Levity in Brevity

Standard

Just sending some smiles and funny little jokes collected by my Mom

over the past few weeks from her friend, “Pooky,” otherwise known

as Joyce. Joyce is older than Mom, knows how to get on the computer

and prints out all kinds of colorful emailed jokes, some are illustrated

by John Wagner, with “Maxine” comic strip pictures attached. She

has tried to get my email address from my Mom, for which I am

eternally grateful for Mom. She has not asked me for my email

address. Mom handwrites Joyce notes but sometimes they are very

short notes. She repeats herself, they may just talk about the

weather and her dog, Nicki. I have read them and helped her out,

adding a few details and saying, “Just an extra note from Robin.”

 

This is a little silly but remember my Mom is 86 and it didn’t

embarrass her…

 

“An elderly man goes into confession and says to the Priest,

‘Father, I’m 80 years old, married and have 4 kids. I have 11

healthy grandchildren. Last night, I had an affair or fling

with two young women.

I was able to perform with both of them. . .

Twice.’

 

The Priest answered,

‘Well, my son, when was the last time you were in confession?’

 

His reply was,

‘Never Father. . . I’m Jewish.’

 

The Priest asked,

‘So then, why are you telling me?’

 

The excited elderly man exclaimed,

‘I’m telling EVERYBODY!'”

 

My Mom wrote at the bottom of this, just in case I didn’t get the joke:

“He is so proud of himself!”

 

 

My Mom put three ***’s by this one:

 

**”I’m thinking of leaving my body to Science.

Even scientists can use a good laugh now and then.”

(This had the famous Maxine and her dog with his eyes crossed.)

 

Another Maxine my Mom gave this two **’s:

**”The older I get, the harder it is to find Mr. Right.

Darn cataracts!”

 

This one my Mom emphatically agrees with (usually!)

She gave this one 4 ****’s:

****”Sometimes I like to turn the TV off and just sit

quietly, with my thoughts.

Then, when I am sure the commercials are over,

I turn it back on.”

This picture has Maxine with a big bowl of popcorn and

her television remote control in her hand. The dog has a

bowl of some kind of food, with it on his lap. It is cute.

 

My Mom also enclosed a note which was full of x’s and o’s,

as well as quick ‘sound bytes,’ like:

“Stay Warm!”

“Take Your Vitamins!”

“Wear gloves and warm socks!”

“Tell everyone Great Grammie O. Loves them!”

 

and last, but not least. . .

 

“Please don’t send the jokes back!”

 

 

 

About reocochran

I am experiencing crazy and hapless adventures in dating that may interest people over fifty. I am now approaching 62 later this year and enjoy taking photographs, incorporating stories or poetry on my blog. I have many old posts which are informative and written like essays. I have several love stories collected from family and friends. Even strangers spill their stories, since I am a grown version of the girl next door. I have been trying to live a healthy lifestyle with better food selections and active hiking and walking. I have written four children's books and illustrated them. They are not published but a battered women's shelter used one about neglect and abuse for their children's program and a 4H group used my "Kissing a Bunny is like saying a Prayer" as a coloring book. Please comment or respond so I may get a chance to know you. Sincerely, Robin

31 responses »

    • You are always most welcome and glad you enjoyed Maxine! I feel her comics are so cleverly drawn, which makes writing a description not quite as good as the ‘real’ thing, Jill! Smiles back at you!

    • I am so glad you found a funny post, sometimes I get into a long essay and probably lose some potential readers. I use my byline to allow all sorts of posts about relationships (reveal our hearts….) Smiling back at you, Christy!

    • We all need more than cheer to get us through this, but it sure does help! I am glad you felt it to be warm winter cheer, this would have been a fantastic title, Beth!!

    • I am glad this one cracked you up, Mark along with my silly Mom. She is funny writing comments in the margins of articles and forwarded emails. Hope you are having a fantastic weekend, Mark!

    • Jen, thanks for your sweet comments here and you are most welcome for the smiles. I fell behind and am busy as a beaver trying to catch up with my commenting. Will visit your ‘place’ very soon, my friend. Hugs and smiles sent your way!

    • I have to blame her being a schoolteacher, Timi, for her rating things. She is always doing this to restaurants and it makes me laugh when she puts them on her jokes she sends to me through the mail (or sometimes saves in a big pile on a chair in her apt.) Thanks for the smile and nice comment, too.

    • I am smiling at this, since Mom does seem to think we may have missed the joke! She is ‘too funny,’ as you also called her a ‘sweety’ too. Thank you, Brenda. when you mentioned ice cream, on the other post, I meant to say I hope your father is doing well, the Grandpa who takes the kids out for ice cream! Smiles!

  1. I’ve learn a few good stuff here. Certainly price bookmarking for revisiting.
    I surprise how a lot attempt you set to
    make this type of excellent informative web site.

    • It came about while Mom and Dad retired in the late 70’s. They chose to live in a cottage on Lake Erie. She met a nice woman named Lucille, who was their new neighbor 2 doors down. The week they moved in L’s sister was here from California. They had the best on versatile which evolved in a trio of friends. Joyce (“Pookie”) started writing to my Mom since Lucille didn’t like to write they kept her aware of the Lakeside happenings. I write to her these days since Mom is less aware of time passing. Lucille died back in 2000. Thanks,Julie for “chatting” and listening a lot. Smiles, Robin

Leave a Reply

