Anyday Serenity

Standard

There was a great inclusion from a site called, “Girlfriends in God,”

in my monthly church bulletin. I enjoyed this, along with a few other

worthwhile and meaningful quotations.

Hope this finds you peaceful, content and relaxing on this fine morning,

afternoon or evening.

 

You may find their website at:

http://crosswalk.com

http://www.girlfriendsingod.com

 

“Count your blessings instead of your crosses.

Count your gains instead of your losses.

Count your joys instead of your woes.

Count your friends instead of your foes.

Count your smiles instead of your tears.

Count your courage instead of your fears.

Count your kind deeds instead of your mean.

Count your health instead of your wealth.

Count on God instead of yourself.”

 

(You may substitute Allah, Mother Nature or other form of

a Higher Being.)

 

This is a positive way of explaining a horrible experience. . .

I always like when people use pets to explain life’s situations.

 

“~Death~ What a wonderful way to explain it
A sick man turned to his doctor as he was preparing to leave the

examination room and said,

‘Doctor, I am afraid to die. Tell me what lies on the other side.’

Very quietly, the doctor replied, ‘I don’t know. . .’

‘You don’t know? You’re a Christian man and don’t know what’s

on the other side?’

 

The doctor was holding the handle of the door; on the other side

came a sound of scratching and whining, and as he opened the

door, a dog sprang into the room and leaped on him with an eager

show of gladness.

 

Turning to the patient, the doctor said, ‘Did you notice my dog?

He’s never been in this room before. He didn’t know what was inside.

He knew nothing except that his owner (his master) was here, and

when the door opened, he sprang in without fear.

 

I know little of what is on the other side of death. But I do know one

thing. . . I know my Master is there and that is enough.'”

(No author was listed. Please let me know if this is unknown or if you

know a name to tag this with.)

 

C.S. Lewis wrote of many subjects, some were Christian and some were

fantasy/science fiction:

“Every day in a life fills the whole Life

with expectation and memory.”

 

In Psalms 128:5 there is a lovely wish for those to hear. I like the idea of

psalms being songs and positive Old Testament wishes:

“May the Lord continually bless you with human’s blessings

as well as with human joys.”

 

A Prayer by Thomas Merton:

“My Lord God, I have no idea where I am going.

I do not see the road ahead of me.

I cannot know for certain where it will end.

Nor do I really know myself and the fact that I think that I am

following your will does not mean that I am actually doing so.

But I believe that the desire to please you does in fact please you.

And I hope I have that desire in me in all that I am doing.

I hope that I will never do anything apart from that desire.

And know that if I do this you will lead me by the the right road

though I may know nothing about it.

Therefore will I trust you always though I may seem to be lost

and in the shadow of death.

I will not fear, for you are ever with me, and you will never

leave me to face my perils alone.”

 

This prayer by Thomas Merton is featured in his ‘Through the Year”

daily devotional book.

 

18 responses »

  1. Thank you so much for the congratulations! We were very excited, my brother and I were texting, my youngest daughter was at home (without a t.v.) so we were texting, then my friend and teaching asst. asked if I were drinking and I texted her, “No, gotta work tomorrow!”
    I love Psalms, too. There are some lyrical passages that really sound like they could be sung. Thanks for saying it was beautiful, you are so sweet, Jill!

  2. I too love the dog story, although I believe in ‘something’ never really defining who or what, it’s a lovely way to think about it. Also liked the count poem.Thank you for sharing sweet πŸ’œ x

    • It is good to not put any boundaries on your beliefs, I feel. I embrace and like to believe in all the possibilities. In your services, you reach so many faiths and areas of the people’s personal lives, by giving them tribute. I like how you incorporate music and wise understanding of each person’s beliefs, Jen! Hugs!!

  3. i love c.s. lewis. have your ever seen the beautiful movie about him called, ‘shadowlands?’ – if not, rent it as soon as you can, you won’t be disappointed. nice post, robin.

    • Oh, the Ohio State Bucks versus Oregon Ducks. It was the National Championship game and I had posted a collection of three different subjects to ‘cheer’ everyone up after the tragedy in France. Thanks, Elizabeth for finding this to be one you ‘loved!’

  4. The story of the doctor’s dog is a great parable for having faith and being confident rather than fearful as one goes forward. Thanks for sharing your stories of faith and love. I find them both uplifting and endouraging. – Mike

    • You captured the doctor’s dog story and made it very insightful. I feel your comments always add so much to the stories or articles I have here, Mike! Glad you find the words I share and collect meaningful, especially like to lift others’ spirits!

Leave a Reply

