Thursday’s Doors ~ August 13, 2015

Standard

Thank you Norm Frampton for the pleasure of adding a post with subject of “Doors.”

http://miscellaneousmusingsofamiddleagedmind.wordpress.com

When I was part of a women’s group which has sat in courts for Women’s Rights and promoted math and science for girls, through their program of “Be Wise” camp, I used to draw pictures of historical homes, public buildings and churches. If you are a graduate of a college, I highly recommend AAUW, American Association of University Women. My mother was active in Sandusky, state and national activities.

One of their fundraisers was the historical home tours. I enjoyed Lancaster, Ohio tours and Delaware, Ohio. A total of 8 groups of between 6 to 8 buildings. The pen and ink drawings were made into stationery, post cards and decorative mugs. These also were sold at a designated part of the tour, where refreshments were served as part of the ticket’s price. The homes and buildings on the tour were on a leaflet with a map included. All of this introductory information was to get to the “good part.”A large Victorian home was one I discovered early in my years of living in Delaware. It was painted a butter cream, golden color. It has three stories and every Christmas, three holiday decorated trees were brightly featured in their windows, the top one an attic turret. My three children sometimes kept this home as our final destination on our Christmas lights’ car tour.

I was thrilled when somehow a new owner came along and they were willing to be on the home tour.

A home tour team goes to the houses and finds out interior details, while another team goes to research facts from the Delaware County Historical Society.

Here are the details, an arch over the tall door has a “gingerbread house” cut-out, lacy look. The door has had layers of thick paint stripped off to reveal a warm, light oak wood. There is a matte clear lacquer finish over it.

The U. S. Historical Society has designated it as a “Century Home.” The brass plaque with words describing when it was built are on it. The brass door knocker is tarnished and beautifully ornate. The two large pots on either side of the antique door are “Oriental” with pattern resembling “Blue Willow.” Inside the pot are carefully sculptured topiaries, possibly arbor vita. The boot-wiper brush and an old cement cat is curled up on a small blue and gray braided rug

A deluxe description to enhance your picture of this fascinating house’s age and history.

Inside the kitchen, there is an original water pump with a large porcelain sink bigger than most utility sinks. It connected to a cistern. Most common people still did not have indoor plumbing.Β  This indicates original home owners’ wealth and status.

Just imagine all the wondrous treasures and pieces of history, along with cherished memories to be found beyond this front door

Hope this finds you well andΒ  looking towards plans for the upcoming weekend.

About reocochran

I am experiencing crazy and hapless adventures in dating that may interest people over fifty. I am now approaching 62 later this year and enjoy taking photographs, incorporating stories or poetry on my blog. I have many old posts which are informative and written like essays. I have several love stories collected from family and friends. Even strangers spill their stories, since I am a grown version of the girl next door. I have been trying to live a healthy lifestyle with better food selections and active hiking and walking. I have written four children's books and illustrated them. They are not published but a battered women's shelter used one about neglect and abuse for their children's program and a 4H group used my "Kissing a Bunny is like saying a Prayer" as a coloring book. Please comment or respond so I may get a chance to know you. Sincerely, Robin

53 responses »

    • Thank you so much for sharing this fact with us. It also made me go check to see if my cell phone had caged the spelling. It wanted me to write sisters. Then kept the “s” in front! Lol
      So happy, as always to hear the Florida updates from you, Cheryl. Have lots of fun over the weekend. Kids wore jackets this am to school. πŸ™‚

      • Baby Hendrix is doing great and nursing successfully. He didn’t lose more than a few ounces while my 3 children did lose a half pound before leaving hospital. They did double their weight by 6 months of breastfeeding, though.
        Trista is experiencing those pains that come with nursing but contract tummy.
        The other grandkids are testing their limits. Trista over rules my choices of penalties so I may be taking a break while sister in law and brother come down to eat lunch and bring more gifts. Susan has a beagle dog (my niece’s) who had to get surgery at OSU veterinarian hospital and dropped dog off on Tuesday then back to pick up today with brother in tow. They are both professors so off work and empty nesters. Happy and go-lucky! πŸ™‚

    • I notice the architectural details since I try to include ones in my drawings. I am more of a Grandma Moses due to simplicity and no real measurements, (but not nearly as talented) since my brother says my “porches look like they may fall off!”

