“Sea You” on Lake Erie

Image

“Slip Sliding Away”

by Paul Simon

and sung with

Art Garfunkel

seems to express

the silliness of

Sand

Sun

Slime

Slippery

Sons

of

Oldest

Daughter,

Micah

&

Skyler.

The rush of

Getting ready

completed,

Waiting on

the sidewalk

for Nana,

The

Chauffeur,

to Pick up

Still Dry Boys,

Uncle Randy,

and Mommy.

0 o 0 o 0 o 0 o 0 o 0 o 0

Heavy portable

Cooler,

Filled

with

Water,

Juices

of Apple

and Peach,

Bottles

Chilled

with Ice.

Cheddar

and

Provolone

Cheeses,

Crackers,

Plums

and

Red grapes

Set out on

Plates

for Snacks.

Five towels

Laid upon

Sandy

Breezy

Wavy

Huntington Beach,

Bay Village, Ohio.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Three Episodes,

(Thursday,

Friday,

Saturday)

First **TWO** with Big

Splashing Waves!

A Red Flag:

No people

Allowed

in Water!

Oh no!

///////////////////////

Line slashed

through

Swimmer.

Inscrutable

at First.

Indecipherable

of Impact

upon Boys,

Uncle, Nana

and Mom

(With High

Hopes

of Reading

a Book.)

////////////////////////

Solution:

Sand into Buckets,

Buckets filled with Water

at edge of Lake Erie.

Big tunnels to create

a Castle’s Moat.

Slippery sand,

wet, dripping

little droplets’

combination

makes little turrets

on the Castle’s Peaks.

Slithering like a snake

Creates sandy boys

from Head to Toe.

A stick drawing

Letters of

Names,

becomes

a ‘cane’

to lean

upon,

As

sleepy

sandy

boys

head

to car

and

“home

away

from

Home.”

Created

by

reocochran

July 6, 2015.

NOTE:

Paul

Simon

Song:

Written

in 1977,

with

Back Up

Singers,

The

Oak Ridge

Boys.

73 responses »

    • Danica, the back up band was those “Boys!” I did not know this until I looked up the year. . . I was a junior in college that year so it was definitely a favorite. Not really about a beach, though. ๐Ÿ™‚

  1. Evocative writing Robin – I could smell the salty water and feel the sand run beneath my toes …… Thank you for a lovely touch of summer warmth on this cold wintery day xoxo By the way there is a post up – thank you for your constant support and gentle nudges ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Pauline, good to know about your post “being up!”
      Sorry it is cold there but happy to send you very warm thoughts. Glad you could “feel” them from way over here ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Ah this is great, Robin .. we’ve all had beach days just like that but your descriptive writing is spot on and certainly took me right there with you. Loved it!

    • Lake Erie is “cleaner and softer” sand, Jenny than our Delaware State Park we usually go to. They certainly “reveled” in the texture. Thanks for allowing me to “take you there,” ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Elizabeth, I was sad when they went different directions, too.
      Did you see a long time ago my post with Paul Simon’s personal donations to the R &R Hall of Fame? It included a hand written note from Art to Paul during their grammar school days. Paul was away at camp. Apparently, they remain friends, from what I found out at the Cleveland, OH Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.
      I do like the idea of incorporating the African boys’ choir to Paul Simon’s fantastic album “Graceland.” It is not quite a sing along album. My grandies will get up and dance to it , though. His creative juices went one way and Art’s another, I guess.
      We still have their old music together and may listen to “Bridge over Troubled Waters” or “Sounds of Silence…” Or what is your favorite song, Elizabeth?

      • Oh. Thank you for reminding me of the song, “I Am a Rock.” Last night, my youngest daughter and I watched Reese Witherspoon in, “Wild.” Guess what, Elizabeth? I could not believe the song running throughout the movie, included the words of Paul Simon. I need to look up the song, “I’d rather be a . . .” (Yes, I would.) I will come bsck.

