A Short Post about Spring

Standard

When I saw my oldest daughter yesterday, stopping by to return her cake

holder from which I had enjoyed three extra pieces of coconut frosted vanilla

Bunny cake, which was delicious and homemade, I saw her digging in the dirt,

burying onion bulbs.

She stopped to share all the different vegetables she had planted. I am crossing

my fingers, sending a silent prayer to the heavens for those plants and bulbs to

survive.

In my parents’ planting ‘rule book’ they always said to wait at least until after

Mother’s Day. They even went so far as to persuade me, as a young mother with

a gardening interest, to wait until after Memorial Day.

Yesterday, as you all know, was April 6, 2015.

What was she thinking?

What should I have done?

Would you have told her to dig them up?

Not in my lifetime!

Anyway, there is a poem which touched me recently and I will be sharing it here.

I hope you enjoy its message with homespun simplicity:

“Symphony to Spring”

“In this dogwood – blossom season,

When the earth comes alive again,

My spirit soars on wings of hope

As I listen to Nature’s symphonic refrain.”

~*~ ** ~*~

“I hear the singing voice of the wind,

A song of hope within my heart.

Nature rehearses for a season of joy . . .

Springtime is a welcome time to start.”

Written by Charles Clevenger

**************************************************

Quotation by Lao Tzu:

“Nature does not hurry,

yet everything

is accomplished.”

***************************************************

Sending you Spring time thoughts and hope you

will include what plans you have made and if you

have seen some more special signs that Spring

is here to stay. If you are in another season,

entirely, please help us to ‘picture’ where you are

with details of your scenery and Nature’s views.

About reocochran

I am experiencing crazy and hapless adventures in dating that may interest people over fifty. I am now approaching 62 later this year and enjoy taking photographs, incorporating stories or poetry on my blog. I have many old posts which are informative and written like essays. I have several love stories collected from family and friends. Even strangers spill their stories, since I am a grown version of the girl next door. I have been trying to live a healthy lifestyle with better food selections and active hiking and walking. I have written four children's books and illustrated them. They are not published but a battered women's shelter used one about neglect and abuse for their children's program and a 4H group used my "Kissing a Bunny is like saying a Prayer" as a coloring book. Please comment or respond so I may get a chance to know you. Sincerely, Robin

37 responses »

  1. I’m glad your spring has sprung. Bulbs..planting..gardening…erm what are they? šŸ˜‰ I don’t have a green thumb. Our weather, Autumn..Fall. The leaves are starting to change, losing their brilliant colours. Some trees already bare. Rain falls, winds rush up, hair styles are better as up-doos! Heaters are coming on, clothes racks, laden with wet clothes are put over heating vents to dry. That’s where I’m at.

    • I am grateful for your giving us the newest weather report there, as I had hoped for everyone to ‘chime in,’ Jen! Your comments could become a short little essay about your seasons, does sound fun with the putting your positive spin on rain falling, winds rushing in and how to handle your hair style! Smiles!! Hugs, too.

      • Sometimes my comments could actually be a post and I wonder why I just don’t write one as such lol you’re welcome sweety, have a good night…day… xx

      • For me, it is getting dark, I will head home and see the results of my votes on American Idol last night. I hope that the ones I enjoy will still be on next week. I really liked Tyanna last night, the sweet 16 year old cried while singing “I Want You to Stay,” saying she was thinking of how she lost her Grandma. I also still believe in Clark Beckham, have for weeks, Jen. Take care and sleep well, sweet dreams, my friend across the ocean!

  2. one of my favorite cakes, robin! and i think she’s probably just excited for the season change and to think ahead to summer. some things are learned with life experience, but also, some things work out in unexpected ways. fingers crossed for her onions )

    • I am so lucky to have another set of fingers crossed, Beth! I do think we have ‘been there, done that’ and tried an early garden. I think the onions may be okay… smiles!

    • Oh, Beth so glad you like coconut bunny cakes! I love her cakes, since I have mostly resorted to ‘cake box’ mixes since the years of being single. She used vanilla bean in the white cake flour! She said she ‘food processed it.’ The frosting instead of cream she used coconut milk, extra flavor and hope she makes it again soon. Smiles!

