Fun and Serious Children’s Moments

Standard

Here are two women’s perspectives on children. One is a mother of two teens

and a four year old. The second one is a short essay on how to create more

sensitive children towards others. It made me feel her warmth and kindness,

just in the way she expressed herself.

These are some adorable conversations taken down in a notebook, by a

mother named Kristy Eckert. She is the editor of a local magazine called,

“Capital Style.”

Kristy Eckert begins with this statement:

“Life with a four year old is never dull.”

Here is her son, Cooper’s view on baseball,

when a neighbor 4 year old girl had had 78

attempts already to hit a ball:

“O.K. – – you’re Out!”

Then, an exchange went on like this:

Cooper’s mother:

“She is not ‘out.’ She gets to keep trying.”

Cooper’s reply:

“It’s three strikes and you’re out. She’s had

way more.”

Momma:

“I know, but she is learning.”

Cooper’s exasperated comment:

“This is not about learning! This is about

hitting and running!”

Then, another baseball infatuation; this time

about the first girl pitcher to win a game at

the Little League World Series, Mo’ne Davis:

Cooper: I wish I could marry her.”

When Cooper looked at his college brother’s

tattoo with Ohio roots:

“Momma, do you know how to spell Tony Stark?”

Cooper’s momma replied:

“T-O-N-Y  S-T-A-R-K”

Son’s reply:

“O.K., that’s what I want my tattoo to say.”

Interpersonal relations conversation between

Cooper and his Dad:

Cooper: “Do you know that when guys buy girls

flowers, they take off their clothes?”

(This happened after a suggestive commercial

aired.)

Daddy: “I wish it were only that easy, buddy.”

When meeting his big sister’s (who is 16) boyfriend:

“I don’t want any kissing- – even if you get married and

he becomes your wife!” (Oops, may need a reminder

of boys becoming husbands…)

When subjects may be changed:

Cooper’s Dad asked his wife, in front of Cooper:

“How many time-outs do you think Cooper has had in

his life? Over One-thousand?”

Cooper’s Momma’s answer:

“No, but definitely in the hundreds.”

Cooper’s response:

“Hey, guys. . . who wants to talk about Jesus?”

Kristy Eckert writes a column in the “Columbus Parent”

now called: “The Modern Momma.”

There is a Yiddish woman who is named Mimi Brodsky Chenfeld.

She is a fascinating senior citizen of Columbus and wrote some

interesting words on the subject of “love.”

The “Columbus Parents” newspaper named the column for Ms.

Chenfeld, “Mimilochen.” This Yiddish term is for “mother tongue”

is actually, “mamlochen.” They adapted the word ‘to represent the

wisdom of Columbus arts educator, author and all-around inspiration.’

Ms. Chenfeld mentions using her “decades of being with children of

all ages and backgrounds” as her resource for this essay. Wishing to

pass on her wisdom on the subjects of empathy, compassion and love.

Here is her profound advice:

“Young children especially listen very closely to the adults in

their lives and watch every move adults make.

They listen to your tone of voice, the words you say.

They notice body language, facial expressions, silences.

When you pass a piece of litter on the street and walk by,

they notice indifference.

When you don’t stop to help someone needing help, they

notice.

When a charity solicitation arrives by phone, they see if

you abruptly hang up.

If someone arrives to share a problem or difficult experience

with you, children see how you react.

If you half-listen, show little concern, they notice.

They learn from everything you do and say or don’t do and

don’t say.

If we want our children to become caring, empathetic, loving

people not just on special occasions but always:  We must

become role models.”

Mimi Brodsky Chenfeld gave a quotation, whose author is

anonymous:

“The best way to share an idea is to wrap it up in a person.”

An example given of a real situation, which appeared simple

on the outside, but made a huge impact on a child was given.

When a mother, her child and their dog had just moved to a

new neighborhood they went on a walk. They saw a truck stop

several times along their road while they talked about the new

location and fun park nearby. A delivery truck slowly passed

them.

The driver rolled down his window, asking if the woman would

mind holding on to a package for one of her new neighbors.

She answered, “Of course.”

As the delivery person handed her the package, he commented

that he had asked three other people to keep it safe until the

people came home. All had declined to do so.

The child remembers this, grew up and used this example of

a ‘random act of kindness.’ Along with her mother packing up

bags of clothes to donate, taking food to a food pantry, helping

a neighbor and listening with kindness to a stranger.

She remembers when a polite, “No, I cannot donate at this time,”

was gently given, instead of a hung up telephone call.

