The Last Hurrah of Summer

Image

image

Lake Erie Shore
Poem

Huntington Beach,
Bay Village, Ohio ~
One.

Micah and Skyler,
Brothers ~
Two.

Digging,
Splashing,
Castle making,
Stick throwing,
Stomping,
Running.

Once clean,
Filthy sand and dirty,
Twice clean.

Two worn out,
Stragglers dragging,
Up the tall staircase,
To car, to dinner:
Aunt and Uncle,
Homemade crust,
Original cooked sauce,
Cheeses and meats,
Onions and peppers.

As falling into bed,
Two voices whispered~
“Hope we go to the beach
Tomorrow.”
Sighs,
Zzz-z

*****************************

Realizing Summer
was officially
Over on
9/23/15.

Never in the
Hearts of
Children!

**********
Written by Robin O. Cochran
Photo by reocochran

58 responses »

  1. The boundless energy of kids, they are like batteries, they just keep going. Cute,pic and looks like they had a great day. Can I ask is that the colour of the sand at that particular beach only as its not very sandy looking? πŸ˜• x

    • I was up at Lake Erie the week before school started and the bus frowned. I right away pre-posted this, scheduled it in! I was laughing since the sand is whiter in Michigan and in Florida but Massachusetts sand is like this, not sure if dirt or clay or what? Thanks, Jen. They may have wanted to play until the moon came kut. It was definitely very hot!! πŸ™‚

      • Not sure why, but I got yo looking back at comments andbyes, Jen! Our beaches have clay in them! πŸ™‚ They aren’t as “clean” looking as our dear friend, Beth’s beaches along Lake Michigan. Those are beautiful and Sleepy Bear dunes have really white and soft sand as does the Upper Peninsula of Michigan. β™‘

  2. I think I’ve mentioned before that we used to vacation at Lake Erie in the 50s and 60s. I always looked like that. Every day, before going back to the cabin, my mom would say “go in the lake and wash off.” Everyone else had been laying in the sun and went back nice and dry. I was always freshly soaked. Thanks for the memory jog Robin.

    • Dan, never get tired of people’s connections and memories! I have a really Sandy photo of them at Alum Creek or Delaware beach. It may be saved for next Spring under the title, Lord of the Flies! πŸ™‚
      I was just telling Jen, from Australia that Michigan and Florida sand are whiter and finer but if my memory serves me right, Massachusetts sand was this dirty cilor, too! Am I right, it has been since 1990’s or around then, when I visited my Great Aunt Marie and twin cousins who fought in Vietnam. That was the last time and after the Perfect Storm. . .
      May have to look up the date and verify my visit and timing. Great Aunt Marie was young when I was 16 that summer vacation but late 80’s when we took the long trip East, my last ex and i. Dan, thanks for sharing your wet memories and I always went into Lake Erie ftom freezing Memorial Day till Labor Day, no sitting on sand getting hot without a few swims and dips fir me. πŸ™‚

      • I don’t know about MA sand, I’m actually not much of a beach person. I do remember Lake Erie sand looking like that. My daughter and I drove up from Pittsburgh for a day a few years ago. It was as I remembered but the beach we used to use had been badly eroded.

      • Sorry to hear about the beach erosion, Dan. My Mom’s (and of course Dad’s) house in Vermilion has a nearby beach called Showse Beach.
        It was fantastic when a past woman mayor, Jean Anderson, worked hard and got a grant for areas with low income. She had to get people fill out their income and give support to this plan. Finally, two summers ago, they fixed the beach three doors down from my parents cottage. It has terracing which allows wheelchairs to go down to the lake, grass planted and an emergency boat launch installed. The beach is transformed and increased the neighborhood home values, too.
        There still are few year round people who make much money there, since big plants like the Ford Company in next door Lorsin, Ohio closed. A double lot place like my family has tried to sell for 4 summers is up for $185,000 and gets offers for $140,000. My niece and her husband, with baby and stepdaughter, pay rent to cover the property and city taxes.
        We would just like to sell in case of need to have Mom move to other part of her building into assisted living.

