Cleveland R & R Hall of Fame: Musical Notes

Standard

Oh, how my brothers and I wished we could have gone to the excellent musical

tribute to the Everly Brothers on October 25, 2014. It was called, “Rock and Roll

Hall of Fame’s 2014 Music Masters.” There were so many famous musicians and

music industry ‘captains’ there that it would have been so amazing to listen to

the tribute for this iconic sibling combination who inspired everyone that followed

them.

Revelry included a large group of musicians from the genres and roots of blue grass,

jazz, country and rock and roll legends. I will give you part of the ensemble list here.

Emmy Lou Harris who paired up with Alfred Lee (Everly’s lead guitarist) to sing the

trademark song which is recognizable across the world, with memories mentioned

by British icons and Irish singers, too: “Bye, Bye Love.”

What brought the audience to tears, Chuck Yarborough of the Cleveland Plain Dealer,

mentioned in his article and the evening news the next day also repeated, was Don

Everly, aged 77, coming up on stage to join them in harmony.

Who else was there, you may ask? Graham Nash, Keb’Mo’, Ledisi, Peter Asher, Waddy

Wachtel, Shelby Lynne and Allison Moorer, Alison Krauss, J. D. Souther, Bonnie

“Prince” Billie and Dawn McCarthy.

The lovely song, “Lonely Island,” was given a special tribute from the Secret Sisters,

Laura and Lydia Rogers all the way from Muscle Shoals, Alabama. T-Bone Burnett,

musician and record producer had insisted they include this song in their most

recent record.

Keb’Mo’ and Ledisi performed, “Let It Be Me,” which meant adapting the vocals

to their unique talents.

Vince Gill and Graham Nash, (Nash started out in the duo, The Hollies but is more

known and recognized for his contribution in another ‘combination’ band, Crosby,

Stills, Nash and Young.) They sang a great duo together.

Rodney Crowell (musical director) and Keb’Mo’ sang “Wake Up, Little Susie,” which

is an Everly’s favorite. Keb’Mo’ has included this memorable song on one of his albums

and spoke about his affection for the warm and friendly Everly Brothers.

Greg Harris, Rock and Roll H. of Fame Pres. and CEO, mentioned when he toured in

Ireland in the 80’s everywhere he traveled, when a guitar was pulled out to play,

whether in a kitchen with a grandfather and grandson, along with Pubs, Everly Brothers

were being played.  He mentioned a tribute to Phil Everly who had passed away earlier

this year, just days before he would have celebrated his 75th birthday. It was a moment

of bittersweet memories, allowing the audience to again mourn the loss of a ‘brother.’

Emmy Lou Harris’ soprano voice joined Rodney Crowell’s in a poignant song, “Love

Hurts.”

The night of duets continued with Peter Asher (who had been formerly part of the duo

“Peter and Gordon,” which is still considered a great part of the British Invasion)

and Graham Nash soaring voices in harmony in “Hard, Hard Year” followed by

“Claudette.” Wow!

Peter Asher later paired with J.D. Souther in the song, “Crying in the Rain.”

Are you like me? Do you remember the continuous variety of the Everly Brothers’

song and playlist?

When Vince Gill joined Graham in Everly’s huge (most sold songs) “Cathy’s Clown,”

both using their natural tenor voices to blend into a beautiful tribute to the Everly’s

I would have loved to be there but I bet Youtube has captured this. I will hope to

find a disc of this fine duet.

Vince Gill and Allison Krauss performed together, “When Will I Be Loved?” The song

is one I could sing all the words to, since it is a classic and never to be forgotten. It

has been sung by musical artists everywhere, including a few of my college buddies.

 

This is the point I wish to make, there are few people who have not been moved,

touched and honored to have listened to an Everly Brothers song.

 

Just a side note:

Did you notice that Jack Bruce passed away over the weekend?

The days when ‘rock and roll were young’ include Cream band,

where Jack Bruce was ‘big time’ in the 60’s and 70’s in England

and the U.S.

