Rare Books

Image

The unique, exquisite first edition rare books collection is awe-inspiring.

This includes many books you will know and love. It includes international

books, on loan for a brief period, from September 29 until November 9, 2014.

A man named Stuart Rose, started collecting books that were special to him.

Rose’s collection began when he found in 1992, the First Edition of,

“Tarzan,”

by

Edgar Rice Burroughs.

Rose went on collecting past 2000 First Edition or

“One of a Kind” books.

There are 49 featured books,

displayed on

University of Dayton

campus,

in the

Roesch Library

First Floor

Gallery.

 

I love the title of the exhibition:

 

“Imprints

and

Impressions”

 

Part

of

the

“Milestones

in

Human Progress”

Program:

 

Highlights

from the

Rose Rare Book

Collection

 

There are directions online

you may follow to get to

the place you need to go.

 

Jane Austen’s

“Pride

and

Prejudice,”

Quote:

“The spoken word passes away, while the written word remains.”

 

Paul H. Benson,

essayist for the

Dayton UD Alum

Magazine

reminded

us of the

Essence

and

Importance

of:

Preserving books while time marches forward

some day society may feel we don’t ‘need’ them.

These are our own printed legacy and heritage.

(Not quoted, but read and digested. Explaining

and passing on my feeling of urgency to see this

magnificent book collection before it goes away.)

 

Here are some favorites of mine:

The

“Qu’ran”

Copied

in

Beautifully

Intricate

Calligraphy

by

Aziz

Khan

Kashmiri

(1864)

 

Galileo,

“Starry Messenger”

(1610)

 

Mark Twain,

“Adventures of Huckleberry Finn”

(1885)

 

Isaac Newton,

(Misspelled words,

intentionally copied as

Newton

chose to do.)

“Opticks

or a Treatise

of the

Reflexions, Refractions

Inflexions and Colours

of

Light.

Also,

Two Treatises

of the

Species and Magnitude

of

Curvilinear Figures”

(1704)

 

Ralph Ellison,

“Invisible Man”

(1952)

 

Virginia Woolf,

“A Room of One’s Own”

(1929)

 

J. R. R. Tolkien,

“The Lord of the Rings”

Hand-written

Proofs,

with final edits

done in pen.

(1953 – 1955)

 

Geoffrey Chaucer,

“Canterbury Tales”

(1492)

 

Rene Descartes,

“Discourse on the Method”

(1637)

 

William Shakespeare,

“Comedies, Histories and Tragedies”

(1632)

 

Nicholas Copernicus,

“On the Revolution of Celestial Spheres”

(1543)

 

*I would love to see*

Artistic

Illustrations

drawn by

Salvador Dali,

“Alice in Wonderland”

(1969)

 

There are more books to examine and admire.

 

There is a special informative talk by former

UD graduate and famous person,

Daniel De Simone,

about the Rose exhibit on:

October 16, 2014,

7:00 – 8:30 p.m

 

Daniel De Simone is

Librarian at the

Folger Shakespeare Library,

Washington, D. C.

(Formerly worked at

Library of Congress)

Lecture topic:

“Why the Stuart Rose Book Collection

Matters in the Age of Digital Surrogates.”

 

Since I have two First Edition books that are not ‘rare’ nor very great condition,

I felt the power of words would be expressed better personally, if I told you about

my books.

“Magnificent Obsession,”

Lloyd C. Douglas

(1929)

P.F. Collier and Sons, Company

New York, New York.

The book begins with a physician given as, “Doctor Hudson.” His mental and physical

condition is described as “on the verge of a collapse,” along with “all but dead on his feet.”

We can all relate, in one way or another, to this man who is trying to be the best doctor

he can. Reminding us of that often expressed, “Physician heal thyself.”

Then comes a “twist of fate.”

I love this book, which was made into a movie. (Although, it changes some of the details,

making it a different story entirely.)

In the end of the book, another doctor is mentioned, if you were not aware of the accident

you might wonder who this character is. “Doctor Hudson” is no longer the focus. The reader

has come to know and love a different man, you see.

