September Changes: Monthly Celebration Calendar

Standard

There is a great blog which explores art, this is one many people

are locating and finding someone who “gets them.” This appeals

to their “inner artist.”Β  I like a quote from this which displays how I

feel about writing, my passion for art and my interest in music:

“The Humility of the Artist.

It seems arrogant to say, “Perhaps this isn’t for you.”

When the critic pans your work, or the prospect hears your offer

but doesn’t buy, the artist responds, “That’s okay, it’s not for you.”

She doesn’t wheedle or flip-flop or go into high pressure mode.

She treats different people differently, understands that she is

working to delight the weird, not please the masses, and walks

away.

Isn’t that arrogant?

No. It’s arrogant to assume that you’ve made something into

extraordinary that everyone everywhere should embrace it.

Our best work can’t possibly appeal to the average masses,

only our average work can.

**Finding the humility to happily walk away from those that

don’t get it unlocks our ability to do great work.”

~ Written by Seth Godin, January, 2014.~

Hoping this “kicks off” a lively, entertaining and enlightened month.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~SEPTEMBER, 2015~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

September’s Gemstone: Sapphire

The monthly flower is the purple aster.

September 5-

This is Washington D. C.’s Fifth Annual Book Festival.

I could not help smiling at the picture on his book cover

of my next “gotta get it from the library’s Hot List” book:

“Magnificent Celebration,” by Rick Springfield.

Rick Springfield who will be in the movie, “Ricki and

the Flash” playing soon at the Strand Theater locally.

He and Meryl Streep make being a little bit “old” look

September 6-

Our Delaware County hosts an, “All Horse Parade,”

which leaves the fairgrounds on Pennsylvania Avenue

making its way to where I usually sit watching with my

family on West Winter Street. (I arrive with a blanket

around 3:00 or so, snacks and bottles of water, too.)

This is one of the largest and well celebrated parade.

September 7-

Labor Day.

I will be reluctantly saying goodbye to my Mom on

the day before the parade, beating the traffic home

from Lake Erie. I will be spending an upcoming week

off end of October with her, though.

September 9-

Admission Day, Canada.

What is this all about? Anyone which to fill us in the

Comments Section of this monthly calendar post? πŸ™‚

September 11, 2015-

Patriot Day

Pause, remember here in our country but this is one

time I know others around the world “wept’ for our bad

days, 14 years ago.

When Herman’s Hermits played the 3rd week of Sept.

2001, here at our Delaware County Fair, they had their

British flag over the drum set and they were practicing

and tuning up. Then, when ready, Herman walked over

to the flag, looked up at the audience in the Grandstand

and whisked the flag off. Revealing an American flag,

saying into the microphone: “We are here for you, America!

We want to help ease your pain and sorrow. please don’t

feel guilty enjoying the show we put together for you. (This

is paraphrased and yet, mainly what the content of his words

and the expression of his heart for us all was. Women had

still brought bouquets of roses and Herman did sing, “Mrs.

Brown, You Have a Lovely Daughter,” along with a fantastic

set.

September 13 – 14:

Rosh Hashana begins at Sundown and ends the next day

at Sundown.

Also, remembering our grandparents for this special

Grandparents Day.

September 14 is Marissa Bergen and her twin sister’s Happy Birthday celebration. Everyone raise a glass to toast their special day or have a Huge piece of chocolate cake in their honor. I know that Marissa likes this a lot. Oh, tomorrow, September 15, you can repeat or indulge again, in honor of another Bergen birthday, her husband’s special day. You Rock, all of you “Wild Things!”

(Do you remember her Doppelganger post with the steps to a monument, I think?)

This is a whole week of the Delaware County Fair and I

will be heading there at least twice for Seniors Day and

the final concert on Saturday night.

16- The Fillies run in the Jugette Race.

17- The Big Race for those “Million Dollar Horses” who

reside in our “Million Dollar Guest Horse Barn” will run in,

Delaware County’s “Little Brown Jug” is part of the Triple

Crown of Harness Racing. We are proud of this honor.

