“Everything’s Going to Be Alright”

Standard

There isn’t any grand scales where some giant or being piles out even amounts

of challenges for each of us. No “one” is weighing or ‘divvying up’ orderly levels

of pains or gains. We either choose to sludge on through the muck or we go hide

in a cave or we give up.

We all have something, a burden, hurt or major catastrophe in our past, present

or future, to overcome.

It is in the metaphor of mountains we must climb to ‘beat our odds’ that can take

us to the top, the precipice, to enjoy the view from there that keeps me going.

Everyone in the world has heard of the pilot who may or may not have been

troubled or overwhelmed by his own personal hurdles. They are speculating

he had been suffering from depression. It is hard to tell, looking at his photo

while sitting on the edge of the bridge in San Francisco, where he had come

to America to take flight lessons.

In the Alps, Maria and the Trapp Family Singers, scrambled and climbed to

escape Nazis, this same place where the airplane crashed.

Have you ever read, “The Story of the Trapp Family Singers,” by Maria

Augusta Trapp?

I read the book, recommended to me by my German born Grandma who was

once Paula Haller, married to my Grandfather, who was Walter Mattson. She

had her own ‘escape’ story from Germany. Throughout her life, insisted we

think of her as “more Austrian than German.” She felt shame for what Adolf

Hitler and his regime had carried out against Jewish people, as well as the

Jewish sympathizers.

Many times, throughout my life, in fifth and seventh grade, later in college, I

read Maria’s story of her stepchildren and her husband overcoming extreme

temperatures and great fears of the Nazi army coming after them, to go to

America. Where her family grew, prospered and sang of their travels and life

across the country and overseas.

Anne Frank’s story in her diary, one we may have been ‘assigned’ as an

English assignment touches my heart, even now. Each person who has had

a special book or story told them, where someone like the man. Louis, in the

book, ‘Unbroken,” may use their stories to help fortify themselves for ongoing,

everyday battles in their own lives.

When I hear songs about the mountains, they are not all about pain and

anguish, some are about love and others about journeys.

But, in this 50th Anniversary year since the musical, “Sound of Music,” came

out, I hear a resounding faith and joy in the first words of,

“The hills are alive. . . with the sound of music!”

I hear it even more in the religious song, “Climb Every Mountain.”

Do you hear the mountain messages?

Do you know deep within your heart that you, too, can ‘escape’ your pains?

Do you believe in the magical and healing power within yourself to overcome

hatred and prejudice?

The list of daily problems the world’s masses of humanity face could ‘take us

down’ into the depths of hell.

We must try for our families, for our neighbors and friends and most of all,

for ourselves to ‘carry on,’ move forward wayward sons and daughters.

I have a list of songs, mostly mountain songs, but of course, Bob Marley’s

song, “Everything’s Going to Be Alright” is right up there in my “hall of fame,”

full of motivation and strength, along with fun and playfulness. Since we dare

not succumb, not get dragged down. . .

One way or another, we can make it to that mountain top.

~ “Climb Every Mountain,” from “Sound of Music.” I like Shirley Bassey’s single

of this, along with the actress, Peggy Wood’s singing it.

~ “Sound of Music,” title song from, “Sound of Music.” I like Julie Andrews, Lady

Gaga and Carrie Underwood singing this song. All different versions of traveling

musicians in the stage musicals poured their hearts and voices into this one,

over all the years.

~ “Ain’t No Mountain High Enough,” sung by Marvin Gaye.

~ “Mountain and the Sea,” love that Ingrid Michaelson, every song is joyous!

~ “Rocky Mountain High,” sung by John Denver.

~”Sound Mountain,” recently heard this on my radio, sung by the band, “Of

Monsters and Men.” This is an indie folk band, formed in Iceland in 2010.

(Another song, “Little Talks,” is interesting, too.)

~ “It’s the Climb,” sung by Miley Cyrus.

~ “Ooh, Child,” originally sung in 1970, by the family soul group, Five Stairsteps,

now is being played on an insurance commercial, sung by the lovely Jennifer

Hudson, an “American Idol” alum.