This story has turned from a solitary life of medicine to one where there is someone named,

“Bobby.”

He plans on boarding a train, then disembarking to go on a big steamer ship.

The love of his life, (you need to read the book to find out how he met her!)

“Mauve” approaches with what the author describes as, “a snug, saucy, cloche hat” on

her head and she is wearing, “a tailored suit of mauve that sculptures every curve of

her body.” She embraces him and the rest of the happy ending comes in his plans for

their future, where the Captain will marry them on their trip abroad.

 

My other favorite book, which my good and dear, deceased friend, Bob gave me. I have

written how I met him and our friendship grew, from playing games on a picnic table

in the park, to his watching my two grandsons playing on the gym equipment there.

This is an everlasting gift, his memory pervades into my soul, which is perfectly fitting

in the book he gave me:

“The Keys of the Kingdom”

A. J. Cronin

(1941)

Little Brown and Co.

Boston, Mass.

This is a Scottish tale, with a priest named Father Chisholm. It begins with his limping up

a steep path from St. Columbia’s Parish (church) to his home that is walled in by gardens.

He looks out on a beautiful view described by the author,

“Beneath him was the River Tweed, a great wide sweep of placid silver, tinted by the low

saffron smudge of Autumn sunset.”

What a way with words you have, Mr. A. J. Cronin!

You can picture his wonder in the lovely description.

The book is filled with simple treasures, nuggets of wisdom and throughout it,

deep philosophy. The book takes a crooked path, through periods of time,  where

you need to re-read at time, to orient to what part of Father Chisholm’s life you

are in. There is never any doubt in Father Chisholm’s love, belief and faith in God.

His encounters and adventures are vast and absorbing, including danger and

Eastern culture, too.

 

At the end of the book, it closes with the Father going trout-fishing with a poor,

country lad named, Andrew. There is less infirmity in his step. There is added

purpose for living implied. His path has come full circle, back home again.

His adoption of Andrew has given him a

second chance on life.

 

I hope you enjoyed the tour of my books I shared today

along with the fascinating examples to view,

Online tour given through photographs,

or in person at University of Dayton.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

32 responses »

  1. WOW—what a fine collection! You, my friend, are also like a rare book…or vintage—one never realizes your intense value until opened and enjoyed (Sure sounds like a “pick-up line,” but it’s not meant that way!? 😀

  2. WOW! What a list, Robin. When I was in college, I visited a rare and first edition book display in Kansas City, and beside each book (in safety, under glass) was a handwritten note or a clipping of comments about the book, made soon after it was published. I knew I was in the presence of words that made a difference…as well as words from the minds and hearts of those who read the words and appreciated them.
    I have owned only one First Edition book, book of short stories put out in a hardback edition by American Girl Magazine. It was called STORIES TO LIVE BY and contained more than 20 short stories that I read and reread from the time I was eleven until I was probably thirteen or fourteen. My aunt in California bought it for me, and I loved it.

    • This is powerful how you have been to a rare and first edition book display, Marylin. I felt your words and they left an impression on me. I like how you said, you knew you were in the “presence of words that made a difference.” Exactly how I feel when I view these books on display.
      I think your treasured book sounds wonderful, Marylin. I liken it the 20 short stories to “All I Ever Needed to Know I Learned in Kindergarten” and the ones where they have Bible or faith stories aimed at certain ages. I also liked all the “Chicken Soup” books.
      This gift from your aunt in California, really meant a lot during those teenager years. I appreciate your telling me about this and I used to like reading the “American Girl” magazine, too. Thank you so much for sharing!

    • You may view these on a guided online tour, for free! Drooling is protected, by the way, with the barrier of glass around the books… ha ha! Smiling at your smiling face!

      • 🙂 Well, rain coats for the books. Good thinking on their part.

        You know where I really want to go to see books? Trinity College, Ireland.

        The Book Of Kells. Been to Ireland 4 times and never saw it.

