Musical Notes

Standard

There will be much more information about the musical news which I will

summarize here.

First of all, in Northeast Cleveland, Ohio over the weekend, a low-key

gathering of 20,000 people listened to the Foo Fighters. This was held

in Grohl’s home town area.

Second of all, The Rock n Roll Hall of Fame 2015 Inductees were given

their awards and tribute in Cleveland, Ohio on Saturday. Even Ringo

Starr made a big point of saying it was nice the ceremony was held in

Cleveland. Sometimes, it is held in New York City, but since the Rock

Hall is in Cleveland, we may pout a bit if they go somewhere else.

The Class of 2015 was diverse, eclectic, rhythm and blues, electric blues,

rock n roll and soul. Some were posthumously given to family members.

1. Ringo Starr- Someone commented on the radio, that he doesn’t have

the body of work that others who are often in the ring contending for a

spot. I think the D.J. wished for Styx to finally make it. Ringo was the last

Beatle, who did have influence in the different international projects,

has been knighted and was overdue to be given his respect, I feel.

Sir Paul McCartney gave the award and made a joke about “Inducing”

Ringo. Then laughed and said, “I mean Inducting Ringo.”

2. Johnny and Edgar Tanner were the musicians who composed the band,

“The 5 Royales.” There were other members, hence the name of “5” but

the ones who led the group were the two Tanner brothers. This was a

rhythm and blues band which played from 1945-1965. They were the ones

who later were recognized as worthy of having their music “covered” and

considered strong influence on such greats as Ray Charles, Eric Clapton,

and The Rolling Stones’ lead singer, Mick Jagger.

3. Joan Jett and the Blackhearts. I know you love their immortal or iconic

song, “I Love Rock and Roll. . . put a quarter in the jukebox, baby…”

I will let you look up their other famous songs or listen to parts of the

actual honorary ceremony. (Rock and Roll Hall of Fame has its own

website and may have the whole thing on tape.)

4. The Paul Butterfield Blues Band, known for playing blues at Woodstock,

from the 1960’s, coming from the South Side of Chicago. Their influence

of a genre called, “electric blues,” inspired such famous musical artists as

The Doors,  Santana, Steve Miller Band,  Allman Brothers and the J. Geils

Band, who had their ‘front man,’ Peter Wolf, present the induction trophy.

5. Green Day, who has not performed any new music for two years was

chosen for their body of work. They have been popular on the radio, too.

The group was given a tribute from an ensemble including John Mayer

singing their songs in a medley. I like their upbeat tempo and some of the

songs like “The Time of Your Life, ” while I have had my kids say they like,

“American Idiot,” “Dookie” and “Holiday.”

6. Lou Reed, who died in 2013 but his wife was given the award by Patti

Smith. I mentioned Lou Reed in my post about Jane’s and how I love the

song, “Sweet Jane.” Lou Reed is also known for “Walk on the Wild Side”

and “Perfect Day.”

7. Bill Withers, singer and lyricist. The famous tunes he is known for are

“Lean on Me,” “Ain’t No Sunshine,” “Use Me,” and “Lovely Day.” Although

he has not sung for decades, at age 76 was asked to get up with a group

of artists, band members and he was not able to be heard. This may be

fine, since some people said he may have been ‘lip synching’ anyway.

8. Stevie Ray Vaughan and Double Trouble, who have been recognized

for quite some time as needing to be inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall

of Fame. I like his vocals and the band is always so vibrant in “Pride and

Joy” and sweet tones in “Little Wing.”

*********************************************************************************************

The Main Event of the Weekend for me was on Sunday evening:

“The Fiftieth American Country Music Awards Show.”

The Duo of Hosts:

Blake Shelton and Luke Bryan.

I am someone who likes to be able to watch the awards shows, as they are

on television. I did enjoy watching parts of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame

Induction Ceremony on Youtube. I did not see it as it was going on, nor did I

get to see it in its entirety.

I would have liked to seen the country music entertainers have a Red Carpet

Event. I checked on the channel the show was presented on, but it did not

have a Red Carpet. I started at 7:00 looking at “E!” Channel, which did not

have a Red Carpet for this either.

Well, guess why?

They were having to pack into the Texas “A T & T” Stadium. There was no

gracious way of filing in neatly or in nice little pockets, where journalists

could interview them. I was sad that everyone missed this opportunity to hear

what each country singers’ latest projects were. I think it was a shame they

could not reveal details about their wardrobe including jewelry, shoes, dress,

tuxedo suit. I like to hear which designer created their fashion for the evening.

The first announcement explaining the zoo-like energy in the stadium was

this Award Ceremony and Show had made the Guinness Book of Records!

This was the largest gathering of people for an awards ceremony.

