Moral Dilemma

Standard

This is a situation that is meant to allow you to question and

think about your own reactions and decision making.

It was used on a job application where 200 applicants were

in ‘competition’ for the same position.

 

I hope this will lead you to a higher level of Enlightenment:

 

You are driving in your car on a wild, stormy night.

You pass by a bus stop, and you see three people

waiting for the bus.

 

1. An elderly lady who looks as if she may be about to die.

2. An old and good friend who once saved your life.

3. The perfect man or woman (if you are single) one you

have been dreaming about.

 

Which one would you choose to offer a ride?

There can only be one passenger in your car.

 

This once was used on a job application to

determine future employees’ morals and ethics.

 

You could pick up the elderly lady since she is going to die,

thus you should save her first.

You could take the old friend since he or she saved your life.

You own him or her this favor.

You may never get another chance to be able to find your perfect

dream man or woman, however.

 

The candidate who was supposedly hired out of 200 Applicant

had no trouble answering this question.

Think hard and long, since this may be your best Life Decision

you make today!

 

The Winning Candidate for Job Application simply said:

“I would give the car keys to my old friend, and let him take the

lady to the hospital.

I would stay behind and wait for the bus with the woman or man

of my dreams.”

 

Moral of the Day:

“We gain more if we are able to give up on our own thought limitations.”

 

 

 

About reocochran

I am experiencing crazy and hapless adventures in dating that may interest people over fifty. I am now approaching 62 later this year and enjoy taking photographs, incorporating stories or poetry on my blog. I have many old posts which are informative and written like essays. I have several love stories collected from family and friends. Even strangers spill their stories, since I am a grown version of the girl next door. I have been trying to live a healthy lifestyle with better food selections and active hiking and walking. I have written four children's books and illustrated them. They are not published but a battered women's shelter used one about neglect and abuse for their children's program and a 4H group used my "Kissing a Bunny is like saying a Prayer" as a coloring book. Please comment or respond so I may get a chance to know you. Sincerely, Robin

57 responses »

  1. wow, that might be the only job, i ever would have had. you said passenger, so i was going to give 2 people the keys & stay with the lady who was dying anyway….but, then i would have have told them, i don’t want to work somewhere , where they ask such upsetting questions.

  2. Such a great answer. I never would have thought of it, I might add. I’d have saved the old woman, sent an apology to my friend and dreamed of the good-looking man. 🙂

    • Oh, you may borrow this anytime, only thing I wish people to ask about are my original poems or stories. As you probably prefer, also, Eric! I am smiling back at you and wishing you a Happy Thanksgiving, too!

    • My daughter is going into business so I have been picking up articles and magazines to support her. I never really read many of this type of writing. But that one about the ‘excuses’ for calling in sick and this one, were ‘real’ job application or work-related stories! Smiles and hope you have a wonderful holiday, Beth!

    • I know, I would have failed the test! I have been collecting business related articles since my youngest daughter has been working on starting her own business, she has a ‘backer,’ not in the family, either! Smiles!

  3. I’m hopeless at these games. I would have driven off the road while staring at the man of my dreams causing a major traffic pile-up which would then have resulted in the cops or EMTs at least saving the old lady’s life. LOL!

    • I am laughing hysterically, Barb! You have made my day with this funny situation. I am sure it sounds more like something I would do, since my kids are always looking for someone my age, then pointing them out in the most ridiculous places. Sometimes, I am literally looking while driving, trying to memorize their street address, as if I would stalk them! ha ha!

    • Well, my friend, you are one of the only one who admits to knowing the answer! I am so proud of you and if I had a chance I would give you a prize! Smiles and hope you will have a nice holiday week… hugs, Robin

    • Thank you, Colleen! I definitely was happy to be supplied the answer, since I could never have guessed its solution! I am collecting articles about businesses for my youngest daughter, when I find unusual stories, I am trying to present them here. This was part of an actual job application, along with the article that talked about sick time excuses being part of a Poll. I like fun facts, sometimes since you feel you are getting educated while it brings a smile to my face.

