my posts! Hugs, Robin

    • Thanks so much for this great idea, I am not sure why I wrote an answer and it did not go through on my post! Anyway, by giving to others and sharing we really do show how much we care! I like the simple quotes the best, like the one you gave here! Thank you for enjoying the other people’s comments, too! I am thankful for a nice bunch of fellow bloggers!

    • Thanks, Beth! I just am going back to check on my responses to this post. I am glad you love the instructions for living a life, you may borrow it sometime! You demonstrate in your activities ways you are astonished and fascinated by life. It means a lot to me to read them!

    • You are so right, ES!! The gas prices have really changed over our lifetime! So glad you mentioned this and pointed it out! That is one of the funnier interpretations of the 25 cents laundry room sign! Smiles, Robin

  5. thanks for refreshing the memories. these are the instruction we used to get when young. now everything is changed with time. values, habits, life style everything. now fear terror insecurity hatred is polluting the beautiful mother plant

    • You are so correct, sadly I admit. I know that the memories are good to help us keep on going, sometimes the only thing that pulls us through rough times. I feel blessed, sometimes need to count my blessings. There are many worse conditions, as you mentioned. Thanks for this comment, my new friend!

      • That is a very strong woman, who must sacrifice to be cheerful the next day. Such a wonderful and profound quote! Thanks, Tanveer! Smiles, Robin

      • Yes, women need to be supportive of each other, along with the community of writers that we are part of, too. I have ‘met’ through blogging some kind and sensitive men here, too! Smiles, Robin

      • Human nature is a combination, as you are so well expressing, Tanveer! Thanks for the conversation. Sorry it is usually set apart by a day or two, I depend on the library’s hours and limited time given here. I enjoy blogging and ‘getting to know my readers’ and their choices of subject matter, too! Smiles, Robin

      • im so happy to be in contact with you Robin my dear:) where are you and what do you do. I also love to know people not people actually every soul is to be respected regarded guarded and loved. love is the most powerful tool. each one of us need it badly 🙂

    • I am contemplating this one! I am wondering if we are respected can we still live a life that includes no regret, Chris? I am quite literal, sometimes! I can see this going with “Only the good die young!”

    • You seem like someone who is filled with amazement and get astonished with everyday miracles, too! You have the warmest smile in your gravatar, MH! Take care and enjoy your weekend, too!

  6. I like kind thoughts, and anything that commits to making the very most of what we all have. 🙂
    I Googled the Minnesota lakes but couldn’t find anything relevant. I know that the colour of our River Swale comes from peat in the soil though. Thanks for spending time with me.

    • You are welcome, Jo. I am so in awe that you checked out the possibility of why the lovely water was such a tobacco colored brown. I think the peat in the soil may do this, too. Good answer! I also may be overlooking a simple answer, like it rained so the water got ‘churned up.’ I am so glad, Jo, you are like me, question things and don’t mind curiosity, either! Your interview at Jill’s place, was a very good one! Smiles, Robin

    • So glad you like Mary Oliver, wish I knew more about her. Isn’t it lovely how one thing can lead to another, while you search and find things out? I am sure lucky I get time limits at the library, will be going out to see the “Blast from the Past” 21st annual Delaware, Ohio auto show. My grandkids who spent the night, already checked out a few of the cars in front of my apartment building, I saw many more on my way to the bank and now, to the library. Enjoy your weekend, Marie! Smiles, Robin

Leave a Reply