      • Thanks, Marissa. Silly! πŸ™‚ I had someone say the drawings look “representative of the character of the houses.” This made me feel good, but my children’s book illustrations and “name pictures” I feel are more creative. I did one for two twin baby girls, named “Willow” and “Hazel.” I put two swings on each kind of tree for their namesake. Weeping Willow had purple letters and two little girls swinging between the 2 “L’s.” Hazel has a hazelnut tree with her tree between the “a” and “z,” done in pink.

    • I hope all goes well with your scan. Sorry to hear and hope you will keep us posted. I feel community spirit here, hope you do, too. I like the responses you receive at your blog. πŸ™‚

  1. Someday people will be looking at new houses today and they will say, “We don’t know why they filled their houses with carcinogen materials?”Craftsmanship was how houses lasted so long, lath and plaster wall out live sheetrock…

  2. I love imagining the inner workings behind a door. I love an old home, where someone’s hard work and creativity went in to it. And by the way….you have MANY skills don’t you????? πŸ™‚

    • You are so kind but these homes I draw are lovely and so I try hard. πŸ™‚ They are fun to draw and the stationery has the historic details on the back so people bought them for Delaware correspondence. πŸ™‚ I would be happy to share with you but my kids’ name pictures are great gifts. They love to see their names with details included. πŸ™‚

    • I did not respond to the thoughtful comment about “the inner workings” behind a door. I bet you have a few doors you would capture in ohotos, Colleen. I loved your tree post. Micah asked me to boost him up in a tree recently. He is solidly built so I had a bit of a struggle. He turned and said, “Nana, don’t you lift anything as big as me at work?!” I said back to him, ” How much do you think you weigh?” I had to laugh at 6 year old first grader reolied, “Oh, not more than a hundred pounds.” I fell to the ground and was laughing so hard! πŸ™‚

      • Hi Colleen, happy Friday to you and yours πŸ™‚
        That Micah may be our little “comedian” but hope he will find a career.
        I think, for me, it is the story behind the door, so capturing what you say and it will “reflect” back upon your door. I was not saying you must do this. You are great at finding diverse subject matters, Colleen. Always a 4 β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜† post over at your blog.

    • Are you sure that your analytical mind doesn’t just prefer the singular topic versus the multiply connected “stream of consciousness” format,” Smitty? πŸ™‚ I mean the doors posts are rather straightforward, ha ha!

      • Heh, heh! πŸ˜€ But, yeah, I am. It’s a consequence of having worked in publishing and other fields where presentation is so significant. It can ruin you. It’s like how once you starting drinking really good beers, Coors just doesn’t work for you anymore.

    • Just so you know, I liked your post about the Indians beating your Twins but your “like” button is giving me a hard time. I had to log in each time I commented. I push “Please remember.” Probably my cell phone was made in Cleveland Lol. I pushed “Like” on your Jon Stewart “Adieu” post, too. . . 😦

      • Yeah, WordPress seems to be making some changes lately. The notifications dropdown stopped working for a while, and the font they’re using is way different now. I can imagine they could have “fixed” (ha!) the Like button.

    • It was several years of learning so much about Delaware, Dan. There is a house that became known as the Arts Castle, the old Case Hospital which became the Andrews House where social services and a homeless loft are located. An old hotel which had a bowling alley in the basement which was made into “condo’s.” Lots of fun facts about the homes and families, too. You are so right, I like that word “yearn,” too.

