Threads

Standard

For those of us who are approaching winter, there are some moments

when we may wish to start a large puzzle, work on a craft or read a

book with deeper meaning. After all, the media ‘invented’ the idea of

Summer Books, which always seem like “Beach Books.” They consist

of fun reads, some adventures or romance but generally not expected

to make it into the Classic books area of the library.

While gathering things, somewhat ‘ahead of time,’ preparing for my

Thanksgiving trip to see my Mom and family up North, I put a box of

old wooden spools of thread into a bag. Or rather ones that used to

have thread on them. I added one of my books from the discards

pile at the May Library Book Sale, in coordination with the Delaware

Arts Festival, thinking that I may get a chance over the four days “on

holiday” to bury my nose in a book. The spools will go to my brother’s

future artistic projects. He utilized another set of these antique

wooden spools in a colorful multi-media project, finishing it with

a shiny paint spattered glaze over it. I love the circular shapes within

the circle of  his shimmering presentation of what I would describe

as the “cosmos.”

 

While talking about thread, I don’t wish to go on too many tangents.

 

Do you remember when we would say, “Nice threads?” Sometimes,

I remember saying this to someone with a tie-dyed shirt or a pretty

patch-worked maxi-skirt. Was it applicable only to certain kinds

of clothes or anyone who we may have thought looked “nice?”

Interesting, since we also use the word “threadbare” clothes, for

those which may be considered ‘raggedy’ or worn out. These are

‘bones of contention’ sometimes, when a spouse may wish to keep

a favorite, softened by time item of clothing. The other spouse

may wish to throw it in the ‘rags’ heap.

 

 

Now that I am getting older, I sometimes have to close one of

my eyes to “thread” a needle. I also recently purchased a package

of needles that remind me of the Large Print Books’ section where

I tend to get some of my ‘reading for pleasure’ books. Rarely do I

find ‘classics’ in this area. I pondered this once, “Do they think

that while I am losing my eyesight, I am becoming ‘dimmer’ in

my brain cells, too?” In this same vein, my “threads” of thoughts

can become quite twisted or knotted up, needing someone to

help unravel them.

 

When a spider creates his web, the intricate woven pattern looks

like snowflakes at times. Sometimes, I think of it as gossamer

“thread” and am amazed at how strong its hold is. Especially,

when in someone’s attic, as it catches in your hair. It is definitely

sticky, which makes sense to catch the bugs or flies for the spider’s

meal.

 

While the use of ‘threading in and out’ is less often used than the

expression of ‘weaving in and out,’ I have heard this used.

 

Can you think of other ways the word, “thread” is used?

 

I especially admire the Native Americans who used almost every

part of an animal, one way or another. Using creatures’ sinew

to sew with a needle created from its bone is surely a testament

of their creative and utilitarian minds. I cannot imagine trying

to poke through the fur or animal hide to create clothes and

jackets. It would have been easier to just throw the fur over their

shoulders like a blanket or poncho. That is how I picture my

way of ‘roughing it.’ The daunting task of creating homes out

of materials from the natural world is incredible to me also.

 

I have 15 different wooden spool brand names with the prices

varying from 15 cents to a quarter. I studied and grouped them,

even noticing the colors or as they are labeled, “shades” can be

over 1000 in their number. The variety intrigued me, as I hope

or felt it may a few of my readers. All of the 15 brands are made

in America. I would be interested if anyone in another country

would tell me where their thread in their sewing basket or junk

drawer was made.

 

When you ‘whet’ someone’s interest in a subject, you don’t

wish to leave them “hanging by a thread,” so here is my list:

1. Clark’s brand.

This is interesting because it was originally on its own, but you will

see a spool with two brands who must have become connected. On

this post, I decided would be presenting what I have, not what I

looked up on the internet. I did not research any of these companies.

Details on the Clark’s wooden spool include, “Cotton” and “O.N.T.”

and the “shade” number of 278 on one of several of these. The “Size

50” is on this brand.

