Wisdom Through the Ages

Standard

Sometimes philosophy can be found on posters, bumper stickers,

t-shirts and other forms of public media. I found these precious

and funny bits of wisdom tucked into a circulated email. If you have

already received this set of “Great Truths” before, please don’t give

up on my writing original material very soon. . .

 

“Great Truths Little Children Have Learned:

1. No matter how hard you try, you can’t baptize cats.

2. When your Mom is mad at your Dad, don’t let her brush your hair.

3. If you sister or brother hits you, don’t hit your sibling back. They

always catch the second person. (“She did it first” doesn’t work in

school either.)

4. Never ask your 3 year old brother to hold a tomato or a wriggly

kitten.

5. You cannot trust dogs to watch your food. Even if they are guard

dogs.

6. Don’t sneeze when someone is cutting your hair.

7. Never hold a Dust Buster and a pet or a bowl of cereal at the same

time.

8. You can’t hide a piece of broccoli in a glass of milk. Cutting brussel

sprouts into tiny bits doesn’t make it appear invisible either.

9. Don’t wear patterned underwear (polka dots) under white shorts or

slacks.

10. The best place to be when you are sad is Mommy, Daddy, Grandma

or Grandpa’s lap.”

 

“Great Truths Adults Have Learned:

1. Raising teenagers is like nailing Jell-O to a tree.

2. Wrinkles don’t hurt.

3. Families are like fudge. . . mostly sweet but a little nutty.

4. Today’s mighty oak is just yesterday’s nut that held its ground.

5. Laughing is good exercise. It’s like jogging on the inside.

6. Middle age is when you choose cereal for its fiber content

rather than the sweet flavor, coupon or toy inside.”

(Did you notice the list is getting smaller, as we age?)

 

“Great Truths About Growing Old:

1. Growing up is mandatory; growing old is optional.

2. Forget the health food. We need all the preservatives we can get.

3. When you fall down, you wonder what else you can do while you

are already down here.

4. You are getting old, when you get the same sensation from a

rocking chair or a porch swing that you once got on a merry go

round or a roller coaster.

 

Hope you also enjoy the following word plays and don’t mind

if they are a little “Pun- ny.”

 

1. “The sole purpose of a child’s middle name is so he or she can

tell when he is really in trouble.”

 

2. “Birds of a feather flock together. . .

and then use your car as target practice.”

 

3. “The older you get, the tougher it is to lose weight,

because by then your body and your fat have gotten

to be really good friend.”

 

4. “The easiest way to find something lost around the

house, is to purchase its replacement.”

 

5. “He who hesitates is probably right.”

 

6. For those over 40 years old, did you ever notice the

Roman Numerals for forty are:  “XL?”

 

7. Did you ever notice when you put the two words

“THE” and “IRS” together they spell, “THEIRS?”

 

8. Going along with this thought:

“A penny saved is a Government oversight.”

 

Now, to close with two “Maxine” comic strip comments:

9. “I can rise and shine,

but not at the same time.”

 

10. “Ever feel like you’ve had too much coffee?

Me neither.”

 

Happy Valentine’s Day funnies from “Maxine”

illustrated and written by John Wagner:

 

~**~ “The only thing better than a guy (or gal)

with chocolate is just the chocolate.” ~**~

 

~**~ “A box of chocolates is calling me. . .

which is more than my last boyfriend did.” ~**

About reocochran

I am experiencing crazy and hapless adventures in dating that may interest people over fifty. I am now approaching 62 later this year and enjoy taking photographs, incorporating stories or poetry on my blog. I have many old posts which are informative and written like essays. I have several love stories collected from family and friends. Even strangers spill their stories, since I am a grown version of the girl next door. I have been trying to live a healthy lifestyle with better food selections and active hiking and walking. I have written four children's books and illustrated them. They are not published but a battered women's shelter used one about neglect and abuse for their children's program and a 4H group used my "Kissing a Bunny is like saying a Prayer" as a coloring book. Please comment or respond so I may get a chance to know you. Sincerely, Robin

27 responses »

    • ***Attention to All of my special friends:***

      Due to a Level Two Snow Emergency I must exit the library!
      So sorry, hope to be back to respond to all who wrote here!

      Happy Valentine’s Day, Anelli, and all who are here!!

  1. That “easiest way to find something is to purchase its replacement” is so freaking true!! I always say to myself when searching for something “remember, it’s always in the last place you look”. I can’t remember where that came from but it sticks.

    • If we could remember the last place we had it, we would never lose it. So glad you feel this way, despite being so young and having so many more brain cells than I do, my dear surrogate daughter. Did you have a special and wonderful Valentine’s Day?
      We were all kicked out of the library at one p.m. yesterday since the city was under a Level Two Snow Emergency! I still had some fun and will be posting about that as soon as I get caught up! Hugs, Robin

    • I liked the little kids’ truths the best, starting with cats and juggling them with a Dust Buster and/or washing them! I feel this is your specialty of finding out these, in your first person accounts of the grandies and kinders, Beth!

  2. Many of these bits of wisdom were new to me, or maybe I just forgot them years ago. Nonetheless, you reminded me of some of the tidbits of wisdom my father used to share, like bumper sticker philosophy. The one I remember best is, ‘Humility is something you have until you find out.’

    When he was 75, I asked my father at what age life gets easier. He said, ‘I’ll let you know.’ Another time I asked him which goes first – your sex drive or your memory? He replied, ‘I don’t remember.’

    Another interesting bit of wisdom he shared with me was when we were talking about his 30 year career working for The Boeing Co. When he told me he didn’t always like his job, I asked him why he stayed. He told me whenever he thought of leaving, they gave him a raise. Then he said, ‘That’s when I learned how much my soul was worth.’ – Mike

    • Oh, that last one was rather touching, Mike.
      The others were corny as fathers often are, almost like your Dad was Benny Goodman or Jack Benny…. just clever and funny! Thanks for sharing these extras which really are cool, since they weren’t from an email but from a read Father of my friend, Mike.

    • I am so glad you found this entertaining, Ian. Teens are definitely a challenge, if we only could do it after we made all the mistakes and learned from them…. reverse order, so to speak! Smiles!

Leave a Reply

