“Green” Style

Standard

For years, I have found buying clothes others have decided to sell at garage

sales, thrift stores or ‘hand-me-down’s’ given by my friends to be my way of

being a good recycler and also, a ‘green’ customer.

I thought:

“What better way to show my choice of not being a mass product buyer

or following a rampant need to have ‘more’ and consume new products?”

Little did I expect some great new recycled clothing and other products

to capture my interest and need to help others know about them.

“Reborn as accessories, old tires, used sails and paper get a new lease

on life.” This is a fashionable quotation taken from Family Circle, June, 2015.

Kenneth Cole collaborated with “Rebuild Globally” to create lovely choices.

One~

A whale tote from the company, sold for $150 can be taken for years to the

mall or store to pick up groceries or purchases. I liked the design, also the use

of an old sail from a boat. . . but not necessarily the cost:

http://seatotes.com

Two~

Dahlia Necklace, for sale with lovely recycled materials, again a higher price

presumably due to the effort of producing this out of recycled paper ($72):

http://31bits.com

Three~

Love Haiti sandals, sold for $69 made out of rubber tires dyed into a tan

base with blue straps, shown in the magazine.

http://kennethcole.com

** I do think this is a worthy project and also, am thrilled with playground

materials which seem to have a bouncy flooring made of recycled tires.

I may just keep on going to my favorite resale shops and hope to purchase

more for less cost. Maybe not the best use of ‘green’ but the best my budget

can afford.

About reocochran

I am experiencing crazy and hapless adventures in dating that may interest people over fifty. I am now approaching 62 later this year and enjoy taking photographs, incorporating stories or poetry on my blog. I have many old posts which are informative and written like essays. I have several love stories collected from family and friends. Even strangers spill their stories, since I am a grown version of the girl next door. I have been trying to live a healthy lifestyle with better food selections and active hiking and walking. I have written four children's books and illustrated them. They are not published but a battered women's shelter used one about neglect and abuse for their children's program and a 4H group used my "Kissing a Bunny is like saying a Prayer" as a coloring book. Please comment or respond so I may get a chance to know you. Sincerely, Robin

47 responses »

  1. About three quarters of the clothes in my wardrobe have come from charity shops. Anything new that I buy, has to be ethically produced, if at all possible. I hadn’t thought of old tires and used sails for recycling. Am so glad to learn that you’re a good recycler and “green” customer, Robin πŸ™‚

    • Sarah, so happy to also know most of your wardrobe may not look like mine, but sources are finds from charity shops. I do find aprons, bags and kitchen towels at stores where they are either homemade (we have a co-op market) or where the product is authentically “green.” My youngest daughter is who has helped encourage the “switch.”

      • It’s very good when parents allow themselves to be influenced by their children and allow themselves to make a positive change at the behest of someone of the younger generation. There are a lot of stubborn parents out there, who think they know best about everything. But you are obviously open to change, Robin, which is excellent!

      • Sarah, my parents gave us a neat thing when they said we had a right to help with decisions. We were shown how to “give our points” like in debate. We learned to compromise and were witnesses to their giving in. For some insecure people, this would look like our parents didn’t make decisions. It just meast if we wanted to have something we needed to do chores or work to earn priveleges. The fine art of bargaining. Thank you for noting something I take for granted in our family, Sarah. You must have learned some of this or more.

  2. I love these links and this idea, Robin. We all need to recycle and lower our earthly footprint. It often pains me to see people discarding useful things just to buy new ones, even though when I was young I did exactly that myself. We learn better habits as we get older and wiser. What a great post!! πŸ˜€

    • I am glad you used the earthly footprint image. This helps make a memorable impression. WE are the ones to make wise choices to leave our earth a better place once we pass through it.

      • Thank heaven more and more people are waking up to this. Thrift used to be a core value of society. It will have to return. I regret some of the things I gave or threw away but at least hope someone else made use of them.

  3. I remember sandals made from (or perhaps only made to look like) tires from back in the 70s. I had a pair. They were comfortable and I liked them because they were more heavy duty than flip-flops but not dress sandals.

