Thursday’s Doors ~ October 15, 2015

Standard

image

This door is from a similar style of
Italianate which was described on a
past door’s post. The main differences between this and the one I described
to you on are the color and window placements.

Today’s house is brick painted to look like cream stucco with brown details and the other was painted a bright white with black details.

The door is made of a beautiful rich
brown wood. I don’t know which kind
of wood might have been prevalent during the house’s original construction. I believe the past post had a commenter speculating pine wood with a dark stain or mahogany wood.

The two arched windows in the door are lovely and allow curtains or visibility, when pulled open to “peek” at visitors on the porch. The beveled glass reveals signs of bubbles, indicating older age of glass.

The brick stairs gradually leading up to the porch show great craftsmanship almost like level terraces.Β 

This home was on a home tour in 1990.
It is described in the program as:
“Double sided Italianate brick painted cream color. It was built in 1867 by J. J. Shur.
The curved window hoods indicate the beginning of more elaborate building techniques.
The bay window has been the site of at least three weddings.

As you look at this house, you note
the unique framing of each window.

The home has three similar sized windows across the second story.
On the left side of the home facing from the street, you notice above mentioned bay window. Each of the three windows on the first level bay window have unique details, which distinguishes and identifies its period.

The roofing has brackets which match the elaborate window framing.

I liked the decorations they have for
the Autumn months. When the wreath is lit, you see gold and orange lights.

When you see this house in the daylight, you may note the wreath is made of grapevine interwoven with artificial leaves on a strand. The matching smaller wreaths on the windows of the door really set this off beautifully.

The mums placed on the steps complete an attractive October presentation.

*****************************************

I really enjoy potted chrysanthemums, often known as simply, “mums.” They are my birthday months flower, while my Mom loved pink or lavender to match her Victorian pastel color scheme, I embrace bright orange – yellow and the reds or burgundy.

If you like mums, let me know which color you prefer to see.

Our landlords set a bale of hay on both sides of our entry’s gardens. There is a scarecrow on one side with a pumpkin while the other side has two pumpkins.

I like the way they change the hanging pots which hang from hooks pushed into the dark brown mulch. Now they have a burgundy mum on one side and a yellow mum on the other side.

“Our” apartment building’s summer garden flowers were impatiens. They have been taken out due to dying from frosty nights. There are still two “fire bushes” on either side of our door. They are just starting to turn that gorgeous jeweled red which looks like a blaze of “fire.”

What are you doing to decorate the outside of your home? Do you have potted mums or planted perrenials?

This Thursday’s Doors post is thanks to Norm Frampton who has his own weekly door post, as well as others who are linked with his blog. Join the fun or stop by and visit at:
http://miscellaneousmusingsofamiddleagedmind.wordpress.com

About reocochran

I am experiencing crazy and hapless adventures in dating that may interest people over fifty. I am now approaching 62 later this year and enjoy taking photographs, incorporating stories or poetry on my blog. I have many old posts which are informative and written like essays. I have several love stories collected from family and friends. Even strangers spill their stories, since I am a grown version of the girl next door. I have been trying to live a healthy lifestyle with better food selections and active hiking and walking. I have written four children's books and illustrated them. They are not published but a battered women's shelter used one about neglect and abuse for their children's program and a 4H group used my "Kissing a Bunny is like saying a Prayer" as a coloring book. Please comment or respond so I may get a chance to know you. Sincerely, Robin

27 responses »

  1. Thank you for your wonderful description of the house. I must admit I’m slack in the garden. We have mainly shrubs and trees and a wattle in the front yard. I have a daphne growing in the back, but again mainly small hedges, trees and shrubs. I don’t have a terribly strong green thumb. 😐

    • No worries about plants with me. πŸ™‚ I am in a one bedroom apt so my door and apt are decorated and 3 house plants. Thanks for telling me about your plants, Jen. Is a wattle a plant or a nickname for a duck? πŸ˜‰ β™‘

      • I will need to look this tree up. I thought perhaps you were being cute, since many have stone or cement ducks here. They put them on porches or in gardens. They dress them up, too. At Halloween a costume but at Thanksgiving they add a turkey outfit and they have a red “wattle” on their necks. We used to call it the “gobbler!” πŸ™‚

  2. When I read the other post, I was thinking that I liked the perspective but I really would have liked to know more about the house. Bam, here it is, my wish come true in a second post. thanks for the details Robin.

