Pearls of Wisdom

Standard

Some news, thoughts and hopes shared here.

An invention which may change not only technical

world, but possibly medical world, too. Along with

some deep religious thoughts on a mighty fortress.

The quotes of people who have lived and died, with

a smile to close out the entries.

Inventions of new ideas make me excited!

This is Patent #8541031, coming from the

University of Dayton research center.

“They found a pearl of an idea in the oyster shell- – create a tough,

resistant-coating using cells extracted from the mantle of a mollusk.

Inventors, Karolyn Hansen, biology assistant professor, and her

husband, Douglas Hansen, senior research scientist at UD Research

Institute, along with scientists from Clemson University, received a

patent for the unique process of extracting and depositing oyster

cells and inducing shell layering on a surface.”

Karolyn Hansen explained,

“It’s a step toward development of environmentally friendly coatings

that are mechanically tough and resistant to fracture.”

Commercial applications could someday include improved coatings

for metallic biomedical implants, which benefit from the shell coating’s

microscopic dips and cracks that provide more surface area for tissue

to adhere.

(Information found in the UD Magazine.)

“Life was full.

I wish I had done some things better.

But all in all it was a great life.

I hope to see you all in the next one.”

~Patrick Gilvary’s final thoughts, who was a 47-year long faculty member

of University of Dayton.

He was a Performing and Visual Arts professor.

On the subject of Human Trafficking and the Ohio Billboard Campaign

to Raise Awareness, said by Tony Talbott:

“We can get ahead of this problem and actually end it in our lifetime.”

“A Mighty Fortress” is a song I remember hearing at church.

This was a hymn written by Protestant reformer, Martin Luther.

It was written in 1529 and is powerful in English but even better, if

you ever have a chance to hear it performed in German.

This is a comparison between God to a fortress but also to be

a ‘completely secure stronghold,’ or in German: Feste Burg.

The historian, Michael Streich,Β  explained this as,

“A burg was a fortified town. When invaders approached, the

surrounding populace fled to the safety of the walls.”

This sometimes meant layers of walls within walls.

Luther’s hymn compares God to the most powerful of all burgs,

with eternally unbreakable walls.

When we need a place of refuge, God offers His mighty fortress,

his “Feste Burg.” Within this refuge, with our value based on our

relationship to God rather than on earthly achievements, we’ll

never be put to shame. Inside this fortified town, the God who

desires an eternal relationship with us delivers, rescues and saves

us.

(This was taken partly from, “Homiletics,” a preaching online site.)

There is a University of Dayton 2012 graduate, Heather May, who

shares her classroom experiences while teaching in China. Her blog

was voted one of the best in the Peace Corps competition of sending

messages back home at:

http://spongeandslate.com

***

“Faith goes up the stairs that love has made

and looks out the window which hope has opened.”

***

~Written by Charles Spurgeon

About reocochran

I am experiencing crazy and hapless adventures in dating that may interest people over fifty. I am now approaching 62 later this year and enjoy taking photographs, incorporating stories or poetry on my blog. I have many old posts which are informative and written like essays. I have several love stories collected from family and friends. Even strangers spill their stories, since I am a grown version of the girl next door. I have been trying to live a healthy lifestyle with better food selections and active hiking and walking. I have written four children's books and illustrated them. They are not published but a battered women's shelter used one about neglect and abuse for their children's program and a 4H group used my "Kissing a Bunny is like saying a Prayer" as a coloring book. Please comment or respond so I may get a chance to know you. Sincerely, Robin

27 responses »

    • Isn’t it funny, but I think our comments criss-crossed across the wordpress air! I was reading your post I think before I posted this one… can we have a time stamp competition, W.S? ha ha!
      Thanks for the pearl bearings remark, Smitty! This made me smile! Happy Spring and I may go home and have a beer and watch some more of the March Madness.
      Could you believe we had four teams (Xavier, U of C, OSU and Dayton) and they didn’t go all out and lose in the first round, like Texas’ teams did?

      • Yeah, I think our comments did crisscross! πŸ™‚

        I’m afraid I don’t follow basketball (’cause baseball has all of my heart and I’m faithful), so the only “March Madness” I know about is “Spring Fever.” XD

      • Not too long until Spring Baseball Fever starts, W.S. Are they still practicing or have there been any pre-season games? I think we are down to only one team left in March Madness, anyway. Darn!

  1. So much fun stuff to absorb. I haven’t been able to read everything that every visitor to my site writes. So I do what I do best, which is write and hope to entertain.