~ Louis Armstrong’s song, “La Vie En Rose,” as a lesser known beautiful song

but of course, “A Wonderful World,” is such a fantastic song. (it is particularly

poignant in the Robin Williams’ film, “Good Morning, Vietnam,” while bombs are

going off.)

I would be misguided if I did not include the song, “Battle Hymn of the Republic,”

and the mighty fine speech, Martin Luther King, Jr. gave titled,

“I’ve Been to the Mountaintop:”

“Like anybody, I would like to live a long life, longevity has its place.

But I’m not concerned about that now.

I just want to do God’s Will. And He’s allowed me to go up to the mountain.

And I have looked over.

And I have seen the Promised Land.

I may not get there with you. But I want you to know tonight, that we as a

people, we’ll get to the Promised Land.

I’m not fearing any man!

Mine eyes have seen the glory of the coming of the Lord.”

******

If you know a song which lifts you up- – please feel free to add to this short list

I gave you.

Where do you go for solace?

In Lancaster, Ohio, when I was facing divorce, with a 5 year old, 3 year old and

infant baby, we climbed up the steep path of Rising Park’s hill. My children used

to like to run around on the top, with my eyes firmly placed upon their bodies,

never leaving them from sight. We even would hold hands and look over the

precipice, down upon the city two of my three children were born in their

Lancaster-Fairfield County Hospital. My parents accompanied me on the last

day I lived there, first having a picnic down in the park, feeding the ducks in

the lake and then, holding my Dad holding Jamie’s hand, my Mom holding

Carrie’s hand and I having a snuggling baby, Felicia in her backpack. I felt

her chubby liittle legs swinging and gently tapping on my back. We looked

over Lancaster, happy we had been there, but also for me, my heart filled

with trepidation, we were leaving this city behind. We moved into our two

bedroom apartment before school started in 1986, Delaware, Ohio. I have a

fabulous friend who meets me halfway to Lancaster, next year it will be our

30th year, so we can talk about our families, lives, loves and “old times” two

times annually. We will need to have cake.

Where do you go for solace?

Who do you lean on, when you need someone to boost your energy for your

daily walks?

About reocochran

I am experiencing crazy and hapless adventures in dating that may interest people over fifty. I am now approaching 62 later this year and enjoy taking photographs, incorporating stories or poetry on my blog. I have many old posts which are informative and written like essays. I have several love stories collected from family and friends. Even strangers spill their stories, since I am a grown version of the girl next door. I have been trying to live a healthy lifestyle with better food selections and active hiking and walking. I have written four children's books and illustrated them. They are not published but a battered women's shelter used one about neglect and abuse for their children's program and a 4H group used my "Kissing a Bunny is like saying a Prayer" as a coloring book. Please comment or respond so I may get a chance to know you. Sincerely, Robin

31 responses »

  1. Bob Marley’s song “Everything’s Going to be Alright” is very inspirational, as are many of the other tunes you listed. Robin, I wish those songs and your words touch people’s hearts and that it will all be right. 😉

    • It sure would be wonderful if one of us in our ‘circle of friends’ could ‘change the world’ into a peaceful Love In, Judy! So glad you came by and enjoyed the songs I included, while I loved your “Stand By Me” and other songs you mentioned in your recent post, too. Smiles back at you!

  2. I love these songs. I was surprised at how much I loved Miley’s song when I first heard it, I burst in to tears. I’m glad I was alone and I prefer to listen to it alone ever since. It just feels good to me and speaks to me. WOnderful post Robin.

    • She is quite a character, that Miley Cyrus, but I have hopes for her to mature and become like others before her, a fantastic icon and singer we can all respect one day.
      Thanks, Colleen, for telling me your honest reactions to the song, Miley wrote and sang! It is just beautiful and I do so agree with you!

      • I haven’t seen the news in days, funny I read this and commented on the song. Then last night my mom said “what’s wrong with that Miley Cyrsus? And where are her parents?” But I have no idea what she was referencing.

        But I love love love that song. Here’s to hoping for Miley!

