Cheery Thoughts

Standard

Looking forward to the weekend, hoping all of you in blogland will be having

a terrific time. It will be chilly here. I am concerned about my grandson’s Boy

Scout camping out adventure with his Great Uncle Rick, my youngest brother.

My oldest daughter and I went shopping, flying down aisles, since she had a

list and we were on a ‘mission.’

We bought long underwear and thick socks on ‘clearance racks.’ We bought

a collapsible bowl and a set of reusable silverware on a clip for my brother,

she bought both for her son, Skyler. We found a camping mat to keep my

brother’s sleeping bag dry. (There is a prediction of rain.)

Carrie has a mat for under Sky’s sleeping bag.

We found this cool backpack, which the leader and pack had suggested

others to purchase, which has a removable plastic collapsible 2 L. water

bottle inside. She bought this backpack since Sky’s bookbags are all very

heavy weight. This was purposefully made for hiking; lightweight and has

some padding on both the straps and the actual part of the backpack

which leans on the person’s back. (I hope you can follow this round-about

explanation.)

We bought some Field and Stream pants which will ‘wick’ the water, should

Skyler get soaked on their three mile hiking adventure.These super pants

can be unzipped and become shorts. They cost a ‘pretty penny,’  which I

did suggest handing the receipt to his Daddy, to have him consider splitting

the costs. If we had gone to the Boy Scouts of America store, many of the

items would have been double the cost. We shopped at Meijer’s and Kohl’s.

This post is partly to explain about my family’s plans for the weekend,

along with some extra fun ‘weekend’ or ‘escape messages’ given.

I like to let you know, since there are gaps in my posting and commenting.

Just to say, my Saturday and Sunday will be spent with “left behind younger

brother,” little Micah.

To get some things ready for our fun times, I picked out two great movies

from the library. (We have seen the only kids’ movie at the Strand theater,

here in Delaware, Ohio.) I found three Franklin the Turtle library books, along

with buying at Kohl’s (yesterday) one stuffed turtle. If you have never stood at

the check-out and seen the “Kohl’s Cares” different books and stuffed animals,

you may wish to check these reasonably priced items out. The books I got from

the library saved me money but the turtle (as are all of the “K. C.” products)

priced at $5. This will be Micah’s “camping at Nana’s toy and new compaion.”

My own brief summary of Kohl’s Cares for Kids:

The proceeds from sales go to health and education initiatives in communities

where the purchases are made. Kohl’s is giving back to the local people who

are purchasing and supporting this cause.

There is a fun article titled, “What Living in Paradise Taught Me,” by Amanda

Walkins on “Huffington Post.” This caught my eye. Many times on our work

days, when someone asks someone else, “How are you doing?” or “How are

you today?” I was ‘taught’ by a sweet twenty-three year old coworker who has

gone on to ‘better things’ (I hope!) to say, “Just another day in paradise.” So,

of course this article intrigued me.

Amanda W. spent time in Roatan, Honduras working in a legal association,

leaving Washington, D. C. behind her.  I like one of her opening sentences:

“Anyone, anywhere, can cultivate the calm that vacationers and expats like

me famously find in the tropics.”

Here is a break down of her five topics which were her paradise lessons:

1. “Electricity is Over-rated.” Power outages must happen there in the tropics

often and this place made her feel like she was ‘living off the grid.’ Meaning

no laptop, iPhone or Kindle sometimes available for usage.

Her final sentence in this #1 topic is a great lesson for us all:

“But when I’m faced with no electricity, I remember to breathe, reflect and

listen to the waves and the wind.”

~*~ We could always listen to the wind, in Ohio, I thought.

2. “Make do- – It’s fun!” Apparently, in Honduras staples like bread or milk

or tomatoes, along with chicken may not be available to purchase.

She mentioned this for #2:

“I’ve learned to get creative. Thinking of new culinary concoctions is a

favorite pastime.”

3. “Needs are Different from Wants.” When you live simply she suggests

in an area which is impoverished, you can get away with hole-y pants,

worn out clothes and stains, too. This is just what happens to people.

Here is Amanda’s summary of her thoughts on #3:

“It’s liberating to realize that I don’t notice what anyone is wearing,

what type of phone a person has or whether or not someone owns a

vehicle.”

