Labor Day Trivia and Humor

Standard

On this date, a flyer at Mom’s rehabilitation center gives a few historical facts about September 7th.
I added “subject categories.”

~ * ~ Smiles for the Day ~ * ~

“The Inter-City Beauty contest was held on this date in 1921, in Atlantic City, New Jersey.
Miss Washington, D.C., Margaret Gorman, won the contest and the extra title of  ‘Most Beautiful Bathing Girl in America.’
When Margaret came back the next year to defend her titles, another Miss Washington, D.C. had been selected.
Margaret Gorman got a new title:  ‘Miss America.’ ”
~ * ~       ~ *~       ~ *~
**************************************
Γ— Γ— Γ— Somber Thought x x x

On a sadder note in history, September 7, 1940, 100’s of German planes bombed London, England beginning
57 nights of continuous bombings.

x x x.        …..          .xxx
*****************************************
Automobile Fact for the Day:
$$$
The 1925 Ford Model T Runabout was the lowest priced mass produced American car.
It cost only $260, $5 less than the 1924 Ford Model T.
$$$
*****************************************
πŸ™‚  πŸ™‚  πŸ™‚
Quotation from Jean Kerr:
(Mom loves the book, play, film and television series, “Please Don’t Eat the Daisies” written by Jean Kerr.)

“If you can keep your head when all about you are losing theirs, it’s just possible you haven’t grasped the situation.” 
πŸ™‚  πŸ™‚  πŸ™‚

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>><<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<
My Mom writes to a nice woman, a sister of a past neighbor who died several years ago. Her name is Joyce, otherwise known affectionately as her Pen Pal "Pookie."
The jokes Pookie sends are often sexual and full of innuendos.
Mom says in a defensive tone, in explanation. . .
"After all, we are two mature adults!"
Here is a humorous story. . .
Given Mom's Stamp of Approval:
+ + + + + +
"An older lady named Ida was  somewhat lonely since her cat had passed away. She missed her late husband, Albert, too.

Ida drove to a pet store to choose another animal to keep her company.
She searched and searched, looking in cages and aquariums.

None of the pets seemed to catch her interest except this large frog. As she looked at its smooth green skin, she remembered the days she would go creek walking.

This pet would also not remind her of her dear cat, Phoebe.

As she walked past the aquarium, she glanced at it and she was surprised to see it wink at her! πŸ˜‰

He whispered,
"I'm so lonely, too."
He continued,
"Buy me and take me home. . .
You won't be sorry."

Ida figured, "What the heck!"

She hadn't found anything else and this pet would talk to her.
Ida paid for the frog.

She placed his container on the passenger seat beside her.

As she was driving slowly down the road, the frog whispered to her,
"Kiss me and you won't be sorry. . ."

Ida figured, "What the heck!"

So, at a stop sign she bent over and Ida kissed the frog!

Immediately the frog turned into an absolutely gorgeous, sexy, young handsome Prince.
(She could tell this, since he had a crown on his head and a sash across his buff chest.)
The Prince then returned Ida's kiss.

Suddenly Ida felt herself feeling sensations she had not expected to.
She felt a transformation from his kiss.
***
Can you guess what Ida turned into?

***
Come on. . . Guess! πŸ™‚

***
Ida turned into the first Holiday Inn she could find.

She's old. . . NOT dead.

***
Mom read this humorous missive from Pookie.  Mom's face had an impish expression on her face.
As she passed me this story, her big smile tickled me.
She still has a lot of "spunk" left in her despite her pain in her healing hip.

Are you ready for Mom's thought on this joking story?
Mom cheerfully said,
"Tell your blogging friends this is
'The Lesson for the Day' –
Never make assumptions!"

Enjoy your holiday and if not here, have a wonderful week.

About reocochran

I am experiencing crazy and hapless adventures in dating that may interest people over fifty. I am now approaching 62 later this year and enjoy taking photographs, incorporating stories or poetry on my blog. I have many old posts which are informative and written like essays. I have several love stories collected from family and friends. Even strangers spill their stories, since I am a grown version of the girl next door. I have been trying to live a healthy lifestyle with better food selections and active hiking and walking. I have written four children's books and illustrated them. They are not published but a battered women's shelter used one about neglect and abuse for their children's program and a 4H group used my "Kissing a Bunny is like saying a Prayer" as a coloring book. Please comment or respond so I may get a chance to know you. Sincerely, Robin

72 responses »

  1. A lot of smiles for today Robin. And really, like your mother said, she is an adult! You can be too young but you really can’t be too old, now can you.
    Now what about getting one of these automobiles for $260? Hard to believe that that must have seemed like a considerable amount of money in those days.

    • You are right about the cost, Marissa, considering over a hundred years ago. Reminds me of my father not rushing out to get a color television since he thought the “price will go down.” Enjoy your day and week, too!

      • Oh, good business “call”- a subject I am sure I was like my Dad, not too up on these things. You know that expression about geniuses not being practical? We have a family who is usually giving more than what comes in. Ha ha! (I may be broke but I have my family to keep me company.)

    • My Mom had to have a sense of humor teaching High School for 30 years! (Spanish, English and World Lit.) She and my Dad were a “hoot” with his scientific thinking and her “Guess who’s coming to dinner?” philosophy. Never a dull moment. Hope you had some fun this weekend, Cindy.