      • This is so funny, how in tune with the current scene your Mom is! This is like my Mom, sometimes she is right ‘on the ball’ and will send me articles about pop culture. I am also glad you enjoyed all the songs on the list, Colleen. We ended up focusing on your emotional moment with Miley’s song, which does talk about getting up the mountain and what its all about in going through our struggles.
        Hope you have been enjoying sunny, but chilly weekend, Colleen. I am excited to be heading to the Strand at 4 p.m. and meeting Carrie, Skyler and Micah to see, “Home.” The silly purple guy who moves to the music from the radio, in the commercials he says, “I don’t know why, but my hands want to be in the sky!” My grandkids all crack up over that and other little parts in the ads. Rihanna’s voicing the girl, Jennifer Lopez the mother and silly Jim Parsons (“Sheldon” from “Big Bang Theory,” even if you don’t watch it, most people know he is that annoying character who is so precise and a little bit ‘whiny,’ too.)

  3. Robin, this is a terrific post. Our senior class song for high school graduation was “Climb Every Mountain” because we had lost several classmates to accidents and illnesses that devastated the community. When I need solace, I walk through the back hills to the Garden of the Gods where the red-stone monoliths against the mountains remind me that I am not in charge.

    • I am so moved by your sharing this about your high school graduation song, so sorry to hear of loved ones and young people dying way too young. This would hit me hard, if I had lost one of my friends during that period of time, Marylin.
      I am blessed by your sharing where you go for solace and comfort. This sounds like quite an amazing place to be, the Garden of the Gods. I will need to look it up and view it myself. This sounds like a fantastic natural formation and creation.

      • Marylin, after looking at some of the photos which would pale to the actual being by them, I just like the way the Balancing Rock and the monoliths look. It definitely would quiet me, cause me to meditate on life and my place in the world, too.

  4. I know the song “Everything is Awesome” from the Lego Movie is meant to be tongue in cheek but that song makes me smile. Thank you for the uplift playlist. What a great reference.

    • I am smiling at this nice comment, Diahann. I do think the song was awesome. It is so buoyant and inclusive of everyone and everything! Thanks for this sweet comment, too.

  5. What a full, rich post, Robin. Thank you for sharing your personal story with us–you have obviously climbed some mountains of your own. I’m so glad you had such a good friend to share the journey. I love my husband, and I know I can count on him, but for really talking things out, my sister is always there for me.

    • I am glad you included your husband and sister among your fans and supporters, Naomi. Thank you for your kind comments about my life and how I did go through some tough times. Not nearly as bad as some, but definitely not ‘easy’ either. I have been blessed with two brothers, who were there for my children and my parents were always helpful, too. My Dad was very good at entertaining them as well as helping set up my various apartments and helping to fix things around my house.

      • So glad you have such a strong support system, Robin. Sometimes a rough patch will turn people bitter. You are obviously the kind of traveler who gathers wisdom like bouquets along the shoulders of life’s roads, however rocky they sometimes get.

  6. Thank you for your ‘glass is half full’ outlook on life. In keeping with the mountaintop theme, it brought to mind the uplifting song ‘Higher and Higher’ originally recorded by Jackie Wilson, and subsequently by many more recording artists – Rita Coolidge, Van Halen, Bruce Springsteen and others. I guess they liked it, too. – Mike

    • Yes, this is a fantastic addition to the list of songs which life us up and include the idea of going upward up the mountain or trail in our own lives. Thanks, Mike and also, for including all those who sang this song because they found meaning in the words, too.

  7. This is a beautiful post Robin, just perfect for this season of renewed hope and rebirth. We all have our mountains to climb, that is part of being alive on this planet, and we all have those who help us on the journey – else we would founder and fall too often! My heart is always lifted when I hear of those who are there for us in our trials – because I believe this is what life is about – loving and helping and being there for each other. Thank you for sharing so beautifully your story of ending one chapter so you could be ready for the next – and all the great music! xoxo

    • Thank you, Pauline for seeing this in the light it was intended to give out. I was hoping to make this a positive one, where we would also reflect upon the ones who were killed in the airplane crash. I find it disheartening that this happened.
      I also like the more universal appeal you explained it as fitting for a ‘season of renewed hope and rebirth.’
      I am thankful you found it a journey with my family and friends who helped me along the way. Your comment made me think of the simple and quiet song, “I Get By with a Little Help from my Friends.” I know your trip will be one where we will be riding along in your pocket and enjoying the view. You are demonstrating how friends can travel far and wide to stay connected in your own life.

