Critter Lovers

Standard

My Mom and Betty White adore animals of every species and support their

lives with their extra money. My Mom has always been part of the ones who

would donate to any and all causes for animal preservation, prevention to

cruelty and local humane societies. They both use their humor and their

love of animals to ‘keep on going.’ Betty White is often on talk shows, in

movies and recently Hallmark featured her in a movie about a woman who

was waiting for her husband to come back from WWII. It is called, “The

Lost Valentine.”

 

Both women, although far apart in their professions, my Mom and Betty,

were widows and kept on their toes, with causes and interests. Betty has said,

she would have retired long ago, except that she wanted to continue to be able

to donate for animals’ rights. Both of these over 80 year old women, Mom and

Betty, live purposeful and meaningful lives.

 

Oh, and if you didn’t know this; both women ‘love’ Cleveland! You may see

Betty White performing and cracking her audiences up in, “Hot in Cleveland,”

on TV Land on Wednesday nights at 10 p.m. (Ch. 38- Central Ohio time)

 

If you were to live in Cleveland area, here are some extraordinary animal

supportive entertainment projects being carried on, forwarded from last

Sunday’s Cleveland Plain Dealer, via Mom.

Everything from hummingbirds’ research and studies, which you may be

willing to observe and participate to “cat karaoke night,” are included in

this list of 10 upcoming events or fundraising projects!

 

1.  On Friday, September 262014: The group named,  “tails from the city,”

will hold “Karaoke for Cats,” at Paddy Rock Superpub.  This is located at

16700 A. Lorain Road. The group will take questions or donations at:

http://tailsfromthecitycleveland.org

 

2. The Northeast Ohio Circus Boycott Committee can be found on Facebook.

This organization promotes animals living in their natural environments.

They believe that animals should not be made to perform, should be able to

utilize their natural instinctive behaviors and not trained behaviors. Forcing

animals to perform is considered, “mistreatment.” There also is a phone

number for this organization: (440)-213-6342.

 

3. There is a New APP for smartphones that will inform the public of how to

help orphaned or injured wild animals. Free guidance can be found for the

group, Animal Help Now or

http://ahnow.org

 

4.  Do you want to show your appreciation for animals with a variety of

t-shirts with slogans?

The two organizations support animals:

http://sunfrogshirts.com

http://SmolasRescueRailroad/rescue

 

5.  This is so cool! Did you know humane societies and animal shelters collect

package weight circles from Purina Pet Food bags and products? Apparently,

Purina is like the Campbell Soup labels for education program and will reimburse

different non-profit shelters by their receiving labels for dogs, cats, bunnies, and

other domestic animals.

 

6. The National Audubon Society is asking for information about the hummingbirds

in your area. They are offering a free APP for people to contribute to their study of

hummingbirds:

http://hummingbirdsathome.org

 

7.  The Volunteer Vets and Valley Save-A-Pet organizations in Cleveland, Ohio are

working together by offering free spaying and neutering surgeries for dogs and cats

of low income owners. This outstanding joined forces group helped to perform more

than 1200 surgeries last year. Their program is titled, “Have A Heart.” They request

the participants fill out income guidelines and the animals be younger than two

years old and at least 35 pounds. If you wish to participate or donate:  Please Call:

(440)-232-CATS (2287)

 

8. September 21st the Annual Rainbow Bridge Walk and Run will begin at 1 p.m.

to honor and remember pets who have passed on into heaven. This is located in the

North Park, 3595 Grafton Road, Brunswick, Ohio.

Details for the Rainbow Walk can be found at:

http://rainbowbridgewalk.com

 

9. The Medina Pet Pantry is accepting pet food donations, leftovers from animals who

have died or newly purchased at: 6335 Wedgewood Road, Medina, Ohio.

 

10. Going along with the #s 8 and 9, St. Patrick’s Episcopal Church in Cleveland, Ohio

will be holding their Pet Blessings service in remembrance of beloved pets who are living

and also, ones that have passed on, October 5, 2014 between 1-3 p.m.  More details at:

http://stpatrick4u.net

 

If you are an animal lover, you may already know about the fantastic veterinarian and

author, James Herriot. I loved his longer, autobiographical adventures for anyone from

middle school and older. They are rich in English countryside, customs and anecdotes.

Here is his beautiful list of books, which I have treasured for years:

1. All Creatures Great and Small

2. All Things Bright and Beautiful

3. All Things Wise and Wonderful

4. The Lord God Made Them All

There are several more, including The Best of James Herriot but I am not sure, unless

you are a parent whose children adored animals and you were in the juvenile books area,

that some of you are aware of these special and meaningful story books. Each is illustrated

beautifully and my own children chose one of these to focus on in their growing up years:

1. Moses the Kitten (1984).

This was our first James Herriot book we invited into our home.

2. Oscar, Cat About Town.

3. Only One Woof.

4. The Christmas Baby Kitten.

This is kept in our Christmas book collection huge basket.

5. Bonny’s Big Day.

Horse lovers, this is about a special horse!

6. Blossom Comes Home.

People who have affection towards those doe-eyed cows, should

check out this sweet story.

7. The Market Square Dog.

 

There may be more books, your own personal animal stories you may wish to share

in our comments and responses. We all like animals, it is a true fact, babies and pets

are sometimes what bring smiles from even the ‘grouchiest’ people!

 

I will be shortly walking out of the library to see one of the biggest horse parades in

the United States. (Delaware, Ohio at 3 p.m. on September 7th.) I will be running into

a number of my friends, church members and neighbors. I will be sitting on a curb

soon, enjoying the community sense of fellowship and high expectation. In the past,

there have been diverse costumes, including Native American, (some represent the

history of this area, as descendants of the Mingo tribe), KISS band member look-alikes,

old-fashioned period costumes, Servicemen and women, Amish men and women with

their bonnets on, guiding their wagons and Clydesdales.

