Songs to Enjoy

Standard

I sometimes cannot resist writing about music. It is a part of my life, having been

in band as a clarinet player, along with listening to simple songs sung by parents

and grandparents.

Isn’t music part of everyone’s memories?

Don’t certain songs just represent different unique experiences?

Are there ones which simply resonate with a message?

One~

To listen to at your next BBQ, according to a recent article in “Rolling Stone,”

while also heard on my alternative rock station out of Columbus, Ohio.

(105.7 FM, which used to be an ‘oldies but goodies’ rock station.)

The group, Disclosure, singing “Holding On” may be one to put on your

list of exercise music or ones to lift your spirits.

As “R.S.” magazine so aptly puts it about “Holding On”:

“If you can’t get down to this latest bubbly groove song, we don’t know

what to tell you!”

Two~

James Taylor’s album has a collection of songs I enjoyed listening to,

from “Before this World” CD.

A. “Today, Today, Today.”

This song has simple lyrics but it tells a story starting with general

message and leading you to know how a life passes quickly and

all it entails.

Here are a few passages:

“The bird is on the wing,

The bell is about to ring

The big girl, she’s about to sing.”

******************************************

“The world will open wide

And I’m running with the tide

Its time to cut this side

And I must not miss my ride.”

*******************************************

It also shows his pride; planting a flag for America in Taylor’s lyrics.

(Try this one, for fun and reveling in Taylor’s vocal rendition of a song.)

B. “Angels of Forever”

(A tribute to the Boston Red Sox who had James Taylor’s grandmother

as one of their biggest fans.)

C. “Far Afghanistan”

(A tribute to American soldiers carrying on their military duties in far

off lands. The part which captures your listening and resonated with

me, was Taylor’s old Irish Celtic roots shining through.)

Three~

Have you heard a less played Sir Paul McCartney song called, “Temporary

Secretary?” This has some weird but sweet lyrics and shows Paul’s talent

in the 1980 song. Did not hear of this until recently, wondering why it is

“back” on the radio? So glad someone put it on their ‘play list!’

Four~

“Dream Lover” sung by Bobby Darrin. A great memory song, also once

sung by Mariah Carey. Now listen to and then compare to the Destroyer

song, where there are sexy and romantic “vibes” being reverberated into

your heart. Maybe it is the saxophone artist who will capture your heart.

Five~

The U.K. has fantastic music, we have always been grateful for their

ability to get us up and dancing. This folk group called Ultimate Painting

is unique and needs to be listened to be appreciated. The song I heard

recently is “Break the Chain.”ย  Must be an early radio station ‘reveal’

since it won’t come out until August, 2015. Keep your eyes peeled for

this new CD and listen if you have a chance to this!

So, what is on your recent “play list?”

About reocochran

I am experiencing crazy and hapless adventures in dating that may interest people over fifty. I am now approaching 62 later this year and enjoy taking photographs, incorporating stories or poetry on my blog. I have many old posts which are informative and written like essays. I have several love stories collected from family and friends. Even strangers spill their stories, since I am a grown version of the girl next door. I have been trying to live a healthy lifestyle with better food selections and active hiking and walking. I have written four children's books and illustrated them. They are not published but a battered women's shelter used one about neglect and abuse for their children's program and a 4H group used my "Kissing a Bunny is like saying a Prayer" as a coloring book. Please comment or respond so I may get a chance to know you. Sincerely, Robin

76 responses »

  1. I always appreciate your musical recommendations since I seldom listen to the radio or keep up on trends. I do enjoy listening to my oldies favorites including works by BB King, Eric Clapton, Stevie Ray Vaughn, James Taylor and just about everything Motown. I love Home Free, the a cappella group that won the last Sing Off.

