The 66th Emmy Award Show predictions

Standard

Maya Angelou described her life’s dreams but could have been summarizing the

66th Emmy Awards Show tonight in this quotation:

“My mission in life is not merely to survive, but to thrive:

And to do so with some passion, some compassion,

some humor and some style.”

The Emmy Award Show will be hosted tonight, 8/25/14, by comedian, Seth Myers.

We can hope his sense of humor and wacky ideas of comedy will be just the right

combination to deliver some silliness and ‘zingers’ at the prestigious audience, too.

If Myers somehow waylays those winning envelopes and chooses his “alma mater,”

the “Saturday Night Live” show will win best variety show.  There are many who

are already missing the “SNL” outstanding announcer, Don Pardo, (who recently

passed away and the show could get the ‘sympathy’ votes.) Otherwise, the Emmy

for comedy/variety show will probably go to Jimmy Fallon, Jimmy Kimmel or

another traditional talk show.

I enjoy the drama, the flair, the gowns and tuxedos, along with the speeches for

the  ‘Best’ of television each year.  I have some predictions and hopefully, a little

something for everyone to consider.

While you may not watch the show~ you will hear about it tomorrow! Let’s say in

the break room, at the water cooler, or on the actual ‘news’ shows, where they feature

entertainment and popular culture as, “newsworthy.”

 

Nora Ephron is an author and screenwriter, one who has had several of her books

made into comedies. After they appeared on the movie screen, you may catch them

on television.  Some of my favorites are: “Sleepless in Seattle,” “You’ve Got Mail,”

“Julie and Julia,” and the serious and incredibly well written, “Silkwood.” This was

with dramatic performances by Cher and Meryl Streep.

 

Here is a quotation that suits the Emmy Awards night and our own lives, too.

Written by Nora Ephron:

“Above all, be the heroine of your life,

Not the victim.”

 

There is the Dramatic category for television shows, which I predict Matthew

McConaughey will win this, since his life is “on a roll” this year. He has already

collected the Academy Award and the Golden Globe Award for, “Dallas Buyer’s

Club.” Now, with his unique twist of acting he gave to the character in the t.v.

show called, “True Detective.” he may win the 2014 Emmy Award for Drama.

Woody Harrelson’s partner detective role, may win instead. We will see. . .

 

Who do I wish would win the dramatic male lead?  Jeremy Pivens, who has

played on PBS’s  show, “Mr. Selfridge” for three seasons. This period piece is

about a department  store owner, along with his family and his employees’ lives.

The setting begins in 1908 England and has advanced three years past this.

This is the upscale place to shop, with its lavish displays and Victorian gowns.

The store has much to view,  everything so ornately beautiful that you may let

your mind wander off the subject matter. A serious accusation of an affiliation

with Germany was the season ‘cliff hanger.’ With the store and all the employees

possibly facing financial ruin, setbacks, letting go employees  or closure of the

department store impending.

 

Who do I wish would win the dramatic female lead?

I would like to see the character, Sarah, played by Jorja Fox, win from “C.S.I.”

I like the whole cast of the “old” Las Vegas, “C.S.I.” with Ted Danson as one of

the “new” lead characters presently. They still have “Sarah’s” character, from the

original cast, understatedly played by Jorja Fox. I happen to like “Sarah’s” flaws

and her unique idiosyncracies. She was the one who ‘won,’ my favorite “past”

male lead’s heart, William Peterson, who played “Grissom.” Occasionally, we hear

about him,  via his “wife, Sarah’s” character. (“Grissom” has been investigating

entomology, the study of bugs, in foreign lands.) I miss William Peterson, but like

Ted Danson’s straight forward approach and will always like Marg Helgenberger.

She has won the Emmy before, not sure if Jorja has. . .

 

While there are many comedies who are ‘repeat winners,’ like “Modern Family,”

“Big Bang Theory,” “Mike and Molly,” and others come to mind, I like to think

that one of the “New Kids on the Block,” may win again. At the Golden Globes,

Brooklyn 9-9″ was nominated and won.  I like, “The Middle,” “The Mindy Kaling

Show,” and the silly alien show, “The Neighbors.”

 

Who will win the Best Comedic Role? I believe a ‘nod’ to Robin Williams will be

for his performance on the show, “The Crazy Ones,” to win. I agree, the cast and

guest stars were brilliant. The lines were delivered impeccably and timed with

enough space to laugh out loud at them. The shows with famous people included

Brad Garrett, from “Everybody Loves Raymond.” I liked the episode with Josh

Groban, who was hired to make up a song for Australia. While he was visiting, it

turns out he had dated “Sydney,” who is Robin William’s character’s daughter.

“Sydney” was the one who had broken up with this ex-boyfriend.  Josh Groban,

a singer/songwriter, is still “love sick.” His silly song for “Sydney” works out, after

all,  with the Australian campaign. The baby ducklings’ episode and the coffee

roasting company horror episode were among my favorite shows. The first one,

even has an assistant wiping the little baby duck’s behinds, as per Robin William’s

character’s wishes. The huge coffee pot display, set out in the middle of a busy city

square tipped over, on a windy day. The hot coffee, which had seemed like a ‘good

idea at the time,’ for advertising, was made into a scary black and white horror

commercial. This was hilarious; just perfect for their coffee advertising campaign.

Mistakes made into genius decisions. . . Reminds me of the “Dick Van Dyke Show!”

 

It is too soon to have the character who plays a doctor in “Rush,” to win an Emmy

Award, but I highly recommend watching this quirky, self-absorbed character.