4. “Time Shouldn’t Dictate Life.” Oh yes! I need to embrace this one,

I thought. When you feel like you have to ‘schedule everything in your

life,’ you may wonder where time has gone.  Tourists and the islanders

tend to be laid back and relax, feeling no pressure to finish things in

a hasty manner.

She tells us all:

“When the sun rises, a new day begins. When it sets, a new night begins.

It’s that simple.”

Her final topic or lesson~

5. “Trust these Words.”

She is quoting another author, Karen Blixen:

“I know the cure for everything- –

Salt water. . .

In one form or another.

Sweat, tears or the salt sea.

There’s nothing that

One or all of those can’t fix.”

*****************************************************

~*~ Here is my P. S. ~*~

*******(Post Script)*******

I like to drink different teas.

Have you ever tried “Yogi” tea?

I received in just this past week

Four Important messages.

I felt they were a lot like getting

************ Fortunes **************

Yogi message # ONE:

“Where there is Love,

There is no Question.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Yogi message # TWO:

“Travel light,

Live light,

Spread the light,

Be the light.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Yogi message # THREE:

“An attitude of

Gratitude

Brings opportunities.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Yogi message # FOUR:

“I am beautiful,

I am bountiful,

I am blissful.”

I truly hope one of my Yogi Tea messages

or one of the Paradise lessons will be

extra meaningful to you.

Enjoy your weekend and hope the Boy Scouts

don’t end up sleeping in the parents

and leaders’ vehicles!

About reocochran

I am experiencing crazy and hapless adventures in dating that may interest people over fifty. I am now approaching 62 later this year and enjoy taking photographs, incorporating stories or poetry on my blog. I have many old posts which are informative and written like essays. I have several love stories collected from family and friends. Even strangers spill their stories, since I am a grown version of the girl next door. I have been trying to live a healthy lifestyle with better food selections and active hiking and walking. I have written four children's books and illustrated them. They are not published but a battered women's shelter used one about neglect and abuse for their children's program and a 4H group used my "Kissing a Bunny is like saying a Prayer" as a coloring book. Please comment or respond so I may get a chance to know you. Sincerely, Robin

17 responses »

  1. Gracious, Robin. So much packed in this upbeat post. I have a project I must turn to but want to say a few words and then return when I have my work done for today.

    First, what a camping story! I mean, all the stuff one has to buy. I cannot imagine it. Not for those on a budget.

    Second, I am going to check out those Kohl’s cares books for Annabelle. She will be coming to visit soon and I have a growing library in the room I did for her at our house. What a great tip!

    Third, I think those Island suggestions are awesome. I experienced some of those concepts when I lived in Puerto Rico. I should probably write a post about what it is like being a resident in the third world vs a tourist. I like those things you listed. Low tech often means lower stress.

    All those aphorisms should be framed and on a wall. Or rotating on one of those electronic picture frames, so we would remember them.

    More as I digest this rich post.

    Have a great day Robin, until later …

    xx

    • This was perfect and don’t need to add any more unless you find time, Beth. I am blessed with the idea of concern for camping costs. It is due to the possibility of inclement weather, both cold and wet, which made us concerned. More than if it had been expected to be warm. So comforted by your being able to see this as a bit overwhelming.
      I am smiling at your island girl stories you MUST tell us, Beth. I am sure you would have many other more profound words to share on the subject of living in Puerto Rico.
      I am blessed to hear you find Kohl’s Cares to be a meaningful project, while the books are very nice. I bought some almost ‘coffee table sized’ books at Christmas with the Peanuts characters. I loved the one about being whatever you wanted to be, with Snoopy in a tutu, along with other amusing but true career possibilities, Beth. I hope they will have some books out soon, where you shop. The stuffed animals for the Dr. Seuss books last Fall were so reasonable that all 6 of my grandies got one of the books and one of the stuffed animals/creatures.
      Have a wonderful weekend!. I thoroughly enjoyed in all the details of your Jersey Shore post, Beth.

  2. how nice of you to help get them ready for the big adventure. and i love amanda’s 5 points. i’ve never seen the yogi tea but i think i’d love messages like that. like fortune cookies, only better.