      • I know, I was teasing you a little back. You are so right about what you meant, which is that we are all captivated by rare things, animals, books, and other unique elements of this world… I liked ‘rain coats’ for the books, Colleen!

      • Oh, oh! That sure would be a great destination for your next visit to Ireland, Colleen! I would enjoy looking at the Trinity College campus, the area around it, the library and the Book of Kells. I hate it when I go on a trip, forgetting to go somewhere, or finding out I just missed something that was going on, too… Have a wonderful weekend, Colleen.

  3. You have wonderful taste, Robin. I loved Huckleberry Finn as a child and it is probably the only book I ‘forgot’ to return to the library 😀 I’m also a fan of Virginia Woolf – have you every read her short stories? There are a couple of books on your list that I must check out ,Descartes being one of them and Cronin’s book.

    • I have not read all of these, but was fascinated by the exhibit. It was free, I wish I had a friend who would go to the lecture by Mr. De Simone… Want to visit? Smiles! I am so happy you were a fan of Huckleberry Finn. I am never going to say a word about not returning the book, (sh-h!) since I have had to pay fines, donations, etc. over the years for my own children’s lost books. I enjoyed many of the other Mark Twain books, too. I am afraid I will need to check out Virginia Woolf’s short stories, since I am truly almost done with my last mystery my friend, Karen, loaned me. Is there a specific collection, Yolanda? Thanks, my dear!

      • I’ll go with you! 🙂 I recently discovered you can download Virginia Woolf’s A Haunted House and other stories for free online. So I hope you like it 🙂 She is not everyone’s cup of tea but in my opinion a genius! I also enjoyed reading Mark Twain’s The Innocents Abroad about his travels through Europe.

      • So glad we made these ‘imaginary’ plans, love the idea of being able to stop time, travel in a second and do everything in our imagination.
        Yolanda, I did not know about the “A Haunted House,” not sure I can get away with downloading on the library’s computer but will be picking up a book soon by V. Woolf. I promise!

    • Thank you for admiring my taste in books, Hollis!
      So glad you saw this tinge of red on the moon, Hollis! I got up early to see the eclipse with the Earth’s shadow covering the moon, then I had a chance to see more of a pink moon!
      I heard after I got into work at the warehouse (no windows where I work, except the break room) that it turned bright orange-red when the sun came up.
      I accidentally told you the wrong day, since I didn’t look at my cellphone for the date.

      • Wow! I wish I had seen that! Um…I have an astrologer friend who keeps me up to date. I wouldn’t know without her. She knows so much though, I never ask her about my chart. It gets complicated, I guess. But she did tell me about the eclipse.
        Apparently until tomorrow, everyone will be having some issues. Due to the configurations in the sky. Hey, the last five years have been eclipse-y for me so……I don’t notice a difference!! 🙂

      • The past eight years have been eclipse-y for me, Hollis! I am off with a good and dear old friend, my teaching asst. who is coming to spend the afternoon. I will talk or read you, very soon! smiles! Enjoy your weekend, Hollis!

    • Thanks, Jill. Great books are truly good friends.
      My Dayton trip was not this weekend, but the one before…Just getting around to writing ‘out of order’ of my life’s path. I caught it the opening weekend, since I had my youngest daughter’s friend’s wedding to enjoy this past weekend. It was a lovely warm weather day to travel then.
      Only wish it had been a little more cheery on October 4th, for Holly and Nate!

  4. I have read many among the list of your favorite ones in college during my Masters in English Literature, like ” Canterbury Tales”, ” The Lord of the Rings”, ” Pride and Prejudice” and Shakespeare has been my all time favorite. He is the king of tragedy. Who will not love reading Macbeth, Julius Caesar and Romeo ( star-crossed lovers) and Juliet during school days.

    • I love that you took the time to list the books you enjoyed over the years. They are a great list of fine classics, Soul! Hope you have a wonderful weekend and I will check in sometime soon…Hugs, Robin

Leave a Reply