I was watching a triple episode DVD of  “Sugartown,” a British comedy show (2011),

and had to pause to study the man who is in this mini-series, as the brother who

wants to close down “Burrs” candy factory.  Yes, Tom Ellis, is the leading male

character in “Rush.” He was a womanizer in “Sugartown” in England. Now, he is

playing a similar kind of man, as a doctor with high end clientele, in Los Angeles,

California.

Since the series, “Rush,” just kicked off on July 17, 2014, you may not even know

about this show on ABC.

 

I hope the Emmy’s will be full of fun and excitement.  I hope it will entertain the

people who enjoy awards ceremonies. I like to see the way people accept their

awards. I enjoy the way the show features the best moments in television from

mid-year, 2013 until mid-year, 2014. The Emmy may still go to “Breaking Bad,”

due to the inclusion of this other part of the year. In this case, you will see

Bryan Cranston taking the best dramatic role, instead of Matthew McConaughey.

 

Who can forget Sally Fields exclaiming, ” You really like me!”?  This was when the

known television series actress of “The Flying Nun” and “Gidget,” won an Academy

Award for her supremely well done acting in the movie, “Norma Rae.” Of course,

she has also won an Emmy for her “Sybil” television role and been nominated as

President Lincoln’s wife, Mary Todd, in the movie, “Lincoln.”

 

I live for those award ceremony moments of surprise and humility.

 

Will you be watching this or Monday Night Football?

If neither of these, what are your plans tonight?

Many at work were talking about the Bengals playing. . .

 

 

 

 

 

19 responses »

  1. These are like a look at futures for me. I am behind the times a bit, having just five episodes to go in season 2 of Orange is the New Black. The quotations you chose were stellar, by the way.

    • Thank you so much! I think that “Orange is the New Black,” one that I have not seen, was up for awards, but alas! Did not win. Thanks for the word, “stellar” my friend!

  2. i love the pre show red carpet excitement and try as i might, rarely make it all the way through the end of the award shows. i have to fill in with highlights and clips the next day. i always root for new winners, once a person or show has won more than once, but doesn’t always happen. enjoy!

    • Oops! Beth, this was a great comment and here I did not notice it for a few days! I love the pre-show red carpet extravaganza, sometimes just the highlights are enough. I also was able to stay awake for the Emmy’s which is more run on time, but have had to use candy or some extra food items to stay and watch the whole other award ceremonies. I did not bother to write a total post about the winners, but felt that Julianna Marguiles has really done a great job since she left “E.R.” where she and George Clooney were my favorites… The “Good Wife” has been where she wins awards for her skills as a lawyer navigating between the men vying for her attention…I would like New Winners, although I like Jim Parson’s there are so many good ones out there who deserve to win!
      Thank you for this comment and I appreciate what you said, too.

  3. The only awards show I watch is the Grammys, Robin. For the performances. All the others, I can just catch the list of winners and be just as happy! Thanks for filling us in, though, because you know I am a huge TV fan.

    • I did not have many ‘wins’ since “Breaking Away” won the best actor, actress, director and supporting actor Emmy’s. I was glad to see Jessica Lange won for her Coven role in American Horror Story, I watched this 3 times! (Not the whole season.) I was also glad that the Parsons man won for “Big Bang Theory.” Molly (Melissa Mc Carthy) did a funny thing when they asked for audience participation. She asked if her big ‘truck’ would get a ticket, since they were in a hurry and she said she left a note,”At the Emmy Awards, Please don’t ticket.” Seth Myers told her, “You will definitely get ticketed!” It went on a bit… Fun stuff.

      • I am laughing because I assume she arrived as all the Emmy nominated actors and actresses, in a Limo! I think you are so right about Jim Parsons. He is interesting and looks different when he is not wearing his ‘geek’ clothes, but he is definitely different, anyway!

  4. As you know, I have not been around to watch current television, so I am not familiar with all of the contestants for tonight. I am glad to see Jeremy Piven’s name once again mentioned for an award. I remember him on the TV show, Cupid, before he succumbed to severe mercury poisoning and dropped out of sight for some time.

    I only have one prediction for tonight’s show – that I will probably cry during the memorial tribute to Robin Williams. Heck, my eyes are watering just thinking about it. – Mike

    • Yes, but Billy Crystal did a great job of getting us to laugh with him and Robin, over R.W.’s inability to understand baseball and throwing the Reds, as in Russians, into the whole story was so funny! Yes, it had its teary eyed moments. I am glad you remember Jeremy Piven, Mike! I liked, “Cupid,” too! Smiles, Robin

    • colleen, I thought that fact they were mainly laughing and less music and stuff made the show fly by! the people were humble and I did not feel bad about “Breaking Bad” taking it all, although I have only watched the first season from the library. Not going to watch anymore, either. Drugs and the kind of show it was made me feel down instead of uplifted. I guess ‘Crime doesn’t pay’ is more my kind of solution at the end of detective shows! Smilse

      • I have pretty much stuck with sitcoms and some how to shows. So I don’t have a clue what most of those shows were about anyway! I can’t identify two thirds of the “celebrities” we have any more! 🙂 And I don’t feel bad about that. 😉

      • I am silly for my being so preoccupied with the entertainment world, Colleen! I do love comedies and am trying not to watch too many ones that are murderous mysteries. If I watch one that is gruesome, I change the channel. I have found a few fun shows that have not been too serious, like Rizzoli and Isles (Angie Harmon and Sasha Alexander are good in this) and Castle. I like his ‘daughter’ and ‘mother’ characters in the show. Thanks, Colleen for helping me to get more ‘level headed’… one of these days!

Leave a Reply

