No Apologies Needed

Standard

A good friend wants you to succeed, go far and wide, send back

messages in postcards or emails. Then fill them in, when they return

on all the fun experiences you had while you were gone.

Parents, teachers, ministers, priests, pastors and neighbors who

have been closely involved in your life, will hope for you to soar.

Everyone gets excited when landmarks, new homes, positions,

artwork is purchased or put into an Art Show, books or articles

are published or degrees are achieved.

Sometimes I feel a little guilty when someone is telling me a part

of their life, sharing places they have gone or about their close,

special relationship. They sometimes have a passing ‘regretful’

look that shadows their personal happy story they are sharing. I

would be the first one to tell you this: No apologies needed.

I have led a very full and happy life so far. Go ahead, please ‘gloat’

or explode with your own triumphant moments. This is what life,

friendship and love is all about!

I felt this was such a fantastic quote I saw today:

“Try to be a rainbow in someone’s cloud.”

In the interest of not bragging but enlightening you, I will share

my adventures and places I have been. Please take the time to

share some of your own. I truly wish to hear about where you

have been, what you found there or any successes you have

had in your lifetime.

I have had some great travel adventures.

I like the idea of going once again to see islands.

Have you ever been to any islands?

Just to name a few, I have been on the beaches of such foreign

places as Mallorca in the Mediterranean and Puerto Vallarta

in the Bay of Mexico. Spent time on such nearby ones as on

Port Clinton and seen the glacial grooves on Kelley’s Island, in

Lake Erie. I have found a wide variety of beautiful shells on both

Sanibel and Captiva Islands. I have been diving into such crystal

clear waters of quarries and waded in the reefs that hold oysters

and lobsters, along New England’s coastline.

The heights I have been are not as high as some have traversed,

but I have seen the depth of the Grand Canyon from the Eastern

side of it. I have enjoyed the Hawk’s Nest view in West Virginia, the

Natural Bridge and “Cake” rock formations at parks in Kentucky.

The Appalachian Mountains are not the same as the Rockies, but

the Smokies have wonder and eerie overlooks and turns.

Up in Maine, I saw the whales and many kinds of trees. In Upper

Peninsula, I saw where the Edmund Fitzgerald’s sunken remains

were discovered, The Soo Locks in Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan, I

have been in the castle in Charlevoix and found all to be unique

and beautiful.

I have walked on boardwalks along swamps, seeing Spanish moss

and palm trees.

Wildlife came in so many different ‘packages’ so far in my life. I saw

such vibrant birds and wildlife in Florida. My kids caught those wild

chameleons and wanted to keep them.

Everywhere I have been fortunate to travel and visit has had something

that captured my imagination. The manatees swimming like lethargic,

graceful sea creatures along with the bottle nosed dolphins (the first

found in the Gulf Bay, the latter in the Atlantic Ocean). All were such

pleasant surprises to my family.

The public places, museums and churches have always filled my

mind with details and history. Famous people whose homes or

masterpieces were amazing:

Ringling Brothers, Thomas Edison, Salvador Dali, Picasso, Thomas

Jefferson, Washington Monument, Abraham Lincoln sitting on his

great chair sculpture and the Statue of Liberty holding up her

beacon of Hope. The Pyramid of the Sun and the Pyramid of the

Moon in Mexico gave me a ‘taste’ of what the Egyptians created.

The Smithsonian, Chicago’s Museum of Science and Industry,

along with the Museum of Natural History, the Spanish National

Museum and art museums in many major cities all should have

been given more time, sitting and studying.

Churches included Boston’s Trinity, the tiny villages of Mexico, the

big churches with their magnificent stained glass windows found in

Madrid, Seville Cathedral and Cleveland’s St. Augustine Parish are

just some of examples of where I have been. These were locations

one could not help but feel the awe, passion and sincere reverence

those who worship there feel.

The song,

“Where have you been, Billy boy, Billy boy?” reminds me of how

someone may ask about details of your experiences. They may

express excitement for what you have seen, heard, smelled, felt,

touched and tasted along your paths in life. This song comes from

a folk song/nursery rhyme from 1930.

The Dr. Seuss book, “Oh, The Places You Will Go,” celebrated

its 25th Anniversary in January, 2015.Β  There are workshops,

follow up business courses and spin-off’s on the theme given

in this fantastic book.