    • It is best to respectfully decline this award nomination since I work in the summer a lot of hours. I only post very once in awhile. Thank you for thinking of me,Marva!
      I hope readers will see your post link and check it out:)

    • I think treasures come in many packages, Cheryl. Glad you didn’t say one person’s “junk” is another’s treasure. If anyone is going to put their foot in their mouth, might as well be me. I am glad so many recycle. Thanks for doing your part:)

      • Oh Robin you are so funny! Yes, we do recycle weekly. As my boys are growing there clothing gets past down to family members (since they’re in good shape). Children just grow up too fast. My second child just turned 9 last Sunday! His Dad said he had to have grown an inch? Soon I’ll be looking up at them and I am 5’8″ their Dad is 6’2″. Hugs, Cheryl

      • Now, I can picture your family better, Cheryl. You all would tower over me! I am 5’2″. The midget it as Randy Newman sang about. “Short People.” πŸ™‚

  4. You know, I’m big on vintage stores, which is one way of recycling clothing, but this is a whole different take on it. I love the idea of taking items and making them into accessories. It’s environmental and creative!

    • Yes, you summed it up perfectly, Marissa! Environmental and creative accessories. I have my favorite dresses with character in the details from thrift stores. Hey, if you lived here you would love Rags-O-Rama on High Street in Columbus
      My oldest daughter and I like the real vintage bell bottom jeans and she loves hats with beads, veils and feathers for her manniquins to wear.

      • I would enjoy this adventure, Marissa. Come on the first Saturday (every month) for the “Gallery Hop” which has art galleries, a variety of furniture, knick knack and clothing shops. I found a classic black velvet dress with off the shoulder cap sleeves. Wore it on a memorable date. Sold it when I moved. Too much stuff to hold on to everything. As long as memory works, that is enough. πŸ™‚

  5. Like you, Robin, I have gotten good use out of lightly used clothing. I recently picked up a nice pair of swim trunks that I use to jog and exercise – $3.25. I also have a favorite pair of sweat pants for lounging – $5.00. Most of my T-shirts I picked up at open-air markets in Mexico and Spain. I guess you can tell I am basically a casual-style guy, and rather thrifty, too. – Mike

    • The t-shirts are so reasonable at open air markets in other countries and this is great to point this out. It also helped me to remember flea markets on fair grounds in our own country, Mike.
      You know I like details so I appreciate the bargains you wear of gently worn clothes. My son while growing up was really fond of softer clothes so he got a lot of garage sale shirts which were solid colors with pockets.
      You are displaying wise and thrifty traits, Mike. πŸ™‚

    • Luanne, you gave me a chuckle. It does seem a little suspicious and not ‘general public’ friendly. If we were trying to get the masses to participate more in “green” choices, we would try harder to make them reasonably priced. Not only gave me the first reaction, but Luanne you got me thinking, too. Smiles and brain in gear. Thanks!

  6. I love old things, period. I buy new clothes about half the time. The items are great, and although I wouldn’t use them all personally, what I don’t like could be gifted to others who would. However, I am not fortunate enough to support such a pricey endeavor!

    • Thanks, Joey, for thinking about giving the higher priced items as gifts. I am more likely to spend money for a friend with the pretty recycled materials like the floral necklace. Most of the time I do like sifting through different types of resale shops. Downtown Delaware, Oh we have a shop called “Toujours” which you may know means yesterday.

      • Oh my, I am much better with my Spanish and less French. Thanks for helping me, Joey. I bet Melanie or someone else would notice my ‘faux pas’ ha ha!

  7. i shop at the resale shops too, along with tj maxx and target. i keep and use clothes for a long time, especially my favorites and then i turn them into gardening/painting clothes, so they just keep on going – it’s rare when i spend a lot on clothes, only for a special occasion, really )

    • Beth, this sounds just like you. You included gardening and painting. . . I can picture us elbow deep in kids clothes and holding up a cute outfit saying, “Do you have a ‘grandie’ who could fit this one?”
      I agree, sales are especially nice when you have an occasion to go to. Even then, you can check out local shops. Another benefit: keeping small businesses around πŸ™‚

  8. With a discerning eye Robin, there are bargains everywhere, old stuff that still has a use and fashionable, I love garage sales and second hand shops, my little antique collection began from a garage sale, a salt and pepper shaker, nothing extraordinary, but sixty years ago was much cherished by someone.
    Happy hunting.
    Best wishes for a beaut week.

Leave a Reply

