Thursday’s Doors ~ October 15, 2015

Standard

image

This door is from a similar style of
Italianate which was described on a
past door’s post. If you wish to look this up it was posted on September 3, 2015.  The main differences between this and the one I described
to you on are the color and window placements.

Today’s house is brick painted to look like cream stucco with dark olive green details and the other was painted a bright white with black details.

The door is made of a beautiful rich
brown wood. I don’t know which kind
of wood might have been prevalent during the house’s original construction. I believe the past post had a commenter speculating pine wood with a dark stain or mahogany wood.

The two arched windows in the door are lovely and allow curtains or visibility, when pulled open to “peek” at visitors on the porch. The beveled glass reveals signs of bubbles, indicating older age of glass.

The brick stairs gradually leading up to the porch show great craftsmanship almost like level terraces. 

This home was on a home tour in 1990.
It is described in the program as:
“Double sided Italianate brick painted cream color. It was built in 1867 by J. J. Shur.
The curved window hoods indicate the beginning of more elaborate building techniques.
The bay window has been the site of at least three weddings.

As you look at this house, you note
the unique framing of each window.

The home has three similar sized windows across the second story.
On the left side of the home facing from the street, you notice above mentioned bay window. Each of the three windows on the first level bay window have unique details, which distinguishes and identifies its period.

The roofing has brackets which match the elaborate window framing.

I liked the decorations they have for
the Autumn months. When the wreath is lit, you see gold and orange lights.

When you see this house in the daylight, you may note the wreath is made of grapevine interwoven with artificial leaves on a strand. The matching smaller wreaths on the windows of the door really set this off beautifully.

The mums placed on the steps complete an attractive October through November presentation.

*****************************************

I really enjoy potted chrysanthemums, often known as simply, “mums.” They are my birthday month’s flower, while my Mom loves pink or lavender to match her old Victorian pastel color scheme. I embrace bright orange – yellow, gold, red or burgundy.

If you like mums, let me know which color you prefer to see.

Our landlords set a bale of hay on both sides of our entry’s gardens. There is a scarecrow on one side with a pumpkin while the other side has two pumpkins.

I like the way they change the hanging pots which hang from hooks pushed into the dark brown mulch. Now they have a burgundy mum on one side and a yellow mum on the other side.

“Our” apartment building’s summer garden flowers were impatiens. They have been taken out due to dying from frosty nights. There are still two “fire bushes” on either side in gardens.They are just starting to turn that gorgeous jeweled red which looks like a blaze of “fire.”

What are you doing to decorate the outside of your home?
Do you have potted mums or planted perrenials?
Do you incorporate ghosts, witches, black cats or bats?
Will you have a scarecrow or a masked man with clothes stuffed with newspaper?
I like when people decorate with webs and plastic spiders.  Just no real ones, please!

This Thursday’s Doors post is thanks to Norm Frampton who has his own weekly door post, as well as others who are linked with his blog. Join the fun or stop by and visit at:
http://miscellaneousmusingsofamiddleagedmind.wordpress.com

About reocochran

I am experiencing crazy and hapless adventures in dating that may interest people over fifty. I am now approaching 62 later this year and enjoy taking photographs, incorporating stories or poetry on my blog. I have many old posts which are informative and written like essays. I have several love stories collected from family and friends. Even strangers spill their stories, since I am a grown version of the girl next door. I have been trying to live a healthy lifestyle with better food selections and active hiking and walking. I have written four children's books and illustrated them. They are not published but a battered women's shelter used one about neglect and abuse for their children's program and a 4H group used my "Kissing a Bunny is like saying a Prayer" as a coloring book. Please comment or respond so I may get a chance to know you. Sincerely, Robin

7 responses »

  1. This is a beautiful house, I adore old homes. My neighborhood is in the older part of town here, and my house was built in 1930. It has been a lot of work, but I wouldn’t trade it for anything. I love mums too, purple is a favorite. I just planted pansies but they are starting to wilt because although our mornings are cool, afternoon highs are well into the 90s. Nobody lives here because of good weather, that’s for sure. I enjoy your door posts!

    • Guess what my friend Lana. Somehow my posts came out with two that are alike. I knew my writing snd pre-scheduling would end up a goof up one day. Would you forgive me if I delete this post? You are only one yo comment on it, maybe the other one came our earlier on day? Maybe we can just laugh about the “twins” posts? I liked your comment very much.
      Your wilting flowers hopefully will perk up. Your home being built in 1930 sounds like it has “stories held within its wslls. So lovely. . . 🙂

    • I am one who reluctantly joined the weekly doors. It is quite addictive snd sm always looking. I know we have respect for Beth B. And we have similar hopes for our country and politics. Thank you for your recent comments. I apologize, they were in the Pending Approval area of wordpress. Not sure why technology of the engine that runs wordpress doesn’t just connect and allow comments which are not Spam!! 🙂

      • You might have yours settings set like mine whereby all comments are approved once someone has initially been cleared by you after their first comment. First comments from a visitor go into pending until approved. You can check in your site admin under settings then discussion. Took me ages to find it. 🙂
        I hope you’re still enjoying your club. 🙂

Leave a Reply

