Aside

“If you are fortunate enough to have your own children, continue to appreciate

their wisdom.

If not, put away your newspaper the next time you are sitting on a park bench

and tune in to the conversation in the sandbox.”

~Cynthia Copeland Lewis

I have had a book which is like the size of a bathroom book since 1994.

This is one where you may pick it up and read a few pages out of hundreds

of random sayings about children.

The book written by Cynthia Copeland Lewis is called,

“Really Important Stuff My Kids Have Taught Me.”

The book is in yellow, purple, black and white.

There are a few little drawings but scattered thoughts on each page.

No numbers on pages, a fun book!

At first I thought about making this list of about Ten Things found in the book.

But, alas, for readers and my lazy typing fingers,

I found Twenty Things to Share with You, dear friends.

I gathered thoughts into “categories” so you may feel I did some work today.

~~~  ***  ~~~

RELATIONSHIPS:

1. “One thing you can’t pretend to be is funny.”

2. “To make a see-saw work, you have to take turns being down.”

3. “There ARE names that hurt more than sticks and stones.”

4. “Save a place in line for your friends.”

~~~  ***  ~~~

KIDS’ LOGIC:

1. “It’s possible to feel full when it comes to more vegetables,

but not full when it comes to a piece of cake.”

(My logic, too. Thanks for putting this so succinctly, Cynthia C. Lewis!)

2. “Pants are better with pockets.”

3. “Ask ‘why?’ until you understand.”

4. “It doesn’t count if your swing is going the highest if you’re getting pushed.”

~~~  ***  ~~~

OBSERVATIONS:

1. “The harder the wind blows, the higher your kite will fly.”

(Oh, so true about life and its obstacles! ~R.C.)

2. “Three hops get you as far as a leap.”

3. “Nobody likes a tattletale.”

4. “All people look silly when they yawn.”

~~~  ***  ~~~

SILLY STUFF WITH MEANINGS:

1. “Don’t say ‘The last one there is a rotten egg,’

unless you are absolutely sure there’s a slow kid

behind you.”

2. “Even if you make a really nice place for it to live,

with grass and dirt and a few rocks and sticks,

the caterpillar will still spend all of its time trying to

get out of the jar.”

3. “If splashing in puddles means you have to wear

wet shoes for the rest of the day, sometimes it’s worth it.”

4. “Before you climb the tree, make sure your mother is

close enough to hear you holler, if you need help on the way down.”