  2. Good on mom!! That is such a good story and I told it to my girls who are both here with me at the moment. [They both guessed that she turned into a frog.] Great hilarity at the punchline πŸ™‚

    Thank you for this jokey start to our day Robin, and glad to hear your mom is still on top in the naughty humour department! πŸ™‚ Hugs to both of you xoxo

    • Yes, Pauline! This means Mom will improve and become stronger. I am so glad your daughters found it funny, too. When I told it to my brothers, I made the main character a man who lost his dog, needed companionship and the frog became a sexy, attractive woman. They agreed He gets stuck in the container as a frog. Blaming the Princess. . . πŸ™‚

    • I am home or I would tell her right away. I was shocked that Pookie had not sent any Maxine jokes so when Mom handed me this story with a big grin I was ecstatic, Mike. An “easy” post, writing itself.
      Hope you have been well and enjoying company. Sometimes I worry about you and Florence being out West. Fires, drought and a possible earthquake. . . Take care, my long lasting friend.
      I was wondering, did your grandsons start school? Will you be volunteering this year?

      • My oldest grandson, who turned 10 on Sunday, just started 3rd grade. The youngest is 3 and is probably a year away from preschool. Today was my first day volunteering at the middle school, which I am delighted about.

        We got some good rain this past week, and most of the fires are out or under control now. We hope for a good year of snowfall this winter to bring the rivers and reservoirs up to normal levels. We fear there has been a major salmon die-off this Fall due to low water levels. This not only affects the native people, but also the Orca pods that live in our local seas. – Mike

      • Thank you for sharing the boys ages, Mike. The 10 and 3 year old are almost like Micah (6) and Skyler (slmost 11).
        I had forgotten to check back after a couple of days.
        I am glad you are “back to school” volunteering. There is much need for extra hands and adult minds in classrooms, Mike. Male role models may not be so needed in this area you live in, but inner city schools need them.
        Glad to hear it rained but sad about the salmon, Mike. I had not thought of the Orca who depend on the fish for their food. The environment out there will hopefully be “fixed” with plentiful snow wished for by people. Good reminder of how it benefits plants and the water/eco- systems. Take care and enjoy! xo

    • Sweet Mani, thank you for such a great comment. You found the hidden “pearl” in the post. I am glad you have love and respect for my mother. I am sure I would enjoy hearing about your parents. β™‘β™‘

    • This is such a really neat idea. When Dad was alive, he took her to some courses on computers. She was making progress when he got cancer. It only took 4 months to spend their last days. The computer was given to my son after the funeral. She writes down things every day, Jill. Her life was one of really interesting adventures. Thanks, Jill. πŸ™‚

      • Thank you, Beth for kind wishes and it went well with Mom. I had several moments when therapy and nursing staff left us alone:)
        Hope you had a blast!
        I was singing the song from Please Don’t Eat the Daisies with Mom along with Doris Day. She then wanted to sing, “Que Sera, Sera…” xo

    • Hello, Rashmi.β™‘ I was happy to have extra day with Mom, from Fri. usually leave on Sun. but got a chance to stay till Monday. Yay! πŸ™‚ Did you have extra day off, too?

      • I think you deserved this leave and am glad you had some rest to recover. Hope you were not recuperating from surgery, Rashmi. My Mom’s hip shattered and at her age, was quite serious surgery. She is improving and healing. Just needing rest to heal. I did not have a chance to telax. My “down” time will be in winter when warehouse slows down. πŸ™‚

    • Happy days to you, too. Mark, have you ever heard of a tribute band called, ” Hard Day’s Night?” They are playing at the Delaware County fair on the first Sat. I was checking if you even liked Beatles tribute bands? Bro’ Randy says he heard a different one which was pretty good. We also have McGuffey Lane coming on final Sat. Oh, and the Budweiser Clydesdales on the coming Sunday at All Horse Parade. Well, a lot of info but didn’t want to leave this babbling message on one of your posts. If you have time before 9/19/15 let me know so i can figure out best night to head to fair. . . I haveva bunch of your posts to check out. β™‘β™‘ The extra one is for Karen!

      • I really do like Beatles tribute bands, Robin. We have a few of them right here in Syracuse. I mean, they play Beatles music. How can you not like that? And Clydesdales? Sign me up for that parade, too! I hope they have the dogs from those great Super Bowl commercials as well. :- ❀ ❀ An extra heart from Karen, too.

      • This is nice of you to say. I think friends should try to stick together. I just wanted to read your posts. It is “easy” to look at photos and write a quick reply. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    • My Mom is ornery, no doubt about it, Eli. Did you ever see the post I wrote about how my parents provided neighborhood sex talk, after telling parents of our friends we were getting our “talk” early. All the parents figured we would tell our versions so they sent them on over. It started with a big number graffiti (69) on a wall outside of a house being built in our neighborhood. Dad told boys in one room basic facts about boys and a little about girls. Never had to worry about talking openly with my parents, then later with own kids. Just started early like they did. We were 10, 9 and 7 years old πŸ™‚

      • Eli, u found it and will sat I was 11, brother’s were 9 and 7. I was a little off. It is one about a man I knew who I consider broken. It was something about his childhood sexual experience (abuse)by a teenaged babysitter that changes him. I am going to try and figure out whether or not I should reblog or pass the title to you. This may come out silly since on my celphone:) have a good one!

    • No problem, Lyn. Remember I sometimes work during the week so hard that it is weekends that I play catch up on blogs. . . You were busy, hopefully enjoying family and Life. πŸ™‚

  3. Robin … Thank your Mom for sharing that humorous story about the woman and the frog. The twist ending really tickled me.

    My Mom introduced me to Jean Kerr’s “Please Don’t Eat the Daisies” when I was a teen. Great fun. πŸ˜‰

    • I am so happy you found this to be humorous. One never knows how people will take things, Judy. I am also glad your Mom liked Jean Kerr and her book. The film with Doris Day was funny and when you see how she write this, it makes you appreciate her life, as well. A truly busy, creative woman. I compare her in my mind to James Thurber. I also liked Erma Bombeck for her “slice of life” stories. Nice talking with you. Judy!

Leave a Reply