    • I am not sure which daughter bought the Yogi tea for me but I handed the little tags from the tea bags, which were stapled to each tea bag I featured, to one of the librarians. She enjoyed reading the collection, which I had thrown accidentally a few out already! I like fortune cookies, too. I would not have been so worried but freezing temps at night and rain during the day were not such great forecasts. . . When I was a scout, we stayed in cabins during Spring and Fall seasons. Just too cold to feel warm in a little pup tent ha ha!

  3. I get the involved and costly preparations for camping. When we downsized, I got rid of my camping gear, which hurt. I also parted with including my skiing equipment and my touring bicycle. Now that I would love to take my grandson, Cody, backpacking, it would cost a small fortune to get re-equipped (which I may do eventually). Anyway, I hope your grandson has a great camping experience.

    I have tried more varieties of coffee than I have of tea, which you would expect I would do while living in areas where some of the world’s finest coffee beans are grown. And we did learn to live more simply in places where sometimes the power went out along with hot water and internet access. We learned to appreciate those things that most people in the U.S. take for granted. – Mike

    • I think you are definitely my favorite ex-pat (along with Florence, of course)and have always given great advice about what can be done on a shoestring budget, Mike!
      I am so glad you can back me up and verify the camping gear costs. It is certainly different from summer camping. You need to have layers, warmth, light weight backpack, but sturdy items, too. When we used to Girl Scout camp in Spring, Winter and Fall, we used cabins. We also had platform tents at summer camp for two weeks. We would ‘rough’ it in a far off camping area, away from others, too. This was all about learning about survival when we did this.
      I regret selling my old canteen, which would still be okay since it was aluminum, the bowl, silverware and collapsible cup were all in tact with a cloth cover for each set. The one who bought the scouting stuff was going to use it in a display case. Imagine items from our youth being ‘collectible,’ which still amazes me, Mike! (We have dished on Flintstones and other past subjects, Johnny Quest, too.) Smiles, Robin

    • I am always happy when someone chooses their favorite yogi message. I passed the four little white tags that had been stapled to the tea bag strings to a librarian, she agreed they were meaningful to her. I was very blessed also with your kind thoughts expressed here.

  4. I cringed just a little at the camping preps Robin – remembering my teaching years of conducting annual class camps when we did it with no special gear particularly and really roughed it. I would be on duty 24/5 and exhausted by the time I got home. While it was often fun it was always daunting and high energy and even when I was younger it was a challenge……….. Never again!! But it is such a good experience for children and everyone should have the opportunity!

    Love the little mantras found in your tea – pick one to practise for a day and review your progress – this is what I always advised my women to do. And what I try to do too I should add 🙂

    • I went “rough” camping in the summer while young, too. I agree learning how to build a fire, using just leaves as ways to wipe oneself and not having any special equipment, is great. I did use an aluminum canteen, a metal dish and silverware, packing it all up in a potato chip can to sit on while at a campfire. During the months of Spring, Winter and Fall we went to log cabins as Girl Scouts in Ohio. I agree the price of things sounds a little crazy. I am glad they did not cancel as another group did, when they heard freezing temperatures and also, raining hiking for miles.
      I like how you suggested following just one of the messages for awhile. I like that you lableed them ‘mantras,’ too. These little yogi messages were found in white paper squares stapled to my tea bags. I accidentally threw out a few others. These I had to staple to a larger sheet of paper just to not ‘lose’ them in my purse, Pauline!

    • Thanks, Cheryl! I think they will have a great time, too.

      I hope you will have a wonderful weekend and may have to come back to read tomorrow. Picking up a lonely grandson, Micah, who misses his big brother. Off soon!

  5. I had yogi tea. My father use to bring it for us. My mom never liked it because she is addicted to TEA. I love yogi messages. They are just so meaningful. Amanda’s points make sense to me. Thanks for a power packed post.

    • I am so glad you enjoyed this post! I am also glad you know the tea and have tried it, too. Take care and will be checking some more reading tomorrow. Have to go pick up lonely Micah! Smiles, Robin

  6. Robin … The Yogi tea sounds calming. I love the “Electricity is overrated” in the Paradise tips and have shared the needs vs. wants philosophy. Hope the camping experience is fun. I remember my days as a Girl Scout and the time my Mom, who was an assistant leader, came with me. We had a great time. 😉

  7. Spring is the time of light, Robin. I will take that Yogi Tea message this week. I hope the weekend of cold and wet was not that awful for the scouts and the leaders. 😦

Leave a Reply

