Taking the straight walk across the Dam

Standard

Kyah walks carefully
one hand on rail.
When wants to cross
over the grated “floor”
Of bridge across the dam,
She squeals as
her hand reaches
For fingers outstretched
By sister, Marley.

image

“Never bend your head. Always hold it high. Look the world straight in the eye.”
~ Helen Keller, (1917 – 2012).

“People create their own questions because they are afraid to look straight.
All you have to do is look straight and see the road and when you see it, don’t sit looking at it. Walk.”
~ Ayn Rand (1905 – 1982).

“A smile is a curve that sets everything straight.”
~ Phyllis Diller (1917 – 2012).

About reocochran

I am experiencing crazy and hapless adventures in dating that may interest people over fifty. I am now approaching 62 later this year and enjoy taking photographs, incorporating stories or poetry on my blog. I have many old posts which are informative and written like essays. I have several love stories collected from family and friends. Even strangers spill their stories, since I am a grown version of the girl next door. I have been trying to live a healthy lifestyle with better food selections and active hiking and walking. I have written four children's books and illustrated them. They are not published but a battered women's shelter used one about neglect and abuse for their children's program and a 4H group used my "Kissing a Bunny is like saying a Prayer" as a coloring book. Please comment or respond so I may get a chance to know you. Sincerely, Robin

44 responses »

    • I am so glad you liked this, Lyn. I am happy since I know you can relate to the sisters and their dependence on each other. โ™ก I fell behind on almost all areas of the blogging but am busily trying to finish my book for tomorrow. I went to a Boy Scout hike in August and saw a sign which listed the first meeting of a book club. The book is called, “Flight Behavior” by Barbara Kingsolver. I think it is a fascinating story and will be better staying in touch. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Phyllis D. was certainly in many ways someone to look up to and respect, Beth. I heard from an interview that she chose to make fun of her husband since men usually did this with their spouses, in stand up comedy. Some people took it “wrong” and didn’t realize she loved him. โ™ก

  1. My goodness Robin – it seems like you have taken the great leap forward in your posting style since the camera arrived in your life – these last posts have been just utterly delightful to read with my morning coffee! I’ve been a bit stretched for time and so not always written you a note, but I want you to know I am reading and enjoying every post very much!! Hope your mama is doing well and that you are too! xoxo

    • Pauline, this was the sweetest thing to say! I know you are reading and don’t wirry sbout comments. This “new” effect of posting wuth a photo often WILL wear off! Lol.
      Did I tell you besides going to the fair 3 ร— and Delaware Dam, I have gone to many football games and practices for Skyler and I “joined” a book club? I took this on, knowing not a soul and tomorrow night at 6:30 after I head home from work, change clothes and I will go to a working farm at a park called Gallant Woods.
      I am excited since when I get home tonight from my oldest daughter’s house I will finish the over 600 page book. (She asked me to watch boys while she went to a gym, drive Skyler in pouring rain to practice and for once in a month, I left him and came back to house with Micah. ๐Ÿ™‚
      She is cooking dinner for my time.
      My Mama is doing fairly well although she is being uncooperative with therapy, so my brother says “Non-compliance” means she may be kicked out of the rehabilitation center and be back in her apartment with a paid aide visiting to make sure she takes her meds and washes up, etc. Her house has a”bid” which we counter-offered. Thank you so much for asking.
      I am happy to provide reading material while you drink your morning coffee, my dear. โ™ก Take care and am looking forward to seeing your new beautiful jeweled danglers. I am happy you received orders, Pauline. xo

    • I am happy for your expressing enjoyment for this photo plus snippets, plus quotes occasionally, Jill.
      Are you afraid of the grated bridge? There are narrow cement walkways with enough room for one person at a time, Jill. You could feel safe walking on this, sweetie. โ™ก

    • I am happy you found this pleasing. โ™ก Thank you for stopping by to wish me a wonderful weekend. If you read this, on my blog, I found a lot of comments I missed. On Friday; I worked 6 hours and went to a retired teacher friend’s house for lunch. Then, off to the county fair for the rest of the day with oldest daughter and her two boys, until it closed at 10 or later! ๐Ÿ™‚ Just busy as the “dickens!” Take care and see you soon. . . ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thank you and I really appreciate this comment, since I admire your creative and poetic posts on your blog! โ˜†ยค I apologize for the tardiness in tesponding. Hopefully, you will come back, visit and comment. I have had quite a busy week and month! ๐Ÿ™‚

      • I absolutely will! I love your site. No sorries needed- take your time- I will comment anyway :)) my life feels like it’s a constant race sometimes so I totally get it. Thank you so much for your kind words and also for taking the free time that you do have to share your giftings :)) โค๏ธโค๏ธ

    • Marley is 6 going to be 7 on November 25th. We have a lovely month of Scorpios. Here they are: my mom turns 87 on 11/1, my grandson’s turning 11 on 11/4, I have a 60th b’day, my sister in law on 11/19, then Marley. Sweet girl and charms everyone with her grace. Thank you for asking and hope you didn’t mind the whole list ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Ian, you are a great guy to take the time to comment. Your saying “lovely” and “full marks” made me smile this evening 2 days after you wrote this. I have given excuses up the line but uou know I let Life take priority sometimes. I pre-planned a week of posts so I could run to the county fair, watch grandson’s football practices and games, plus trying to finish an over 600 page book so when I go to my first book club meeting ever I will know the book cover to cover. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. This is such a lovely little piece – I can “hear” the squeals – and I too would be hesitant – but the beauty lies in finding strength and courage – and having a hand to hold, most certainly helps.

    Loved all three quotes you used to end this post Robin. Inspired! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Pat, you got to the heart of my post. โ™ก I felt your nodding head and enjoying those girls. By the way, 2 posts back you may see their precious faces.
      Guess what? I did not post photos for the first 2 and half years, maybe longer. The past two weeks are my first attempts with this style. Thanks for liking my new trend.
      I promise to visit soon. I was behind in reading comments while I need to finish a book, last 100 pages. . . I signed up to go to a working farm, was on a hike at Gallant Woods in Delaware County with 2 grandsons and saw a poster for a book club. It is tomorrow night and so I must close. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • No apologizes necessary Robin – hope you enjoyed the book and will enjoy the book club ๐Ÿ™‚

        I’ll definitely be checking back in and back-rereading here and there on your site – and am looking forward to the new treasures I’ll find ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

