Some Things Stay the Same

Standard

This was fun to discover this weekend, that good old-fashioned magazine for

Boy Scouts. “Boys’ Life” has not changed very much, although there was one

article about computer usage. The magazine is published in Irving, Texas.

They still recommend watching upcoming animated films. The June, 2015

magazine suggests checking out Pixar’s “Inside Out” movie that is about

how to handle emotions. The five emotions are “Joy, Anger, Disgust, Fear

and Sadness.” It will be in our ‘neighborhood’ small town theater: The Strand

on June 19th. The article also suggested youths to consider asking questions

of their parents if they should be confused about their own emotional concerns.

This led me into a great article titled:

“Be Safe and Nice When Online: No Bullies in Scouts.”

Next article harkened back to the 1800’s.

This must have been meant for Pilgrim Scouts.

Seriously.

It had a “circle” pattern and explained using a jigsaw cutter that would cut around

this pattern two times, after having drawn it on wood. The wood can then be sanded,

also drilled two holes and a connecting thin post or rod put to make a “homemade

toy”. . . .

Project outcome:  “Wooden Yo-Yo.”

This did give me the giggles for quite awhile.

A very serious article was featured on the cover, a team of Boy Scouts were going

on a “Canyoneering” trip. It is an expedition which takes you to Zion National Park,

where the young men would be having exciting explorations. I will summarize the

article in this awesome sentence:  This Canyoneering article takes scouts into

the rugged wilderness where they rappel, climb, squeeze through narrow passages

in rocks, scramble over ledges, wade and then swim in winding creeks and streams.

The youngest member of this scouting expedition was 13 years old. He made the

cover of “Boys’ Life” and is certainly a brave young man.

The three canyons are called: “Keyhole Canyon,” “Orderville Canyon,” and

“Creek Canyon.” The location of the cliffs and canyons is north of Arizona, in Utah.

A new “Healthy Treat” featured in the magazine is marketing for young people.

It is called, “Clif Kid Bar”  and comes in Chocolate Brownie and Chocolate Chip.

I like Clif bars and also, Kind bars. I would say they generally do include some

fiber and less sugar than a candy bar. Sometimes, they add some protein for

those mountain climbing Boy Scouts. 🙂

When I was growing up and my brothers, who are now ages 58 and 56, liked

to read the jokes section of “Boys’ Life.” They would tell them at the dinner

table, sometimes coordinating a magic trick or Randy liked using his Danny

O’Day puppet and would give us a lively take on something he found amusing,

using his best effort to “throw his voice.”

Did you ever feel that it was fun to come up with entertainment to lighten up

your dinner hour? Not sure when or why we started this, but we even did

continue it through my Dad’s having a cancer. You were expected to make

him laugh, so my way would be to buy the “Big Mouth Frog” which was sold

during this time at Cracker Barrel. I could get my 40% discount and have

him listen to the corny song, “Take Me to the River.” My brothers got better

than I ever did at telling jokes. We try this from time to time at holidays.

Anyway, I thought you might like a few “corny” jokes from the current issue

of “Boys’ Life.”

~~ One ~~

“Five cats are on a boat. . .

One jumps off.

How many are left?

None! They were “copy cats!”

~~ Two ~~

I really do wonder if this next one was recycled for my generation?

“What did Batman’s Butler, Alfred, say when he saw Batman didn’t

fit in his utility belt?”

(Silent Pause)

“I don’t know, what did Alfred say?”

“What a waist!!”

~~ Three ~~

“Did you hear what happened when the red and blue

ships collided in the ocean?”

“No, what happened?”

“They were marooned!”

~~  Four ~~

“If all the punctuation marks got together and had a race,

which one would win?”

(Wait for this, or try to figure this one out, authors and writers!)

Answer: “The Dash!”

I was pleased at my grandsons who have enjoyed this magazine,

Skyler is age 10 and reads it to Micah, age 6.

Good, clean “Retro” style jokes and articles, including a project

they won’t be able to complete since they don’t have a jigsaw

or drill, but they were looking and studying this article. Maybe

a trip to Michael’s Craft Store or the Boy Scouting Shop.

My favorite magazine during this age group period, which would have

been in the 1960’s, was my Mom’s “McCall’s Magazine.” I would cut out

Betsy McCall and glue her to cardboard, to make a paper doll, then I

would carefully cut out her wardrobe for that month. This magazine had

the cut-out patterns for Betsy from the ’50’s up until 1995. I did not realize

this! I did sell my collection of paper dolls and their clothes, since I had

kept them in clear pages which had “pockets” so the dolls were not ‘stuck’

on those sticky photograph album pages. The book was treasured and I

had already shared it with my teaching co-workers and two daughters.

