Air Supply

Image

While this is not my usual wordplay,

I wish to engage in some thoughts

Considering our quality of air we breathe.

We were talking about our warehouse air,

Sometimes it is nice and brisk and clear.

This would be around the shipping docks,

Bright and early morning.

Mid-morning has broken,

Cool air shifts and brings

Waves of muggy,

Humid, hot “windless” air.

It is dusty and dirty,

Sometimes you see hanging particles,

Actually view cardboard dust,

Dirt from vehicles, hampers and boxes.

Blessed to have our jobs,

Not complaining as we feel it,

“Could be worse:”

Think about sitting as a lifeguard,

Breathing in chlorine wafting off the pool.

Think about the mothers in past lives,

Sweeping and trying to keep dust managed,

Where their floors were made of dirt.

Picture men trudging early darkened morn’s,

Boarding carts traveling underground,

To coal mines deep, black as midnight.

Picture the history of slavery,

Present long days of migrant workers,

Working under hot, bright sunlight with

Little shade to protect them from heat.

Sticky, hot and nauseating.

Imagine gym locker room showers,

Closed in radio stations,

Office building cubicles,

Stagnant, stale air.

~ * ~    ~* ~    ~ * ~

Switch gears and thoughts now:

Coworkers list special work areas,

Ones we can all agree upon as

Shining, glowing examples of

Where we would not mind breathing

Deeply, sighing in relief.

Air conditioned theaters,

Buttered popcorn scented cold air,

Concessionaire or ticket seller heaven.

Tall pines, rushing waterfalls,

Cool mountain streams,

Winding paths through

Natural wonders,

Park Ranger

Forest Ranger

Outdoor Adventures.

Bread, pastries, homemade buns

Frosting and cinnamon,

Aromas wafting upon the air,

Door opening to customers of

Ye Olde Bakery Shoppe.

Chocolate, maple and vanilla,

Candies sitting delicately in

Brown crinkled edged cups.

Pulled, chewy salt water taffy,

Colorful candies wrapped in wax paper,

Delicious aromatic air.

To be a confectionary clerk

In a Sweets Shoppe,

What a wonderful position indeed.

Written by Robin Oldrieve Cochran

*****************************************

Switch your thoughts now:

What is your picture of a wonderful

Air supply?

************************************************

The carbon monoxide detector went off,

Freaking out poor kitties for hours,

(I was away for the weekend day)

Shrilly sounding its alarm:

^^^ “Bee-eep!” ^^^ “Bee-eep!” ^^^

Upon arrival found one throw up incident.

Other kitty left more foul evidence of distress.

Long Distance call Verizon to Verizon,

From cats’ parents from afar~

Having reached the Badlands

Viewed the Awesome Sight of

Presidents at Mount Rushmore,

“Won’t be long,”

I told dear kitties,

“Till Mommy and Daddy will be home!”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I cannot resist mentioning

Air Supply,

(1982)

Greatest Hits,

Australian Pop Musical Group.

“Every Woman in the World”

“Even the Nights Are Better”

“Sweet Dreams”

“Here I Am”

~~ ** ~~

74 responses »

  1. I was wondering if you were going to get to the band Robin. I was pretty sure you would. I feel bad about the cats. My father told stories about walking to work in Pittsburgh in the 50s and having to tie a handkerchief around his face on bad days (inversions). Interior or exterior, we take good air for granted but someone is there who would prefer to mess it up.

    • That is an incredible true story about how long pollution has been affecting our lungs, Dan. I am glad your father shared this and you remembered it, too. Wearing a handkerchief was a great idea. I bet not everyone gave this such serious consideration!
      We think smoking is bad and contributed to my Dad’s death, but we also think working in nuclear reactors, first in Oak Ridge, TN then at Plum Brook in Sandusky, OH wasn’t an innocent source of air supply. Not sure if engineers wore masks? Did you have a favorite Air Supply song?

      • I remember the band but not much of their music. Pittsburgh in the old steel days was a pretty grim place. Lots of people had respiratory issues.