Ever.

The show opened  with a tribute to Merle Haggard. The song medley was

sung and guitars were played by Eric Church and Keith Urban. I enjoyed

this a lot. I only know the songs from the lyrics, so please fill in any blanks

you wish to in the comments section! I heard “Pledge Allegiance to the

Country?” “Love on a Sunday Night,” and “Raise ’em to the Sky” in the

words they sang.

The black and white background seemed appropriate for someone who

is recognized as one of the ‘all time greats’ of country music. It seemed

like an old-time set, with Keith and Eric both wearing black, too.

Later, another country music great was acknowledged as having been

“Entertainer of the Year,” for four decades in a row:  George Strait.

There were recognition awards given to the following besides George

and Merle:

1. Garth Brooks

2. Brooks and Dunn

3. Kenny Chesney

4. Miranda Lambert

5. Reba McEntire

6. Taylor Swift

The song, “Sipping on Fire” scared me with such pyrotechnics and dramatic

flames surrounding the group, “Florida-Georgia Line.” I enjoy their singing

and was happy they won “Best Vocal Event of the Year.”

The “Best Song of the Year,” was given to Miranda Lambert, who writes her

own songs and is a very good singer. The song, “Automatic,” was chosen.

If you wish to hear a touching song, please listen to “Little Red Wagon.”

(I wrote about the Italian man who invented the Radio Flyer wagon, should

you wish to read about his interesting story, you can use your cursor to find

‘Radio Flyer wagon’ in the tags in the right column and it will take you to story.)

Other performances worth looking up and noting were:

Dirks Bentley singing, “Riser.”

Sam Hunt singing, “Make You Miss Me.” (I think, it started out as “I don’t wanna

make you love me. . .”

Casey Musgrave singing, “Follow Your Arrow.”

Everyone was dancing and singing along to Martina McBride’s infectious song,

“Independence Day.” Taylor Swift was dancing with a friend in the audience, too.

Sofia Vergara and Reese Witherspoon looked beautiful and wished to thank

Miranda Lambert for writing a song for their movie coming out soon. Sofia was

wearing a black sequined tight dress and Reese was wearing a silver glittery

dress, knee length, It had ‘swing’ to it. The song is called, “Hot Pursuit.”

The Band Perry introduced the nominations and then gave the award for

“Best Vocal Duo” to the Florida-Georgia Line.

All together, Miranda Lambert won 4 awards and as I mentioned, Luke Bryan

won “Best Entertainer of the Year.”

Little Big Town may have won “Best Vocal Group of the Year,” but I don’t think

I will have time to check this one out. I like the way their voices blend together.

One of their nostalgic songs came out awhile ago, “Boondocks.” I love this one!

They sang, “Girl Crush,” on the awards show.

Rascal Flatts and Christina Aguilera sang together. Christina’s song is called,

“Shotgun,” while Rascal Flatts is called, “Riot,” and they made this into a

fantastic duet.

By the way, if you have not caught (ever) “Nashville,” check out last week’s

episode where Christina sang country song on stage and this was so much

fun.

Christina’s character, Jade St. John,  had pink-colored hair but previews

show her in dark hair next week. She is trying to ‘rock the boat’ and break

up a couple on that silly evening soap opera.

I check “Nashville” out during commercials. . . smiles!

The music was louder than I have ever heard it at an awards ceremony,

with the stadium really echoing the voices. I enjoyed it, wished I had had

some kids to dance around the living room with, since I just sat and watched.

Sunday nights are fun nights to have award shows and the next one isn’t

until May, 2015.

One last positive musical ‘note’ is that Whitney Houston’s daughter, Bobbi

Christina, has come out of her coma. There is hope for her to be able to

recover from her horrible, tragic bath accident, which may or may not have

involved drugs or foul play. I am just hoping for Whitney’s mother, Bobbi’s

grandmother’s sake, that she makes a full recovery.

About reocochran

I am experiencing crazy and hapless adventures in dating that may interest people over fifty. I am now approaching 62 later this year and enjoy taking photographs, incorporating stories or poetry on my blog. I have many old posts which are informative and written like essays. I have several love stories collected from family and friends. Even strangers spill their stories, since I am a grown version of the girl next door. I have been trying to live a healthy lifestyle with better food selections and active hiking and walking. I have written four children's books and illustrated them. They are not published but a battered women's shelter used one about neglect and abuse for their children's program and a 4H group used my "Kissing a Bunny is like saying a Prayer" as a coloring book. Please comment or respond so I may get a chance to know you. Sincerely, Robin

27 responses »

    • I am excited to read your story about your visit to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. Did you ever read about the new exhibit that Paul Simon worked on? I wrote a post about this new one, which not only included hours of an interview, but some nice memorabilia. I found out and shared that Paul Simon and Art Garfunkel actually knew each other from grade school. Our family went during the opening year, which my Dad was so excited he bought memberships for Mom and he. They would go down and get Christmas gifts, mugs and t-shirts later that year! Smiles, Robin

  1. It would be a weird synchronicity if you had heard our friend Colin John play, either with his self named band or with Deb Landoldt (Long Tall Deb). They are centered in the Akron area, though they play all over the world. Blues, mostly. Cheerio!