Sold in 2006 for $50.

Although I did like reading some of the articles, I did not know that Eleanor

Roosevelt wrote a column from the June, 1949 up until 1962 when she

passed away called, “If You Ask Me. . .”

What magazine did you like getting or reading while in elementary school?

Did you receive “Highlights” magazine in the mail or did you read it only

when you went to the doctor’s office when you were sick or your annual

check-up?

When my brothers got older, they loved “Mad Magazine,” but had to use

their own money to purchase this one. I liked “YM” magazine and got this

for an annual subscription. (Parents’ approval.) While I would pick up with

my babysitting money, “Tiger Beat” magazine. My girls liked “Seventeen”

magazine and my son loved reading books, but I would say his ‘guilty’

pleasure were the annual “Guinness Book of World Records.”

About reocochran

I am experiencing crazy and hapless adventures in dating that may interest people over fifty. I am now approaching 62 later this year and enjoy taking photographs, incorporating stories or poetry on my blog. I have many old posts which are informative and written like essays. I have several love stories collected from family and friends. Even strangers spill their stories, since I am a grown version of the girl next door. I have been trying to live a healthy lifestyle with better food selections and active hiking and walking. I have written four children's books and illustrated them. They are not published but a battered women's shelter used one about neglect and abuse for their children's program and a 4H group used my "Kissing a Bunny is like saying a Prayer" as a coloring book. Please comment or respond so I may get a chance to know you. Sincerely, Robin

76 responses »

    • This was so nice of you to say, Phil. I appreciate this and when I get a chance to read and enjoy your posts: I sure do feel enlightened and energized. 🙂

  1. Highlights was a favorite of mine and we got it for my daughter. I was very sad when they stopped the Bear family. I loved the puzzles and jokes and Goofus and Gallant. Good clean simple fun. I think there’s still a place for it. This was such a fun post.

    • I am so glad you know the value in good, clean fun. This was something your daughter really looked forward to in the mail.:) Kid’s need those simple elements of blowing bubbles, chalk art on sidewalks and sprinklers. I always found the “Goofus and Gallant” to have some lessons while still not too ‘preachy.’ Thanks, Dan for pitching in today with your thoughts. Now about your saw, do you have a circular one ….

  2. I love the “marooned” joke.

    At our table, discussions were philosophical and serious. No jokes ever, because both my parents would have just gotten home from work, so it was a ‘catching up’ time. Their relaxation was after dinner.

    I do wish we could raise children with wholesome values, clean jokes, handicraft projects, outdoor activities instead of electronic devices. Gardening is a great way to get them out of the house, as you know Robin.

    Eleanor Roosevelt – my role model in life. Wish she were here today and hope she is on the new ten dollar bill.

    My magazine by the time I was 13 was Seventeen, then I graduated to Vogue. I was a Girl Scout, so I think we got some periodical from them. Mostly I read books, from the time I was 4. There was something else, but I cannot remember it. I will have to ask my parents.

    Nice, nostalgic post, Robin. 🙂

    • It was nice to see my oldest daughter subscribbing to this for her boys. Also, good way to engage Skyler’s reading and Micah’s listening skills. Carrie’s garden survived those early Spring frosts and both boys are real outdoorsy explorers. Seems all kids want to look at bugs, moss, and wade in creeks if given an opportunity, Beth. We are always close to the same page. 🙂

      • That is so nice. Her boys are lucky! Children need fresh air, sunlight, grass to wiggle their toes in. We are almost two peas in a pod, Robin 🙂

      • I love the 2 peas in a pod thought. You also included some extra information about your younger years. Thanks for this and have fun this weekend!

    • Jill, I was wondering before there were dolls with this name, wasn’t there a magazine called, “American Girl?” I just was trying to think of one of my neighbor girlfriend’s magazines. Hope you, Derek and kids have a great Father’s Day!

    • Did you get “Ranger Rick,” in school? Or did our kids get it? I remember nature lessons, animal footprints matching them to the animal and science. Just came back to ask you. Have a great weekend, Jill.

  3. Great post Robin… I remember all those magazines… Mostly in the doctors waiting room… Or of Popular Science… It was always how we’d be living on the moon by now..

  4. I have only once told a joke IN MY LIFE. Can’t do em. I liked Owl Magazine, which was kind of sciency, had lots of facts and adventures and experiments to try!