Cream had its own sound, a psychedelic combination of blues,

rock and part of the “Flower Power” age.

Jack studied music while a child in Scotland, became a cellist

and symphonic musician before he turned to rock and roll.

Jack Bruce’s solo albums, after Cream ‘broke up’ were covered by

everyone from Jimi Hendrix, David Bowie and Ella Fitzgerald.

“Sunshine of Your Love,” is one of the many Cream and Jack Bruce

songs that come to my mind. On the album, it featured Eric Clapton

playing the guitar, while Jack Bruce played the bass and sang along

with Ginger Baker on drums. Worth checking out, if you were not

part of this generation, or worth listening to, just to have that

wonderful flooding of memories that may be associated with thie

period of music.

“Wheels of Fire” spent time on the Top Ten Best Songs for quite

some time, Cream sold 35 million albums in two years. It became

the World’s First Ever, Platinum disc! Wow!

 

As a soloist, Jack Bruce developed a combination of blending

jazz, rock and blues, with less of the psychedelic renderings.

He was successful and toured from the 80’s until 2005, when

Cream came back together to tour and help those who were

part of the generation of “Flower Power” to reminisce, dance

and sway along to the music.

 

One Cream song, “I Feel Free,” will be one that makes me smile,

since Jack Bruce, aged 71 succumbed to cancer, is probably part

of that Heavenly Band, feeling free of the pain he suffered in his

later life.

 

27 responses »

    • It is hard to juggle writing, Luanne with reading. I am always torn between the two. Thanks for saying this and glad to have you enjoying my writing, too! Thanks for also sharing that you were not one to listen to a wide variety of music, while younger. It is wonderful how my two brothers and I balanced out our listening styles!

  1. this sounds fantastic, robin. i loved cream too, and jack bruce was a legendary part of that band. i’ve never been to the hall of fame, but would sure love to visit.

    • I have had friends join me at the door, I try not to get too excited, pulling them forward to some of my favorite spots there! Fun times, Beth! “Come on down!!” smiles!

  2. I love your stories about music, and I am like you, Robin. I do remember the long playlist of Everly Brothers hits. You mentioned the biggies. I used to sing along with those as well as Wake Up Little Susie and the love ballad, All I Have to Do is Dream, plus Walk Right Back, and I Kissed Ya. The list goes on, and so do the memories.

    I like how you segued into the rock legends like Cream. We were fortunate to live in a time when the boundaries of Rock were being pushed by great songwriters and musicians of the era.

    I hope some day you will play guide for my visit to the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame. – Mike

    • This was such a nice extra list of additional hits by the wonderful Everly Brothers, Mike! Thanks so much for adding ones, that as soon as I read them, I could hum them, too!
      I was certain that Jack Bruce’s passing might not be one that my friends would notice. Someone just came into the Pub here at Mom’s so I need to comment and get right off. Take care, Mike!!

  3. You are right, Robin, it would have been great to see all of those wonderful musicians pay tribute to the Everly Brothers at the Rock Hall. Vince Gill! One of my all-time favorites. The man can play the strings and sing like an angel.

    Thanks for mentioning Jack Bruce’s passing, too. I never got to see Cream in concert, but I was fortunate enough that when I went to see Ringo Starr and His All-Stars, Jack was the bass payer in the band. Wow. The man who starred on “White Room” with the man who put out “The White Album.” I was pretty thrilled. 🙂

    • Wonderful addition to this post, Mark! Thanks so much for this! I am going to come back and reply some more, there is a woman who is waiting for the computer here in the Senior Apts. Pub! I really enjoyed what you wrote about Jack Bruce….

