“How Sweet It Is!”

Standard

The four month baby found in the rubble of Nepal made my day!

Sweet!

The way my breakfast grapefruit tickled my nose, brightened my

tongue and had such a delicious pink citrusy bite, surpassing above

all moments of food eaten, in the past few days.

Sweet!

Walking around First Friday, where our town of Delaware, Ohio

closes the downtown two blocks between William and Central Streets.

We “keep” the stores open longer, children’s faces painted, all kinds

of music and art, along with old fashioned Vintage cars parked along

the streets:

Sweet!

Last night, wandering into stores, enjoying our new local Thrifty Chic

shop. Where the profits go towards Veterans, read a ‘testimony’ from

a soldier named, Grant, on the Canal Winchester, Ohio Thrifty Chic

site. It was fun looking at the clothes, prices ranging from 3 for $1 for

baby and infant clothes, all in a big bin of great brand names. My friend,

Anna, and I searched through women’s clothing priced between $5 and

$10. We did not venture down the stairs to the “Man Cave” but told the

manager and his staff, they need to paint the words on the wall leading

to this ‘cave.’ I found two great outfits for my grandson, Skyler, and one

brown shirt with olive green dinosaur bones on it, with a pair of size 8

khaki shorts for Micah.

Do you know how hard it is to find young boys’ “gently used clothing?’

Sweet!

Introducing a beauty of a new rising ‘star’ named Alicia Vikander,

who will be displayed in EIGHT new films in America and the world.

Her whole fresh look, science fiction break through and even going

to be in the upcoming 2015 release of “Man from U.N.C.L.E.:”

Sweet!

More Good News!

Congratulations to Kate, William and little George!

British signs declaring, “A Princess was Born!”

She may be called the Duchess of Cambridge.

Possibly Charlotte, but not confirmed yet.

An 8 lbs. 3 oz. bouncing, healthy baby girl:

Sweet!

We were due for some Bright Spots.

We need to enjoy Spring (or whatever Season you are in.)

Happy Days for all wished from here to there.

Even those who may not approve of zoos, you still may enjoy

seeing the LAST Jack Hanna guest spot on one of the David

Letterman’s last shows. Still filmed in Ed Sullivan’s theater.

It is not so much about the Columbus Zoo or the funny animals

who landed on David’s head or lap over the years.

It is not about a 30 year entertainment partnership.

It’s about 40 roses sent from David to Jack’s daughter after a

serious surgery, saying his ‘prayers were with Julie.’ (1997)

It is about David’s 12 year old son wishing to meet Jack Hanna.

It is about an amazing friendship between two very nice men.

Sweet!

It began as a concept. How to make bubble gum to look like the

‘chew’ which baseball players and children alike, would savor and

enjoy blowing bubbles with.

Bubble gum sheets thin enough to go through a metal press.

Sprinkling corn starch on the ‘dough’ so it would not stick on press.

Shredded carefully to look like ‘shredded tobacco.’

If you should disapprove; Sorry, we handed out candy cigars and

bubble gum cigars to kids and adult visitors alike, including my

entire sixth grade class of students, way back in 1980.

The very same year I had my oldest daughter, Carrie, a man was

contemplating making Big League Chew. The first factory was in

Mexico, the company was called, “Amurol.” Later, American Ford

Gum (who make those quarter gum balls you see in machines) took

over the part and moved factory to U.S. If you wish to blow bigger

bubbles, (Hint! HInt!) purchase Original flavor Big League Chew.

Hurray for bubble gum!

Super Sweet!

“How Sweet It Is” (To Be Loved By You) is one of my all time favorite

songs ever. It was sung in 1964 by Marvin Gaye. It was written by

a trio of lyricists known as “Holland-Dozier-Holland.” Of course, you

may also enjoy hearing James Taylor sing his version of this song.

Sweet!

My personal proudest, happiest moment lately was on First Friday,

May 1, 2015.

I went into the Creative Foundations art studio yesterday.

I admired the adults with disabilities and special needs’ art work.

I found the Pets Exhibit to be quite delightful. I exclaimed to a few

of the artists around the shop, “Oh I love this one!”

When approached by a man who is their ‘leader’ who goes by the

name of “Uncle Mike,” I mentioned I was specifically looking for a

style which was displayed before on these brightly colored walls.

The paintings look like ‘dandelions’ with black, gray, and white

circles in a corkscrew pattern. He turned me around to see a huge

seven foot example of what I had seen before. My words rushed

out of my mouth:

“Oh! I am so excited to see this! Do you have any other examples

of this style? Smaller, possibly on a 24″ x 36″ sized canvas?”

I continued,

“I would like to surprise my youngest daughter who got her first

apartment where she lives alone. She admired this on another

First Friday and would be totally excited to have one of these

beautiful paintings.”

A young woman with thick glasses was eagerly listening to this

conversation exchange and she leaned over to Uncle Mike and

said excitedly,

“I could do this! Maybe she could let me do this for her daughter’s

new apartment?”

I smiled at her and pointed again to the artwork high above our

heads and asked, while studying her face,

“Like that?”

She told me that the artist who made this mural sized painting was

not feeling well and she could imitate this design.

I believed her sweet, sincere and serious face.

This place is amazing. Come to Central Ohio, wander into such cool

shops and buy a painting which will benefit those who are present to

witness the sale. (Creative Foundations is a non-profit organization.)