2. “Belding Corticelli” brand.

The words are not together, but circle the spool, some on the

‘top’ and some on the ‘bottom.’

“Bel-waxed”

“Mercerized”

“Cotton”

and the expression, “Fast to Boiling.”

Several of this brand, with the price range given of 15 cents, 19 cents

and 25 cents.

The shades are stamped into the wood, ink pressed to show “1707”

on one, for example. The “Size 50” is also on this brand. All of these

gave the length of “125 yds.” of thread.

3. “Sea Island Thread Mfg. Corp.”

The words, “None Better” are stamped into the wood on one end.

The length on this bigger sized spool is “700 yds.” It is labeled,

“Mercerized Cotton.” (Unlike the other spool where the words

were separated and not contiguous.) This is mentioned to be,

“Made in New York.”

4. “Standard- Coosa-Thatcher Company” is also labeled on

the other end of the spool as “S-C-T”

There is no marking of its shade, color, or length but I am

happy to tell you this was made in “Chattanooga, Tenn.”

5. “Richardson’s .”

“Mercerized Sewing Cotton,”

(Size 50)

100 yards

“Fast to Boiling.”

This singular spool has the word, “Shade 1788,” on it.

6. “Fruit of the Loom.”

40 yds.

(Size 50)

“Mercerized” (no mention of cotton on label.)

“Fast Color”

*Would we today call this ‘color fast?’*

7. “Dandy” brand.

This label is the only one which presents a blend of,

“Cotton and Polyester”

Made in U.S.A. is stamped into the wooden spool’s end.

“Mercerized” is again not connected with the source of

the thread’s ‘material.’

“Boil Fast”

*Doesn’t this fascinate you? How can one expression, “Fast

to Boiling,” be attributed to one kind and then, this shorter

one be given?*

There are two facts about the “Dandy” brand which are not

included on any other of my spools, “Left Twist” and “Two

Cord- 1200 yards.” This is a longer/taller wooden spool.

8. “Ball’s Best” brand.

This was made in South Willington, Connecticut.

“500 yards”

“Cotton”

(24) May be “shade” number?

Gardiner Hall Jr. Company.

“Sole Man’ers”

*(Was this meant to be used on soles of socks or shoes?)*

9. “Coats” brand.

“Super Sheen With Silicone” on a shiny paper circle on top.

125 yds.

“Mercerized”

“Boilfast”

(50)

19 cents.

Shades are “169” “70” and “57-A”

On the bottom of the spool, where there isn’t any shiny label,

stamped into the wood is: “J + P Coats.”

10. “Lily” brand.

“Mercerized.”

50 yds.

Cotton boll symbol on the paper label.

“Boil – Fast”

11. “Radium” brand.

“1 oz.”

“Three Cord”

“Mercerized Cotton”

“Color 1169”

12. “Aunt Lydia’s” brand,

“American Thread Co.”

“Button & Carpet”

“Extra Strong + Smooth”

“Shade 830”

13. “Empeco” brand.

“Mercerized Thread”

“Manufactured by Max Pollack Co. Inc.”

Made in “Mills Groton, CONN”

“700 yards”

Color “518.”

14. “Coats + Clarks”

(At last, we have both companies joined together.)

Time has gone past, since this big spool is labeled

to cost, “39 cents” and has details, such as:

“Dressmaker’s Spool”

“Made in U.S.A”

(50)

Color or shade is “86-B”

15. “Talon” brand.

“Mercerized.”

325 yds.

“29 cents”

“Made in U.S.A.”

“Colorfast” (at last!)*

15. “Star” brand.

“100% Polyester”

40 yds.

“American Thread Co.”

“CONN”

(An area code is given, but is faded. Possibly 06905 or 08905?)

“Will-Boil”

Three different spools have these color numbers:

“484” “553” and “020”

The three have varying length of thread:

“40 yds.” “125 yds.” and “150 yds.”

