Cheers to You!

Standard

I had hoped to quell our fears about drinking and maybe add to the weekend

‘cheers.’ I felt we were due for a post about having fun, in moderation. If you

have been a ‘teetotaler’ and prefer to stay this way, you may find the facts

given here to be of interest. Sometimes I like to pass on the ‘newest’ findings.

Unfortunately, there is a balance between positive and negative effects. I was

wishing this to be more “Pro” having a happy hour drink and celebrating with

a toast of wine, hard apple cider or a great cocktail.

Here are some positives to drinking:

~ Moderate drinking which means only one drink for women,

two for men could:

“Reduce your Type 2 Diabetes risk by 20%.”

~ One to two drinks per day could,

“Lower the risk of cardiac-related death in people with a history

of heart disease.”

~ Drinking can help with problem solving and creative

thoughts. Wow!

In one study, listed in “Prevention” magazine, (March, 2015),

“Drinking can spur “Eureka!” moments. Moderately ‘buzzed’

people solved problems that called for creative thinking faster

than sober study participants did.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Crossing over to the negative ‘spins’ listed in some sources:

~ Drinking more than one glass of wine daily has been linked

to a high amount of gum disease:

“A quadrupled risk of gum disease in women.”

(Now, why only do women get this? Do we go to bed without

brushing our teeth? Or no one bothered to check men’s gum

disease levels after drinking? Men drink sweetened drinks, too!)

~ Binge drinking can cause internal damage of organs.

“This is linked to intestinal lining damage, and make you more

susceptible to leaky gut syndrome.”

(Hmm… I have notice bigger bellies and ‘muffin tops’ but did not

know that internal damage may be setting in, too. Darn! But, I

don’t binge drink often. . .smiles!)

~ This is another serious complication, too. March, 2015 part of

article mentioned in “Prevention” magazine.

“Just one daily drink raises estrogen levels to increase breast

cancer risk among post-menopausal women.”

To add some smiles and funny thoughts about alcohol, so you

won’t feel the least bit ‘bad’ indulging:

“In wine, there is wisdom,

In beer, there is Freedom

and in water, there is bacteria.”

~ Benjamin Franklin.

“Drink Beer. You will get your grains (or hops).

Drink Wine. It looks like you are refined.

Drink Milk.  You will have stronger bones, but doesn’t mean

you will be more creative!

When Overseas, drink the local beverages:

Ouzo, Tequila, Sangria, Lambrusco . . .”

~ My being silly, Robin.

“Oh, you hate your job?

Why didn’t you say so?

There’s a support group for that,

It’s called: EVERYBODY!

They meet at the bar.”

~ Drew Carey.

“I like to have a martini.

Two at the very most.

After three, I’m under the table.

After four, I’m under my host.”

~ Dorothy Parker.

Have a great weekend, friends.

“Does drinking Fanta make me fantastic?”

~ Anonymous.

About reocochran

I am experiencing crazy and hapless adventures in dating that may interest people over fifty. I am now approaching 62 later this year and enjoy taking photographs, incorporating stories or poetry on my blog. I have many old posts which are informative and written like essays. I have several love stories collected from family and friends. Even strangers spill their stories, since I am a grown version of the girl next door. I have been trying to live a healthy lifestyle with better food selections and active hiking and walking. I have written four children's books and illustrated them. They are not published but a battered women's shelter used one about neglect and abuse for their children's program and a 4H group used my "Kissing a Bunny is like saying a Prayer" as a coloring book. Please comment or respond so I may get a chance to know you. Sincerely, Robin

29 responses »

  1. I’m a teetotaler because I never ever could stand the taste of alcohol. Not in a drink, not in medicine. It disagrees with me. For which I am forever grateful for. I’ve seen way too much damage, and way too many issues because of it. I’m glad I never liked it enough to care to have it. That was a blessing!