    • I have heard of Owl camp here in Delaware, Ohio. But it has to do with OWU being here and it may be a science camp. I wish I had received Owl magazine, Jay. You may not know this, but I was a Science Club “nerd!” (Oh, and girl scouts and band, too.)

    • I thought their humor was engaging. It was sometimes smart, Anneli. Some political satire and economic”jabs” thrown in. Maybe it is not as bad as you remember. 🙂

  5. When I was eleven onwards I was given a very small amount of pocket money. It was so enjoyable, to once a week, walk to the papershop to buy my ‘JUDY’ comic, and a bar of chocolate to eat while I read. I think I can still recall some characters, like the rock star teenager, name forgotten. “Thanks for the memories..”

    • I am wishing I knew about the comic having Judy in it which must have been special to be held in your memories. So you liked chocolate from childhood on? Thank you for sharing these and I appreciate your parents givinG you this bit of money. It taught you about making decisions and you had fun feeling like a mature girl. Smart parents 🙂

  6. I had so much enjoyment reading this, Robin, for it took me back to when I was growing up. For some odd reason I was never into magazines right to this very day. I chose instead books and at every opportunity I got, I had my nose in one. True again to this day. GRIN!!! Loved this post and I do thank you for it!! Have a wonderful weekend, my friend. Love, Amy ❤

    • I understand loving books, this is wonderful trait and lifelong habit, Amy. Hope you will havery a walk out around your beautiful gardens, cherish your kitties and spend time with loved ones. These help shore us up to “face the world.” I am spending time with 5 of 6 “grandies” while daughter in law has to drive friend with baby to KY and son works at restaurant today. My daughter also works on Sunday. Sending you waves of warmth and sunshine 🙂

  7. I had a subscription to Boys’ Life during my scouting years. It is nostalgic to see the jokes are just as lame now as they always were – but in a wholesome way. I like Highlights except that it was mostly in the waiting room at the dentist’s office that I read it.

    My favorite childhood reading material was the Weekly Reader. I looked forward to every new issue. I loved the games and puzzles, and I eventually graduated to Games Magazine in my adult years. – Mike

    • Mike, I went into the movie thinking I had your comment responded to, must ha E turned it off before getting it set in stone. Ha ha.
      Inside Out is deep and meaningful. The lady next to me and I got teary eyed. She sat next to boys, Carrie and me. I think it was cool she and her husband sat amidst a packed theater. The 8 o’clock show was sold out at 4!
      When I wrote this, I was thinking you of all my friends, would have subscribed to this magazine. I am glad you agree the content still suggeats good choices and fun in down to earth humor. There were two whole pages of jokes, so I chose my favorite ones.
      When we were in school, we got our weekly readers out and took turns volunteering to read the various and diverse subjects enclosed, Mike. I liked that everyone got one and we learned about history, current events and more. I hope that most kids had this, too.
      Hope you and Florence have a nice weekend. Mike.

  8. So funny! Every time I started thinking of a magazine, you went ahead and mentioned it! Yes, lived Highlights, the moved on to Tiger Beat and Seventeen when I was older. Also, one for us metal heads… Kerrang!

    • This was funny since the whole population of a 10 to 20 year age span must have checked these out 🙂
      I did not know about the awesome metal heads magazine due to my being a little bit “nerdy” clarinet player in all the bands.
      I used to think marching band was cool, but then all the “American Pie” films ruined that image. Larer on, I will have to find a “Kerrang!”

      • Here’s there web site, if your interested. It’s funny…they’ve changed a lot since I used to read them. For one, there didn’t used to be an online magazine…Ha, ha!

      • I looked “K” magazine up and saw all kinds of wild things. The re-imagining of album covers and movie posters was interesting. Ozzie with Slash and other concerts coming up. Could not believe I saw Green Day there, too.
        By the way, not sure why but I don’t think I got the link you sent with this comment., Marissa.

  9. What a cute post! Brings back a lot of memories! Yes, I loved Highlights, as did my kids. I moved into YM and Seventeen, now I prefer Cottage Style, BH&G, Country, and Southern Living.
    We play hi-lo at the dinner table. Everyone shares the best and worst of their days 🙂

    • I am thinking there is a common thread of lifelong readers and also, children’s magazines have not changed for years!
      Joey, I admire this family building activity. The movie (Inside Out) emphasized forming bonds by doing routines like this and storing up happy memories while young build our “core” values. I think this has been around for awhile in child psychology books but the humor and interdependence you are sharing in your “hi-lo” time during dinner sounds fantastic. Hope your family has a good one, Joey.