  3. This is such a beautiful door and photograph. I love the ghost in the upper window. We usually do a lot of fall decorating outside, but this year we only put out two pumpkins. Just am not motivated for some reason for the first time. Maybe because it has been hovering around 100F since June. Even this week, in the 90s — it doesn’t feel like autumn here, so I will enjoy your posts on this instead. πŸ™‚

    • I drive by this house leaving my oldest daughter’s apartment complex, Beth. Many nights it has inside lights on, this was the only “exception” to their pattern. I parked and walked back to capture this.
      I think so far no one else spied the ghost!
      I can understand not being motivated, Beth. You love in an area where the pool is still a wonderful part of your days, if you wished to take a dip. πŸ™‚ Somehow pumpkins do seem “so wrong!”
      Hope you and Geoffrey have a fine and fun weekend! In California would they prefer the clichΓ© Have a simply fabulous weekend, dear! β™‘

  4. These Doors posts are reminding me more and more of approaching strangers doors for trick or treating. We’re in an apartment and usually don’t decorate but this year my hubby went a bit crazy at the 99 cent store. As for flowers, well, just have a little potted cactus a friend gave us, which is a good thing with my black thumb.

    • Marissa, you chose poetry with scary themes as your “weapon of choice” this month, I chose decorated doors. πŸ™‚ Wait till you see my holiday doors, I already know which ones are our favorites.
      Thank you for sharing that your husband chose some decorations for Halloween. I go somewhere called the Dollar Tree like your 99 cenr store. I find neat stuff in there. I have three ceramic pumpkins from there that are really nice, as well as a scarecrow made out composition material. People think he is like a Hallmark scarecrow. What I like most about your comments is this fun part of how your family is like a team where you and hubby take turns.
      You and Jen mentioned not having green thumbs. Interesting. . .

      • Dollar stores are so fun, aren’t they? I go every week to see what I can get before shelling out the big bucks at the grocery stores, ha, ha! Can’t wait to see your holiday doors post!

    • I liked your grandchildren adding such neat things in your fairy garden making it transform seasons, Beth. Your mums and late flowers blooming along with colorful leaves sound enticing and beautiful! Hope you have a fantastic weekend, Beth.

    • I love the vibrant colored mums, too. My Mom always chose the pinks and lavender to go with her Victorian hand me down furniture from her grandparents. Thanks for sharing your favorites! πŸ™‚

  5. Chrysanths are beautiful in their rich shades that compliment autumn colours. Soon, they will be in every shop, for sale, as flowers for graves on November 1st. We have been known to dive into graveyard dumps to rescue them in the past, and give them a second life in our garden.

    • This is a good idea and nothing wrong with saving plants lives, V. I like that you enjoy crysanths, too. They are hearty and we used to wear one big mum on a wrist corsage for Homecoming football games or pinned to our jackets.
      By the way, I have rescued a doll house when my girls were young and a few chairs over the years from the trash.
      Is there an expression like we say,”One person’s junk is another person’s treasures?”

  6. A very attractive entrance, Robin. I love the decorations and the pretty mums. I personally love the bright orange and yellows. I saw some in our market yesterday and almost bought them. Maybe next time. πŸ™‚

    • The prices for mums cannot be beat, Sylvia. Your colors sound lovely. Thanks for complimenting my door choice. I drive past this house msny times during a month after leaving my oldest daughter’s apat. building. I only saw this home lit up once in weeks. I pulled over and took three shots. It is fun to be part of the doors posts. I bet you have pretty doors, there! πŸ™‚

  7. It’s too cold here for any flowers to be out and about – we’ve already had frost and expect flurries tomorrow. I would definitely prefer golds and oranges for mums or anything this time of year – love those fall colours!

    • I sure do love fall colors, Jay. When I was in my 30’s, someone had a Colors makeup party. Not sure of the brand. The lady would study your coloring and tell you which colors went best with your hair and skin tones. I was told I was “Autumn” in colors. I have always enjoyed the bold colors of Fall. πŸ™‚

  8. Robin, What a gorgeous door! It looks like Mahogany. You write so beautifully that I feel like I am there seeing the house in the cool evening. I love mums too. My house has burgundy ones this year.

Leave a Reply