    Now with spring on the way… We are supposed to get one more cold front. At least we didn’t have to shovel the last batch of snow because the ground was too warm!

    Stay healthy and enjoy life! Hugs, Jules

    • I am thankful our snow is gone here, too. I cringe when they say we may get one more small amount again soon. Jules, I know we are friends but I will always apologize for not keeping up with so much of yes, your entertaining writing!
      Happy warm days ahead, to play and watch the little ones explore, dear friend! Hugs, Robin

  2. It’s just me, perhaps, but as soon as I read your comments about research at the University of Dayton, I immediately thought of Dayton’s basketball team. It seems they are like giant-killers both intellectually and athletically! The university’s more significant accomplishment is, of course, the patented research about mollusk shells, which may have much greater impact in the long run than a basketball score.

    Ohio sounds so different that the Northwest to me, almost like a foreign country in some ways (geographically, socially, politically, atmospherically). Nonetheless, I love seeing Ohio through your eyes because you make it sound so inviting. I would love to visit there someday. Upstate Michigan is the closest as I have gotten so far. – Mike

    • Michigan is probably ‘prettier’ and more scenic, Mike. I love Ohio, since this is where my family lived my entire life. My Mom lived in New England, but parents brought her to Dayton area to a small town called, Middletown, Ohio while in elementary school. My Dad was always an Ohio man, proud of telling people about its different special interest locations.
      I made sure to remind my two grandsons, using the “Pause” button, when the Hulk was captured in an all enclosed glass structure in a big building in the “Avengers” movie, “This is where Grandpa worked in Sandusky, Ohio at the NASA Plum Brook Research Center.” Then, while driving to see my Mom, (like this Easter with my oldest daughter and her two sons, Sky and Micah) I will (again) point out where he finished his career at the Lewis Research Center, now called, John Glenn Research Center. They are more interested in the various scenes that were taken in the Avengers movie of Cleveland and also, at Plum Brook. Of course! smiles!

      I have traveled far, but really ‘know’ Ohio best. Just as Washington is home for you. It is a magnificent state with multiple scenic locations, Mike. I would be proud of living there!

      Thanks for saying you had heard of University of Dayton’s fine basketball team. They also have a wonderful and modern basketball arena. My youngest daughter attended there, graduating with a dual major of communications and marketing. I tend to look up facts about Ohio, while particularly enjoy reading about Dayton (and my alma mater, BGSU.)
      Mike, I am so glad you love seeing things through my eyes, which means a lot to me. It is nice to feel you like my ‘writing’ voice, while I hope someday to talk and listen, so you may hear my ‘speaking’ voice, too. Someday, I may go where you and Florence are, stop and see you or you may head somewhere within a few hours and we can meet halfway.

    • The song does give us comfort, Timi. I agree this was a nice explanation of the meaning behind the words.
      I also like the Charles Spurgeon quotation, could see this illustrated in so many beautiful ways! Thanks, Timi.

    • This is such a great reminder, Brenda! Our basic needs should be met to help us to carry on in life, while faith is something we may not always realize how important is, the idea of the song presenting us with comfort and shelter from the ‘storms’ in life really resonated with me, too. Thanks, Brenda.

      • It would be so great, Brenda! Thanks for the wishes sent my way, too. Please believe I am very blessed in so many ways, including knowing you. One day, you and your ‘entourage’ will make it to the midwest on a book tour or something, I will be wriggling through the crowd, saying, “I know her, I know her! Let me through!” Smiles!

    • Christy, how in the world do you give so many people personal and caring messages? I smile when I see your smiling face. Your glasses and facial structure remind me of my oldest daughter who is probably older than you. But sometimes this is what draws people together, the continuous spreading of our arms to encompass more into our extended ‘family.’ Thanks for figuring out about the coating which may be a great future solution to many things.

      • You are so sweet! I love to reach out and virtual hug people, and it helps me too because then I smile. The extended ‘family’ is absolutely what I feel too. Thanks for your beautiful comment back to me. xx

      • You are most welcome, Christy. I will have to come back tomorrow to read your post. I am getting tired and need to go home. I left the house at 6:30 a.m, worked until 5:00 p.m. at a car parts warehouse, then headed straight to the library and it is over 8 p.m. Yikes! They let me stay on since there were few computer people here today. It all depends on the temperature, the day or time of day. Sometimes I get only a half hour to check posts! Smiles and so happy you enjoyed this post.

Leave a Reply

