More tractors, Neck and Neck.

Image

~2 Tractors~

“Shooting the Breeze”

Side by side,
Silver and red,
Stories of work,
Full Harvest Moons.
Hard times, late nights,
Rows of corn, soybeans,
Hay squares and barrels.
Not put out to pasture yet.

Smiles from, Robin O. Cochran
September, 2015

image

This red tractor is called
McCormick Farmall Cub,
It has been around the farm of
John and Joyce Stutter from
Marengo, Ohio
Since 1948.

It’s silver neighbor is called
“Silver King,”
There is almost a motto
Written on its side,
“Fate – Root – Heath.”

Let’s look closer. . .

J. D. Fate who was first
Brick maker and layer,
had “gumption”
and dreams.

A real entrepreneur,
Fate built brick company
In Plymouth, Ohio,
in the 1800’s.

He joined friend,
Gunsaullus,
Using clay extruding machinery
from the earth to make bricks.

Along comes Charles Heath,
Whose part of Root – Heath company.

When Fate joined Root – Heath,
It was 1919.
They became recognized~
Clay machinery,
Yard locomotives,
Sharpening equipment for
Reel-type lawn mowers.

Unfortunately, 1929,
Business market crashed.
Charles Heath suggested
Manufacturing tractors
To keep the rural market
And their company
Up and running.

Engineers needed jobs,
Came full of new ideas.

Luke Biggs thought of
Using rubber tires.

Prior to this time,
Tractors had heavy
Steel wheels.

The Plymouth company,
Originally organized
by J.D. Fate,
began with trucks,
Became
So much more.

He used the name “Plymouth”
although Chrysler beat their
Time to patent the name by
A few years.

Have I lost you yet?

The “Plymouth Silver King”
Is a beautiful and unique part
Of farming history.

Plymouth
“yard locomotives”
were very important
during
World War II.

A little off to their side is a
“young whippersnapper,”
Green with yellow details-
The brand “new” John Deere.

62 responses »

    • It is so hard to make an outline of a complicated company which changed more than once, it’s direction to stay relevant in a fast paced world! I lost myself, too! Thanks, Jen xoxo You came~ you tried!! 🙂

      • No one is doing any conquering unless it mesns a hike or goasl set. 🙂 We sometimes can’t wrap our minds around random facts, especially about an unknown company. There are plenty of times I need concrete examples. You are much more able to use your faith and imagination than I could- – those limitless elements boggle my mind at times. Lol xo

    • I picture a brother of yours out in the Midwest having a tractor. Isn’t that silly? It would be kind of assuming you grew up in the country. 🙂 Thanks, Lyn for enjoying both the picture and the story behind the company.

      • You are so cute! I grew up in Spokane, a city of about 250.000 but my parents bought this crazy house as the neighbor called it up a dirt road on a hill! With about 5 neighbors! getting up there in the snow and ice was a mess. So hmm country in a way! My mom grew up in a town of 700! So I went there allot. My kids grew up in Riyadh, 5,000,000 and they are not used to the small town where we live now!! I wish I had a brother and he had a tractor! lol

      • I was just imagining all of it! Your parents lived in a rural area but needed a truck or something with 4 wheel drive to handle the snow and ice on a dirt road. I feel for your children but it will all be seen someday as a good decision with positive or come for all of you. So, do you write your own jazz music? 🙂

  1. I love the background….how fascinating!! Your post brought me back to the first time I drove a tractor as a teenager. It was on my cousins farm…..great post dedicated to some very innovative and determined people!!

    • Kirt, thanks for “hanging out” with the country folks and sharing your personal experience with driving a tractor. My cousins lived in Chardon, Ohio and my Uncle Orrin would get his tractor out and pull a wagon of kids around. I have never 4-wheeled nor driven a tractor, Kurt. Happy to hear you enjoyed the sequence of facts about the company, too.

    • Thanks, Beth for your finding the photo to be cute! That tractor “cub” was really smaller than the full-sized red Farmall (not shown). I almost had the Daddy tractor telling his son, Cub, the story. 🙂

    • It really was hard not to take 10 photographs! There are such a variety of tractors and to me, these were the most interesting ones. So glad if you had a chance you would climb on to the Plymouth Silver King. There were children getting up on these, who were supervised by both the parent and farmers.