      • Thank you for letting me know about the grim atmosphere of Pittsburgh, Dan. I had a roommate from there my senior year of college. She was in theater and named Lee Anne. Funny but her last name draws a big blank. We lived on the 10th floor and during the 1978 blizzard the elevator and water supply weren’t working. It was fun taking sleds downtown to get alcohol. My mind wanders… My oldest daughter’s best friend, Jen Bach, went the opposite direction and studied theater at Pitt.

  2. What a coincidence for me Robin. Yesterday, we broke down the hood and fan over our stove and I was cleaning it all afternoon. This morning I woke up with a cough and sniffles and wondered if something I released while cleaning got into my nose and lungs.

    My idea of perfect air is in the mountains. Every time I visit any mountain, I can see the difference when we descend. Sometimes air at the beach is refreshing and clean.

    I like your list except the movie theaters. People cough in those places and heaven knows what germs float around, LOL!

    In Asia, workers in your situation wear dust masks.

    Sorry about those poor kitties! Every time we leave for the day, we wonder what the “children” are enduring in our absence and are always relieved to come home and find them having survived our days out. If only our pets could tell us what goes on in the house when we are away. 😀

    Good topic!

    • Thanks, Beth! You mentioned a few “bad” sources of air.
      As far as information you shared and coincidences, this is not the first time! We may as well admit our affiliation with “Trekkies,” Beth. They may catch onto our mind-melding ability. . . 🙂
      It is sad you had this incident with cleaning the hood over your stove, Beth. I hope maybe next time or any deep cleaning you may take a bandana or buy those disposable masks. I used to buy them at hardware stores, first for painting, then I started using them for under beds and in our cleaning out Mom’s cottage. They are fairly cheap but did create a little heat in summer time. No rashes or other breathing problems, though.
      I am glad you mentioned dust masks in Asia factories. I do agree we should wear masks at work. I do when I have to sweep. It is so hot, I sometimes worry the mask would feel like I was being smothered, Beth.
      I can picture your climbing high into the mountains with your husband. I have been mainly to Smoky Mountains so wish to go to even higher altitudes. I like any places where there is less civilization and open spaces. The air up in Maine and Upper Michigan with chlorophyll from dense trees and woodlands just lifts me up.
      You have beautiful beaches out where you are! Thank you for sharing your favorite places to breathe!

      • I really should have worn a mask yesterday. I don’t know why it didn’t occur to me since I am a bit of a hypochondriac (could you tell?). Yes, we think alike, a lot! Which is comforting to me, since I like your thoughts, LOL! I agree about forests. Nothing like trees to clean our air. 🙂

      • I may have sounded bossy but just out of concern, Beth. ♡ No, I think you are organized and detail oriented which creates great post but did not realize you may be a closet hypochondriac. 🙂

  3. I learned the hard way that CO2 detectors are built with a long range timer that causes them to constantly chirp after 7 years of activation, rendering them useless and of course annoying. How did I find this out? My CO2 detector “expired” while I was on vacation last year and my sister, who had come to check up on the cats, was freaking out over why it wouldn’t go off… even with new batteries. So I got the rest of my trip worrying about whether the air in my house was really safe or not, and who knows how long the poor kitties had to listen to that constant chirping before my sister caught it and yanked out the batteries.

    When I got home and was able to examine the faulty detector, that’s where I saw the warning that it would go into constant chirp mode to force replacement exactly 7 years after it was activated.

    • I will mention this to Dave and Jenny about the 7 year replacement expiration date, E.S. It sure is weird or ironic that people find good people to take care of their homes and pets, then doesn’t take long for a problem to occur. In her pages of notes, Jenny never would have guessed about this to include what to do or its location. They have high ceilings so I was glad it was set on a ledge which I could climb to. This one’s “chirps” were extremely high pitched and was still not able to locate without interrupting them. I feel bad you worried over your vacation about the monoxide poisoning. Such a nice guy! 🙂

  4. Our air supply is rather vital, isn’t it? With all the wildfires in the province, our air supply “tastes” like the inside of a chimney. Not as bad these past few days, but still there.