    I will seek out your recommended works so I can appreciate the songs you cited, because you are right — music is uplifting and brings back great memories. – Mike

    • I think the classics and the icons are worthy of being life long fans of, Mike. I think with losing BB King recently and who knows if others will be around forever, we must take advantage of their songs, new and old ones.
      I liked Eric Clapton’s bluesy period, also his song, “Tears from Heaven” gets me choked up. I like Stevie Ray Vaughn and should listen to more of his music. I liked the year before last’s a cappella group, who I featured last Christmas but their name eludes me. . . I will have to check out, Home Free, Mike. James Taylor is among my favorites, which includes Carole King, Carly Simon, Simon and Garfunkel and John Denver, off the top of my head. The folk singers like they were led us into a different style from the usual ‘rock and roll’ my friends and I listened to a lot. . . Thanks so much for this nice set of comments, Mike!

    • Oh, he was an inspiration in itself. Just a lovely number of songs which he gave to us all. I am definitely going to say my parents had Burt Bacharach, along with “The New Christy Minstrels,”
      “Herb Alpert and the Tijuana Brass,” but they also had less ‘hip’ music by Perry Como, Harry Belafonte and many Broadway musicals. Thanks for this addition, which made me smile, Juan.

  2. You know, it’s funny but I almost put a post on my FB page saying ‘I need to get into more modern music. Think I’ll start with the 90s.Ha, ha! Lately I’ve been wanted to hear kind of lazy grungy stuff. Yesterday started out with Hole, ‘Live Through This’ and then Iggy and The Stooges ‘1969’. You have some great picks as well!

    • I am open to listening to any of your suggestions, since you are really, truly my only rock and roll living, breathing friend who was in a real band, Marissa!!
      I was listening to the group, Bush, on the way to the library this evening. I was too tired to walk the two blocks. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • No, the band didn’t. Work is always hot in our warehouse and long in the summer time, Marissa. No big deal, just it was a 10 and a half hour day. Like your humor. I was sincere in my compliment, too.

  3. The great thing about music is if you’re feeling down, it only takes one favorite song to get you dancing again. While writing my book, I’ve been listening to a lot of John Denver, Simon and Garfunkel and Adele.

    • It is so funny, Jill. I am a big fan of those artists in my first comment. I started at the top of my comments and had two of the three you listed written in response to Mike.
      I am so glad you listen to music and find it gets your mood lifted. There are some songs, where I can hardly sit still if I am at a wedding, I have to ’round up’ a partner! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I was honest with my potter friend, we are back to texting and waiting until a lull to see each other, since I won’t go out to his house yet. He is busy firing up his kiln and making his creative pots and mugs. Just thought you would like to know, Jill. By telling him that being regular in his patterns creates trust, even in friendship, he mentioned he had had some difficulty in his becoming more open. So, we shall see. He gets up early and texts, while I write back in the evening and save it to send off in the morning. He writes poetry and told me his women friends are married and grandma’s. Not fans, like I assumed. . . ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I really like James Taylor, I always have. I think he could sing anything and I would understand his message.

    It’s funny, as I’m typing this, I see your comment popping up. That happened yesterday with s different blogger. We were reading each other’s posts at the same time.

    • I will always like “Fire and Rain,” along with James Taylor’s “You’ve Got a Friend.” I also like his, “Carolina in My Mind.” Do you have a favorite song of his, Dan?
      I went to a McGovern concert in Cleveland, where James Taylor, Carly Simon, Carole King, Simon and Garfunkel (and others) were singing for the Democrats. The ushers, so cool, were famous people like Robert Redford, Paul Newman, Joanne Woodward… We were so ecstatic to be able to go to this, Dan!
      What you described happening, only is something that occurs on my side of things over weekends. I am trying to use the library (right now) and then, go home and ‘turn off my phone,’ to blogging. I would never turn it off completely due to possible family emergencies.This is the sometimes ‘crazy’ world of blogging. One night, I was writing a comment on a friend’s blog, they made one back and then, we were laughing since it was like we were on Instant Message mode. I even said, “Good night, Brenda” and she said, “Sleep tight, Robin” or something back.

      • I saw James Taylor in the 70s at West Virginia University. Just him, solo. He was great. I like all of his old songs, but I also really like Copperline which I believe was released in the early 90s. Of course, that’s a long time ago now too.

        That concert you saw must have been amazing.