      • Oh, have I not told you that the Pub has a poker table, a pool table, a bar that serves beer or wine to the residents, included in their food bill, along with a large screen television set. Oh, they charge guests $3 for a glass of wine, not sure about beer… Fun place to live! Her teacher’s retirement pays for most of the bill, my Dad took his government retirement in a lump sum, with a small monthly stipend that allows Mom spending money. Take it easy and off I go to next doctors, after I comment on the next few in line here! smiles

  4. It is lovely to read of such a tribute to the beautiful harmonies of the Everly Brothers – no-one did it quite like them! It must have been a brilliant concert – I wish these things were recorded and shared with the world. Sigh!

    As for the passing of Jack Bruce – his legacy is enormous. Cream changed the face of music and made a huge impression on me back then. I am made very happy when young people now tell me excitedly about this great band they have just discovered and play me a bit ….. it’s usually ‘In a white room …….’ they love the lyrics, the driving beat of Ginger’s drum and of course Eric’s guitar!! Don’t we all 🙂

    • I am not sure they aren’t recorded. I think possibly the R & R Hall of Fame may record these performances, you may check out Youtube for the Vince Gill and other combinations/duets? I am also happy when the younger ones enjoy the British Invasion groups, especially ones they may never see together in person… My own kids listen to Rock and Roll and admire the ‘masters!’ Smiles!

  5. What a thrill that would have been to see Don Everly take the stage to accept the award. It’s sad that Phil passed in January just days before his 75th birthday. I loved the Everly Brothers when I was a teen. Wish I could have been to see those stars honor them. Thanks for the walk down memory lane, Robin.

    • You are most welcome to join me on any walks, especially ones down memory lane, Judy!! Glad you enjoyed this and I feel the duets and songs will be recorded, may have to check out Youtube…

  6. The neighborhood that I remember as a teen had much of the music that you have so eloquently described. I remember when the Big Bopper, Buddy Holly, and Ritchie Valens died. A friend of mine knew the Big Bopper.The area that I am recalling was in New Orleans. It was very much a Fonzie neighhborhood, and the Fonzies were not always nice, but they seemed to get along with me. Wow! Was I glad. That time in music yesteryear was of its own kind, and will never be repeated. My friends wore leather motorcycle jackets to school, blue jeans, pointed-toe black shoes, that had a heel. My parents never would buy purple pants for me, but I survived. My hair never seemed to match the appeal that came from “the greasers.” We hung out at night, and nobody ever got in trouble. Of course, the songs of the black groups have a special place in my mind, such as “My Prayer” by The Platters. (I’m listening to it now, and holding back the tears).Thanks for the prompt for good thoughts. And, yes. God must have loved Rock and Roll too!

    • Thanks so much for this set of comments! Oh, how I love your memories!! These are so warm and wonderful. This makes a perfect addition to the post, hope everyone will stop on by and notice all the favorites listed here!

      • Thank you very much. I had a good childhood. That has a lot to do with the values that have stayed with me. Of course, my relationship with Jesus is paramount. Please have a wonderful day.

  7. Oh how music can unite us! All those songs you mentioned bring my 60’s childhood flooding back. Cream were something else – you were definitely cool if you liked them and even cooler if you had an album! I saw Eric Clapton perform at the Albert Hall in the 80’s but by that time he had got to I Shot the Sheriff, etc. The rawness of he original rock wasn’t there. Still an awesome night, though.

    • I agree, music is the perfect way to unite our world. Wish we could just somehow work magical connections and get Peace to fill everyone’s hearts. The 60’s and other following musical eras really do have evocative tunes, much meaning in the words, for the most part, too. Thanks, Jenny! I would have loved seeing Eric Clapton live! I feel his guitar work and voice are still great and glad he is still around to serenade us, Jenny! Smiles!

  8. I love the Everly Brothers! After reading Jenny’s comment above, I now realize I wasn’t “cool.” 😦 I remember hearing of a band named Cream, but I don’t remember ever listening to their music.

    • This is okay, Jill. I had two brothers who were my balance in music, which was lucky for me. I didn’t choose to listen to them until they came around again! Smiles! You are always ‘cool’ in my book! Hugs!

Leave a Reply