“Mercerized Cotton”

I enjoy learning about the crafts and hobbies of fellow bloggers.

Do you tend to carry out the same kinds of activities or do you

change them, as the season changes?

This post began with my getting out some things to go visiting;

along with sorting out the spools from my crowded sewing basket.

I accomplished the chore of cleaning up and writing this post about

‘threads’ due to those wooden spools. My little grandchildren used

to play stacking games with them, as if they were uniquely shaped

building blocks. Remembering their tall towers of spools make me

smile. Then, the giggles of when they all came tumbling down.

I imagine children in the past doing this playful use of spools, too.

 

 

 

 

 

42 responses »

  1. they do not sell them for that kind of money now and they are not as good as back then, well that is what I think

    my mom tends to knit on the winter wonder if the weather or the holidays have to do with that. I get lazy in the winter more than any season, and start to eat more, it is crazy.

    • I am so glad you said this wonderful comment, Doris. I agree that your Mom’s generation were very good at making things, along with the sewing items were not as expensive. Good to know your mother is still knitting and I get a little bit more interested in my artwork and cooking, reading and staying inside. Oh, we all eat more in the winter time, it makes us feel warmer, don’t you think? In the summer, I could live on a liquid diet or just fruits and salads, but in the winter, I wish for meat, potatoes and lots of soup! I love your new ‘signature’ and your post is really beautiful, Doris!

  2. I could never sew, thread a needle, put a button back on my own shirts or pants, Robin. How said is that for a man soon to be 57? My pride is hanging on by a thread! I have not heard nor given the compliment “nice threads” in decades. It used to be common when I was in college, I believe. If you heard that from a girl in class, well, that was a good sign to keep up the thread of the conversation and good vibration! It that went well you would thread your way through the crowd to get two open seats together in the cafeteria! I’m done. My spool is empty …

    • Awe, this was a sweet story about how you would take that compliment, “nice threads” to heart. You would follow up with conversation, which I like the inclusion of ‘good vibration,’ Mark. Then, off you would go, threading through the crowd, good use of the word of the day! And, then the last part, such a nice ‘touch’ about your spool being empty.
      Very nicely done, I appreciate this, Mark.

  3. Needle and thread never excited me as my mother used to drag my brother and i into fabric shops as a “means of subtle torture.” When I was growing up, most kids would have nightmares about scary movies, ghosts, and the like, but my poor brother had nightmares about JoAnn Fabrics. So, when you mention the ’70’s slang “Nice Threads,” I am reminded of juvenile nightmares. lol

    • I am so glad you think this was a slang term of the 70’s. Glad for that confirmation TLK! Also, sorry about your being tortured in fabric stores. My Mom would bring me, leaving my Dad in charge of my two ‘rotten’ brothers. I did not wish to get any nightmares started… it is long time since Halloween!

  4. Lovely post Robin. I was taught to knit and crochet at a very young age so I still enjoy both but prefer knitting as I find it relaxing. I only knit in winter. Sadly I wouldn’t know what to do with needle and thread 😦

    • I have learned both crocheting and knitting, but am good at neither. Thanks, Yolanda for telling me which craft helps relax you, this is popular once again, knitting is what you even hear famous people doing, like Julia Roberts or Sandra Bullock, while waiting for their camera shots. I took sewing lessons, first from Mom, then two years of Home Ec. I could do fairly well, but when my girls needed 4H projects (and a Girl Scout badge for one of the 2) I had my Mom teach them! smiles! Was the one who taught you, your grandmother who could cook well? The one who packed a great picnic basket? Smiles!