  3. You would make a great tour guide for a historic homes walk. I especially like your attention to details, which fill in with words where pictures are not used. Yours is one of the few blogs I know of that succeeds without pictures. – Mike

    • Mike, I always chose to be a tour guide f I r one ha l f of the day and I there half at the refreshments and tickets place. I still have many of the designs I made for the flyers and posters. There was a sweet little house I liked with an elderly couple who had gone to China. Their dining room was painted red and they had unique collections. I walk past their house with my youngest daughter and we think they may have moved into senior living apt or passed on. They had porcelain dogs which were from West Germany, bone China from Staffordshire, England and intricate Rick Shaws carved from ivory, possibly elephant tusks sadly. . .
      Thank you for reading and remaining a friendly voice,in my comments section. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you, Joey. I could picture a nice family living there once upon a time. The older couple wh I live there probably go out of town during Christmas since when we go by, doesn’t seem like anyone is home at holidays. It is close to oldest daughter’s place.

  4. The home you described sounds like an inviting one. The butter cream golden Victorian home is just delicious. I do enjoy checking out historical homes. When we visited Baltimore many years ago, I loved the narrow houses that were side by side. In New Orleans, it was the old stately homes with wrought iron gates and beautiful gardens. Each place has a flavor of its own and I often wonder what it was like to live there.

    • I liked how you described the diversity and uniqueness of each part of th he country’s houses styles, Judy. I really like looking at details, so the different areas may need my eyes to become focused on the characteristics. Is space confined in Baltimore, Judy?
      In Italy, I remember your photo of a narrow lane where homes were beautiful, colorful and closely spaced. Those who have yards in neighborhoods (probably you may have felt this emotion) should treasure their gardens and grass.:)

    • I have driven through the Ashtabula area and there are beautiful homes there, Bill. I will rry to find time to look uo the Hubbard house
      There is a rather large intersection here in Delaware, I forgot to mention. The Chi Phi house and what used to be called Sunny Vee Nursing home has a large tunnel going “kitty corner” under the roads. The fraternity and nursing home were once large and elaborate houses. They were on a past home tour.
      I think it is so wonderful that Ohio played such a good part of the Civil War and Underground Railroad, Bill. I have pride in “our” role of saving and protecting those poor, hungry and tired souls. πŸ™‚

    • This home has a great amount of information in gheur website, about the underground railroad, Bill. The photograph of Hubbard House displays a nice but nondescript home. Most would presume not a place where slaves were hiding nor passed down or over in the night to another safe house. I have not been to the Underground Railroad Museum yet, but it is in Cincinnati, so maybe someday. Thank you, Bill!

    • Thank you, April for picturing how the door, house and the insides might look. When I hear about garden tours I get interested, but when I hear of historic homes I find out the cost and find a friend. We have three towns close who have Fall and Spring tours but someday, I want to go to Cambridge, Ohio’s Christmas tour with wandering minstrels and Victorian costumes.:)

  5. I love your eye for detail, Robin. I also enjoyed this post!!! As for the follow, oops, sorry I pushed the wrong link trying to get over here and I unfollowed you. So of course I just had to refollow. Love that family of yours especially little Hendrix. He won’t stay little for long. πŸ™‚ Love, Amy ❀

    • Oh sweet Amy! I appreciate all of this! I have what I consider small and coordinated first gers but cannot tell you how many times they “thwart” me, blast them.
      So happy you Iove my little Hendrix. He is a jewel and a sweetheart, Amy. He hardly fusses and is already easy going. I hope since he is the last of my son and DIL and my oldest daughter won’t have any more. . . That Hendrix will help time pass S L O W L Y!
      Hugs, Robin

    • Thank you, Brenda. I knew you would be smiling and sending warm regards. He is a precious little one. The last for a long while until my working girl, Felicia, settles down. πŸ™‚ Glad you enjoyed this Door post and need to go to sleep but will be by soon. Hope you have a warm and wonderful rest of the week, Brenda. β™‘ xo

  6. Hi Robin, enjoyed reading that post and also visiting your friends site to see her doors and story, well worth the visit, made me think of all the different doors I have in my pictures, particularly the old buildings and churches in Chile.
    Thanks for an enjoyable post Robin.

Leave a Reply