Here is a quotation to give you a glimpse of the wonder and

treasure this book by Dr. Seuss wrote for us all to share. We

may give this as a graduation gift, sending our loved ones off

into the world.

“On, the places you’ll go!

There is fun to be done!

There are points to be scored.

There are games to be won.

And the magical things you can do with. . .”

(the text includes a ball to be thrown but

I think we can submit any effort or choice

the person prefers…)

“Makes you the winning-est winner of all.”

This is what I added to one of my children’s copies of this

Dr. Seuss book:

“Dear ______,

Get ready to share something extraordinary and we will be

there to listen, catch you and hope for more to come.

Nothing ventured, nothing gained. Lots of experts, scientists

and other famous people have ‘try, tried again,’ finding they

learned from their failures.”

~reocochran, otherwise known as “Mom” or “Nana.”

About reocochran

I am experiencing crazy and hapless adventures in dating that may interest people over fifty. I am now approaching 62 later this year and enjoy taking photographs, incorporating stories or poetry on my blog. I have many old posts which are informative and written like essays. I have several love stories collected from family and friends. Even strangers spill their stories, since I am a grown version of the girl next door. I have been trying to live a healthy lifestyle with better food selections and active hiking and walking. I have written four children's books and illustrated them. They are not published but a battered women's shelter used one about neglect and abuse for their children's program and a 4H group used my "Kissing a Bunny is like saying a Prayer" as a coloring book. Please comment or respond so I may get a chance to know you. Sincerely, Robin

20 responses »

  1. ‘Try to be a rainbow’, such a beautiful quote Rob. You have seen some truly beautiful and magical sites of the world. I am glad you didn’t cut your feet on the oyster shells however! Joy and pleasure comes in many different foms, capturing beauty and the moments from seeing other countries and places is one of those forms. I am glad you lead a happy and full life and I hope you continue to do so my lovely. I remember the Dr. Sues book…smiles. Stay tune for a post I’m doing on the places I have seen. I started some time ago and shelved it, but this has reminded me to dust it off. Hugs darling xx

    • I am always honored by my fellow bloggers, when something I write about or ‘say’ has an impact on their own writing. Thanks, my sweet Jen! Please, ‘dust this off’ and publish it and I will be so excited to read the places you have been and seen! I love that you found one of the quotes to be beautiful and smiled, picturing my water tennis shoes that I always wore, in the Atlantic Ocean and also, sometimes in Lake Erie, depending on the state of the beaches…
      Hugs sent back to you, Jen! xo

  2. You have seen some lovely sights! Isn’t it wonderful to have those memories to look back on – and I am sure that travelling and experiencing other cultures makes for a better understanding of our world and our differences. Everyone should travel! I have travelled quite a lot throughout Europe and lived in the UK for a while in the late eighties-early nineties, but haven’t been outside this country, except for a brief visit to Australia 6 years ago, for about twenty years now. My brief visit to the US in a couple of weeks will be my first time on your soil. This visit is all about the people for me, the sights will be incidental – but I do hope to see the Lincoln Memorial!!

    We all love Dr Seuss in this family and often quote him πŸ™‚

    • I am so excited you shared just a few brief pictures of where you have been in the world, Pauline! I am so excited about your extensive travel, including throughout Europe and living in the UK, too. I think Australia would be so wonderful to visit, bet you wished it would have been a longer visit. Too bad, I bet you won’t get too close to Ohio, on your “American Tour!” If you should be from 2-3 hours away, I would travel just to hug you and have a cup of coffee with you, my creative friend. If you wished, I would bring my notebook of artwork and you could give me some tips on where I need to keep going…
      I am so glad your family and you enjoy Dr. Seuss, too! Smiles back at you and safe, continued travels, Pauline!

      • The closest I shall get to Ohio is Radford Virginia unfortunately. And I’m pretty sure that is more than three hours away! I would love to have that cup of coffee and discuss our art work πŸ™‚ Maybe one day there will be another opportunity – never say never!!

      • I try hard not to use the word, “never,” and thanks for brainstorming ahead on the distance… It is wonderful to be connected, so glad we have art and many other threads to join us over the miles between us, Pauline!