  2. Oh oops, I do like a drink and do partake but in moderation, unless it’s a celebration of some sort and then at times…well I can’t tell you as I don’t remember. I think there are so many things in this life that we shouldnt, couldn’t, mustn’t have, leaves very little room to actually live how we wish and enjoy what we want. I do agree with binge drinking though..that’s why it’s best to keep going 😀 …kidding. Hugs xox

    • I have had several binges in the past eight years, Jen! I dated a man who would celebrate home runs with Captain Morgan’s (cheap brand of rum) shots. Oh my! I had fun and enjoyed this man’s company, but when I needed to have a date for a special occasion, he was undependable. Still would be happy if he would settle down a bit, he was loads of fun and my youngest daughter was one he would talk to on the telephone late at night, in the days she was not connected to her real dad. I have to tell you, his name was a silly name: Barney. I could tell the teachers in the lounge stories, they even all went out dancing and he did show up to have a blast with us, and then we went to watch him coach football, sitting with his parents who were in their 90’s. (They ‘loved’ me, smiles!) No worries about you, if you won’t worry about me! xox

  3. Ah-ha! I love this post and the ‘yays’ and ‘nays’ of drinking.
    By the way, the research regarding moderate drinking being of benefit is flawed. At best moderate drinking is at least not harmful (as excessive drinking definitely is). Nevertheless, I do enjoy a glass or two myself when I am in the company of good friends. Enjoy your weekend. 🙂

    • I am not sure if you could make up data and be as clear as the scientific data they publish in research studies. I have met people, for the 4 years of being an Activities Director (’94-’99) who were heavy drinkers and were in a nursing home, living well into their 80’s and 90’s, but then you meet people who have no ‘bad’ habits, per se, who have shortened lives. We must just do the best we can, which when I have company I will have a drink of wine or an alcoholic beverage, while alone, I can let a bottle sit for days, without even a sip. Enjoy your weekend, Elizabeth and thanks for adding your input on the research, too. Smiles, Robin

      • They do not make up the data, they cherry-pick the data and / or give biased reasons for the data. It requires a lengthy explanation will I will include in a post … one of these days.

  4. I saw the effects of binge drinking did when I went to Atlanta, hotel room wrecked, purple tongue, being taken into custody, charged with public intoxication, being locked up in a psych unit, having a laptop stolen, money stolen….. Ahhhh no thanks..

    • OMG! (I know this is more appropriate for a text message, but I wished to express my reaction to this comment!)
      This sounds more like a rock star who has gone out of control. So sorry to hear of this episode and I would definitely not wish to have anything happen like this and would not ‘promote’ alcohol but just let the recent research be presented. The comments are so diverse to this subject matter. Interesting event in Atlanta, GA!!

    • I will be checking back on people’s posts tomorrow. So sorry, I don’t have a home computer so go to the library and will be playing at a park. Shortly! Smiles, Robin

    • I like the idea of being able to feel red wine will help thin my blood and take all the bad cholesterol out of my blood stream, (no research to prove this but I have hope! smiles!) and also, enjoy dark chocolate which like you mentioned has been having “good press,” too. Smiling at you and hope you have a wonderful weekend!

    • Coffee is also getting ‘good press,’ Anneli. My Mom has not drunk milk for years, since she has allergies and part of this is due to eczema. She drinks 3-5 cups of coffee a day, which helps her with regularity, too. (ha ha!) I have hope since she has made it to 86 and plans on being 87 in November, that coffee is just fine as a beverage. She also eats tablespoons of peanut butter, which she feels “adds protein” to her diet. Thanks for finding this fun, Anneli and I would not worry about drinking coffee! Smiles, Robin

  5. Adding to your pros and cons, I’m not sure which side of the continuum you would put that people’s inhibitions are lowered when alcohol is consumed. Like Raj, the character on Big Bang Theory, who couldn’t talk to women unless he had a drink first. I think a drink or two helps bolster the courage of some people.

    One of the cons of drinking is that it’s not cheap, at least not in the U.S. By contrast, every Caribbean nation that grows sugar has their own brand of rum, and Mexico has excellent tequilas at a fraction of what they cost here. There’s nothing like a dacquiri or a margarita on a tropical beach. Make that two! 🙂 – Mike

    • Mike, this is so true, I have seen this in dancing. People are almost all ‘wallflowers’ at the beginning of the evening, but later will venture out and do the funniest dances! I also feel that it is a good way to relax.
      I like the idea of beach beverages, but usually will have to ask for the non-alcoholic equivalent of those dacquiri’s and margarita’s, Mike! Especially, if I am in charge of driving or watching little ones, which is how I end up on beaches these days… Or, also have been known to imbide a bit too much alcohol and fall asleep and BURN! ha ha!

Leave a Reply