    • It would be such a “small world” if this had happened, Bela. Wish I had heard your friend, Colin John play with his band or with Long Tall Deb. I have had stranger connections happen, so you never know until one asks if this ever had happened. I found out from Barb (Silver in the Barn fellow blogger) that a friend of hers husband knew a ‘crush’ and date I had known for about a month of my 18th summer. It was all because I complimented her on her spruce branches in a photo on her blog. The person who sent her the branches was from a small town close to where I grew up. I told her the only person I knew from there who may be alive, (since our minister may have passed away) was a boy named Ned. So far, nobody had let me know if he is single. Ha ha! Smiles, Robin

  2. I love the list of inductees into the R&R Hall of Fame, especially since I grew up when all that music was just coming out, including the Woodstock musicians.

    I have never been much of a country western music fan, but I do like what I have heard of Florida-Georgia Line. (I saw them on American Idol when they were mentors to the performers.) I have also enjoyed what I have heard of Taylor Swift, and who doesn’t like Reba! I guess I like country music a little, but not as a steady diet. – Mike

    • I had a nice list of country singers going, but accidentally pushed a button that sent me another direction. I respect your not caring for country music, my Dad was not fond of the radio while we drove to Tennessee to see a good friend of his, along with longer trips south to see my grandparents.
      My Dad would joke and sing off key, with a slang and twang, too: “My dog died, my wife left me and I don’t have a friend in the world…”
      I like Rascal Flatts’ song, “God bless the broken road that led me back to you.” (“Broken Road”) I like the groups Alabama, Lynyrd Skynyrd and singers Dolly Parton, Reba, Kenny Rogers, Elvis, and now there are a few people who sing pop style country which I enjoy. My Dad enjoyed some of Johnny Cash and Roger Miller, too. I did not always appreciate the Carter sisters nor Loretta Lynn, but movies helped instill an appreciation of the “Coal Miner’s Daughter” and “I Walk the Line.” I do like Johnny Cash’s “What is Truth?” “A Boy Named Sue” and love “Ring of Fire.”
      I am so glad you knew and loved the inductees of the R & R Hall of Fame, Mike!

      • ha ha – your father reminds me of the joke about what a country song sounds like played backwards: ‘I got my dog back, I got my girl back, I got my truck back…’

    • Oh, Colleen. You are so right! Music connects us, rejuvenates us, sends us off into other places, and helps us to learn story-telling in an old fashioned way. There is ‘grace’ in gospel and church music. There is the trumpet’s last call for the veteran’s and end of the camp day in “Day is done, gone the sun…”
      The troubadours of old would sing songs, which really made me feel I understood other periods of time. I love my grandparents’ music, my parents’ music, our generation and like to feel connected to my kids and grandkids’ music. Look at me, ‘waxing poetic’ about music. Ha ha. You would think I didn’t just write over 1000 words about music, yesterday!

      • 🙂 You go on waxing poetically! 🙂 I fully relate. I can easily connect to my parents through a song. My siblings. My kids. And now the grands. It’s easy to go back to high school days. Or music class in grade school. There isn’t a time in life I can’t connect to with music. And there isn’t an important person in my life I can’t connect with through music. Wax on my friend. 🙂

      • I am so blessed with your permission to wax on, Colleen. Sometimes I think I ramble on too much! Sometimes jabber, sometimes blab, and often wish to listen to what others may share with me. Smiles and thanks always, Colleen.

    • It could be true, I just am not the one to say this. I have often felt that people experiment with drugs, get in baths or other situations, which come out badly. I hope it was accidental, just hoping. Also, praying Bobbi will be okay, knowing she lost oxygen to her precious brain.

  3. i heard that the foo fighters were going to do a series of small concerts, great idea. love the inductees and the play by play of the coma’s – music rules the day!

  4. Pledge Allegiance To the Hag is an unreleased track off Eric’s Caught In the Act live cd. Raise Em Up is Keith’s current single. It’s a duet With Eric. They are labelmates, so there isn’t any red tape to go through.

    • Oh, always glad to have details and more up to date news about Eric Church and Keith Urban’s songs. I wish I were able to concentrate when they are discussing or giving these important facts out. Thanks so much for this, my dear!

Leave a Reply

