Thursday’s Doors ~ October 29, 2015 (Day)

Image

image

This house has changed
dramatically since I first
saw it behind my apartment
building.

Once was a gray house,
some flaking paint and
white trim.
Brown painted porch
and faded fences.

Elderly man lived here,
several visiting children,
close by dropped in ~
help their loved one.

Pitching in,
Basic repairs,
mowing small yard,
cleaning gutters,
seasonal
repairs.

Winter snow off porch,
sidewalk and driveway.

Tall trees
fallen leaves raked,
piling into paper bags.

Spring flowers planted.
Time passed.

Less time to help
or drop by.

When old man died,
home became a
house up for sale.

Once purchased,
New, younger couple
made wise choice in
making into 2 parts.

Renovations,
New neighbors,
Young owners
expecting. . .

Soon little one added,
turned back into
Home.
♡♡♡

***********************
Over course of time,
Observed new changes.

Transformation into sunny,
butter cream color,
white picket fence
many seasons
of flowers.

Many
hued
mums
now.

^€^£^¥^₩^
Scary decorations
with spider webs
galore,
new baby,
child #2
on the way.

This post is part of a group of
doors of all shapes and sizes.
Please head over to Norm
Frampton’s own door post
and view the collection at:
http://miscellaneousmusingsofamiddleagedmind.wordpress.com

25 responses »

  1. Now I understand. I read the second post first. This is a beautiful little series Robin. I really like the way you brought us through the history of this house. I can imagine the people going in and out of that door.

    • Thanks for pointing out yhe window boxes. I have lived in my apartment building since 2008. There were a number of years to keep track of this house, Jill. I could not help noticing, after I would get home from work, weekends. . . The way this couple transformed the “worn around the edges” house into something pleasing to look at captivated me. So glad I post photos now, I am not sure it would be the same without them. Too bad I don’t have a before and after of the house! 🙂

    • Juan, that is an incredible price. Around here it might sell for $150,000 or people would counter offer lower. Thank you for commenting and I agree, an incredible house! 🙂

    • Okay, let’s try “deep” purple, Marissa. Your imagination and then you can explain the story of a Gothic family like the Addams Family or . . . ? Just please, let’s stay away from Barney’s Dino color. Ha ha! 🙂

  2. What a fun post of history of this house all rolled into one. Very nice. Glad you found me through Roberta so you could visit and that way I could come visit you back. Always love finding new blogs to visit. Also, thanks for the compliment on the vintage granny hot pad. Have a great week-end. 🙂

    • Dear Peabea, so sorry my wordpress held your comment captive and it was such a shsme. Your kind and warm comments are appreciated. I hope by approving yhis we may stay connected and get to know each other. Thank you for patience. 🙂

  3. Charming!
    There’s nothing like new life in an old house. It’s a beauty in life, fersure. I love how you captured this so simply, but eloquently. I got a bit teary before it was done.
    Dreamy post.

Leave a Reply