      • Both grandmothers! (It is easier to just say grandmother as I don’t want to confuse anyone) Maternal grandma loved crocheting and paternal grandmother loved knitting 😀 My paternal grandmother worked for a tailor in her youth and so was apparently a whiz with needle and thread but I didn’t inherit that gene 😀

      • I am so glad you shared about your two grandmothers, both talented and passing on a gift of a craft to you. Sorry the tailor gene didn’t get passed on, but the other two pastimes are fun to relax and watch t.v. or talk and listen to music. I am hoping you are enjoying your musical listening list, while writing about the 70’s. I will definitely enjoy this since I graduated high school in 1974, college in ’78. Here, we had a blizzard of ’78 and I lived on the 12th floor. we all had so much fun, skipping classes and getting a sled to take downtown with a box on it, to pull back to a lower level dorm room. The box would cart both food and alcohol!
        This is more about what you are writing then ‘threads,’ I got off on a tangent…

    • We sometimes need to ‘schedule’ such relaxing, quiet moments, then blank out the t.v. and computer. Sometimes, it is hard to do, but winter is my favorite time to ‘stay at home!’ I like how you said, “slow down to read and enjoy life,” Beth! smiles!

  5. “I just lost my thread” means I have wandered off topic and now can’t remember what I was talking about originally. I say this quite often 🙂

    We used to get Coats Brand cotton here. Back in the day when cotton was cotton and came on little wooden reels that were so handy for recycling into other things. [Though we didn’t say ‘recycle’ then – it was just what we did]

    These days our ‘cotton’ comes mostly on slender plastic reels and is polyester thread. Real cotton thread can still be found, but is more expensive. Polyester is stronger so that is fine with me.

    I was intrigued Robin, so went to my cotton box and randomly chose 5 reels:

    Dewhurst – polyester thread – made in Gt Britain – D20 Yellow
    Dewhurst – polycotton – made in Australia – Shade 466
    Korbond – polyester covered polyester thread – made in USA – Ascot Grey
    Coats – Y394 [no further information]
    Birch – polyester sewing thread – made in China – Col. 751

    Three reels are quite old [no bar scans] and the Korbond and Birch are more recent purchases – by which I mean probably in the last ten years or so 🙂

    A most interesting post!. I had no idea the source of most of my remaining threads and am now better informed. I do miss the old wooden reels and was interested recently to see that empty ones are now especially manufactured and available as crafting items… it’s a crazy world!

    • I am so glad you checked your own supply of threads, Pauline. Thank you for this. Believe it or not, I am studying this and finding out you have three other countries, Australia, Great Britain and China. This is so cool! I was captured by your description, is your “sewing box” called a “cotton box?”
      I am glad you mentioned this comment, where it expanded the definition of “thread.” I may start using this expression! I like it a lot. “I just lost my thread” instead of my “train of thought.”

      What goes into projects or reusable items, is now created on purpose! What do you know? I learned two things from you (or more!)

      I can remember my Mom winding some pretty ribbons for my hair around separate empty wooden spools. They made a nice presentation on a shelf in the bathroom. Had not thought of that for years, Pauline. When you mentioned handy for recycling into other things… did you have an image in your mind?

      • No. My ‘sewing box’ is really a drawer which contains a ‘cotton box’. I have two other small ‘sewing boxes’ one in the art room for those moments when I want to stitch something to something else and one in the living room for when I am attending to repairs or sewing up other things I’ve made……….. in other words there is stuff all over the place. That’s the worst thing about a crafty person – there is always something that requires scissors, thread, quik-unpiks, needles or pins.

        I checked my threads because I realised I had no idea where they came from while reading your so interesting post!

        In the crafting world you will often find packaged up specially made new items that once were commonly in houses and given to the kids to ‘make stuff with’ when mum or dad had finished with them. Wooden cotton reels are a case in point. Old fashioned bottle tops are now packaged and sold for crafters to make into necklaces and other things [I don’t do stuff like that so I’m not sure exactly what they do with them – but you could put it into the search engine on You Tube and come back with a list a mile long! Wooden pegs – you call them clothes pins I think – are also popular. It’s kind of a picture of how crazy our throw-away world has got!