(In my personal experience with two brothers, I made sure one was

capable of running and rounding up the babysitter or Mom.~ R.C.)

~~~  ***  ~~~

LIFE LESSONS:

1. “Climbing the hill is more fun than standing on top.”

2. “Rolling down the hill after climbing up the hill, is even better!”

(My addition to Cynthia’s suggestion. ~ R.C.)

3. “Home sick is the worst kind of sick.”

4. “Pick up your little sister or brother when they fall down.”

(You will always feel better; also helps in the future of becoming friends. ~ R.C.)

Childhood memories are always a subject near to my heart.

We all have them, we may have learned something from an

“incident” which merits sharing.

If you have one you would not mind letting us know about,

please add them in the comments section.

*I learned that a little bit of Ivory Dish Soap with a sponge on

bathroom tile walls, will guarantee DELAYED arrival of Christmas

presents with my name on the tag for ONE WHOLE DAY! (Age 5.)*

“So, you BETTER WATCH OUT. . .

Santa really does know whether you are bad or good!” ~R.C.

If you prefer not to expose any mistakes which turned into lessons,

let me know which of the list made an impact or gave you a chuckle.

<> <> <> <> <> <> <> <> <> <> <> <> <> <> <> <> <> <> <> <> <>

Wisdom of the Sandbox

65 responses »

  1. If splashing in puddles means wearing wet shoes for the rest of the day sometimes it’s worth it !!! It brings me smiles. A piece of cake means not full gave me a chuckle.

  2. This was so wonderful, Robin. My favorite is (and it is hard to just pick one), “homesick is the worst kind of sick”. How true.

    It all reminds me of that “All I Really Need to Know I Learned in Kindergarten” by Robert Fulghum. We adults need to listen to children more. When all of us are young, we are naturally empathic and kind. The rest is taught to us throughout our lives and drowns out our native instincts to be good.

    • You definitely are naming a great example of understanding children in Robert Fulghum! I liked Beth’s (missing glasses blog) quote over the weekend by Mr. Rogers, too.
      I agree with yoi, Beth, we have so much empathy and interest in getting to know others while young.
      Too bad those cameras in the Sky can’t capture our younger selves and then “feed the film images” back to us when we grow older, less giving and more jaded. “Sandbox” or playground interactions could provide valuable memory exercises for people who block their natural instincts of sharing and helping others. Babies in nurseries cry out of sympathy or at least I think I hope they do. Thanks for your valuable input. 🙂

  3. “It’s possible to feel full when it comes to more vegetables,

    but not full when it comes to a piece of cake.”
    My absolute fave Robin, and so often the case with my children, particularly my daughter.

    • Thanks, Marissa for finding one of C.C. Lewis’ really meaningful messages, especially applicable to your family! I think that post with your family dripping chocolate reminded me of some kind of cocoa or cacao loving vampires. You all looked like wild and free fun-loving fiends. I do hope you take this well. . .

      • Oh absolutely! Could not think of a higher compliment Robin. You know, I do think you’ve got my number! Thank you for sharing from your book. It made for a really fun blog.

      • So glad I have figured out a little about you and your family.
        It is always nice to “kick back” and share something you found and may (after 21 years) not be on anyone else’s radar. In other words, I am really lazy, Marissa. 🙂 Happy you liked this!

  4. One thing you can’t pretend to be is funny. How true. Out of the mouths of babes…Robin, this is a great post, thank you for the gentle amusement it provided me with as I sat down after work with a cup of tea😀

    • Jenny, this book has gone from a house full of family to my one bedroom apt. (When you downsize you have to pick rather carefully.) The words aren’t that original in some cases but like you, they give me smiles and a certain amount of gentle comfort. Now, since it is late I need to make some caffeine free chamomile tea. Cheers!

    • Kirt, this was a fun comment since you found good things in more than one or two quotes from the book. I am happy pictures sprung to your mind from her words. Since you always share your beautiful photos with everyone. 🙂

    • Good to know this one had an actual childhood memory behind it. Although it may not have been the best experience for you, Jo. I used to like the way I felt suspended in the air and sometimes imagined I was in the circus.

      • Oh, I was a little “klutzy” so it was just my imagination going wild. I did like being up in the air but liked up and down movement. Skipping is fun, Jo. 🙂

  5. Pingback: The Sunshine Award | Hummingbird Redemption

  6. These are really the best. Thank you for picking out some gems and sharing with us. I’ve learned so many lessons, it’s hard to pick out a particular memory. The one about the caterpillar always trying to get out of the jar made an impact on me. What a simple and profound thing to say.

    • Thank you, Crystal. The fireflies my children caught were fun to look at and how brightly they lit up the jar. But there is a small part of me which is sad when we capture living things. You left that unspoken but it is a profound part of how I think Native Americans with their living Mother Nature may frown upon jars with bugs. . .
      I think C.C. Lewis really came up with her own children’s thoughts and clever thoughts. I liked these 20 when there were over 200 of the sayings. Each reader could find a different set they treasured.

  7. So much wisdom! With three littles of my own, I know that kids can often teach us huge lessons. I’m going to have to check out that book. It sounds fun!

    • I had 3 children, too. Thanks for liking this booK and post. It is 21 years old. Every page has either 1 or 2 saying on it. I know it would be fun to have hanging around to pick up and open to something funny. 🙂

  8. Robin, I enjoyed this post so much! I’m still smiling at the examples, especially the kids’ logic, which is actually superb logic! I’ve passed your link on to all of my girl cousins! Well done.

  9. oh gosh, robin, i love these so much. especially #3 of the ‘kids’ logic’ section. so many of these are great life lessons. like you, i find great wisdom in the words of children, thanks so much for sharing some of these treasures )

    • I am in awe of you, my new friend! I am sure there are a few other posts you may enjoy someday here. I will check to see but there is an ABC post written on an international note card which all I do was quote it. I cannot wait to check out more of your writing and cooking, too.

  10. If I reblogged, this would have been right up. This is such a great post. So much wisdom, especially with vegetables and cake. One I like was taken from a kid’s science exam. “Genetics is why you look like your parents, and if you don’t, why you should” 🙂

  11. “It doesn’t count if your swing is going the highest if you’re getting pushed.” Only a child could come up with that bit of insight even though we can all relate to it. – Mike

Leave a Reply