      • I remember that, Robin. Sometimes it is like texting, sharing comments in the blogging world. And I hope you have a great day. It’s nose to the novel grindstone for me today. I have to ignore blogging for long stretches or I won’t get anything done! ๐Ÿ™‚

      • I saw Harry Chapin on a chair with a guitar in the 70’s so I can almost picture how amazing James was by himself. James didn’t sing more than a couple of songs but most of those names got together and sang his song, “You’ve Got a Friend.” I like the way the Beatles have a friend song which really resonates, “What would you do if I sang out of tune…. I get by with a little help from my friends…” Smiles!

  5. We just watched a special on James Taylor last night. I am such a fan. I can’t wait for his album release. I wouldn’t spend the money to see many live bands/artists in concert anymore, but I think he would be worth it. Great post.:)

    • Becky, I missed the special on James Taylor! Shoot! I do enjoy his singing and have heard him in concert as a young teenager, not since then. I think his voice has not changed as much as others. Maybe due to ‘clean living?’ ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for finding my post to be one that “hit the spot!”

    • I love that gravatar with beautiful baby. I think you are so blessed with this precious girl. I am glad you enjoy music and might choose to listen to one of these newer songs or one that is being played and seems ‘new to me,’ Hope you will have a wonderful rest of the week! Hugs, Robin

  6. like you, music is a huge part of my life, robin. i really like all kinds of music, and each song makes me feel a different way, every emotion from happiness to sadness and everything in between.

    • I picture you dancing on that night you were so sick, couldn’t keep a ‘good woman down,’ Beth!! You were ‘all in!’ I am like that, can be silly, show some rhythm and sometimes lead….Music is so many people’s “common ground.”

    • Oh, I have heard of this, Brenda. I need to review Zoot Suit Riot. Also like you, may change my answer on a different time or day.
      And guess what? Did you have your ears burning? I was talking to Dan (above) about our late night chats and how we even felt one night like we were I.M-ing. (Instant Messaging) and gave each other a “Good night.” I included your first name, even.
      Thanks for being here, as always. I wish time would go slowly and I could hear what is going on in your publishing efforts but keep on going, I can ‘feel it’ coming closer. . . ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Ahhh … Dream Lover, Calendar Girl, that era. My childhood. Yes, music takes me back. Though I work and live in the quiet 95% of the time, lyrics and melodies are ever scrolling through my mind to keep me occupied. My inner DJ, as it were ๐Ÿ˜‰ Cheers, Robin!

    • Bela, thanks for including the song from my post and adding “Calendar Girl” which was a fantastic era. There was a lot of romance and fun in those songs. Do you remember that silly song, “How Much Is That Doggy in the Window?” and the phone number song made famous by the Glenn Miller Band?

      • I do recall, of course, How Much is that Doggie, though I’m not sure of the Glenn Miller tune you refer to. My parents were huge GM fans, and surely I did hear it, somewhere along the line. All I can remember when you suggest a ‘number song’ is 6-3-4-5-7-8-9!!

      • Bela, maybe it is a different song and I will get back to you. But Glenn Miller band would get dancers and audience to say what I thought were numbers, Bela. About to go to bed. Just saw this and I did like that song. Where people almost chanted those numbers. Sweet dreams or daydreams, dear friend.

      • Bela, the song is called, “Pennsylvania 6-5000” and it is a fun song which gets the audience to join Glenn Miller’s orchestra. It is featured in the movie about Glenn Miller’s life. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I love that comment about your “inner D.J.” keeping your mind occupied. It is nice to have quiet but I tend to not do this enough, unless I am reading a good book, Bela. Aloha to you, dear Bela!

  8. We have plenty of new releases and you must be aware of Bollywood movies music. No Bollywood movie is completed without 6 to 8 songs. Music is must in our movies and I am a music lover. I have been enjoying Katy Perry’s Roar for quite sometime now. Though it is not a latest one but one of my favorites. Another one is ‘SKYFALL” title song.

    • I am so glad you pointed out the beautiful and fun music, group dancing in the Bollywood movies. I have liked several ones with this included. I also feel the different movies have great music, like James Bond always has had great song. “Skyfall” is a wonderful song, also Katy Perry gets me up and out of my chair, Rashmi. Thanks so much S n S!