        And no, I didn’t have a specific image – I know some mixed media artists use cotton reels [spools] for constructional 3D work and for free standing pieces. That’s about it. Again I have no idea what crafters do with them now – you Tube will probably inform us if we care to look. 🙂

        I have another ‘thread’ for you too, which I have just remembered. When things are going just right in your world, when everything falls into place with little effort and it seems as if you just float through and it all works out very nicely – those times are called ‘walking your thread’. [It’s a thread because it is very easy to fall off that fine line and have bother and chaos descend once more.]

      • I appreciate your descriptions of the contented crafter’s home, with lots of things in every room. Now, I totally understand how many hazards you need to put up out of reach from little Siddy boy!
        I was very happy to see that when things are going smoothly along, with floating and everything falling into place is called, “walking the thread.” Which reminds me of a tightrope, where it is vicarious and possibly may fall off, with bad things to disrupt this ‘thread.’ I would not wish ‘chaos’ to descend upon my life, so I hope to somehow stay on this path of ‘walking the thread,’ Pauline! smiles!
        By the way, you may find this interesting, Pauline. I am reading the recent “Bridget Jones'” book, which is written after Darcy dies, she has two children and trying to get back into the world of dating. It sounds like she is over 40, so I am enjoying this foray into the new dating scene. I think it is called, “Love the Boy” but I am at the library and said book is home.
        There is a point to this- she says something about losing her thread. Which meant her train of thought. So there is the British expression that you mentioned in your first comment on this post!

  6. Your story about thread captivated me in part because I like to sew, although I prefer a machine to hand stitching. Also, I learned lot about the making of cotton thread from our visit last year to Stanley Mills just north of Perth, Scotland. The mills operated initially with water power, then water-driven turbines. Those turbines eventually powered electric generators, which still operate today although the mills closed 25 years ago and now house a museum.

    You motivated me to look up ‘mercerized’ because I always wondered what that meant. It was a process developed by John Mercer in England in 1844 which caused the cotton fibers in cloth to expand which tightened the cloth and made it stronger to withstand the dyeing process.

    I also looked up ‘Fast to Dry.’ This could related to a chemical treatment of the cotton fibers which allows them to wick moisture in such a way that water spreads quickly over a larger area allowing the fabric to dry faster. (Later technology caused cotton to resist moisture so that it would not get as wet as untreated cotton.)

    I hope all this information doesn’t cause you to feel faint with a thready pulse. That would be shocking. 🙂 – Mike

    • Oh, Mike! Thanks so much for actually doing research. You know I was torn whether or not to keep on going, then got stunned that I had rambled on for over 1400 words! I immediately thought, “If someone is interested enough, they will look up some of this “gobbledy goop” and find some facts!
      You told me so much and I had forgotten about your trip to the Stanley Mills, but I am sure I read it at the time, just didn’t connect the dots in my mind. “Mercerized” coming so long ago from John Mercer in 1844, this was really interesting. I wondered what that meant!
      Also, thanks for looking up the words, “fast to dry,” which leaves me only one last question,
      “Who taught you how to sew and why do you enjoy it?”
      My brother, Randy, the artist taught me how to patch my jeans and use some fancy stitching, while I learned my cross-stitching from my Great Aunts, Dot and Marie. Thank you for taking the time to find out about the subject. I imagine the “boil fast” meant the color was safe for all temperatures and would not fade?

      • Robin, I started sewing buttons that came loose from my clothes. Then, my mother was brave enough to teach me how to use her Singer sewing machine which, at first, I used to sew camping gear kits. I sewed down booties, insulated over boots, down mittens and even a synthetic-fill vest. I later sewed panniers and a handlebar bag for my bicycle so I could ride and camp completely self-contained for over a week at a time.

        I learned at a young age how useful and economical it was to be able to make my own clothing and incorporate features I liked. I also did my own alterations to make my clothes fit better and last longer. I still wish I had my own sewing machine. Maybe someday. 🙂 – Mike

    • Exactly true for me, too. Jenny, I do remember these being termed, ‘thread’ veins. Thank you for adding to our list of the ways to interpret “threads.” I have been unlucky to have inherited this from both sides of the family, so even in my 30’s they began developing… Showing my own frowny face back.