    • When we moved here to Delaware (1986) I was mainly a “city kid,” Pauline. My childhood had times when my babysitter’s family, my cousins, Aunt and Uncle would introduce country things and animals to my brothers and me. When we joined 4-H with my being an asst leader and all 3 kids members, I felt I needed to learn more about many aspects of farming. So, who would have guessed this from my suburban high school friends? 🙂
      Thank you for taking a new look at tractors. My son, James, loved the big sand box at the fair filled with all kinds of John Deere equipment of combines, tractors, and more. We used to read a lot of these books, too. My grandkids are not as interested, especially after the boys got older than 6. My new grandbaby, Hendrix will make me happy by sitting in the sand box, along with petting the baby animals. My friend, Anna and I liked the sweet big eyes on the baby calf, the goat “kids” and lambs. I could have taken photos and got a lot of “Aw’s!”

      • Kind of getting my feet back under me. Had two different hospitalizations—one for more sugery on the foot and the other to treat my depression and not taking care of myself (eventually in a lock-down unit) But wrote lots of poems for therapy! Search “mental”, lock-down, inmate,, and “THREE WEST” TO READ SOME OF THEM! 🙂

      • Well….been depressed most of my life. But the poetry greatly helps, along with faith in God and His Son. I think the time in Lock-down helped in its own way, too, through the information received and the people I met on the inside. Am doing better—still gotta work on the personal hygiene angle and taking time to get my meds and testing done BEFORE attending to Diana’s needs. Getting there! 😀

      • I am glad they had green and red, it is nice to hear about a wide variety of “stuff.” Bela, they may have a county fair even up in Maine. Then proud farmers may bring out a “collectable!” Who knows? 🙂

  2. This was fun. I like how your poem started out almost telling the personal story of the tractors and then you went on to tell the ‘true’ story. Great pics too! I almost missed this one today…glad I didn’t.

    • Marissa, I play catch up so I would have understood if you had come late to the county fair! Not exactly a city place but a Beatles cover band played on Sat. 19th and a more Southern rock group who was once the opener for Lynerd Skynerd on Sat. 26th. They are local Ohio men, Mc Guffey Lane. 🙂

      • Yes, I guess I’m just hard on myself because I try to be pretty on top of all the blogs. Luckily when I look at my iPhone and there are unread emails, I know I must have missed a blog. Yes, I am that anal retentive. Beatles are always great, even if it’s a cover. Glad you had fun!

      • I appreciate your sharing how specific you can be. I have one daughter, my oldest, who is like this. I enjoy all live music since yhe people usually put energy and enthusiasm into their performance, Marissa. I was dancing in the aisles 🙂

  3. Being from a farm family, we used to always attend the international plowing match. This past weekend we missed it due to a family funeral, but I feel like I got al ittle bit of it here!

    • Jay, happy to hear of really more international locations where tractors are featured. This aspect appealed to me more than adorable animals or those colorful rides. Next yeat, we shall see what direction I may go
      Need to sleep and have to postpone visits for another day xo

  4. This was a fascinating and enlightening read – wonderfully well written – not once did I get lost – and I really enjoyed how you weaved magick by writing it in a poetic form.

    My maternal grandparents had a working farm – to support their large family – as was common back in the ’30s and ’40s – and so I had the double blessing of living in a big city, but enjoying country life as well. Not too many children can enjoy the thrills of jumping from a barn loft into a pile of hay, or riding the wagon as the hay was baled and “chucked chucked chucked” off the conveyor. Picking sun-warmed earth fresh carrots and brushing them off with their long leafy stems, happily crunching? Loved it!

    Tractors? Interesting subject – and fascinating history – not only through their use for agriculture, but also pre-industrial revolution ….

    And yes, I can admit, “nothing runs like a deer” …. lawn tractors included 😉

    • Pat, this was an outstanding addition to my comments section! I love your life which added city life with grandparents’ country life and farming life. Not all country dwellers get the opportunity to do what you were able to do. 🙂
      Thank you for sharing about the years they had your mother and siblings in the 30’s and 40’s. You are right, tough times after the Depression, along with war times. I was glad you enjoyed this post. I have tons of tags on the side of my posts. I was afraid I would forget what subjects I wrote anout. Ha ha! Thank you for reading this one! 🙂

      • Thank you for such a generous comment in response to my comment 😀

        I was very lucky indeed – and I *know* it – and appreciate it now, more than ever.

  5. These posts are really neat. I like tractors. I wouldn’t go so far as to say tractors are sexy, but they are pretty awesome. Shiny, powerful, friendly, helpful. 🙂

  6. 🙂 This makes me think of all of the hard work, hours and hours that add up to days weeks months years, that our tractors log. The farmers who lived to grow and provide.

    Saving the old and making history look beautiful. Nothing like an old tractor sitting in a field, retired and graceful.

Leave a Reply