I remember my Dad helping to change flat tires on highways,

mostly when he saw the people were older and more frail.

I also know that when he saw a neighbor building a shed, he

offered to hold up the walls and complete the job with him.

These are memories which helped to teach me compassion.

My Mom donated her time to several charities, but my main

pride was in her being a volunteer Head Start teacher for

two summers in a basement of an inner city church, with my

two brothers and I being her ‘assistant teachers.’ This was

long before Head Start became a subsidized program with

paid teachers and staff.

Do you have any positive childhood memories of parents or

yourself helping a neighbor?

How about some funny story about your child, niece, nephew

or yourself while young?

I remember my father and grandfather watching a holiday

football game around 1963. I was impatiently waiting for the old

television series, “Petticoat Junction” to come on, following

the game.

When I wandered into my grandparents’ living room I stood

with my eight-year old hands on my hips I was upset because

there was an “instant replay.”

My Dad told this story, ‘on me,’ so many times, I ‘never lived it

down.’  I could not count on both hands the number, even to my

boyfriends later on in life, who were ‘jocks’ or sports followers.

I said, in an exasperated tone,

“Not only are football games long and tiresome, but this one is

going in slow motion!”

I remember enjoying Art Linkletter’s television show,

“Kids Say the Darndest Things.” I don’t think what I said would

have been funny enough to put on the show, but my family sure

did enjoy my indignation.

Let’s enjoy hearing about your parents’ positive memories

of giving back or paying forward. Along with examples of your

own silly expressions or your child, niece, nephew or relative

who said something funny and it became a family ‘joke’ to

retell over and over again.

About reocochran

I am experiencing crazy and hapless adventures in dating that may interest people over fifty. I am now approaching 62 later this year and enjoy taking photographs, incorporating stories or poetry on my blog. I have many old posts which are informative and written like essays. I have several love stories collected from family and friends. Even strangers spill their stories, since I am a grown version of the girl next door. I have been trying to live a healthy lifestyle with better food selections and active hiking and walking. I have written four children's books and illustrated them. They are not published but a battered women's shelter used one about neglect and abuse for their children's program and a 4H group used my "Kissing a Bunny is like saying a Prayer" as a coloring book. Please comment or respond so I may get a chance to know you. Sincerely, Robin

13 responses »

  1. Ha ha! I loved the story of you waiting for “Petticoat Junction,” Robin. I can picture the 8 year old you with your hands on your hips. 🙂 I always thought baseball was played in “slow motion.”

    • I am laughing since baseball is a much longer game than football. I can see why it would seem like it was in ‘slow motion,’ Jill! I am so glad you laughed and enjoyed this part of my post.

  2. What a wonderful story about being a role model. Adults are being watched all the time. I am glad some people do not need a special occasion to play the part of being helpful or kind.

    I hope I can be the person my grandsons think I am (and any other children who may be watching). – Mike

    • I like how you added ‘any other children who may be watching,’ Mike. I find the little ones are like ‘monkeys’ and imitate us in so many ways. I do try to pick up trash, while we are on a park walk, bringing a plastic bag, which is easily hooked over my arm, while we explore. The other way I notice children imitate, is one of my 3 children are not so ‘neat’ in their cars and those children need more reminders to put their gum and candy wrappers in the ‘pockets’ of my car. This makes it so much easier, when we pile out to have them ready to throw away. Thanks for liking these stories. I am positive you showed Explorers, your daughters and now your grandchildren how to be a positive inhabitant on this planet of ours!

  3. Great column today, Robin. The little boy Cooper provides enough good material that his mother should be winning some major prizes for a big-time competition! He’s a doozie of a smart kid. 🙂

    • She is great at keeping the stories, retelling them, too. I hope she will be able to do this someday. Cooper sounds like a real character! Smiles for the use of ‘doozie’ of a smart kid, Mark! Loved this expression!

    • It is good that we were patient parents, I can tell this about you, Kim. I hope you can feel this way about me, too. We didn’t hurry them too often, allowing their trains of thoughts to blossom and be expressed. I could listen to kids of any part of the world, if I understood their language, finding each one to have such remarkable stories and perspectives. “Kids’ logic” is a great way of describing this, Kim!

      • Oh, I look back and wonder, “Was I ‘patient’ enough?” “Did I do my very best?” Then, I must remind myself…”At the time, yes.” No doubt, however, endless patience as a grandmother! As for you, Robin, I have no doubt about your patience. It seeps through the kindness of your heart.

Leave a Reply