  7. Been a long time since I heard the phrase, Nice Threads, I am not sure, but I think it goes back to Flower Power days, Hippie days, even further back to the Widgies and Bodgies days.
    Interesting reading.

    • Ian, this is so cool for you to add your international confirmation of the origin of this expression. A few people thought the seventies, but you may have it back in the 60’s…I am glad you ‘stuck’ this post out, despite its being about sewing, needles and thread. Plus, you threw in a nice compliment, too. Thank you, Ian.

  8. I’m not waiting on an approaching winter….it has approached and encroached and is sitting on top of our houses. 😉 I like the idea of stocking up with things to do for the winter (or a winter trip). I feel more crafty during the fall and winter months too.

    I think ‘nice threads’ was used when I was a kid. Makes me think of the Brady Bunch for some reason. 🙂

    • I think the “Brady Bunch” kids sure did have nice bell bottom pants, dreamy longer hair on both the boys and girls. Certainly makes sense that they would use this expression. I am glad to have a boat load of people here all assuming it came about in our childhood.
      I also like you threw in stocking up with things to do for winter and including a winter trip. Have you ever been to see the Hayden Run Falls? It is off of Hayden Run Road, with a nice overlook and small parking area. I sent my dental hygienist off with her family, who like to go Carriage Place to see dollar movies, they enjoyed this. It is even cooler looking when frozen. There is also one right behind the middle school in Dublin. A nature preserve. I only like short hikes and both of these are less than ten minutes unless you choose to make them longer…
      Hugs and hoping you are healthy and happy again!

      • I don’t think I’ve been there Robin. I’ll have to add it to the ‘must do’s’ list.

        Thank you for the hugs and well wishes. I’m getting there. 😉

  9. When the girls were young I took up sewing, made a few dresses and one cocktail dress for me (basic) then stopped. Now like you, the thred gets wetted, the left eye closes, the needle is held over a dark fabric (if using white cotton) so I can see the thing to thread it! Sorry can’t contribute to any other uses of the word threads, apart from bloody difficult ! 😀

    • I will smile and enjoy the confirmation that it is ‘bloody difficult,’ Jen! I am so pleased that you even read this long and tedious post. I would have researched my wooden spools, but I had already used a lot of words!
      Sympathy in your words, that meant a lot to me, when it comes to vision, aging and challenges in our everyday lives! Smiles back at you with my happy grin.

    • Oh, I turned 59 this month so don’t give me this, I am too young to know these, Hollis! I have a daughter who will be 35 next March, with two younger siblings, 33 and 29 (soon!)
      I had forgotten about the slang, “bread,” which does mean the same period of time as ‘threads.” Gosh, it is funny to remember someone saying, “my old lady,” which meant girlfriend, who could have potentially been only 20 something. This has been fun, thanks for adding to this memory, with other funny sayings.

      • You’re welcome Robin. I so infrequently blog these days. I am on Instagram a lot. And I am working. What are some of the others? Far out! And no one said groovy it was so corny. I remember “My old man” too. Joni Mitchell did a song about
        Graham Nash, “My Old Man.” A friend of mine said we are from the “smile on your brother” generation. That about sums it up. Although the way people hate each other these days, maybe most of us are dying off. Qn that gloomy note, I will leave you. Sorry. xo

  10. Great post, Robin. I love the idea of a winter reading list. We often talk of curling up under a blanket with a good book, don’t we?

    As for other uses of the word “thread,” in a discussion on line, one long discussion is often called a thread.

    My sewing room is filled with all kinds of colorful thread, by the way! 🙂

    • We do sometimes mention this, even to each other.(About curling up under a blanket with a book, cocoa or coffee and lots of leisurely, uninterrupted TIME.) Sounds heavenly, doesn’t it?