    • Thank you so much, Marissa. Exactly right, no people but beach lovers and there were beach volleyball players, too. It is still much warmer in water now, with “lake effects” than when I was younger and jumped off pier or stones into freezing Memorial Day Lake Erie!! πŸ™‚ It had whole summer for sun to warm up the water.
      To tell you the truth, Marissa this was taken in late August when we were up before Mom fell and all that mess. She was content sitting in shade at top of steps watching the boys. She had lifelong eczema which she always wore shirts and lots of sunscreen to protect the red, scaly skin. I think Vitamin D and Sun did help her more than cold temps, though. Boys are so fifferent, as you know with their interests, despite many people claiming this as a stereotype. My own two girls were builders of sand castles but there were no sticks used as swords and my poor son, stuck in the middle of them, had to search the beach for someone to rough house wuth. πŸ™‚

      • Ha, yes, funny how these stereotypes play themselves out. Oh, so this was during the summer…kind of thought it was unusual to have beach photos from this time of year. Oh well. Guess we’ll be seeing more of those stick swords next year!

    • It was hot last weekend and we did a photo-less creek walk but not the beach. These photos are from up at Lake Erie in late August, visiting my Mom with oldest daughter and Skyler and Micah, right before school started.
      I know this is hard to believe but I did not want to post photos and my first 3 full years of blogging, I didnt. πŸ™‚ I wanted to use words to express myself and practice my “craft.” I finally decided to try adfing photos to join the crowd. I just learned how and am happily writing less and exploiting my cute “grandies.”

      • Photos catch the eye, so they do seem to make a difference. I like adding them now even though I spend a fair amount of time searching for them. Great when you have the right photo ready to go!

      • My youngest daughter is a college graduate with dual majors in Marketing and Communication, D. She suggested early on in my blogging, that today’s society is a visual one.

        I appreciate your thoughtful comments! I think you may also relate and bemoan a bit the loss of readers that wish to read more descriptive texts. My good friend, fellow retired teacher, and I talk about our favorite writers we know rely more now upon action and dialogue over background descriptions and character development. Just sad and I gave up the idea of essays and character sketches but love my 3 past years worth of love stories β™‘ collected from family, friends and strangers.

    • D, I happened to be on this response area, someone awaiting approval was stuck there due yo my not paying attention closely. Anyway, thank you for the last comment about having a photo ready and your positive remarks. πŸ™‚

  3. Yes,, that feeling that summer is over – sad at first then the nostalgia for crisp autumn days with a hint of bright snowy days to follow gets us through till the first signs of Spring…

    • The expression of the boys faces is that this would be their last outing until next year. I knew I would post it but waited until it was going to be 30 degrees out tonight.
      Honestly, Jenny, we were up together visiting Mom in late August and I went creek walking with them last week. Not the beach.
      I have been back to see Mom over weeks since she fell but the rehabilitation area of her senior living is not the boys “cup of tea.”
      They were muddy from head to foot last Saturdsy, nearly 80 degrees out, by Blue Limestone Park. The boys love getting in with a stick and stirring the creek bed’s mud up! πŸ™‚ No frogs or turtles to disturb this time of year. I loved how you described the seasons changing, as a mixture of beauty with nostalgia, Jenny.

    • Lyn, so glad you could relate to this photo and poem. I am happy to say, this was in August but we did creek walking without a camera last weekend they hot head to toe muddy! In this post, I wanted to express their regret that they must now wait for six months or more to get back on a beach. πŸ™‚

      • I took photos for years but didn’t post any the first 3 years of blogging. I am now finding it fun and addictive although I lost a couple of my old followers, the photos seem to attract new ones. When our Autumn started on 9/23, I just wasn’t ready to post this photo of the boys. Hugs for your fun and caring comments, Lyn.

    • Pauline, this was such a nice comment. I am glad you found something that resonated with you. I felt it was almost like a Peter Pan moment. Sending you happy wishes for your Sunday! xo

    • Mark, this could feel like just yesterday when pools would close and summer ended. What was the date you called it “the end of golfing season?” I may have to go back and check your posts. It is always a little sad moment, I would think. . .
      The boys and I went creek walking actually for our really really “final” warm day last weekend. Head to toe wet and I didn’t dare have phone on me, since they take sticks and “sword fight” or what Micah calls “stirring the pot” they churn up the creek until it is no longer clear. No photos taken, just tons of giggling fun. πŸ™‚
      I just thought of a good song reference, “Boys of Summer.” Onward into the beautiful Fall which uou captured to visit the family we ho display beautiful art in a cottage. πŸ™‚