      • Oh. Thank you for reminding me of the song, “I Am a Rock.” Last night, my youngest daughter and I watched Reese Witherspoon in, “Wild.” Guess what, Elizabeth? I could not believe the song running throughout the movie, included the words of Paul Simon. I need to look up the song, “I’d rather be a sparrow than a snail” which is called, “El Condor Pasa.” They also included, “Homeward Bound.”
        I liked the movie but it is gritty and for mature audiences, Elizabeth. We both cried, too. xo

    • Dan, I imagine more good memories of being allowed in the water than banned! Glad you have these to mix in with this reminder post. I was laughing at how the boys looked like they stepped out of, “Lord of the Flies.” ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thanks for the extra special compliment, Beth. You are so nice!
      I do hope someday to take them up to see Sleeping Bear dunes with white sand and deep blue water ๐Ÿ™‚ someday. . . Your neck of the woods.
      Carrie and I have set a goal to go to see her beloved Savannah, Georgia. She dreams of Masters in Art there at the Art Institute. Boys deseve an out of state vacation next summer for a week. I see on a map a 30 minute drive to the beach.

  3. What fun! Water or no water, sand is a magnet for children. I don’t like the sand in the car, but it is worth it. Loved your snacks. Sounds the a perfect outing, Robin. And what a clever format for painting such a vivid summer picture, so much so that it brings back all those we ourselves enjoyed once upon a time. Lovely post, Robin.

    • This means a lot, Beth, that you found my format open to others’ memories. I am happy to trigger some sand and sun past experiences. I like how you wrote this sweet compliment!
      It took less time to write than I expected but some other words kept wanting “included!” ๐Ÿ™‚
      I have photos of the castle; with moat deep enough my giant 10 year old grandson stands with it halfway up his shins. Also, sandy boys looking like they escaped out of, “Lord of the Flies.” Inevitable sticks in hands.

      • Ohio must be such a lovely place Robin, because it seems like all the iconic Americana symbols and places are found there, based on your posts. I have only been through there, on the highway. Some day I must stop and visit. I have cousins there and am ashamed to say, I have never been to see them.

      • Someday, if you visit your cousins, we may squeeze some moments in to share a coffee or iced tea while chatting in person, Beth. Thanks for feeling a bit of Americana in my Ohio posts.

    • Oh, this is a big dream for my oldest daughter who has some friends out West in Utah and California, Juan. It would be such a gorgeous place to travel!
      We have set a goal to head to Georgia to check out an Art Institute Carrie dreams of going to get her Master’s at “someday.” We will go to their first ocean along the East coast about 1/2 hour away from Savannah next summer ๐Ÿ™‚

      • My son Chris got his Masters of Arts from The Mason Gross School of Art at Rutgers in NJ

      • I am so glad you told me this, Juan. It is wonderful to have art around us. I have three of my oldest daughter’s and five of my brother’s paintings. Let me know if your son has a website to look at (and others can check out, too. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thank you, Elizabeth. If you were closer to us, we would try and meet you there. My Mom and Dad’s retirement cottage is a “hop and skip” from where Mom lives in a senior living home, close to my brothers and one sister in law. My niece, husband, baby and 12 year old step daughter live in their cottage, paying rent to cover taxes and upkeep.
      So happy this post made you dream of going there. You are someone I would love to meet ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Jo, you may wish to put your towel under the umbrellas planted in the sand away from the ruckus. Then, you may enjoy a “view from afar!” They are rowdy and not sure if you would wear sunglasses to remain incognito. . .
      Psst! I will sneak over with a snack tray specially prepared with mentioned healthy and delicious treats. The plums just oozed with sweet fruity nectar. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I also did not know the Oak Ridge Boys backed up Simon and Garfunkel. I do know there have been other fine groups do backup for Paul Simon, including The Dixie Hummingbirds (Love Me Like a Rock), and a group I have followed since they backed up Paul Simon on his Graceland album, Ladyship Black Mambaso. Other vocals on the album included The Everly Brothers and Linda Ronstadt. Other notables include Phoebe Snow and a reunion appearance by Art Garfunkel (My Little Town) on the Still Crazy After All These Years album.

    • I love your fountain of information, Mike! Such great details of other shared Paul Simon, Art Garfunkel with musical collaborations!
      Thanks for these cool facts which are all new to me except “Graceland” with Ladyship Black Mambaso! “Mucha gracias, Miguel.” Abrazos y besos.

  5. Beauty poem of beachy fun. We’ve been swimming in a lake almost every day for two weeks. It’s lovely but not much writing is getting done. Lots of happy memories are being collected for those cold winter days.The boys are old enough now to enjoy the old James Bond movies. I watched Dr. No today. My boys are not very impressed by the gadgets. LOL

Leave a Reply