    • Unfortunately, I bet you have some of it in your lungs, Anneli. Not to worry you, I don’t wear a mask in our hot, long days at the warehouse but when they ask me to sweep, I do. I don’t like the masks due to sweating more and already feeling stifled. So sorry you are still having those dang fires. Wish you could lose that taste “for good.” Good point our air supply is vital. Thanks and sending you hope for change. 🙂

      • This is the way it goes with weather changes and people’s complaints usually. But this kind of scary weather deserves complaining, Anneli. Hope you have good weekend dear!

  5. Great post! I have a story about the group Air Supply and why I boycott them. My son had a psychotic break and was living in San Diego at the
    time. He was put in a locked down facility there. I went to visit him and a man was playing a guitar at “music time”. Turns out he was in the Air Supply group for many years. The two lead singers would only pay standard Union pay for everyone on the band and they would keep the big bucks to themselves… The guitar playing man went on to say, after all those years as back up man, neither one of those lead guys even wish him well… That’s my story and I’m sticking to it:)

    • I am sad to know this about Air Supply’s two main band members. This really reflects badly on them. Wonder why they wouldn’t try to be more fair and aldo, not be lime most bands keep in touch? My youngest daughter has two musical friends. They both treat the ones around them like “family.” Thanks for sharing. I hope your son has been able to find good balance in his life between exercise, diet and medications. I have had friends who dealt with psychological problems and it is tough to find good solutions.

    • I am sad to know this about Air Supply’s two main band members. This really reflects badly on them. Wonder why they wouldn’t try to be more fair and also, not be like most bands and keep in touch? My youngest daughter has two musical friends. They both treat the ones around them like “family.” Thanks for sharing. I hope your son has been able to find good balance in his life between exercise, diet and medications. I have had friends who dealt with psychological problems and it is tough to find good solutions.

  6. I always enjoy your postings Robin
    as they are well informed and have
    many qualities my sweet friend 🙂

    This is just a one post visit for today
    but I am planning a come-back soon
    and then I shall be venturing through
    all of your posts and adding my slant
    here, there and everywhere 😉

    Have a deliciously exciting weekend Robin 😉

    Andro xxx

    • I do not feel it necessary to have my friends read everything, Andro. We just need to stop for visits and stay in touch.I am a weekend catch up person, but if I have a busy week, then I go even longer. . .
      thanks for stopping by with a lovely comment! Hope you have a wickedly fun weekend, my friend 😉

  7. Ah the freshness of the Ocean air especially in the early mornings, as the tide comes in. By mid day I am in cool a/c home, early evening the swimming pool, sunset walks on the beach and slight change in air as the tides comes in…Have a great weekend! Hugs and smiles

  8. Ha! Yes, I was definitely waiting for the mention of the band immediately but love how you took us on a journey through all the different types of things the air holds for us and love the dichotomy between the first and second verses. And then, of course, the third…poor kitties!

    • Poor kitties who just had the bad luck to have their Mommy and Daddy take off and leave them ( in their minds) “orphans.” Jenny and Dave feed them 4 times a day. Tiny snacks in early morning and bedtime. They meow piteously when I only feed them 2 hearty meals a day 🙂
      So glad not to disappoint you with this post and like how you saw the chapters, Marissa. ♡

  9. Ah – Air Supply! So like their music – still! How great not to stay in the harsh reality of poor air, but to choose to wander at will in more pleasant places in your thoughts. I am fortunate to live in a place where the air has no option but to be clear 🙂 I appreciate it every day!