    • I can see you being a modern day “Suzy Homemaker,” Joey. Those are nice magazines and I enjoy looking at them and getting new ideas to brighten my apt. or finding gifts to give. Thanks for adding what magazines you read currently. 🙂

  10. OMG, Robin 😉 You are really pulling memories out of the woodwork!
    Reading was my solace, my getaway to worlds outside my head. It still anchors my daily life.

    As kids, we read, played, fantasized, made up stories, sang old Scout songs in the car while cruising through the desert on our way to Yosemite, Salton Sea, Lake Mead.

    I wonder if kids would respond to such a magazine as Boy’s Life these days – something to involve them in projects other than surfing their phones. Sad reflection on today’s obsession with technology.

    Cheers, and enjoy your weekend! ❤

    • Well, so happy to be joining you on your favorite road trips, Bela. Fun times. Sounds like they contributed to building a strong and unique character who would be nice to get to know. . . Bela, you mention alone and quiet times. Interesting, you stayed this way throughout your life.
      Some kids can be engaged by adults paying attention to a subject the child loves. My grandkids do enjoy computers and games.They also love flashlight walks and hide and seek. Even in my tiny apt. Hasta luego. 🙂

  11. Robin, you’ve sent me reminiscing about magazines from when I was a kid. They were so important to us. Have you seen any recent Highlights magazines?

    • Good question! There were a few younger commenters with kids here. One said the Bear family section is gone and said the the good kid and naughty one (“Goofus and Gallant”)is still around. I have not checked out one of these but believe Highlights is still around, Luanne.
      I liked books a lot so Readers Digest magazine and the condensed books were ones I would pick up and read while children were asleep on babysitting jobs. Did you get Weekly Readers at school?

  12. oh, this really took me down memory lane, robin! i loved so many of these same magazines, and would look through them for hours, talking about them and cutting out special things to keep. )

    • So glad you enjoyed this subject, Beth. This was the time period where we couldn’t just copy and paste what we wanted to keep or look back upon in reference. Glad you made it a “hands on,” flip the pages, and cut out what you needed experience.
      Wasn’t it fun looking at them with a friend? 🙂

  13. I loved the Betsy McCall paper dolls! I had to share with my sisters so there usually wasn’t much left of them by the time we were through playing with them. I then graduated to Tiger Beat and other teen magazines. I didn’t see the magazine, but I remember the big controversy over Burt Reynolds posing for Cosmopolitan.

    • You made me giggle over Burt. You know today, April, I was at my daughter in law’s baby shower and the “girls” were saying there is a photo (on the internet) of nude Adam Levine draped over or leaning on a motorcycle. No private parts revealed and they did not show it to me. One young woman said she did not think he was sexy before seeing it.
      I do think Burt’s centerfold had his hand or arm strategically placed:)
      I am happy to read you also loved Betsy McCall paper dolls, April. Whoever was the artist they made her so cute! I believe she ended up having twin brothers, but not sure. I wish sisters and you

      • Adding to comment to April, I am glad you and your sisters shared the Betsy McCall paper dolls. Only too bad you were not able to have duplicates. . . Hope you have a great day tomorrow celebrating with kids Father’s Day.

  14. I love the Highlights! I don’t and never really did get too many magazines. Which is nice because when I went to the doctor’s offices the ‘old’ magazines were new enough to me. 🙂 Happy Weekend Robin! 🙂

    • From what you have described of your busy family while growing up, Colleen, I think it may have just created ‘tussles’ over whose magazine or whose turn it was to read. . . April mentioned her sisters and her sharing Betsy McCall paper doll once a month in magazine. I picture accidental rips.

      • I can’t imagine us fighting over magazines! They would not have survived. Back in the day we did have daily newspapers delivered. We all read them, but I don’t remember fighting about it.

      • Oh, this is a good sign of a family which knows how to share, Colleen. 🙂
        We did not get a lot of magazines but we’re lucky to get a few, as I mentioned. Books from either the library or bookmobile were valued and enjoyed.