  3. First of all, you are so lucky to have your daughter so nearby Robin. Kids often move away. As for our season, I live in Southern California where we are having only two seasons, lately: summer and Hades, hot and hotter. That does mean our planting schedule is difficult to figure out. I plant in the early spring and autumn. We just planted three rose bushes and expect them to do fine. We cannot plant in the actual winter season here or in the middle of the summer, which gets extremely hot. In any case, I will look forward to hearing how those bulbs did. Where are you, exactly?

    • I am in Ohio, central part. I chose it on a map, Beth. I had my ex from Cincinnati, which is south in Ohio and my parents were still both around up in Cleveland, north part of Ohio. It is a ‘university town,’ which meant a lot to me, where the Central Ohio Symphonic Orchestra plays and the Ohio Wesleyan campus holds theater productions. I wanted to be right in the middle, Beth.
      I am blessed to have my two children who have kids to have chosen to stay in Delaware, Ohio. Carrie’s two boys go to the elementary school the three of my own children attended. My son’s daughters go to an entirely different el.sch. where there house is located. There are five elementaries in this town!
      Thanks for hoping for the best in my daughter’s garden, Beth. I have time to peek in on people’s posts today! I worked 10 hour days on Mon. – Thurs. and today, I worked 10 and a half hours at our car parts warehouse. Yikes!

  4. You were sweet to bite your tongue and let your daughter learn in her own way. Perhaps onions will be fine, given they are planted so deeply. Tomatoes are the really picky plants. We have snow predicted for tomorrow, and my little seedlings are still under a grow light. I’ll be planting Mother’s Day weekend unless spring is very late this year. šŸ™‚ Blessings, Brenda

    • I am so glad you mentioned Mother’s Day, since that is what we traditionally use as our planting day, or Memorial Day, as you mentioned, if weather gets a little ‘rough’ around the edges, Brenda. I think it is best to bite one’s tongue as we get older, we realize how much easier life is when we aren’t always going against the current, so to speak.
      I think her tomato plants are still inside but she planted seeds for lettuce, cabbage and something else. There were pretty purple crocuses and her ‘hens and chickens’ were popping out. Thanks for the blessings, I can always use them. Smiles back at you, Brenda.

      • I took photos of my friends flowers which were daffodils, hyacinths, crocuses and she has the Spring green buds on a lot of her trees, I enjoy visiting her on my half days on Fridays, Brenda. I will have to look at your hellebores or find them on line… I like your saying your ‘garden is quiet.’ Still sleeping their winter’s naps almost over, soon…. very soon!

    • I think hummingbirds and those cheery yellow finches are so precious. I adore the way my friend’s gardens and her little different feeders are year round, then adding the hanging hummingbird feeders, too. I smile at birds, chipmunks, squirrels and deer, while she takes a big foil pan and whacks on it trying to scare the latter away!

      • We are sometimes on the ‘same wavelength, Jill! I cannot wait to read this one! Smiles and have a restful night and a wonderful weekend!

    • You and I would maybe hike or sit on a park bench, you just seem like a peaceful, outdoorsy person. I am so glad I found you waiting my approval today! So sorry it took me a bit to find you! Hugs, Robin

  5. I’m not a gardner but I do love what others do. I haven’t the patience but I do have the appreciation. I haven’t the green thumb but I have the green love. I haven’t the skill but I have the good sense to love those who do. šŸ™‚

    • My kids remember when I had a big garden with squash, tomatoes, cucumbers, pumpkins, onions and carrots, Colleen. My son duplicated this and added peppers and other choices like zucchini last year. But, his garden went in last year in May, so she is older, but choosing to start her garden since the littlest boy, Micah got a rabbit for his 6th birthday. She remembers how I would supplement the bunnies we had fed pellets and vegetables. Good idea to ‘get in good’ with those who have gardens, Colleen! I get some great ‘hand outs’ at work, from people who ‘overdid it’ in their gardens and share with those who don’t have gardens. I usually could ask Jamie for some, but will wait for offers, instead. My kids are wonderful with their preparing ‘plates to go,’ Colleen.

