Delaware Dam reservoir, 1.

Standard

Delaware State Park
Reservoir building
1 day to Doors post.

image

Reflections of pink hues,
Neat lamp atop the building.
The sculpted letters read:
“D E L A W A R E.”

History:
The Olentangy and Ohio River Basins
Flood Control Act of 1938 was created for flood reduction, low flow control for pollution reduction, water supply, recreational, fish and wildlife management. The dam was built between 1947 through 1951. This is operated by the United States Army Corps of Engineers.
The water passes through 5 gated sluices, there are six 25 feet by 32 feet “tainter radial gates.” The body of water called the lake covers 386 square miles.

About reocochran

I am experiencing crazy and hapless adventures in dating that may interest people over fifty. I am now approaching 62 later this year and enjoy taking photographs, incorporating stories or poetry on my blog. I have many old posts which are informative and written like essays. I have several love stories collected from family and friends. Even strangers spill their stories, since I am a grown version of the girl next door. I have been trying to live a healthy lifestyle with better food selections and active hiking and walking. I have written four children's books and illustrated them. They are not published but a battered women's shelter used one about neglect and abuse for their children's program and a 4H group used my "Kissing a Bunny is like saying a Prayer" as a coloring book. Please comment or respond so I may get a chance to know you. Sincerely, Robin

40 responses »

    • You are welcome, Jen.
      Guess what? The Columbus, Ohio Zoo just announced 4 precious baby lion cubs born! That along with the Pope’s visit today in Washington DC are very happy news. Even though not Catholic, I have deep respect for his caring for all people, Jen. Bless your day from me to you.xo

  1. Robin, you must write a story on this πŸ™‚ Even if it sounds outrageous, go ahead and use your imagination (as I know you can) and make it a brilliant little story about the dam, or some people involved in the construction.. For the life of me, I don’t know why.. I cannot imagine why it is operated by the US CoE… ask anyone who has served in an army.. πŸ˜€ they are the most corrupt, usually the most expensive people around hahaha.. .

    ok, just kidding.. they must be pretty good at it..

    • I should mention this to my youngest friends band. It is mainly rsp, but has elements of jazz and blues. Their name is “Team KNYCE.” Marissa, he three young men went to school with Felicia and have a couple of cd’s out. One is named after the lead singer (Josh Moore) street he lived on; Eaton Street. My youngest also has a charming singing friend named Morgan Treni. She’s From New Jersey but went to our local university (Ohio Wesleyan University). She dings her original music which reminds me of Cole Porter. I have written about these diverse “local musicians.” You have great ideas. You are both a musician and a “poet laureate.” πŸ™‚

      • Oh why thank you. Well love the gritty background. Of course there are plenty of musicians here but none very close to the Delaware Dam. Otherwise I would recommend it for sure!

    • Marie, thank you for enjoying “my” part of the world. I started with just a visit to son’s house after work on Friday. My DIL WAS trying to get her homework completed (online college courses) and the 2 granddaughters pleaded to take them to a park. One thing led to another. . . Those little darlings really brightened my weary bones but my heart is always any of the bunch.:) D I D you peak at the girls at the top of the hill or sitting on the grass, Marie? No need to comment. Just one look and you will be caught in their impish spell. Have a wonderful weekend soon! πŸ™‚

    • Elizabeth, you would have been so great on this post. I felt like a carpenter with two left hands holding a hammer. I write technical stuff very badly! πŸ™‚ Wait till a few days go past and when I post about the farm tractors at the fair, somebody is really going to have to explain some of this. I got confused! πŸ™‚

  2. Thanks for that little history of Delawares past, interesting to read it is operated by the US Corp of Engineers, makes me think that they were actually the Engineers who constructed it,

    • Emu, came from second visit at the fair, watched a love story with oldest daughter and now, here it is 2 am and reading posts. Your comment was appropriate but I learned that the U. S. Army Corps supervises building dams here in our country. This is our city’s source of water supply so falls under this procedure, Emu. Does Australia have dams and bridges built by the government agencies? I learn new things out of endless curiosity. Take care of sweet Ana and have a great weekend.

      • Hi Robin, thanks for the update, no Australia doesn’t have agency’s that build our major infrastructure, all done by private contractors, which causes a lot of union problems, bribery, corruption etc, a bloody mess when going through the courts.
        Cheers

      • Thanks, Emu you must be on a whole different time frame as s now it is 4 am and ate too many sweets at fair and cannot sleep. 😦
        Thank you for explaining about the system Australia uses to get road and bridge work completed. This can,happen here but dams seem to fall under the government domain. πŸ™‚ Have a fantastic weekend.

    • So really kind of you for the fun way you expressed liking my photo. I apologize happened to find you in “awaiting approval”area of wordpress. Thanks and sorry this is a late response!

Leave a Reply