  15. I read several of these magazines, Robin. Fun to remember them by reading your post.

    I grew up in a large family and one of my brothers was the family comedian. We all thought he was hilarious. Did you read the Parade last Sunday? It had an interview with Bill Hader and Amy Poehler. They were each asked at one point in life did they realize they were funny. Bill Hader grew up in Tulsa, OK. He said one day he, his mom, and his grandmother were driving by Oral Roberts and there is a sculpture of giant praying hands. His grandmother asked what it was. He replied, “giant praying hands and at midnight they clap.” His grandmother didn’t think it was funny, but his mother died laughing and she went home and told his dad and he thought it was hilarious as well. That’s when he knew he was funny.:)

    • I appreciate your telling me about the recent Parade newspaper insert magaxine. Usually, my Mom will save the 3-4 weeks editions between our visits. Thank you for the funny story that Bill H. told about when he knew he was funny, Becky!
      I like Bill Hader when he imitates Rod Serling and how he would announce, “The Twilight Zone.” Amy Poehler was such a hoot in her role in “Baby Mama.” It may have had inappropriate behavior but I loved laughing at her. Also, once in awhile, will watch her t.v. show, “Parks and Recreation. “

  16. You always say something that takes me back, and today it was your magazine memories…McCall’s…Highlights…I got Highlights off the Grimes County Bookmobile in the summers! Now, those were treasure to me! 🙂

    • I loved when I lived in Sandusky, Ohio when the book mobile would come. So glad to know this filled you with some happy memories. Did your Highlights magazine have a check out card and did they stamp it with date? That was one “tool” I wanted: a rubber stamp which could have numbers to be changed. I would play librarian but have to neatly print made up dates on pieces of paper. 🙂

    • You are welcome. Did you read that over Mothers Day weekend my purse was stolen while it was at my feet and I was blogging? I just have been less interested in blogging or visiting blogs. My cell phone Transition sunglasses, cash and credit cards plus silly things I had to round up like a new drivers license and medical insurance cards. I am glad in the scheme of things not life or death or that sort of crime. . . Still have to go to court and go through that process. Take care and God bless you.

      • I did not read that post. I m about all of that horrible stuff that you have had to deal with. I have thought about you often, and have wished the best for you. My blogging is always something that relates to my ministry, or is “fishing” where I am trying to draw unbelievers to my blog. Always know that if you need to do so, we can talk or email. That is only if you feel comfortable in doing so. Your email address shows in my comments area of my blog, but I don’t make unsolicited emails. My wife and “Cockatiel” know that many people call me, and may call me, about ministry-related matters. Please know that I will keep you in my prayers. Many blessings to you.

      • I am usually not a complainer but this was just something I pray about for letting it go as far as this goes. All else in my life is fine. I have been told that being a crime victim is hard on women, particularly. The library surveillance tape showed a man with long legs pulling my purse towards him and then he leaned down and put it into his backpack. As a generous and helpful person the fact he was looking at me as I was on a facing computer jars me. Thanks for listening. I have thousands of emails since I set up the wrong filters on wordpress so I never email.

  17. I haven’t thought of Boy’s Life in 45 years, Robin! Thanks for reminding me. I read it when I was a Cub Scout. I didn’t like scouting much. I prefered sports, so dropped out before I made it up to Boy Scouts, sticking with Little League and organized basketball league teams instead.

    As far as magazines go, I’ve been reading Sports Illustrated, I’m fairly certain, since I’ve been 12. That’s a lot of years. I also now read Time and Entertainment Weekly.

    Thanks for the great post, my friend.

    • I have been pleased to see all the people who at least tried scouts, Mark. Sports are a very good route, learning to work on a team, practicing skills and the best friends can be found in teams. Those are great magazines, Mark:)

  18. Enjoyed reading this post Robin,the Boy Scouts magazine was an excellent publication, clean , healthy and for Boys, an adventure, I remember my Daughter cutting out Dolls and their clothes to be attached by little folds of paper, I kept them all in a scrap book for when she grew up, alas the album went astray.
    A lovely post Robin.

    • I am so glad you found this enjoyable, Ian. I was not sure if you had a similar magazine or the same one? I like that you helped your daughter keep her paper dolls straighted out in an album. I felt the need to simplify my life, making choices of which things might be kept and then, of course, I felt a little sad at losing this myself. By telling me your daughter’s is also gone, somehow this makes it feel ‘normal’ to have moved on in life without it.
      Thanks for sharing and helping me feel happy once again! Hugs, Robin

    • Thanks for checking another post out. I may have told you my posts with definitions (regret, patience or forms of frame) are like fun wordplays, while my Islands, bridges or Radio Flyer inventor stories are informative. Lately, have been not as intriguing, more bits and pieces. Smiles, Robin

Leave a Reply