  3. You have witnessed some of the finest natural beauty as well as the glory of great cathedrals. How appropriate that you should cite Dr. Seuss to capture the amazing variety of places you have experienced. I gave my second daughter this book for a high school graduation present along with a pack and some top quality walking shoes.

    I have experienced a few of the same places, and I both admire and envy your visits to places I have never seen. I hope some day I will. It is always a pleasure to learn about what others have discovered in their travels. Perhaps you will expand on some of your past travel adventures one of these days. – Mike

    • I am so glad you gave your second daughter a backpack, the Dr. Seuss inspirational book and some top quality walking shoes. Yes! Perfect graduation gifts…
      I know you have visited and lived in some fantastic places. Living there, so much deeper to investigate culture, places where the people go and knowing the little intricacies of towns and cities… marvelous adventures you and Florence took really captured my imagination, Mike. I like that you featured photographs of the friends you met along the way, too. I hope you have had a wonderful visit with the ones arriving in their van… if not yet, then hope it is a great time, had by all! Hugs, Robin

  4. what a lovely approach you have to life, robin. to be a ‘rainbow’ – and what lovely places you’ve seen and experiences you’ve had. here’s to many more years of beautiful adventure, near or far, for you )

    • Beth, I had to say this, post it, since sometimes I may accidentally express wistfulness or wishing to be in someone’s suitcase. It is just an “expression” and not a sad longing. I am always grateful for those who have traveled more recently, love seeing their photographs, showing the world is still a happy place to be in, most of the world still has loving, giving and gentle folks who wish to help us find our ways…. Hugs, Robin

  5. Like you Robin I thoroughly enjoy hearing about others travels and joys. It doesn’t make me feel stuck or untraveled. It means I get to hear and see about something through someone else’s perception. Which is what we as readers enjoy anyway. It’s why we read read read. So why wouldn’t we enjoy hearing the tales of friends. The stories of their lives, their travels. I love the stories. And will gladly sit and hear them. Oft times repeatedly!!!

  6. You are so right with regard to friendship and how sometimes no apologies are needed… We all make mistakes. Life is not about that… But is more related to finding a common background and enjoying the things that are worth it… I love your post here!. Thanks for sharing & all my best wishes. Aquileana πŸ˜€

    • I am so blessed by your thoughts on the subject of friendship and our acceptance of each other. No need for apologies since we are friends. So true! I also appreciate your saying you loved my post, Aquileana!

    • Your heart is with your family and this is wonderful how you said this. (Always.) I also think it meant a lot to me that you shared a few of the special places you have been. The only overlapping one is Barcelona. This was a fantastic list of places, so glad you have been to them, learned much about them and you share bits and pieces in your fairy tales about different cultures, too. I think Paris sounds so romantic, but my brother and sister in law said they found the little towns so much more friendly, creative and ‘quaint.’ I am sure there are fabulous landmarks which one must see if you are in France, Paris is one of them! Smiles!

      • My favorite place in Paris was the Musee d’Orsay. I felt my soul grow 10 times bigger seeing that beauty. And Ile de la Cite, where we found an air conditioned hotel and the patisseries and boulangeries had the most amazing fragrances wafting into the street. So many beautiful places in the world. Each of them precious. My favorite place is to be watching a movie with all of my kids, my daughter on my lap. I hope to take them to Europe one day, though. We would have such fun.

      • You will get your dream, Brenda. I believe you, your husband and children will go to Europe. It will be amazing, seeing it all through their eyes, too.
        I am so glad you enjoyed these places, I had heard of the Musee d’ Orsay. I had not heard of the Ille de la Cite. Is this like a promenade? I am publishing a post tomorrow about a place in Columbus where they make delicious pastries and it is also wonderful with a pianist who plays requested songs. It is not the same as Paris, but it is called, “Mozart’s!” I had already put it in my rough drafts, since it is based on a visit someone wrote about in a local newspaper/magazine. I have been there with my own children, so this is a special treat that you were on the ‘same wavelength,’ Brenda! Hugs, Robin
        (Sorry my love poem was a ‘free for all’ but I did tell others to check out yours which I called a masterpiece or something grand…)

Leave a Reply

