Late August Berries

Image

There are red raspberries,
Tangy black raspberries,
Sweet blueberries,
Blackberries, too.

Berry choices abound,
All you have to do is,
Look around.

Many are still on the plants,
Need to put on long sleeved shirts,
Along with nice, thick pants,
Need to watch out for brambles,
Sharp needles worse than ants.

Why choose berries to add nutrition?
Besides being delicious,
They are packed with
*Antioxidants*
Vitamin C.

~In or on~
Oatmeal,
Salads,
Pies,
Cereal,
Cookies.

For savory meat
Marinade
Create with
Vinegar or
Soy sauce
Cook on the
Barbecue.

Ancient Greeks
Treated sore throats,
While Civil War
Soldiers
Collected
Blackberries
Preventing dysentery.

Careful handling,
Collect too soon,
Will not ripen.
Piled into bucket,
Bottom layer bruised.

Lasting only
One day in warm air,
On counter.
Refrigerator will keep,
Berries 4 – 5 days.
Layered in sturdy
Container,
Lid sealed tight,
Freezer will
Preserve blackberries
Up till 10 months.
Best choice ever:
Pop into mouth
Straight from the
“Cones.”
πŸ™‚

~~~‒●‒●‒~~~

Simple post
Enticing
Your mouth,
To
Succomb
To
A
Berry.

62 responses »

    • Well, it depends on how you look at the berry. How about fun foreplay with hubby? Adding whipped cream. . .
      Now, we are both blushing, Cheryl. Thank you for this fun comment! β™‘

    • Beth, we are in agreement about juicy berries being so delicious! Thanks for the compliment about my attempt at poetry. The way it comes out, It at least “looks” like a poem.
      πŸ™‚ haha.

    • Blueberries are easier to gather, too. I like blueberry pancakes and muffins, too. Vanilla or plain yogurt naturally sweetened with berries are a treat, too. Thanks, Bill.

  1. Lots of sensuality and yumminess. This post made me smile and pop a strawberry in my mouth, which we have in the fridge. (Have been away and am catching up on visiting blogs now- hope your August is as juicy as what you’ve written here.)

    • Diahann, so happy you took a break and enjoyed summer! Your enjoyment of the subtle elements of the senses made me smile with delight. I enjoy strawberries, too, (while available in many places not always found in Ohio’s gardens.) I am glad you had some available to quench your desire for berries. πŸ™‚

    • I like red raspberries for their less juicy texture and how they taste, Colleen. Unless I ran out to the store I have to satisfy my berry urges with the strawberry flavored popsicle. I think there is a whole berry sorbet out there, which is really delicious. I forget who makes it. Thanks for sending good thoughts and sunshine Mom’s way.

    • I liked berry picking all my life. Blueberries in Massachusetts and strawberries from a special garden in Lancaster, Ohio hold great memories. Black raspberries and blackberry picking sure is a whole different hot and irritating experience, I think. Thank you for sharing your memories. πŸ™‚

  2. Your witty poem is as easy to pop into my brain as your berries are to pop into my mouth. Unfortunately, due to our record hot summer, the local berry crop is long since harvested other than the late blueberries.

    I have to settle for frozen berries which I use regularly in a blended smoothie:
    1 sliced banana, 1 cup blueberries, 1/2 a peach (canned, if not fresh – 1/2 fresh orange can be substituted), a few strawberries, 8 oz. milk (soy or dairy), 8 oz. plain yogurt, 2 Tbs. flax seed meal (optional). Add a few frozen cherries for optional sweetener. Blend and serve. Yield = about 16 oz.

    • Mike, this has a fantastic recipe here amidst your comments and nice compliment, too.
      I will have to try and get the ingredients and taste this, to let you know how I liked it. This sounds delicious.
      I knew you had heat but didn’t expect berry crops to be harmed. So sorry to hear this, Mike.

    • April, Berries are on my Top 10 favorite foods list. I love strawberries but they are definitely considered in Ohio, as Spring fruits. I love real whipped cream over any berries as a special treat. xo

Leave a Reply