I will keep my eyes peeled, my camera ready to capture the horses with my coworker

and friend Amy, her ex-mother in law and daughter, riding together as a Trio entry in the

parade. The parade committee and guest judges will be choosing Best of Show, Most

Unique and other categories of winners for varied entries in this annual parade.

I have written about Amy’s horses, Spirit, Lokie and Sapphire. I have not been sure of

which ones they will be riding, one in all turquoise, another in all golden colors and the

third one, still up in the air, as of Friday. This means the headdress and blanket under the

saddle are of a chosen color, all in the ‘regalia’ of horse finery!

 

I am wearing this cowgirl on a horse, fall colors shirt, you can see in my avatar photo. No pants

today, since it is quite sunny and pleasant. Will be sitting on West Winter Street, with some

members of the family waving at the cowboys, cowgirls and children who are in this

All Horse Parade.

Supposedly, it is still considered, “The Biggest All Horse Parade East of the Mississippi!”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

19 responses »

    • I know! These are the ‘wackier’ choices that I had not heard of before, but there were easily 30 events on their September calendar, supporting animals. She also sent me a lovely photo of a Toledo zoo Galapagos Island tortoise. It is over 100 years old, I believe it said!

  1. I could so become a crazy animal hoarder of my hubby let me… But with less gross piles of awfulness. I absolutely love animals, completely respect Betty’s position! A wonderful post, as always! 😊

  2. You touched my heart with this. I have an Oscars Law placard on my car. Oscars law was started over here by a woman who saved a pup from a dog factory, or puppy farm. It is growing and gaining strength, trying to stop pet stores from selling puppies and kittens, for they are all bred in puppy factories. The females are tied down to breed continually, they have no human contact and live in concrete cages. I also love horses and ride, though I haven’t been for a year now. When our dog passed over the rainbow bridge and I first heard the song I couldn’t stop crying and we were able to plant a tree in a park along side other fur babies. I admire any person who cares protects or shares their love with any animal. Thank you Robin. Sorry I went on a bit..

    • I always go on a bit, so I don’t mind a bit how you described Oscar’s Law and your own dog passing over the rainbow bridge. I appall mistreatment of animals and cannot understand how people can do this, with a clear conscience, Jen! I appreciated your description of all the animals you enjoy and love. Everything is welcome, in my comments section and I appreciate the way you always share a part of your heart, Jen!

  3. Cleveland sounds like a great place to live Robin! And I found your post so interesting…there are so many animal fundraising programs and events! How wonderful!
    The parade sounds fantastic! I am sure you had a great time!!
    And your mother is such a selfless person, giving so much of her time to all these animal causes and I just love Betty White!!
    I also loved reading about Oscar’s Law that Ramblingsfromamom wrote about above. What a great cause as these puppy mills should be run out of business!!

    Cathy x

    • Thank you, Cathy, I appreciate your lovely words. You gave a lot of extra comments, like how you think my Mom is selfless and I am so glad you read Jen’s comments, too. I will have to get back to you, soon!

      • I agree about the puppy mills needing to be run out of business, Cathy! So glad Jen got us started with her Oscar’s Law comment! All animals deserve some freedom to run and play!

  4. I love to read positive stories like this, Robin! I too love animals and I’m glad to know there are others who care as much as I do about them. Animal charities have always been close to my heart. By the way, we have so many hummingbirds here in Phoenix :).

    • I was thinking about you and hummingbirds, Cindy Knoke, too. She has written about hummingbirds in her ‘holler.’ I haven’t had a chance to track her down and see if she found this way of connecting with Audubon and doing a survey for them… I appreciate your find this positive and also that you care so much about animals, too, Luanne! Hugs for your big heart!

    • Thanks so much for admiring the people who do this out of the goodness of their hearts… I bet you have one of those lists of giving to many charities, too. I find Greenpeace and others where they are trying to save endangered animals pull at me, but domestic and farm animals and fair treatment are also ones that make me get teary eyed, just thinking about how little space they have to be able to live and breathe. But, I am not a vegan and do eat meat, there is a little conflict in my inner self over this, Hollis! Are you a vegan or vegetarian? Just curious…

      • I eat meat now, since our daughter was born.(She needed the protein and I was just too busy to do vegetarian with all the nutrients) I didn’t used to eat meat. But even now I don’t eat veal or lamb. I just can’t. Being a vegetarian, it’s hard to stay healthy or else kill yourself fixing all that stuff. What do you think?

      • My youngest daughter has had arthritis since young, (JRA) and this has made us more aware of our diets and how to protect her as much as possible. They have attributed some ‘bad’ things to gluten, so she has given this and dairy products up. I have begged her for her ‘red blood cells’ sake’ to include some meats. Just to ensure the white ones (which are more dominant because they go into fighting mode against the disease) will not take over all the good red blood cells. I agree, Hollis, it is tough to eat ‘baby animals,’ so I don’t tend to eat lamb or veal either. I think it is so hard to get enough nutrients, like protein from vegetables, but I do make a big pot of something like quinoa or whole wheat pasta on Sunday, adding fresh ingredients daily to a single portion. I don’t live with anyone but myself, so I tend to not eat as much meat as my body uses up quite a lot of calories in my present job. Good question and so glad you are thinking about the subject! (Have you ever checked out Celeste’s ‘Honk If You’re Vegan’ blog? She is really fun and clever. I don’t get over there enough!)

Leave a Reply

