Accolades for Malala

Standard

There is something to be said about letting words speak for themselves.

Andrea Levy, Cleveland Plain Dealer journalist and artist, blends these

two skills into incredible stories. The whole page is filled with lines,

varied from gray, black and red bold strokes. These represent all those

unknown faces in a large crowd.

All of us.

I return to her words, transfixed.

 

This has been on my refrigerator for some time now, about Malala

Yousafzai. She is indomitable, showed nerves of steel, faced her death

undaunted and walked away. She is not unscathed, but she overcame

her enemies, endured suffering and lived.

 

If each of us had only 1/100th of Malala’s humble spirit and strength

of convictions, just imagine how changed the world would become.

 

Please read this:

 

“A Face in the Crowd

She’s young, but her scars are not. At 17, she seems to be going on 5,000.

Utterly mesmerizing. In fact, if you look closely, she’ll capture you, and

against your wishes just might awaken memories of your other long-

buried lifetimes. For oppression is an ancient story.

However, I think hers is a face we might rather ignore. A face that looked

directly into the Taliban gun that shot her. A gun that shot her in the face,

on her school bus in Pakistan. A face shot for demanding education for

girls. A child bloodied for daring to have a voice. Shot for speaking

empowering words that seem to leap from the same river from which

other peacemakers have drunk:

‘I believe the only way we can create global peace is through not only

educating our minds but our hearts and souls.’

Malala Yousafzai stands up in our landscape of terrorism.

I can feel her courage pushing at my own inaction.

She makes me wonder what I might be willing to die for.

The child claimed the fight and acted.

She has held her head high for all to see.

And, at 17, she now holds the Nobel Peace Prize as well.”

 

by Andrea Levy

(Opinion Art Journalist)

If you are interested in following her Opinion Art blog, you may go to

Cleveland.com/andrea.levy or find Andrea’s page on FB: Levyart.

 

Musical note suggestions for the Nobel Peace Prize winner and for

our own hearts to rejoice in Malala’s becoming a survivor:

1. If you wish to listen to “Peace Train,” by Cat Stevens, it may just complete

your day.

2. “From a Distance,” I like the Nanci Griffith version (1987), as well as

Bette Midler’s.

3. “Imagine,” John Lennon’s song embraced the world with its pure message.

 

 

35 responses »

    • Oh, it is past. I try not to make a big deal, but was happy to share my weekend with my grandies, one who turned 10 on Nov. 4th and one who will turn 6 on Nov. 25th… Glad you found this one to your liking. She sure did show courage!

  1. Love all three songs Robin – wonderful selection 🙂 I was glad when Malala won the Nobel Peace prize. Very deserving. Yet at the same time I am deeply saddened by what’s going on in the world today in particular anti-feminism and violence against women I am finding it hard to believe we are living in the 21st century. I will check out Andrea’s blog.

      • It was sad since one of my good friend’s grandson died, which I had not heard this. I am not on Facebook, which is where she ‘read’ or ‘heard’ the news. Anna and I went over to Cheryl’s house, to comfort her from the loss of this fine young man she raised from age one until he graduated from Delaware Hayes H.S. He was only 23, no suspicion of foul play or drug usage, but she allowed an autopsy to be performed. Frustrating though, since the tissue and other sample results won’t be examined and reported for as long as 12 weeks.
        I stayed until 10:30 p.m., listening to many wonderful stories about Christopher. My own children did not know him, since my youngest is 28 years old… The obituary will say those ominous words, “died unexpectedly.” I did not wish to alarm people and did not have time to explain, so that is why I used ‘not dangerous or serious.’ Thanks for asking, Yolanda.

    • I appreciated these thoughts you shared here, with the world being quite a mess, with some countries still showing anti-feminism and violence, (to women, children and innocent people). Yolanda, I am so glad you enjoy the musical suggestions. Please feel free to include one of your own, if you think of one which means a lot to you. I appreciate your checking out Andrea Levy, this was my second post by her. I should probably ‘tag’ her name…

    • I do feel that her story should be made into a movie, since many young people would be motivated. I love the way you said she transcended bravery, Pauline! I believe she will become a heroine for future generations, too. She is not finished her story yet! Thanks for always being here, giving good thoughts to the comments section!

  2. Malala’s story personifies and embodies the true nature of courage and bravery. Unlike valor, which is more like daring and audacity, bravery is acting in the face of danger and fear without hesitation or primary concern for one’s self. Malala’s story of courage and fortitude lifts us up while we find comfort and shelter in our more sedate lives. I hope the Nobel Prize provides her with some measure of the world’s admiration for her boldness without lighting too bright a target on her with the spotlight of publicity. – Mike

    • I think your mentioning about the danger in the award was one I had not thought of before. I appreciate this. I now will also hope it will bring Malala a positive outcome and no more harm!
      I like how you described the difference between bravery and valor. I sometimes need to remember the nuances of language. It is true, she showed no fear in the face of what most of us would have not been able to endure or choose to. I like you mentioning we have comfort in our sedate lives, which could also be described as ‘complacent.’ We all care, but we don’t all take action. Myself, included. Malala is one of many young people who have had to face death and horrors. I wish this were not so.

  3. “I can feel her courage pushing at my own inaction.

    She makes me wonder what I might be willing to die for.”

    True greatness is inspiring others. Malala has done that. She makes us ask questions about ourselves.

    • It has been a long time since that song was part of my listening tunes, Ian. I am so glad you went back and enjoyed, “Peace Train.”
      I am proud of Malala and can only hope this will help the world to become a better place for innocent children of any country. Thank you, Ian.

Leave a Reply