      • Ha! I’m laughing ! I wasn’t even thinking of the benefits of the vegetable gardens. But the benefits of living next door to someone who plants a beautiful yard and I love the little flowers that peek through, and I love the things they show me they are doing and re-doing. It’s a work of art and love. šŸ™‚ But the vegies from others are DEFINITELY a bonus!

      • I know now your intent but this is how written conversations go ‘off kilter.’ So glad you sent me in the right direction, Colleen! It helps when people respond back to comments.
        Caring about your neighbors and listening to their projects is always a kind way to show appreciation. I can picture your neighborly conversations, too. Thanks for helping me to ‘see’ the flower gardens and I do enjoy the views! Smiles and hugs, Robin

      • I enjoyed your comment Robin and hadn’t even thought of that. But you are right. I often do enjoy and reap the benefits of others who have green thumbs and love to do their own gardens. So it worked out perfectly in our comments. I like how our banter works. šŸ™‚

  6. I have no doubt your daughter’s garden will thrive this year. (Perhaps global warming has moved the planting date up in recent years.)

    The Tulip Festival is in full bloom in neighboring Skagit County. (http://www.bing.com/images/search?q=Mt.+Vernon+Tulip+Festival&FORM=IRMHRS) The farms’ biggest business is selling bulbs, although cut flowers are available at all the local stores. A funny thing — since The Netherlands are world famous for their tulip varieties, the growers in the Skagit Valley send bulbs to The Netherlands farmers, who them ship them back so that they can be sold as ‘Imported From The Netherlands.’

    I am going shopping for fuchsias this weekend. They should bloom all summer and give the hummingbirds something to chirp about. Happy Spring! šŸ™‚ – Mike

    • I love the idea of the tulips and enjoy festivals, too. I think this is funny about the Skagit Valley farmers wishing to be able to claim the flowers are imported from the Netherlands.
      I also think your purchasing fuchsias is wonderful. I used to like all kinds of flowers around the front and back yards, Mike. Now, I can go ‘next door’ to the university or downtown, where both places have planters filled to abundance with flowers which stand up and ivy which trails down. Beautiful and not one iota of my efforts to keep them weeded! ha ha! Smiles, Robin

  7. I love to watch the change of seasons, spring may be having the blossoms all around…I feel really fascinated by the fields of tulips and daffodils… and new seeds getting sprouted but fall has its own charm and the beauty of winter is so mesmerising…the white serenity all around us allures though for a short while! Nature in all its moods enthrals me. šŸ™‚ Thanks for a lovely post Robin!

    • I love that expression, ‘it could turn on a dime,’ and you are so darn right! I am smiling since I have heard the 3 weeks after the last freeze, but then what if you THINK it is the last freeze? Smiles!

  8. Nope. Leave ’em. In my 34 years in Maine, bulbs were some of the hardiest things I planted! Besides, no matter what we know or we don’t, our kids have to learn in their own way and their own time. Which I’m sure you already know!
    Some of the most pain I’ve experienced as a parent has been since my kids have become adults, and I have to step back and zip it. Even though I can almost see the writing on the wall.
    It’s better this way for all of us.
    xoxo

    • Bela, thanks for saying this will be all right! I am smiling at the image of ‘zipping it,’ since I have often given advice, which friends are usually willing to listen to, then try it on your kids, they become ‘sensitive’ or feel we are lecturing them!
      I was a little bit of a people pleaser through most of my years, not a ‘problem’ for my parents, but once I started getting into relationships, in my 20’s and 30’s my parents were so patient! They let me make all kinds of mistakes and I waited for lectures which could have easily started with, “You made your bed, now lie in it!” Nope! They helped me ‘bail out’ of things I went full throttle into believing the men were what they said or promised to be. All things worked out, except the people in my high school’s mouths drop open when I go regularly to h.s. reunions. xoxo

  9. I like storing my winter coats and bringing out lighter coats. I enjoy the beginning of the lighter days and driving past fields of endless tulips. I really love how colour begins to stain the landscape.

    Maybe you should have told your daughter? Here’s hoping for a miracle!

Leave a Reply

