Lift Your Spirits

Standard

Most of us still consider Sunday to be a day of rest. Some follow the

tradition of going to church, others show their faith or belief in their

own ways. To me, it is just as special to go to a place where nature is,

maybe for you, playing a round of golf or gardening. . .

 

Messages and Snippets from Church Bulletins

BIRTHS

The definition of a baby:

Small member of the animal kingdom

Makes family love stronger.

Days shorter,

Nights longer,

Bank accounts smaller,

Homes happier,

Past forgotten,

Future worth living.

Sword Scrapbook, 1969.

 

Hot and Heavy

“Ah, summer, what power you have to make us suffer and like it.”

~Russell Baker~

 

Wisdom

“If you want to be happy. Be.”

~Leo Tolstoy~

 

5 Simple Gifts:

Love makes our friends and family dearer.

Joy makes our hearts lighter.

Faith makes our paths clearer.

Hope makes our lives brighter.

Peace brings us all much nearer.

~Anonymous~

 

Back to Country School Note:

Dear Teacher,

Please find attached to this note,

one 5 year old boy,

much cleaner and quieter than usual

and with new haircut and overalls.

With him go the prayers of his parents.

He’s good at creating airplanes and chaos,

very adept at tying knots

and attracting stray dogs.

He especially likes peanut butter,

horses, T.V. westerns,

empty boxes, and his shirttail out.

He is allergic to baths, bedtime,

taking out trash and coming the

first time he’s called.

He needs to be taught (and kept in line),

loved and be told to be “good” or “listen” often.

He needs reminders to blow his nose and

come home straight from school.

After having him in your class

and on your nerves,

you may not be the same,

but I believe you’ll be glad to know him

because while he strews books, toys

and clothes;

he has a special way of scattering happiness!

Written, I’m afraid with some prejudice,

His mother,

Mildred B. Duncan

(“Guideposts” magazine before 1969.)

 

Last quote from a book, “Sit!”

“Time to Play

He knows how to have fun wherever he is. Good natured, whatever the weather,

eager to explore everything that catches his eye (even though it was thoroughly

sniffed just yesterday!)

He is frolicsome without fail, a dog is an A-1 expert when it comes to knowing

how to play!

Once we take on the responsibilities of adulthood, we tend to leave our days of

Play behind us.

Isn’t play just for kids?”

Play is a gift for our lives to fill with joy and laughter.

It’s what our body needs to release tension and stress.

It’s what our spirit craves for renewal.

Petting any animal, watching their enthusiasm, over small things, tails wagging,

throats purring or horse’s head nuzzling your shoulder, all fill us with carefree

emotions.

Today, take time out to do something that has no purpose than to make you laugh!

You don’t have to be under 12, or a member of a canine family, to enjoy the blessings

of Play!

 

 

About reocochran

I am experiencing crazy and hapless adventures in dating that may interest people over fifty. I am now approaching 62 later this year and enjoy taking photographs, incorporating stories or poetry on my blog. I have many old posts which are informative and written like essays. I have several love stories collected from family and friends. Even strangers spill their stories, since I am a grown version of the girl next door. I have been trying to live a healthy lifestyle with better food selections and active hiking and walking. I have written four children's books and illustrated them. They are not published but a battered women's shelter used one about neglect and abuse for their children's program and a 4H group used my "Kissing a Bunny is like saying a Prayer" as a coloring book. Please comment or respond so I may get a chance to know you. Sincerely, Robin

20 responses »

    • I found out my grandson can ‘dive’ into the water and touch the black line on the bottom of the pool. I also was so surprised he can do flips, at age 5! What a little ‘fish’ he has become! Last time we went to the pool, he and I threw this floating ball and he would jump into the pool from the edge, like he were a sea world seal! He has come a long way in just 2 or 3 weeks! Hope you had a playful weekend and that you aren’t stressed about going back to school, Tracy!

    • Oh, thanks, Beth for letting me know what really ‘worked’ in this post. Tolstoy’s quote is one that gets circulated but never can be too many times, to be reminded of its meaning. This was nice of you to say you liked the last two lines of the post, written by little ole’ me!

    • I hope to ‘be’ every day, too, Colleen! I was enjoying the mother’s honesty sharing with the teacher, it seems like a step back in time, makes me smile with memories, too. Thanks!

  1. I love the note from Mom to the teacher attached to the little boy. It reminds me how much I don’t miss parenting and how much I do love grandparenting. ๐Ÿ™‚ – Mike

    • I am glad something here, ‘caught your eye’ (and possibly your heart?!) It does seem that in the old-fashioned days, parents would send such notes. I think it was very interesting that someone had found this years ago, but recently posted it, in our July church newsletter. Some of these were in Sunday bulletins, others from the monthly newsletter!
      Thanks for this note to me, now!

  2. I am at your blog reading what I have been missing
    love this post
    so much wisdom
    and is true we must laugh and play
    at whatever age
    thank you for passing my blog and sharing your thoughts

    paz Doris

    • I am happy to be able to see your beautiful artwork, both the watercolors and acrylics. Different pictures of your creative talent, one of a woman’s silhouette and the other with movement and meaning behind it. The dynamic qualities were outstanding, Doris! Thanks for coming over here, to read my words… Abrazos, Robin

    • This was fun collecting some of these, from my old bulletins, ones I save because they have a Scripture reading that I may want to pray about, with the special little messages tucked in between! I am so glad, Judy, you liked the ‘births’ and ‘5 simple gifts,’ too. We have something in common, grandchild for you, grandchildren for me! If I have read you correctly, on your posts, you have one special grandie! Smiles, Robin (Feel free to set this record straight,…)

      • I have a grandson and granddaughter. We have a grandpuppy – our daughter, son-in-law and grandchildren’s dog – that we recently got to dogsit (babysit). Yes, we do have a few things in common. ๐Ÿ˜‰ The grandkitties – two cats – belong to our youngest daughter and her husband.

      • I had read about one of the grandchildren or had forgotten the other one, oops! I am so glad you listed the family in your life, Judy! I like to know more about my fellow bloggers! I am not so great at watching animals, but do occasionally cat-sit. I love playing with the grandkids, as I am sure you enjoy their company, original thoughts and fun antics. Thanks for answering this and adding some more details to my ‘picture’ of you! Hugs, Robin

    • I am so glad something made you laugh hard, Timi! I tend to chuckle softly, no matter what is written, but in a movie theater, I really let loose with guffaws! Glad to bring some cheer!

  3. Hi Robinโ€ฆI’m catching up after being out of town. The Tolstoy quote is a classic for good reason. I loved the way the mom said that her son had “a special way of scattering happiness.” My dad used to always say, “whatever task you do – instill some degree of joy. Thanks for a joyful post. Sending you laughter and smiles! xo

    • The words that your Dad chose were very meaningful, Karen! So glad you mentioned them for us to remember. I feel we, ordinary people, come up with extra-ordinary words, sometimes. This was a great motivation for you, as a child or teen! xo Robin

Leave a Reply