This is also considered nationally,

Citizenship Day or Constitution Day.

~~~~ ** ~~~~Β Β Β Β  ~~~~ ** ~~~~

A “break” in our calendar to remind you via the Old

Farmer’s Almanac, 2015 version:

“Echinacea is a Creek tribal word.

It comes from “echino.”

This means “hedgehog”

The echinacea coneflowers have

spiny brown central cones which

reminded them of the hedgehog.”

~~~~ ** ~~~~Β Β Β Β  ~~~~ ** ~~~~

18-

This is the day we remember and honor servicemen for

POW/MIA Recognition Day.

The U.S. Air Force celebrates their 68th year “birthday,”

So. . . You knew I would fit somewhere in this post,

“Let Them Eat Cake!” for remembering 1947 when the

Air Force began.

September 20-

I love award shows: This is the Emmy’s Award Show Night,

honoring television which includes specials, mini-series and

other well performed or recognized television shows.

On this date, the Old Farmer’s Almanac, 2015 edition

suggests you

“Divide and Replant the following plants in the Fall:

Phlox

Daylilies

Hostas

Poppies.”

22-

Yom Kippur begins at Sundown and ends at Sundown on

the 23rd.

23-

***** Autumnal Equinox *****

This is the special day we greet Autumn here in the U.S.

27- Full Harvest Moon.

“Sing on Harvest Moon, up in the sky!”

The Old Farmer’s Almanac, 2015 edition adds this note:

“The full moon is bright enough to finish Harvest chores.”

Helen Hunt Jackson gives us another wonderful quote:

“The golden rod is yellow,

The corn is turning brown,

The trees in apple orchard

With fruit are bending down.”

(H. H. Jackson, American Poet, 1830 – 1885.)

This makes me sad living only 55 years but inspiring life.

I wish to close this September monthly post with another

short anonymous quote:

“The closer we get to being

Who we are meant to be – – –

The brighter we shine.”

Enjoy all the many aspects, somber, joyous and filled

with memories of Septembers past.

Please feel free to offer any local historical facts, birthdays

or festivals in your area of the world. Thank you for reading!

Sincerely Yours,

Robin Elizabeth Oldrieve Cochran

(reocochran)

About reocochran

I am experiencing crazy and hapless adventures in dating that may interest people over fifty. I am now approaching 62 later this year and enjoy taking photographs, incorporating stories or poetry on my blog. I have many old posts which are informative and written like essays. I have several love stories collected from family and friends. Even strangers spill their stories, since I am a grown version of the girl next door. I have been trying to live a healthy lifestyle with better food selections and active hiking and walking. I have written four children's books and illustrated them. They are not published but a battered women's shelter used one about neglect and abuse for their children's program and a 4H group used my "Kissing a Bunny is like saying a Prayer" as a coloring book. Please comment or respond so I may get a chance to know you. Sincerely, Robin

72 responses »

  1. wow, i agree about the art and artist. art will not please everyone, but then that’s not the goal in the first place. that’s the great thing about art isn’t it? glad you enjoyed your time with your mom and i’m sure you look forward to your next visit. lots of good stuff coming in september, especially grandparent’s day!

    • This is do right on about art. Sorry, may have not told you why I was rushing up to Cleveland. Mom had a fall and then surgery on her hip bone Sunday.
      Everything will mend and although she is cheerful, it won’t be easy. Next time I go up it will be for Labor Day. I had to get back to work because used most of sick time off for my grandson’s birth.

  2. I love September Robin for all these things and more. It was always the absolute best month back East, weather-wise — along with October. I am a fall and winter person, so when they roll around I get very excited. I also love Asters and purple so September must be my month. I am a Virgo rising, so it makes sense.

    Can’t think of any holidays or special commemorations that you missed — you were thorough.