  8. I lean on God. He has carried me through many difficult times during my life. As for a song, “Bridge Over Troubled Water.” Although the song makes me cry every time I listen to it, it’s uplifting. It’s my mother’s favorite song.

    • The song has been in a post I wrote about bridges, which makes it one perfect for times of need and solace, Jill. I am so glad you said you lean on God. This is important to be able to know who to go to, when no one else can really fully understand your pain or sorrow. Paul Simon and Art Garfunkel are two balladeers whose songs really tell great stories and have such depth. Sometimes I cry when I hear this and “Let It Be,” by the Beatles. The opening chords can bring tears. Thank you, Jill for sharing your feelings here.

  9. Oh yes Robin, we have those favorite songs to lean back on…music is really therapeutic, it fills our heart with hope and cheer, steering us out of those darkest caverns we tend to enter unawares.
    Thanks for sharing your story of love and support in such a positive manner, brushing aside the heavy moments. It is good that you have drowned them in the stream of time. Love you for being an inspiring person.

    • I appreciate your wonderful, warm and kind thoughts about this post, Balroop. I do feel songs can help take us away or lead us into feeling better, along with being a positive person seeing things could be much worse, helps! I am thankful for getting to know you, too. I wish to tell you that this week I did not get into the library, had a dentist appt., a car problem and longer days at work. So, this comment back to you is rather ‘late’ but my feelings are so sincere and thankful to you. Hope you have a wonderful weekend, if you ‘get down’ let me know what song lifted you up! Smiles, Robin

      • Thanks dear Robin for such kind words, I too am so happy to meet you. I am always looking for such consistent, loving and warm persons and I must say your words very clearly reflect that you are one of those friends I would love to have in my life. I immensely value your feelings and emotions.

        The songs that uplift me are the ones I grew up with, soft and sentimental songs which contain a profound philosophy of life but they are in Hindi language. 🙂

  10. A beautiful enjoyable and very inspirational post Robin, yes the Hills are alive with Music, and yes we can climb every mountain, I prefer to live in the beautiful world of hopes and love, that your writing has created.
    With music there is no place but Love.
    Regards
    Ian

    • Regards sent back to you, Ian. I am grateful for your saying these lovely words about my writing and am glad you find peace and love in songs. They are our connection with others, sometimes, too. We have heard most of the songs from generations ahead of us, and others of younger generation, too.
      The way you write about subjects, I feel the emotional connection and also, spiritual connection, too. Thanks, Ian.

  11. I’ve always loved John Denver, Robin, and almost any time I’m near water those lines about sunshine on the water making him happy are in my head. I’m a moody creature, but if I can get out and walk, I can forget my troubles. Three children on your own must have been hard. One was difficult enough, and I had a great mum. Sunday hugs to you! 🙂

    • I know what you mean about John Denver, Jo. His voice and the words he described so eloquently expressing his emotions, connects me to his songs. His concert was the first one my Mom let a date take me to, when I was 17 or 18 years old. “Sunshine on My Shoulders” and “Annie’s Song” are very special songs to me. Sunshine on the water is part of a lot of your walks, so I can see this making an impact on your life, too.
      Thanks for sharing your moody character, since I would never see this in your writing. I admire your walks and this is a great way, I know you know, to make endorphins spark and lift your moods. I feel nature connects and heals me, so I can relate to this comment, too. Thanks, Jo for the Sunday hugs!

  12. i think that everyone deals with their challenges in their own way. my wish is that everyone could find a way that is not harmful to others in the process and helps them to overcome and thrive as an individual.

    • I agree, Beth, finding ways that help deal with challenges that don’t hurt others is so important. I don’t like thoughtless disregard for others, although sometimes those who are suicidal are in their own mind, ending the pain they suffer. I hope that people can find ways to thrive and find their way through to seeing the happiness that awaits them in so much that it here on earth.

    • I know this post isn’t about suicide, but the idea of hurting others makes me think of this act, Beth. It is hard to imagine why they would go through with it, while having children or reasons to live. The man in the plane was thoughtless and yet, probably was focused on his own pain, not the 150 others. I could not imagine this choice being anyone’s ‘best’ way of going.

Leave a Reply

