“Super Powers”

Standard

While the temperature was 77 degrees last Saturday afternoon, my oldest

daughter, one of her boys, Micah, and I had headed off to Blue Limestone

Park.  Although we like to play with Micah, we were relieved to see a couple

of boys running, climbing and jumping on the ropes and parts of the Big Toy.

We sat down on the bench of a picnic table in the shade. Carrie had had a

long hike on Friday, over the Delaware Dam, with Micah and her boyfriend.

They had been out in the windy day, thinking nothing of sun protection.

**Side track for one moment:

I think we need to have a commercial with a name brand of sun protection,

where an athlete asks another one, “Do you wear SPF 30 or SPF 45 while

you are out in the sun?”

Then, while they are running the one being asked answers,

“When I remember. . . I wear SPF 30.”

Then, like the new V-8 commercials, instead of getting hit up side of the head,

the advertising ‘geniuses’ need to come up with an appropriate gesture or

comment which would be like saying, “Duh!”

I did not say, “Duh,” or any kind of “What were you thinking?” to my oldest daughter,

since she was displaying a red face and chest.  Micah’s face looked ‘rosy.’

On Saturday, Carrie was wearing a pretty hat, lotion on her nose and had

“learned her lesson (the hard way)” and had put lotion on Micah too.

He has sensitive skin so it was probably a baby lotion brand.  Her face and

chest were ‘beet red’ due to sunburn and not embarrassment.

** Back to the park.

While we watched Micah approach a rather tall, gangly and skinny boy. Silently

I wondered at his courage. We know he really prefers to play with kids his older

brother, Skyler’s age. (Ten and a half years old.)

We cannot convince him to go up to little kids from age 5 to age 7. We both try

to encourage finding kids his own age, since he is six and in kindergarten.

The boy Micah was attempting to engage in play could have been 9 or as old

as 12 years old.

His grandmother was standing against the only tree around, while we were sitting

under the shade of it.

I asked the woman,

“How old is your son?” (I never assume or assign “grandmother-hood” to

anyone!)

She turned towards us, while Carrie and I ‘scooched over’ on the picnic bench

to make room for her to sit down saying,

“He’s my grandson of 7 years old and his father is 6′ 6″ !”

We both gasped in unison, since the boy definitely will be a ‘string bean’ and

the potential of his height astounded us. Carrie told the woman,

“He is tall for his age. I expected since Micah’s Daddy is 6′ tall he would be tall,

but he won’t be as tall as your grandson!”

We then introduced ourselves, learning the grandmother’s name was Beverly.

I mentioned to her that her grandson certainly was a very nice looking boy who

seemed quiet and calm.

Micah was loudly asking him,

“What ‘Super Powers’ do you want to have? I am choosing to be able to become

invisible and also, to be like a chameleon.”

The boy just looked at Micah.

Micah turned on his ‘charm’ and said,

“That’s okay, you don’t have to have any ‘Super Powers’ just yet!”

The grandmother looked at us and seemed to feel we could be trusted with an

important piece of information about her grandson.

“Ian nearly died, had to be resuscitated when he was a baby. Turns out he is

our ‘miracle baby.'”

We asked her questions and she provided answers.

“Ian was born with four defects in his heart. They have opened his chest and

repaired 3 of the 4. This was very serious and we have chosen to tell Ian he

can do whatever he wants to do.”

Beverly went on to explain using an example,

“In the middle of Winter, his older sister and brother were dropped off at Big

Walnut Skate Rink, over in Sunbury, (Ohio). Ian wanted to go immediately to

a store and buy his own pair of roller skates. I told him we could do that.”

She leaned over, like she was imparting a secret,

“We had to go to three different stores, until we found roller skates in the sports

section of Sears. That boy made me hold his hand and we went up and down

the driveway, eventually down the sidewalk and around the block. We did this

with thick coats, gloves and scarves on. It was Winter, for God’s sake!”

We looked upon Ian, who suddenly seemed more fragile, knowing his ‘back story,’

and my daughter asked,

“Do you worry about his falling or hurting himself? Does he have to be told not

to run too fast?”

I got a few tears, which I blame the wind on. Getting a tissue out of my purse,

I silently wondered about Ian’s imaginary play times, when he was alone.

Did Ian wish for ‘Super Powers?’

All of a sudden we looked up. All three women together, as one.

The shrieks were what caught our attention.

The sight was heart-warming to us all, too.

Micah and Ian surprised us by coming down the bumpy slide.

Ian’s legs were wrapped around Micah, both boys grinning from ear to ear.

Micah shouted out to us, “We are a super sonic train!”

You betcha’ that boy got blueberry pancakes, with lots of blueberry syrup and

whipped cream, too.

When we splurged and went out to eat at Bob Evans later.

About reocochran

I am experiencing crazy and hapless adventures in dating that may interest people over fifty. I am now approaching 62 later this year and enjoy taking photographs, incorporating stories or poetry on my blog. I have many old posts which are informative and written like essays. I have several love stories collected from family and friends. Even strangers spill their stories, since I am a grown version of the girl next door. I have been trying to live a healthy lifestyle with better food selections and active hiking and walking. I have written four children's books and illustrated them. They are not published but a battered women's shelter used one about neglect and abuse for their children's program and a 4H group used my "Kissing a Bunny is like saying a Prayer" as a coloring book. Please comment or respond so I may get a chance to know you. Sincerely, Robin

31 responses »

    • Thanks, Beth. It was a typical play time, except finding out about the child’s heart problems. I have six grandie’s which there have been plenty of stories about their adventures with Nana. I have been happy my oldest daughter has been tagging along recently.

