A Cool Autumn’s Evening ~ All Hallow’s Eve

Image

image

“Fears”

Don’t look up.
It’s a dark, spooky
Chilly evening.

Filled with shadows,
Pockets of bizarre
Discrepancies.

Fragments
of filmy
Memories;
Waxing
and hazy
Waning.

Why would
they feel
Shivers?

What were
those odd
Sounds?

Where
were
Spiders,
Bats
and
Bloody
Parts
all
coming
from?

Slithering
Under leaves,
Out of woodwork,
Creeps the undead.
From crevices in
Antique walls,
Mirrors hazy
Shadows.

Don’t
look
Down.

Still…

Watch
Your
Step!

Robin O. Cochran
Happy Halloween!

45 responses »

  1. Oh no, oh no, absolute chills and I’ll tell you why…so, not too long ago my office moved locations. I work just a 6 hour day but like to get out of the office for 10 or 15 minutes to take a walk…it really helps. It used to be nice because we were in an upscale neighborhood and I’d walk and look at the nice houses but now we moved to a really skeevy neighborhood, very industrial and no where to walk, but I try to make the best of it. Well, I can’t even tell you how many men proposition me when I walk around here…and not in a good way. It’s scary. One of them even asked me if I was ‘working’. Well, nothing stops me from my walks…until yesterday when I was walking in a dark kind of weedy area and a rat scampered past my feet. And I was wearing sandals!! Yuck!! I may have met my match.

    • This was truly a gruesome and chilling example of city streets “gone Bad!” 😦 So sorry about men and eerie, “skeevie” atmosphere. Also, rat sitter ingredients across your toes! Yikes, Marissa. Sending you my Batman’s assistant, Robin, protective shield, my dear!♡

      • Oh, I wish I had a Robin…of any kind, walking with me on those disgusting streets. I always think that one day I’ll find a body out there. Actually I did find a dead crow (a very large one I might add). I know I probably should stop my walks but after 4 1/2 hours or so I just get so antsy. I NEED to get out of that office.

      • I have no good advice, since mace or a weapon can easily be turned against you, Marissa… Yuck about the dead crow. I like the idea of your getting your ipod full of motivating songs and climbing up and down the building stairs? Or dancing around the office? I will worry about the idea of your walking since the odds increase for crime each time you take risks, Marissa.♡

    • I just completed a few of your outstanding poemsv we jich even rhyme, Lana. I loved “Love Potion #9” and would not mind a visit with Pierce Brosnan 😉 or Richard Geer ♡

      • Thanks so much Robin…I have been revisiting old songs lately 🙂 Richard Gere is still great, did you see him in the Second Best Exotic Marigold Hotel? I haven’t seen that yet….

      • My girlfriend whose husband likes actor. And syfy, watched this 2nd Best Exotic Marigold movie and it was great, Lana. Lana The India movies have substance and traditions which really transport me into their world. The young man and later, his wife who run the hotel were in “Slumdog Millionaire.” I had a friend make this movie on her dvd copier machine. Take care and heading off to bed. Vacation but still need more sleep to help with my Mom. 🙂

    • Beth, I hope you get a picture message of your ‘young miss'(Annabelle?) in disguise or costume. 🙂 Have a splendid and scrumptious Halloween! So far, I received just baby photo from son’s wife and it was posed on a warm day, Micah wearing a store bought Hulk costume and Skyler in a creative “Slender Man” disguise.

    • Thank you to all the Casa members who are probably having mixed emotions about Halloween. Hope it turns out delightful! 🙂
      I am up at Mom’s visiting for my Fall vacation. I sm conducting an assessment of her capabilities and will decide which direction her living quarters will go. One optimistic brother and other cynical brother; so I am the “tie breaker.” Cross your fingers! ♡

      • Such tough decisions to make…I had no siblings so no one else’s opinion mattered. That was good and bad on many occasions. Good luck with your family this weekend.

      • Thank you, Sheila for sharing your personal family life. I guess this in many cases could go either way with being an only child versus one with siblings. Thanks for good luck wishes. 🙂

  2. Halloween has certainly been a part of your life Robin, your words and picture describe the magical world of the night of Spirits of Halloween.
    I’m starting to visualize you as a wicked old witch, who revels in a night of Hobgoblins to bring the word Fright alive.

Leave a Reply