I mentioned the price I was looking to pay, between thirty and forty

dollars. Was that about right?

The girl put her hand out, she amazed me with her familiarity of artistic

terminology and as we shook hands, she looked around at the circle of

her friends telling them,

“This lady commissioned ME to make her a flower picture!”

I wrote my name, address and phone number on a pad of paper and

cannot wait to get the phone call, telling me,

“The art is finished!”

Double, Extra-Sweet!

About reocochran

I am experiencing crazy and hapless adventures in dating that may interest people over fifty. I am now approaching 62 later this year and enjoy taking photographs, incorporating stories or poetry on my blog. I have many old posts which are informative and written like essays. I have several love stories collected from family and friends. Even strangers spill their stories, since I am a grown version of the girl next door. I have been trying to live a healthy lifestyle with better food selections and active hiking and walking. I have written four children's books and illustrated them. They are not published but a battered women's shelter used one about neglect and abuse for their children's program and a 4H group used my "Kissing a Bunny is like saying a Prayer" as a coloring book. Please comment or respond so I may get a chance to know you. Sincerely, Robin

29 responses »

  1. Funny thing – while I was reading your story I had that song, “How Sweet It Is To Be Loved by You” going through my head, although I admit it was the James Taylor version. So it was a pleasant surprise that you referred to the song in your story. That song fits when I think of your children and your grandchildren and all you do for them. They must realize how sweet it is to be loved by you! – Mike

    • I am so happy you were humming the song in your head. This is exactly how I was hoping everyone would feel, while reading the ‘sweet’ things going on around the world, while I interspersed my own world within this post.
      I understand loving the James Taylor version, Mike! Thanks so much for putting these lovely compliments into your response. Hope you have a wonderful weekend, Mike!

    • Jackie Gleason is definitely deserving credit, wish I had remembered this myself, my dear!

      Thanks for this supportive comment about the painting commissioned for my youngest daughter, who will be surprised I ‘heard’ her last summer when she was here for one of our First Friday nights. I cannot wait to see how it turns out!

    • I am happy to have found some sweetness in the darkest hours, especially sad to see the number creeping over 7000 possible deaths in Nepal.
      I will let you know when and how the painting turns out, Colleen. I am excited and cannot wait, I just bet Felicia thinks I didn’t hear her say she wished she could have one of these dandelion swirling motion paintings, but I did listen. Just needed to get ahead on my budget and take action, Colleen.

  2. Sweet! I love this post filled with things to make us happy. I too had James Taylor singing in my head 🙂 Any artist would be thrilled to have a commission painting ordered and your young lady said what we would all secretly be wanting to say – so proud!! Great post Robin! xo

    • Thank you, Pauline! I am especially happy about the way things turned out, I am ahead in my budget, managed to get to the Creative Foundations before it closed, last month it was cold and rainy, so they decided to ‘pack it up’ early in the evening.
      I will let you know how it turns out. She was beaming. It was a ‘joy in my heart moment.’

  3. All this is so cheerful and sweet, indeed Robin. It just shows your wonderful inner beauty and the way you look at the world, finding the good and lovely in the simple every day things. Ohio sounds like the best place in the world to live! Thank you for brightening up my day. 🙂

    • Thank you, Beth for such a great comment. I was happy to find some bright spots, in amidst the sad times. I was excited today, (Monday) to hear of a teen-aged young man found in Nepal, one whole week of living on butter. That was his only sustenance. So glad the people are continuing to search and believe in the possibility of life. The death toll numbers are creeping so high, though, there is a deep sadness in me, too.
      Beth, trying to remain happy and wanting to focus on the joys.

    • I like that she made an ‘off-hand’ comment, April, last summer while going around our First Friday event in June, (I think.) Now, I have a little bit more leeway in my budget, (car is paid off, wahoo!) and she is in a new place, wishing to have unique and modern art. My art I could ‘pass on to her,’ is mainly not appealing to her. I am glad you enjoyed the information shared here, April.

    • Judy, thanks so much for saying this about my post as a sweet tribute and wishing this lovely wish for my daughter’s apt. and days to be brighter once she receives her new artwork.

      I hope it will suit her, since last summer when she was up for the First Friday event, (not working is rare for her on weekends) and she made this off-hand comment. I paid attention.

      I am hoping it will still fit her ‘modern design’ decorating theme. She lived in an old place last year with a girlfriend, where many of my antiques and knick knacks fit right in. Her friend got engaged and moved out, so Felicia had to go apt. hunting. She brought all the ‘old stuff’ back in a huge tub, when she moved into this studio apartment.
      We will see. . . you have kids and can relate to this thinking we have it all figured out and then, maybe you have had a ‘flop?’ I have had a few of these. . . Smiles!

    • Timi, so glad I had you smiling as you read this. We need to have big doses of happy thoughts or sweet news given us, since there is so much of the other kind out there, it can level you down, make you feel like not getting out of bed. The death toll numbers are really disheartening, but they did find a young teenager, he had lived for a week buried under the rubble, on butter. Hope is there, just sad at how much of the sadness is real. Sweetly smiling back at you, Timi.

  4. A beautiful entertaining blog Robin, you covered everything, from the little Nepalese baby, and finished up making a young girls day by commissioning her art.
    You have a caring heart Robin and write an enjoyable blog.
    Regards
    Emu

Leave a Reply