    As for that first quote. It applies to everything exceptional. The masses don’t appreciate extraordinary concepts — just mainstream ones and we shouldn’t expect them to. Good idea to start the day.

    xo

    • Thanks, Beth for saying this about the quote. I found it to be profound in its encapsulating how an artist should accept points of view from listeners (of books or music) and observations by those looking at art. My brother sometimes repeats that old adage, “Beauty is in the eye of the beholder.” Especially helpful and comforting if someone receives a “scathing” review.
      This was nice to know about your enjoyable memories of September and I also love fall and it’s colorful arrangements in trees and wardrobe. Purple is such a beautiful color in nature. Yes to asters! πŸ™‚ Hope you have a wonderful rest of the week. β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†
      Out of time on break. Please check my comment on Michigan Beth’s comment from me. . . About my Mom. β™‘

    • Kabir, so glad you liked this quote. I appreciate your feedback. I agree, this is a deep one. Like how you used the expression, “It reaches deep.” That, in itself, is profound, my friend. So glad to have you back. I missed you. ~ Robin

      • I would probably go through “withdrawal,” Kabir. I try to “let it go” and do turn off my phone so I won’t check emails at football games. Life is so valuable and I do want to be “present” with my family and grandkids! Hope this will cheer you up and encourage you to blog but also handle Life, as it comes at us, no holds barred. πŸ™‚

  3. Very nice article, Robin! When I write, I am the first person to say, “no, no, not right, yet.” Then when something I write on paper matches perfectly with what’s in my head, that vision, I feel great. September! As a teacher, It’s one of the busiest months of the year. It flies by in a flash. Labor Day weekend here there is an Indie film and music festival. I’m going to check it out!

    • Cindy, lucky you! I love indie films and wrote about a small colleges International film festival at Baldwin Wallace. (Ohio) If I get a chance to see a film off the beaten path, I go! πŸ™‚
      I appreciate your sharing your thought processing about your own writing. This would indeed make me pleased with my writing if it should ever fully match up with what is in my head. This is also how I feel about my pen and ink illustrations with watercolors. Only “once in a blue moon” does it come out terrific, Cindy. πŸ™‚

    • I am excited you like September since you will still have warmth and the “beach scene,” my friend. πŸ™‚
      Enjoy the young people in your busy, lively household while you can before they get whisked up into school activities and those boys are in sports, right?

      • This is good of you to remind me. We talked about this when I shared my son’s family now consists of a combination of “hers and “theirs” with 3 girls and 2 boys.
        Sorry I just said boys, Cheryl. They all “count” as blessings πŸ™‚ β™‘β™‘β™‘β™‘β™‘

      • She serms in fairly good spirits. I came back to Delaware to work since I used a lot of sick time up between Mom and grandson’s birth, helping DIL.
        Mom was released today, Thursday, to the rehab/therapy part of her facility. I will probably go up and stay in her apt and head on over after awhile, to be with her. She and I like to look at the natural settings, geese and ducks, along with a few lakes and patios, Cheryl. We like the same Friday police and detective shows. πŸ™‚
        Have a fantastic weekend, Cheryl!β™‘

  4. I’m very much looking forward to September and everything it brings – but for now I’m enjoying the last days of August. I hope you are too!

    • Oh, yes the last days if August have been cool breezes and nightly football practices for my oldest grandson, Skyler. Then, ran past my baby grandies to see his precious self sleeping. No holding or sniffing new baby smell for me, alas.
      My brother sent me a photo of my Mom, since I could not take another week off (first one was to care for family while baby was coming.) She broke her hip bone and I was up there from Sat. into this week, she had surgery on Early Sunday morning. Wasn’t going to bring it up here but I just started coming out with my worries.
      I need to get around snd visit soon. πŸ™‚

    • It was one of my “first year of blogging” ideas, Dan. I had a few travelers who shared the holidays and festivals. Less of this going on now, but I still enjoy passing on events and the different directions this takes us. πŸ™‚
      Hope you have a fantastic September, Dan.

  5. I love how you started this one off..with an inspirational note to artists. Of course, every artist should go in knowing that what they are doing will not appeal to everyone. It preserves their humility as well as building a resistance to hurtful comments. Of course, don’t know if it’s ever nice to hear that someone doesn’t like your work.

    And as far as Sept. goes, you left an important one of your calendar…my birthday!! September’s a big month for us since both my sister and I celebrate birthdays on the 14th (twins) and then my husband’s is the 15th.