    • You are so right, Mark. It would not be an easy way to discern a person’s true character, but it was kind of smart of the applicant to think ‘outside the box,’ don’t you think?
      I am collecting business magazines and articles for Felicia, so this was not one she would need or use, but seemed sad to throw it away and not share it! Smiles!

      • Yes, it was interesting, that’s for sure. But it’s indicative of how they ask things that just don’t have much to do with the working world. 🙂 Thanks, Robin.

  4. I agree with the comment that this would not be an employer I would want to work for. Even though, in real life, I would have done something different, my response on the questionnaire would have been, ‘I would just keep driving,’ because there are no wrong answers to hypothetical questions.

    • You are so right with this answer too, Mike! You guys are rather hard on this question, I thought it was rather hypothetical and fun, too. While browsing through business magazines, the article about sick time and this one about a job application struck my ‘fancy,’ so I had hoped it would make someone laugh or enjoy the scenario. Glad you were honest, Mike. Keeping it real… smiles!

    • I was so surprised to see you over here in my awaiting approval, since Lea, you and I have been connected for some time now. Sometimes it is funny how the filter catches someone and then I have to approve of them! Why? Not sure! But your comment and smile made me happy, hope we will stay in touch better in the future!

    • The older I get the better I am at thinking outside of the box. Jen, you probably figure out so many things during the day, write poems and help your family that this would be exhausting. I had found it in a business magazine, just liked it. I am not sure why? Anyway, hope you will still smile if I find another silly business article like the sick days’ excuses. I find the truth makes me really amused, sometimes there are ‘stranger than truth’ situations!

    • I wish you to know, so far, only one person admits to being able to solve this scenario. I have a 28 year old daughter who wants to go into business, so I have been collecting articles and magazines. Things like this would not interest her, but for some reason, they interest me. So, I presented it, hoping to entertain or something. I have mostly been one who likes teaching, children, family and recipes out of magazines. As a blogger, I have becoming better at collecting thoughts and interesting stories to share from time to time, when I am ‘out’ of my own original material. Thanks so much for reading and commenting on this! Smiles for your 3-D mention, I like that one!

    • I wish you to know that you and my friend whose world is both Australian and Nepalian, got this right, too. You both need to share the prize, sending it back and forth….ha ha! You are an outside the box thinker, I knew this before the ‘test’ or job application quiz, Lorna! Smiles and hope you and Phil have a wonderful first Thanksgiving as a married couple!

  5. Unfortunately, your friend — being unfamiliar with your car — ends up in a horrific car crash that kills both him and the old woman (who was actually a perfectly healthy undercover cop on assignment). And your “dream person” turns out to actually be a total asshole which just serves you right for judging a book by its cover. XD

    • Oh my, this is definitely a cynical take and you may not wish this job to be yours, anyway! I have had the males pretty much line up and dislike this post, oh well! Can’t please all the people or even some of the people all of the time!! Smiles and hope you have a nice turkey meal and some friends over, or invited to your sister’s home. I will be leaving up to Cleveland after work on Wed. night. We had to work on Sunday so I got behind on commenting… again!

    • I am so glad you liked the scenario and it was out of a business magazine I am saving for my youngest daughter. I knew she would not really use this nor the work excuses for sick days, so I posted this. I find stuff and think it is interesting to think outside the box. I would not have guessed the right answer, Timi! I am hoping you will have a nice holiday, if you celebrate… hugs, Robin

  6. Oh Robin what a post, I kept thinking how can I help them all, I need to think like that. In Mexico there their this saying…everything has a solution except death. I think we complicate ourselves too much.

    • Doris, you are such a sweetheart! I can imagine your worrying about each person, along with the happy ending. I like how you shared this about Mexico, too.
      “Everything has a solution, except death.” This means we should be able to help the world to be one and to be at Peace. Wish it were possible, my dear one! Hugs, Robin

Leave a Reply