    • This was so nice of you to like my wandering off into imaginary places where they may not have what is considered “clean air” at least they would be fragrant and delicious aromas, Pauline.
      I am very happy you live in a clear atmosphere. No reason to long for a getaway from where you are, except for wasn’t it you who were sad about flooding? I hope you may have things change if this is creating a problem with living in a seaside cottage, Pauline. xo

      • THANKS….I’ll try not to pollute it too much with MOXIE fumes! 🙂 Yup it’s nice. sometimes wish there were a little less air between us, BUT THEN…you and a whole lot of my blogger friends might not find me so charming…or motor-mouthed…in person! Oh well. 😀

      • Yes, moxie fumes are not so great, Jon. I like that Cleveland air and Lake Erie are doing fairly well. We may meet on the road of life and it will be nice. 🙂

  10. It was just a coincidence (if you believe in such things) that we took our visiting friends on a drive to the mountains on the perfect, sunny day. The mountain air was crisp and clean. The views were breathtaking. The wildflowers were in full display. We all felt pretty darn lucky to have seen such wondrous sights standing between two towering, glacier-covered volcanic peaks, Mt. Baker and Mt. Shuksan, and breathing in the forest-scented mountain air.

    We were truly blessed on this day that you chose to write about Air Supply. – Mike

    • Mike, I am sure you may wonder why I save my comments for you but I really liked what you said yesterday but it is dated today. I am eating scrambled eggs and sipping coffee. 🙂
      Thanks, Mike for sharing your ride up the mountain with us. I am sure Florence and your friends had a great time !:) could savor all my senses filled with cool, crisp, clean mountain air, see the beauty and wonder in the tall trees and 3 mountain peaks, hear nature in the mountain streams gurgling (were there any?) and the pretty, colorful wildflowers’ colors washing over me. Yes, no need for photographs; if you have a vivid imagination! *♡*♡*

      • We did stop at Nooksack Falls on the drive. The falls are about 100′ high and the drop in the river’s elevation was utilized as a hydroelectric power station back in the 1920’s. We had such a warm, snowless winter this year that the water level of the river is at a historic low, but it was still spectacular, especially for Florida folks, since theirs is a mostly flat state.

      • Mike, this sounds like a fascinating place. Low water but still got to be near Nooksack Falls and glad your Florida friends who crossed the country in their camper are seeing the sights of a lifetime. You and Florence are the best hosts.:)

  11. I’ve been away from blogging a little while and I realised this morning I haven’t seen your posts in ages – and then discovered I had accidentally unfollowed you! Apologies for this – I’m looking forward to catching up! I enjoyed this!

    • Suzie, not sure how this goes but I don’t get friends in my Reader so sometimes I have to unfollow to get them in my Reader. Plus, now I have a Galaxie phone and I simply hover with my finger over something and all “hell” breaks loose:)

      • Thank you, just the busy season at work and juggling baseball games for 10 year old grandson. Hope you are well and will go right over to see your smart, witty and amusing posts. You may wish to visit a few of my great people here. They are a lively, interesting bunch. You have so many to keep track of you may not wish to overload. Up to you! 🙂

  12. What a wonderful poem. I breathed in and out, deep, as I read it. Deeper as I got to the good smells. 🙂 The ocean, how I love breathing in the salt air as I drive closer and closer to the ocean.

    • I love your reaction. Oh, ocean breezes are so exhilerating! Thanks for adding to this and hope your weekend helps you “breathe easily,” NO matter what comes your way.

  13. Robin … Your words evoke such vivid images, smells and sounds. Photos of miners emerging from the coal mines, migrant and farm workers sweating under the blazing, hot sun. Then, shifting to the kind of air I’d love to be surrounded by – the fresh, crisp, cool outdoors.

    I can also empathize with the cats suffering from annoying, shrill sounds. Ours did the same as a machine sucked moisture out of a room after a huge leak from our roof. We were out of town and our neighbors, who were watching our cats, shut off the machine during the day to give our cats a break. At night, they had rooms to retreat to to avoid the noise.

    • Judy, this was so lovely of you to mention evocative images since I had large sections I eliminated feeling it was getting long and possibly boring. 🙂 I loved your Roman trip and what a lifetime family experience! Wouldn’t you like to take off your shoes and wipe the right foot of St. Peter and spread his luck upon your weary feet? You certainly won’t look at the Tom Hanks movie, was it the “Da Vinci Code, the same way nor “Roman Holiday.”

    • P. S. so glad at least you had friends who shut the machinery down while you were away. Sweet cats were probably ecstatic to see you all home again. Rest up and unwind from your great adventures. ♡

Leave a Reply

