A little church humor

Standard

When you usually think about church you may not include funny

memories.  I can remember being a single mother in Lancaster,

Ohio at the Presbyterian Church with two little ones in tow. I would

use a little ‘bribery:’ “We will go out to eat at (choose one of the

following choices) Bob Evans, Frisch’s or Jolly Pirate if you only

behave today.”  I would also include some behavior allowances for

crayons and scribbling on church bulletins and donation envelopes.

 

I have fond memories of my being at St. Barnabas Episcopal Church

in Bay Village, as a teenager. I remember our minister, Reverend Lynch,

would include the comic strip, Peanuts’ philosophy. There is a book,

“The Gospel According to Peanuts.”  I also liked his use of humor when

he would refer to other comic strip characters like the Wizard of Id,

Dagwood and Blondie.

 

Hope these chuckles bring some smiles and I hope that you will also

throw in any humorous memories of church in the comments part

of this post.

 

“This Sunday in a Midwest city, a young child was ‘acting up’ during

the morning worship service. The parents did their best to maintain

some sense of order in the pew but were losing the battle.

Finally, the father picked the little cherub up and marched sternly

down the aisle on his way out.

Just before reaching the safety of the foyer, the little one called out

loudly to the congregation,

“Pray for me!”

 

I would like you to visualize this cute picture of carolers, one upon

the other’s shoulders, almost like the Bremen Town Musicians.

They each have their mouths wide open and above them, upon a

balcony, is a family of music ‘listeners.’

Here is the ‘punchline:’

“The Hickory Knoll Church carolers were always ready to make

necessary adjustments.”

 

“Six year old Angie and her four year old brother were sitting

together in church. Joel giggled loudly, sang a song with lots of

enthusiasm and talked out loud,

“Who’s going to stop me?”

His big sister had had enough. Angie pointed to the back of the

church,

“See those two men standing by the door?

They will!

They are the ‘hushers!'”

 

This last one reminds me a little of my waffles post.

“A mother was preparing pancakes for her sons, Kevin and David.

The boys began to argue over who would get the first pancake.

Their mother saw the opportunity to give a lesson on morals.

“If Jesus were sitting here, He would say, ‘Let my brother have

the first pancake. I can wait.'”

Kevin turned to his younger brother and said,

“David, you be Jesus.”

 

Hope you have a relaxing, fun-filled and spiritual day.

34 responses »

  1. My wife said that last joke about the pancakes was old, but I hadn’t heard it before, so it was new to me. I guess since she has four brothers it would not be new to her.

    Here is one for you:

    Two new nuns have to paint their room without getting any paint on their clothes. One nun suggests to the other, “Hey, let’s take all our clothes off, fold them up, and lock the door.” So they do this, and begin painting their room.
    Soon they hear a knock at the door. They ask, “Who is it?” “Blind man!” The nuns look at each other and one nun says, “He’s blind, so he can’t see. What could it hurt?”
    They let him in and the blind man walks in and says, “Hey, you ladies are looking sexy! Now, where do you want me to hang the blinds?”

    – Mike

    • Oh, this was a really cute joke, Mike! It is okay if Florence recognized the pancakes joke, I cannot be completely original so I use these to stay connected. I also seem to have a lot of people who laugh or enjoy them.
      Thank you for the addition, Mike. I loved the Nuns joke, so glad to add Catholic humor to the mix! ha ha!

    • Thanks, Lorna! I like to take a break and slide in a few jokes, it also is part of my Mom and me routine. She sends me some, others she hands to me in a big manila envelope… She considers herself a part of my Blogging community although she has Never used a computer, much to my Dad’s chagrin, in the past…

    • I like this mix in a word, you told us, Eric! ha ha! (Are you calling me a moron, huh?!)
      Wonder how many more silly church jokes I will be able to come up with? I like to mix spiritual with joy, which is so nice since many parts of Psalms and the New Testament have some fun parts.

  2. I’ve heard the pancake joke before, but not the others…very funny! I remember once, while sitting in church, a piece of fuzz drifted in front of me and my sister’s face and we started laughing uncontrollably. My parents were mortified. Only in church, as a child, would a piece of fuzz be so funny. 🙂

    • I am grinning ear to ear, Jill. I can picture two little girls amused by floating fuzz, laughing and embarrassing your poor parents. Of course, it had to be in church during a quiet moment and not during a song!