      Maybe we all have written a post about it, too? I do like getting into a deeper plot, where I cannot take my eyes away from reading. I put the book close to my eyes, not using contacts nor glasses. Pitifully near-sighted…

      I think this idea behind a long discussion being called a “thread” is very interesting and worthy of adding to this collection of uses. I did think of the sad times someone may be in the hospital ‘hanging by a thread,’ which to me, means our life is fragile.

      I am glad to know another seamstress, but have to admit I am good at buttons and hemming, but will never pursue making something to wear again. Smiles back for the all kinds of colorful threads you have, Lorna!

      • I don’t make clothes for myself any more either, Robin. Just quilts, handbags, and other small home dec projects. It’s cheaper to buy clothes than to sew them these days. Used to be the other way around…

  11. It’s interesting to me that the spool identified as “Sea Island Thread Mfg. Corp” was made in New York. The Sea Islands run along the South Carolina and Georgia coast and were noted for growing luxuriant long-staple cotton that was notoriously difficult to pull the seeds from by hand – hence the need for the cotton gin. Of course, the Sea Island Thread Mfg. Corp may have simply imported the cotton from the Deep South and then worked it onto the spools in New York. Today, the Sea Islands are noted for being the region where Gullah is still spoken by descendants of former slaves.

    • I am so excited to have your comments with historical perspective attached. I just wrote what was on the wooden spools. I was thinking as you did, that maybe they thought Sea Island Mfg. Corp. was a clever name. I do think your supposition is true, they got the cotton from the south and then manufactured in the north. Possibly New York is where the spools were made?
      I do love the South Carolina and Georgia coastlines.
      I am saddened when there are reminders of slavery and how cotton picking was so grueling. Interestingly, growing cotton and the way slaves picked it, was brought into the great plot of the movie, “The Butler.” A real man, son of slaves, was who inspired this movie. My Mom and family really enjoyed this movie, where the man who became one of the White House butlers for five or six presidents, was from the South. His mother and father were in danger, one of them gets killed, while he escapes. Fine cast, too. They show scenes of the cotton picking process.

      I appreciate your knowledge of the “long-staple cotton” and sharing why the cotton gin came about to remove the seeds. I love the word, “luxuriant” and this is why people to this day love cotton sheets with high thread count. They are more luxurious. I did not know about the “Gullah” language, or had forgotten about it, which means this region of the Sea Islands was where it existed among the slaves and their descendants.
      Thanks for sharing!

      • The Butler was a very interesting movie, indeed. It goes to show that while our nation still has a ways to go in terms of bridging the racial divide, it has made immeasurable steps over the decades.

        I was able to hear some older gentlemen speak Gullah earlier this year when I down along the coast, near Beaufort, SC. It was very interesting. And I couldn’t make out a word they were saying!

  12. Interesting collection of info, Robin. I love thread, probably because of my grandmother’s sewing. And I have this thing about the “ply.” Isn’t that weird. I tried to write a poem about two-ply thread, but it turned out to be about fishing ;).

    • When our mind starts somewhere, it can be easily led astray, Luanne! I am glad you found this interesting. You have written about your grandmother’s wonderful talent (and skills) of making clothing and doll’s dresses, too. You and I have ‘waxed’ on about this topic, more than once.
      I like that you tried to write a poem about ‘two-ply’ thread. I did think of fishing line, as a thread but could not decide how to weave this into the post!

  13. I don’t like sewing, and I couldn’t come up with an original way that thread is used. This below though, was the “thread in the needle”

    ““Do they think that while I am losing my eyesight, I am becoming ‘dimmer’ in my brain cells, too?” 🙂

    • I am so glad you found that line, amusing and ‘the thread in the needle.” Wow, Timi. Thank you for this. I did my ‘job’ apparently capturing your interest, despite your not liking to sew! Smiles!

Leave a Reply