    • Tracy, I love Johnny Cash’s “Ring of Fire!” My oldest daughter and I got out on the dance floor a few years back, making a downward twisting motion as the song says, “down, down, down…the Ring of Fire!” We had several people in a group join us in this silly motion to the song.
      I am one who feels calmer and more peaceful while listening to classical music. My brother and sister in law play this during our holiday meals, quiet ‘background’ music.
      I tend to switch to the more dramatic country songs such as Charlie Daniels Band performed, “Devil and Daniel Webster.” (I think this song is called, but it has some Stravinsky in it, doesn’t it?)
      I will go look it up, also Bela’s wondering about Glenn Miller band song with a phone number which was in one of the movies about WWII and my mother liked it.
      Thank you for this list and I will try now that I have a cell phone with internet, but don’t want to keep it on all the time, to keep in better touch. I never stopped following you, just less comments. . . ๐Ÿ™‚

      • The song Charlie Daniels Band performs is called, “Devil Went Down to Georgia,” Tracy. I will have to look up Stravinsky to figure out why I felt his music was involved in a more current song?

      • Tracy, so cool this is for you to be right there with the name of the song!

        I just looked up a string of songs, which are all dramatic. Maybe you would like one of these classical but emotional songs? Igor Stravinsky’s music is riveting in “Firebird,” “Petrushka,” “HIs Majesty, the Devil,” (I think this sounds sacrilegious, wonder about that one! ): ) Then there is “The Soldier’s Tale,” which is also labeled, “The Devil’s Song.” due to the musician’s not liking war.

    • You ARE good music, Jasmine. Thanksgiving 2014 was wonderful listening to your well written and lovely songs. Not sure how people “lose” each other, but I will try to stay connected to you!

  9. Friday, I was listening to “oldies” everything from Crimson & Clover to The Animals. Saturday, I was stuck in Simon & Garfunkel. Sunday we were all enraptured with Jazz, old and new, and Benny Goodman. But today, we bought popular music for the iTunes library. Hozier, Thievery Corporation, Flo Rida, and David Guetta,
    Music is moody, and so are we ๐Ÿ™‚

    • You have such a diverse but good taste in music. I loved your oldies list with Crimson and Clover! Hozier and Flo Rider along with Mumford and Sons and yes, David Guetta. Sam Smith can break my heart, Joey. Your famoly rocks ๐Ÿ™‚ I need to look (and listen to) into Thievery Corporation.

      • Music was a god in my house growing up. I continue the tradition. I do hope you’ll listen to some Thievery Corporation — “The Forgotten People” is very groovy ๐Ÿ™‚

      • This is a vibrant way to explain the power of music ” like a god” Wow. Joey! Our family enjoyed music and everyone but Dad played an instrument. I never got the “musical ear” where I could play without sheet music, but my brother Randy could. So glad you came to visit.

  10. Great musical post Robin,music certainly does make the mood for me, and also stirs up the memory, I remember all the songs of the Vietnam era, Joan Baez, Bob Dylan, love all the jazz music and big band hits like Glen Miller.
    Music plays on the Love strings of my Heart.
    Kind regards.

    • I know there are plenty of average looking musicians and truly we should appreciate their voices, Kerbey. But…
      If they have money why shouldn’t they indulge their long lasting friends who are their fans? I am glad you said this because I also think in this vein of my teenager musical “crushes.” They have the money. For Pete’s sake and wouldn’t they feel better with hair or nice teeth? ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Kerbey,I had someone I was watching the other day and their lower teeth when they gave a big smile were sad to see. Ibwad sort of surprised. Now, I will have to keep an eye on Will ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. I don’t know why I stopped reading your blog, but am loving your stuff once more. I’m listening to a lot of Ulrich Schnauss at the moment. Of more modern, Ed Sheeran is really talented.

  12. Nothing can transport us back in time as much as music can. Memory and music are so well entwined in our brains. I’m not sure I could go a day without it. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I agree with this, Carrie. It would be impossible to go one day for me.
      From lullabies to church or holiday songs to music classes (I hope we will always include all the arts in school. . .) From classical to rock and roll, alternative. Whew, I must stop giving examples ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

