A Hard Day’s Night

Standard

This is not so hard typing on a phone.

You know how I enjoy word play or using words to play around with.

My friend andΒ  coworker, Mark, was telling me something about gardening I did not know the meaning of.

Sometimes it is the origin of a word which baffles me, sometimes it is language usage and in this case it was a colliquialism.

“Hardening up” was used in this sentence:
“We took the cucumber seedlings out to the porch for hardening up to get ready to plant next weekend.”

“What do you mean by that?” I asked, out of curiosity.

“Well, the stems are fragile so they need to be out in their little pots in the wind. This will make them sturdier.”

“So, you mean hardying?”

“No. . . hardening up.”

Now, the rest of my work day was filled with using variations of the word
HARD!

So, hang on to this thought. . .

POSITIVES of using the word Hard:

1. I love homemade fudge when it hardens up or sets up.

2. Hard rock music is part of my ‘hard wiring.’

3. Not all rules have to be followed in a hard and fast way. There’s wriggle room.

4. Muscles make a toned and hard body.

5. Hard ‘C’ sound is found in yummy words like cacao and cocoa. It is also found in cucumber, cake and coffee.

6. Soft ‘C’ sound is also nicely used in circus, cents and ice.

7. Hard ‘G’ sound can be found in grapes and giraffe.

8. Soft ‘G’ sound may be found in gold and cheese goldfish crackers.

9. Hard paths are considered challenging by cyclists and hikers.

10. Hard levels are strived for by readers in school. Harder books are enjoyed since they use hard words that may need defining.

11. Grandpa liked to suck on hard butterscotch candies.

12. Hard Rock Cafe is a favorite destination place.

13. I like both hard and soft shelled crabs.

14. Do you prefer hard ice cream or soft serve?

NEGATIVES of using the word Hard:

1. When a person you are close to finds themselves between a rock and a hard place, you feel bad and try to help.

2. Someone said recently in a hurt voice, “Why does Life have to be so hatd?”

3. The doctor mentioned hardening of the arteries and this made the patient nervous.

4. He was clearly a graduate from the school of hard rocks.

5. Don’t be so hard on the kid.

6. This song is hard to perform since the range is wide from soprano to alto
tones.

7. Hard soled shoes may last longer but it is nice to kick back in soft soled shoes.

I was so surprised that I could think of
more good uses of the word hard than bad.

What ways do you think about using the word hard?

What ways do you think of using the word hard?

Is
There
A
Quote
Or
Book
Which
Comes
To
Mind
Using
Forms
Of
Hard?

Nurse Ratchett was known from the book, “One Flew Over the Cuckoo’S Nest” for her hard as nails attitude.

About reocochran

I am experiencing crazy and hapless adventures in dating that may interest people over fifty. I am now approaching 62 later this year and enjoy taking photographs, incorporating stories or poetry on my blog. I have many old posts which are informative and written like essays. I have several love stories collected from family and friends. Even strangers spill their stories, since I am a grown version of the girl next door. I have been trying to live a healthy lifestyle with better food selections and active hiking and walking. I have written four children's books and illustrated them. They are not published but a battered women's shelter used one about neglect and abuse for their children's program and a 4H group used my "Kissing a Bunny is like saying a Prayer" as a coloring book. Please comment or respond so I may get a chance to know you. Sincerely, Robin

56 responses »

  1. It’s not like I went to the school of hard knocks. It’s just that life is so simple when you ignore the hard parts.

    That’s just me trying hard to be clever. It’s hard to say if I succeeded. If not, please don’t give me a hard time, okay? – Mike

  2. “A good man is hard to find” is a famous saying, Robin, and some jokesters flip that around to make it dirty, too.

    So I take it the new phone from Felicia is a really good one? Good enough to type out and post on your blog from home!

  3. In Florida we would say toughen up! Get a backbone will ya! So, his plants ought to toughen up before planting!!! Tell him I said so, k??? Then he’ll laugh and so on…Hee Hee. I am serious Robin! Hugs and smiles to you! Pssst. Tough: Dictionary: hardened is used as an example in definition.