  1. Wow! You got weather in the upper 70’s already? Things have warmed up fast in your state. We’ve had some sunny weather in the Northwest, but nothing warmer than 71 degrees this last Monday.

    This is a touching story about Ian and Micah playing together and the insight you gained from Ian’s grandmother about his health challenges. I can see why the ‘wind got to your eyes’ a bit.- Mike

  2. Reblogged this on By the Mighty Mumford and commented:
    My wife and I both know what it is like to be miracle babies—not meant to survive and grow (if the respective doctgors had anything to say about it). Good thing Micah was a charmer, willing to play with Ian and reach out to him. Isn’t always easy or possible, to be that intuitive or sensitive. Mothers of miracle kids are pretty special, too! I sometimes quickly scan…glad I read the whole thing! ❤ —Jonathan

    • Jonathan, this is making me wonder about your own miracle babies, that you and your wife may have been ones or had relatives? Thanks very much, Jonathan for such a lovely introduction to my story about Micah and his play friend at the park, Ian.

      • Well…perhaps I mentioned already that instead of having kids, my wife “and I” had endometrial cancer. But the story ion her family was that her Mom’s docgtor didn’t want Diana to be born, but the midwives kept hiom out until after she was–at home! I was born a “blue baby” and my Mom’s doctor adviswed HER to not try having any more children after one son (my brogther–4 years older than I)…but she had other ideas! She and Dad spent most of my ear;y years keeping me alive…although I didn’t need heart surgery by age 12 to correct things. Still, a nagging heart murmur remained into my 20’s or so. My Mom’s methods caused a rift and long-term antagonism between me and my brother and his wife…but that’s a whole ‘nother story.

      • Thank you for sharing. You are both miracle babies. I am so sorry about your beginnings being such trials but hope you have had plenty of joy and laughter in your lives together, Jonathan!

    • Thank you for the compliment, Jonathan.
      We have been astounded at Micah’s level of confidence, maybe from his older brother’s example.
      Something I never did have: space between my brothers’ ages and mine. Skyler is 10 1/2 and Micah is 6 which means he looks up to Skyler and since Sky is older, he demonstrates a higher level of communication and social skills. My brothers and I were 3 kids born in 4 years, so no real ‘leader’ amongst us! Smiles!

    • Thank you, Ian. Have you ever posted about your family members? I enjoy your love stories and love poetry. I wondered if you have children or nephews or nieces? I have always liked hearing stories about children or pets…. smiles, Robin

      • Hi Robin, I have written about my Grandchildren before when they 5 of them were born within six weeks of each other, I have 3 grandsons, 2 granddaughters and 1 step grandson with a step granddaughter on the way. I have had an interesting family life with three marriages, my last being my Chilean wife.
        I will post an update on my Grandchildren.
        I have many great grandnephews and grandnieces, think they call me a great great grandfather

      • Oh, so sorry to have you write this all out, but sometimes you have a lot of posts, many to go through to find these golden nuggets, Ian. Thanks very much, my friend!

    • Jill, this was an emotional time, which we tried to maintain ourselves. Later, we did share with Micah a little bit about Ian’s health issues, not to make him worry but to let him know that he may have ‘made that boy’s day.’ We felt he may learn that not everyone is so lucky to have what he has, in many ways. I appreciate your enjoying this real episode in Micah’s life. Maybe this blog will be around and he can read it himself someday. Smiles, Robin

    • Lots of ‘average’ moments come and go, this was something out of the ordinary, meeting Ian and his grandmother just seemed like a ‘story ready to tell.’ Thanks, Balroop, for feeling I am able to tell ‘lovely stories.’ I just have been able to write what happens with a little bit of spacing in the telling. Hope you have a special week and maybe a fun surprise over the weekend, Balroop.

      • ❤ More than welcome. Thank you, it has been a good week so far. With the sun peeking out, which is rare where I live. Hope you are having a lovely week too. Take care:)<3 Smiles, Isabella

      • So happy, Isabella, your sun peeked out at you, since you say it is rare there. I like the heart and smiles. You have such positive posts! Smiling back at you!

    • The regular activities are fun but when something extraordinary happens, it just seems like a story which is needed to be told. I hope someday to have Micah and the other grandies read their stories, finding and remembering the special days. Which all days are special when spent together. This one just made it extra-special because it pulled my heart strings, Beth.

  3. Such a sweet story and you really had a sunny day. Sun screens are becoming so complicated now a days. I wonder if they actually work so effectively the way these adds promote them. A heart warming story of a miracle baby touched me. Temperatures are rising here too in India. Take care.

    • I am so glad you mentioned your temps rising in India. I believe I goofed up by not covering my ears with a hat or sunscreen. Not sure if you knew, I had a slice of my neck cut to cover a big part of my ear that had to be surgically removed 2 springs ago. I had apparently never realized how sensitive the ears are and I had cancer on my ear. It looks a little like an ‘elf’s ear, on my left side. So, I now promote sunscreen. I wish I had been better wearing sunglasses while young, since I have had two surgeries on eyes, am only 59 years old. They say my eyes show ‘sun damage.’
      I am blessed with your enjoying the story of Ian and Micah. Thank you for your sweet words and how you described it as a ‘sunny day.’ It truly was a heart-warming day for me!

      • This is so scary. I never knew that you had gone under surgeries due to sun damage. Sun rays can be real harmful for the skin. One must take care. Thanks for the suggestions.

Leave a Reply