    • Okay, you will be pleased to know since you actually shared the date for you and your twin sister’s birthday, Marissa. . . You are going on the calendar in 5 minutes from now. I will add your husband’s since you are a fun family and now we can serenade and harass you a bit, all in celebration of your birthdays! ○○●●♑°‒○●‒°♑●●○○

      • Oh goodness!! Not my intention but I must say I’m rather excited. I really don’t make too much fuss of my birthday these days but it’s nice to know that there will be a little shout out!

      • Well, anyone who reads the calendar from last night (Wednesday 8/26) will see you, your sister and hubby there. If you remind me of their names I will add them, too. No matter your age~ you must celebrate! Your kids certainly like to make cards or gifts and eat cake in your honor, Marissa. How are your 3rd grade daughter and your 6th or 7th son doing with first week back to school? Are they “sleepy heads” or popping out of bed kids? πŸ™‚

  6. I love September! labor Day weekend, apple picking and pie baking, barn jacket mornings, many more evenings outside πŸ™‚ My mother will be 66 this September, and my MIL will be 65!
    I can’t imagine trying to please everyone in any way, let alone with one’s art. Unfathomable.

    • Joey, I love your list of September elements, some nature related and the personal addition to two special women in your life: Happy Birthday, dear Joey’s mother! ~**~

      Happy Birthday, dear mother of the Mister. β™‘You did something right in raising such a great man, father, son and carIng husband!

  7. Robin, September sounds beautiful and lovely now. There are some wonderful things there to look forward to, I love the story abut Herman’s Hermits. I just saw the movie, Ricki and the Flash, loved it! Wonderful autumn post, I wish we had fall in Texas πŸ™‚

    • September is a wonderful month and i hope there are subtle changes where you are, prettier sunrises or sunsets? πŸ™‚
      I was excited about going to see “Ricki and the Flash” with my youngest daughter last weekend, L. T. Very glad you loved it!
      Then, unfortunately, my 86 yr old Mom was walking her little shih zhu mix dog and slipped on wet grass. She shattered her hip bone. I drove from where I live in Delaware, Ohio up to Cleveland and spent beginning of week with family. Her surgery was on Sunday and she was showing pain mixed with some “spunk” by end of day. Her color looked good, too. She is still in hospital, each day taking baby steps and therapy is patiently working with her. πŸ™‚
      Herman’s Hermits was a “class act,” Cindy, which brought tears to my eyes when I relived that moment in time.

      • Thank you for such a thoughtful and caring response, L. T. She actually was released today (Thurs.) to the rehab part of her senior living building. She will be there for 4 to 6 weeks, which means I will be staying in her apt and heading daily to visit her and we like and watch a lot of the detective shows. (“CSI” and “Bluebloods,” for example.) There are a few small lakes on the property so I will wheel her around, plus visit a few of her friends. Hope you have a wonderful weekend.

  8. Is there a month that appears in the titles of songs more than September does? By my count, seven September songs have made it into the Top 40… with Earth Wind and Fire’s “September,” The Happenings’ “See You In September,” Neil Diamond’s “September Morn,” and Green Day’s “Wake Me Up When September Ends” being the most prominent…

    • Dear E. S., I am so excited you mentioned this. I once wrote about September songs I shall go seek out which post I wrote and possibly reblog since all “heck” has broke loose with my late Summer schedule!
      (Writing is near bottom of priorities now. 😦 )
      I have Skyler’s middle school football, both boys are in scouts and daughter encourages me to participate and then, my Mom fell, so I was up in Cleveland and back to work, then will return up there. She had to have titanium put in her leg up where her hip is to keep the pieces together. Oh, and the blessing and joy of now 2 and half week old grandson. He has a hippie name of Hendrix. πŸ™‚

    • Guess what? On my 2014 calendar, I wrote out only the Neil Diamond’s “September Morning” lyrics.
      E.S your list of Seven September Songs is the best addition so far for this month! I am excited since I probably thought of looking them up last year but I didn’t! Thank you for going to such lengths to make a fun musical “party!”
      Hope you have a nutty and enjoyable September, Evil Squirrel. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you so much. This means a lot to me that you read my posts. Mostly, I like to hear about positive things so once a month I try to put some meaningful things together. I am always happy to read your musical recommendations! Also, accept any new information or monthly news from other places. πŸ™‚ Have a great weekend!