    • I enjoyed your last comments on your magazine flip board post. Your mom sounds amazing, Jenny. My mom used to do well at hard crossword puzzles.
      I never was great with math and liked language arts so much. Hard topic for me to wrap.my creating mind around. What do you mean there is only ONE answer? Lol

  4. Around here you will here that seedlings need to ‘harden up’ Also people – considered too soft or sentimental….. We say ‘the school of hard knocks’ for a tough life or hard life lessons. ‘Hard times’ was heard often during the recession. Glad to hear the phone is working πŸ™‚

    • I liked your examples, Pauline. Good to know this plant or garden reference is not just a local expression. Definitely the depression was a very hard period of time for our parents and grandparents.

  5. Had me thinking there Robin, only word I could come up with here in Australia,using the word Hard, is Hard luck, usually used when someone tells you a bad luck story, the answer is usually Hard Luck.
    Cheers.

    • This is like the reverse of good luck. I have never said this but have hear this said on a show or movie. Thanks for letting me know I got you thinking; )

  6. Well, having lived 34 winters in Maine, I well know about putting seedlings out to harden up before placing them in the ground πŸ˜‰

    Nurse Cratchett from Catch 22? I don’t remember her in that particular book; rather Nurse Ratched in One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest … maybe this is who you meant?

    In any event, fun post, Robin πŸ˜‰ Blessings.

  7. I won’t even offer any of my suggestions here as they might be too naughty for your readers consumption πŸ˜‰ lol Hey have a fun and wicked Thursday and don’t be getting any hard thoughts or I might have to send my zombies round for a visit πŸ™‚ Just kidding…

    Andro xxx

  8. I thought hard and long πŸ˜‰ and it got harder and harder to find a nice word for hard without being hard…:-D good challenge Robin, I always like how you challenge people to come up with their own ideas πŸ™‚

  9. Sometimes singers fail to get out high notes because they’re “trying too hard”. This makes them tense up and therefore strangles the note. Also, sometimes they take too big a breath before having to sing a long phrase. This is counterproductive as they will run out of breath too soon. They don’t need to work that hard at all. If they take a tiny breath equivalent to sniffing a rose, then it will last them to the end of the phrase.

    • I missed this very informative addition to my comments, Sarah. Sometimes using my phone to respond, I have noticed it takes longer to post replies and I “lose them.”Hope you are having a great weekend!

      • I’m hopeless typing on my phone. It takes about 10 times longer, after I’ve corrected all my typos. Have switched off the auto-correct feature, as it used to cause me embarrassment. As an example, I sent my son a message reminding him about his Aqua credit card payment and my phone changed it to Aquatic just as I sent the message. That incidence was OK as it was family, but I’ve written some really stupid replies to threads on Facebook from my phone in the past!

      • Thank you so much, Sarah, for understanding. I had my purse stolen at the library two weeks and 3 days ago. All o my “better” comments and posts were prior to now blogging by phone. Smiles, Robin

  10. My hard drive gave me hard times recently.

    Think harder – I am saying to myself often.

    Hard Rain Falling – a crime novel by Don Carpenter

    That’s my contribution πŸ™‚

    • Thank you for this and glad you checked this combination post out. Hope you never experience any hard moments and you enjoy hard ice cream once in awhile πŸ™‚

  11. After my divorce, my ex-mother-in-law told me I was being hard-headed by not giving back my diamond engagement ring. (He wanted to have it be reset for his newest love of his life.)
    I told her I’d rather be hard-headed that hard-hearted.
    Then I took my ring to a jeweler and sold it.
    πŸ˜‰

    • I like your response, Marylin! We need to show our own self-respect. I split things in half and did what my parents thought was “too much fairness,” but my kids saw this and believed my choice allowed us all to move forward together. Now grandkids “study” wedding photoS and say they like my “friends,”Mimi and Poppy.”(My ex and his wife.)
      I tell them I knew since I was a teenager. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