    • I am happy to bring smiles to your beautiful face, my friend! I am glad it was on a Monday, too. It is one of the ‘hardest’ days to get through, I think. Maybe since we just had two days off which are full of fun and smiles, then back to work…

    • I am sure you don’t need to be ‘hushed,’ Mark! I like the idea, though of having them around…
      Smiles to you this Monday evening. Are you getting excited about the Voice Finales, very soon? I like Craig and also, the petite woman and a dark haired pale man. I need to learn their names, but do know their ‘numbers’ to vote for the trio.

    • Always glad to send you chuckles since you send me yummy-looking photos and delicious recipes. Your posts are both beautifully presented but include such a diversity of food selections. I am happy to ‘repay’ you for the gifts you give me…. smiles!

    • Thanks, Timi! It was so funny I was chuckling as I typed it… Someone who knows me was at the computer next to me and had to come over and read it. Glad to make a positive impact, since smiles and laughter are always nice to have in our lives… (Easy post to write, though….)

  3. The last one is just perfect, isn’t it? My funny church story is this, Robin: A friend who never went to church finally decided, I think there was a wedding or something, to bring her son to church. When they settled in, Ryan loudly proclaimed “Oh, so THAT’S Jesus Christ!!!” She wanted to crawl under the pew. We’ve laughed about this story for twenty years now.

    • Oh, Barb! That is so funny!! We can just imagine how Jesus Christ was used in an expression, then how people in the quiet church heard this embarrassing but hilarious comment. Little Ryan has helped make 20 years of humorous memories, though! I love it when I get together with friends and all the memories are, “Do you remember when…” and they all include antics and funny moments, Barb!
      I am getting together with my good friend Nancy, who I have not lived in the same town with since 1985. We have traveled half way to each other’s house, meeting at restaurants every six months for 29 years. We like to meet in June and December. This Sat. will be our December exchange of ideas and gifts. Of course, we have gone to each other’s (her second, my third, along with her daughter’s and my son’s) weddings and children’s graduation parties. Her father’s funeral in Akron, mine in Cleveland… etc. She missed my Grandpa’s and I missed her mother’s funerals.
      We used to meet at a Bob Evans. Then one year, we both drove up to a chained driveway; the Brice Road Bob Evans was closed! So, I followed her to a nearby Frisch’s (Big Boy) Restaurant. We met there for several years. Then one summer we got there, to find it closed. We now will be meeting at a TeeJaye’s Country Place Restaurant, hopefully won’t be having to find another place to ‘break bread’ and ‘catch up.’ (Sat. 12/13/14, isn’t that a cool date?)

      • Robin, I have a very similar relationship with my oldest friend. We met halfway at a Shoneys (!) in Rocky Mount, NC and ate “off the buffet” as they down South. Accent on the “buff!” She is fifteen years older than I am and has known me since I was in my early twenties. Isn’t it wonderful to have a friend that you don’t ever have to explain yourself to? She’s known me forever and loves me anyway! What would we do without our friends, I ask you? Good luck that TeeJaye’s Country Place will stay open long enough for you two old friends to try everything on the menu!

  4. I liked the hushers. I don’t remember much humor from my Church days. I do remember painting nativity scene figures in Sunday school, and making tree ornaments. I liked the arts and crafts this time of year. 🙂

    • Brenda, I liked the church arts and crafts part of Sunday School, too. My son made the simplest craft, which the teacher had brought in walnut shell halves, the children added a small cotton ball stretched to fit inside it, putting a gold thin cord under it, gluing the cotton over the cord. Then on top of the cotton, the children made crosses of gold ribbon. My son decided instead to cut a shape out of a single, small piece of gold ribbon. It looks like a peanut, curving in and out. When I find a place in my little apartment to hang in, (this year on a knob of a small glass cabinet) I always smile that this is how he viewed the baby Jesus, as a gold peanut shape.

    • Thanks, Jonathan! I appreciate the ‘plug’ for my blog! I have missed your comments, sorry I have just been busy, too. Take care and Merry Christmas to your whole family! Hugs, Robin

    • Little ones, so sweet and innocent, are definitely ones that can brighten our days, April! I liked the photo of your adopted ‘nephew’ wearing your cowboy boots. (They seemed so small, I thought you had given them to ‘grow into,’ April!) Smiles back!

Leave a Reply