  9. Robin, since nobody else commented on Admissions Day, I will take a stab at it.

    First, there is no reference I could find connecting Admissions Day with Canada. However, your reference to September 9 did bring up a connection to the State of California. They have a state holiday on September 9 celebrating California becoming the 31st state in the United States in 1850.

    Happy September! And hugs to your mother. I hope she recovers completely. – Mike

    • OMG, Mike! I am an idiot, my calendar says CA not CAN. I just looked at one on wall. πŸ™‚ Oh well, this sent you on a knight in shining armor/wild goose chase! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
      Thank you for any and all good thoughts for my Mom. I think I am blessed to have her so long but really would miss her if something would happen to her. I tease her and say, “Please wait till 100 years old and then maybe fall asleep,reach out and find Dad holding you.”

  10. Huge fan of Seth Godin. So much of what he says make me want to tattoo his remarks onto my skin. And I adore September. I love how you highlighted the calendar peeks so beautifully. Poetry and celebration abounds.
    Oh, how I look forward to that Harvest Moon.
    Cheers!

    • Thanks so much. When I started blogging I decided to pull people in and ask them to add their special holidays and festivals. I appreciate your enjoyment (especially liking Seth G.) So nice your name of your blog has peaks as you said I gave peeks and highlights. πŸ™‚ A friend named Jules writes poetry and flashy fiction introduced me to Native American moon nzmes. I think it is cool about blogging by widening our world perspective. 2 of your blog nsmes. β™‘

  11. Pingback: The day <3 | Being ME !

    • Colleen, way to appreciate all the months! πŸ™‚ So lucky that each one brings new and interesting events as well as wonders in nature’s changes. September has a lot to offer and glad it happens to be OUR favorite month to be here in the “now.”

  12. Thanks, Robin, for the September events – especially the POW/MIA Recognition Day on the 18th. On Friday, I wore my bracelet for a soldier who’s missing since his tour in Vietnam. You’ve given me an excellent reason to honor him and all of those who served in Vietnam again on the 18th.

    • Judy, so sorry about the honored and respected soldier who has been missing since Vietnam. I am sure you read how Vietnam affected one of my twin second cousins. Johnny cane home changed from his battle experiences while Eddy came back, used G.I. Bill to get his pharmacy degree. His experiences as a “medic,” did not emotionally change him, but strengthened him. I have always remembered how we followed this war and I will always feel it’s sad 😦 impact on our lives. Thank you for sharing about your POW/MIA bracelet. You should write a post about this, Judy. Some younger people did not experience how this war was, although my favorite movies “Good Morning, Vietnam” and “Born on the Fourth of July” are good examples while the classic “Apocalypse Now,” was such a powerful movie, too. πŸ™‚

      • That war – I refuse to call it what the government did, a “conflict” – divided us and changed the lives of many who served. Thank you for the suggestion, Robin. Perhaps, I will. πŸ˜‰

    • Dear Neha, so happy September is a fantastic birthday month for your family, too.
      Happy Birthday to Neha’s sisters birthday β™‘
      Happy Birthday to Neha’s dear Mother. β™‘β™‘

      My son turns 34 in September on the 24th. πŸ™‚

      • Thank you, Neha for your kind wishes for my son.
        Well, definitely hope your sister’s upcoming birthday will be a wonderful celebration and your special mother’s will be a joyous event. Lots of fun for all! β™‘β™‘

  13. There is something in the air of September that I like, I suppose it’s the plentitude, the colours, and the prΓ©parations for the cold weather. I feel closer to nature, and her rhythms.

    • Your response was the most poetic and beautiful one to this post.
      I like the word, “plentitude” especially. It reminds me of the word many use in gratitude: “abundance.” Thank you so much. Smiles, Robin

Leave a Reply