      • Stirring the pot is a perfect description for that activity, Robin. Your grand Micah has a way with words. I wonder where he gets that from? Hey, my golf season is not over yet, I hope. I want to be a Boy of Autumn, too. πŸ˜‰

      • Hi, Mark! Thanks do much for this comment! I think the youngest one in this loving duo, Micah, picks up expressions quickly. I appreciate your compliments! I lost my Hotmail account today so I am winging it. Hope this didn’t reblog? I am enjoying October comments for this post! πŸ™‚

  4. Pauline, thank you very much. I like your finding this “nugget” which makes me smile, too. xo
    Give the “kids” a pat from me! Soon, did I tell you this? I have a photo of my only painting done in past few years for my Mom’s birthday in 2013. I make little children’s drawings all the time, am starting one for a 9 year old named Jade. πŸ™‚ So busy but glad to have projects!

    • Thanks for saying this was “great!” I am glad you feel this way! πŸ™‚
      I am sure this was an expression of regret on the little guy, because I was telling them we were getting ready to go home! Thank you so much for feeling it was a “priceless” expression!

    • It really was a hard thing to accept, when i was a girl. Although I loved Christmas and Easter, summer just spread forever in my mind on that last joyful day of school, Jill. I had a double blessing since Mom was “off,” too.
      I like that idea of comparing it to “losing a best friend,” Jill. πŸ™‚

  5. Summer is fleeting, especially for those of us living in northern latitudes. It is always great to have one or a few of those last warm, sunny days, especially for playing with grandchildren. They also remind us how fleeting the years go by as we watch them grow. If a week goes by, we see the differences since we saw them last. – Mike

    • I do like the term “fleeting” which holds a sense of wistfulness to it, Mike. I felt a sense of regret the last time boys were up to see Mom. I have been up a few times, due to her fall and my worrying about her. Changes do happen too quickly to the children in growing and some elements of the universe not quite making grandparents “magic” be quite as astonishing.
      I am getting boys warm clothes out since we will be watching Skyler play what is called “JV” football and his first game of “Varsity” middle school football.
      Micah needs a sweater. Sky will need a long John shirt under his gear. His Mom will be getting off work to see last half of first game and whole of 2nd. Felicia is coming up to watch them play their only games to be played in the Hayes High School field. πŸ™‚
      I wrote you a message on your Boquete post, just to travel back again there. πŸ™‚ Β‘Adios y hasta la vista!

    • This is so nice coming from someone who had white Sandy beaches for years! πŸ™‚ I think this sand boys label is so cute, too. Must use it another photo, Sylvia. I was going to call it “Lord of the Flies,” but I will add “sand boy”, too.
      My sister in law and brother, married 25 years have kitchen duties divided up. He uses a bread maker to create the whole wheat pizza crust and sauce, ingredients chopped up. She is the “clean up” crew. It was truly scrumptious.:)

  6. Robin, I love the photo of the boys in the sand! so well captured! It depicts the essence of summer.Your eloquent words do it justice too.

    • I am so glad you found this post. It makes me happy seeing my grandson’s playing and having fun. Thank you, Sandhya. The Essence Of Summer was such a great way to describe this story. Hugs , Robin

  7. Very handsome boys indeed! I can’t blame them, it is hard to let go of summer still for me. Although our days in Texas are like living in the oven, I enjoy it very much, long days, summer evenings, ice cream. Every little second of it.

    • Texas, oh my! Yes, summer is one of my favorite times of year. Thank you for saying the nice things about my grandsons. Being partial, I think they are handsome, too.
      If it makes you feel better, Lana. I work in a warehouse where summer temps are 100 degrees as I fill hampers with auto parts. Summer is a “mixed blessing” but I am still blessed with much to enjoy! πŸ™‚

    • Thanks, Brenda. Unfortunately some fellow bloggers landed in awaiting approval area of wordpress and I was lucky to see I missed your comment. (Emu had several older comments so I was scrambling around and saw a few to reply which had laid unresponsive to.) I am “bad” at keeping abreast of comments and apologize for missing this gem. β™‘

Leave a Reply

