Sometimes the Corner Perspective is Best

Standard

image
~photo by reocochran (9/27/15)

Kathleen Norris:
“None of us knows what the next change is going to be, what unexpected opportunity is just around the corner waiting a few months or a few years to change all the tenor of our lives.”

~K. Norris wrote 58 books.
Lived from 1880 until 1966.

Mark Twain,
Samuel Clemens:
“Broad, wholesome charitable views can not be acquired by vegetation in one’s own corner of the world.”

~M. Twain wrote 28 books, many newspaper and magazine articles.
Lived from 1835 until 1910.

About reocochran

I am experiencing crazy and hapless adventures in dating that may interest people over fifty. I am now approaching 62 later this year and enjoy taking photographs, incorporating stories or poetry on my blog. I have many old posts which are informative and written like essays. I have several love stories collected from family and friends. Even strangers spill their stories, since I am a grown version of the girl next door. I have been trying to live a healthy lifestyle with better food selections and active hiking and walking. I have written four children's books and illustrated them. They are not published but a battered women's shelter used one about neglect and abuse for their children's program and a 4H group used my "Kissing a Bunny is like saying a Prayer" as a coloring book. Please comment or respond so I may get a chance to know you. Sincerely, Robin

41 responses »

      • You and Mr. S. probably will soon be out on a golf cart or on a walk at a park which makes me happy to think of all the aches just seeping out with the warmth of your spring. πŸ™‚
        We went to fair on Friday’s beautiful early evening, with 2 grandsons. Then, we walked a 3 mile round trip to movies. Carrie rarely has 2 days off so this was gun. Today Skyler plays 5th grade football game. Nicer day today than Sat.

      • Lyn, I am so thrilled since this freed up time to go to the fair after having a “heavy” week at the auto parts warehouse. Plus, got to fair to see daughter in law and son’s family while spent time with a friend walking around fair on Tues.
        I loved the beautiful handmade quilts, Lyn.β™‘
        Thursday, my middle child turned 34. We celebrated snd I gave him a pair if good quality shoes. He is a cook, has been a sous chef before restaurant went under, out of business.
        And then, my single oldest daughter with two boys and I went for hours on Friday. xo Any news on your end?

    • You are right, Dan. I could explore this farther in another post, thanks for the suggestion. This just was going on the theory we each could use a chsnge of scenery and frienda to add dimension and a wider perspectice to our lives!
      I joined a book club and am getting out of my comfort zone, meeting at Gallant Woods, a working farm based on old technology.
      I like hearing about your hikes, projects and new things you have been trying. πŸ˜‰

      I an so busy at work that this week I put in 48 hours and about 10 hours at the Delaware County fair. Soon will hear a few things about Fun being had by me. πŸ™‚

    • Carol, thank you for enjoying the wuotes. They wee ones I had not heard before. I am going to a new book club on the 30th and have been trying a few other new things to add dimension to my life. Hoping to bring “around the corner” perspective to my blog, too. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks, Marissa. We all could use trying a new direction or corner perspective. Did I tell you I am reading a 600 page book and have joined a book club that meets on a working 1800’s farm? This takes me into a different setting (Gallant Woods), unique group of unknown persons and possible new friends. πŸ™‚

      • You have my imagination going even more after reading this, Marissa. Barns and doors, good suggestions. Plus, more “character development pieces.”
        We just walked a round trip of 3 miles, to see funny movie, “Transylvania 2.” Micah giggled and Skyler laughed out loud, Carrie and I really enjoyed it. Our local theater has been around since early 1900’s. They got a grant and about a million dollars collected to improve seating and painted gold filigree on the ceiling of the main theater.

    • Luanne, so glad you have been enjoying these shorter post. Hugs for supportive snd kind words. β™‘
      I knew my week at work would be long hours, the county fair going on and trying to read a 600 plus pages book since I joined a book club. We have our first book club meeting on the 30th. As of yesterday, I had only 130 or so pages read. The library had a notice but the one I saw first was at a park with a working farm called Gallant Woods. If I wrote this on your post, please forgive the repetition. From 11:30 until 2:00 at Skyler’s football game, I plan uninterrupted reading. Less blogging, more personal time. . . I don’t know how to keep all the balls juggling with consistent posts. πŸ™‚

    • Oh, Colleen. Such a memorable image of my Grandma Oldrieve’s rocking chair. A maple wooden rocking chair with dark blue and white checked fabric pads tied on the seat and back. She was a sweet, quiet woman. Whose rocking chair are you visualizing, Colleen? β™‘

  1. Your piece spoke to me, especially the words of Kathleen Norris. Just last week I broke the news to my daughters that we are moving again, this time to South Carolina. One daughter took it in stride. The other was shocked and distressed, even angered by the news because she thought our most recent move just one year ago was for the long term.

    It is not easy making these kinds of decisions, especially where families are involved. Nonetheless, there is that sense of adventure about the unknown that creates renewed excitement. Some people embrace change while others fear it. Florence and I clearly fall into the former group. Who knows what new discoveries await? – Mike

    • This is a touchy situation but I sometimes feel that as an adult who put his dear and loving time in as a great Dad, you have to be able to choose to enjoy your life. I am adventuresome and used to love my day trips with good guy friend, Bill. Also, a week in Kentucky and a week in Michigan up to the U.P. I had a week with my fisherman guy friend who u still partially will always love.
      Anyway, I live close to my 3 kids and grandkids because of my need to feel loved by a group of people. If I had a singular guy who wanted to whisk me away, possibly bringing me back once a month to Ohio, I may leave after my Mom is not around. Where I am fits me.
      Mike, good luck with this family matter and I feel you and Florence will have a wonderful time in South Carolina! πŸ™‚

      You are getting close to where Carrie, the boys and I are planning to vacation, Spring Break, 2016! Savannah, Georgia! Then the beach. She wants to check out an art school there. She hopes to move there once the boys are grown. Until then, she has shared custody with Micah’s daddy and Skyler’s daddy. β™‘

    • I hope everyone sees the positives in or around corners. I used to like the idea of “traveling to the four corners of the world” expression, as if the world were a box. Which humorously makes me think of, “Life is like a box of chocolates”. . . (From “Forrest Gump.”)

    • Thank you, Sheila. On my cell phone, you are on the comments part for the corner perspective. I can picture Red, Slow and Pretty antiquing while in the country and seeing old tractors. They show character and grit. Glad you liked this series! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

