Full harvest moon by OWU building

Image

image

The sky cloudy
When chilly air
Sends shivers
Down spines
Along with
Goosebumps.

Are you ready for all which
Will be coming out for
Halloween, 2015?
Sorcerers,
Witches,
Goblins,
Minions,
Fairies,
Devils,
Elsa.

I tried to
explain to
upset coworker,
“Elsa is like Glynda,
The Good Witch,”
Only frozen.

Photo taken of
Edge of OWU
Gray Chapel.
Although hue
is golden,
Stone was
quarried from
Blue Limestone.
~ reocochran,
photo and words

37 responses »

  1. Son of Son was a Minion and Little Miss was Sir Toppemhatt from Thomas and Friends.
    They had a ‘Trunk or Treat’ at Mommy’s school. But I guess they’ll be adorned the same this evening. I don’t do Halloween anymore. It’s the only time I shut my porch light off, between 6 and 8 pm on whatever night the Township declares as Trick or Treat Night.

    Hugs, Jules

    • Mom and I wore orange (me) and bright pink (her) to dinner. I brought one of her favorite beaded and embroidered tops for her to wear, with candy corn and wrapped shiny crystals sewn on black long sleeve top decorated with shiny hard candies, candy corns and moon and stars. I think. It is on hanger and am lying in the dark with cell phone. Shh-h! πŸ™‚
      Thank you, Jules for sharing the sweet prince (son of son) and princess (little miss) costumes, although much more creative than royalty. Hugs, Robin

    • Well, Sylvia we need more goodness in everything around us. I am sure Elsa is a Princess but there was a male friend who was bemoaning daughter who wanted to be a “Lollaloopsie” (like a modern raggedy Ann) or Elsa from “Frozen.” πŸ™‚ Dad’s want girls to be princesses usually but this one was wishing for a female pirate k Ike Keira Knightley in the Caribbean film series. She is only 5. πŸ™‚

  2. Great shot of the corner detail of the limestone wall and the moon, Robin! I am a scaredy cat so am soothed knowing about the good witch:)

  3. We were running late yesterday morning, but that moon, whoa, she was beautiful! She hung low and seemingly just over our street. I regret not stopping to photograph her, but I never get as good as of a shot as you got here! Thanks for capturing that moon!

    • It was fun to know you noticed it, too! You were so right, Joey. It looked like bigger than the so-called “Super moons!” I was not sure any photographs would quite capture how large it loomed overhead. Thank you for backing me up on how impressive the moon was! πŸ™‚

    • I just write and sometimes organize by size or # of words. I cannot rhyme or help myself from sounding corny so the shape does seem to distract from my silly poetry attempts, E.S. β™‘ (Psst! Be on the lay low with this “top secret” information! πŸ™‚ )

  4. Yes, I suppose Elsa is just a modern replacement for Glynda…or maybe Cinderella…or Snow White?? Last year at my daughter’s school Halloween parade there were about 20 Elsa’s in her parade alone (I think 1-3 graders). Hopefully this year there will be less. I don’t know, I just appreciate a bit of originality.

    • This father in my work area was telling me he missed how he used to pick what his daughter wore, one year a clown with a helium balloon tied to her wrist, another very young sge, he made her wagon into a pirate ship, put a red bandana on her head (she had hardly any hair until this year) snd a black painted eye patch which she really didn’t complain or his partner, either. Now, he was trying valiantly to get her to “Go for” a “Lollaloopsie” doll costume, which is like a modern day Raggedy Ann. My oldest daughter tried to get Micah to let her make him a costume. He begged to wear a “real” store bought costume, the Hulk. She caved when he looked like a real year was coming.
      She loved theater, so like you, feels originality is important, Marissa. She wears a costume, too, while taking her 2 boys around. πŸ™‚

      • Awesome. Yes, those store bought things really aren’t cheap, especially when you consider you need to buy for a few kids. I always hope they will last through the few times they wear them without getting torn or dirty, which is another reason I like homemade or thrift shop. BTW, it turns out there were still tons of Elsas at my daughter’s Halloween parade again this year.My daughter thought some of the kids just wore the same outfits from last year.

      • I like originality in parades, art, music, writing and so many areas of life. Micah did look cute as a Hulk so I felt not a bad choice and prevented tears in his eyes, too. (Not “a year was coming.”) Ha ha! A letter mistake sure changes the meaning, Marissa. Glad to hear that daughter noticed another year of Elsa ( despite not finding it original it is thrifty!) I was not always able to convince my kids of priority of saving money. Hippies hobos, old ladies, and gypsies were always my “back up plans.” πŸ™‚

  5. You are fortunate to see that picturesque moon on these cold October nights. While we have yet to feel our first frost, our region of the Northwest has posted a flood watch for all of Halloween weekend, which may cut short the Trick-or-Treating plans for many of our local ghosts and goblins. -Mike

    • Oh dear, Mike! Maybe everyone can wear rain coats and be cast members from, “Singing in the Rain?” πŸ˜‰
      I was hoping more people had been able to see this large, looming luminescent moon, Mike! It was simply gorgeous and not even considered a “Super Moon,” either. πŸ™‚

    • Your second or third graders could possibly sing, (my littlest grandies sing just not 2 month old) “Let It Go ” from “Frozen.” There are two sisters, Anna is red haired and Elsa is blonde. It is a cute animated film which really is popular up until age 9, I think. The older girls like policewoman or super heroines. I used to like being a black cat, gypsy or ballet dancer/princess. As an adult, I was a firewoman and French maid. Silly, since there are many who suit these particular styles, if you know what I mean, Lana. πŸ˜‰

      • Yeah, I have heard the Frozen lingo and seen the backpacks and accessories. I always liked being a Flapper. Last year I was Stevie NIcks, but my long, blonde wig kept sliding to one side making me look like I had a Klingon forehead. I also got my version of a “70s” hipp-ish dress that really just wasn’t the one which prompted my husband to call me “Polygamy Compound Stevie Nicks,” lol.

      • Oh boy! I guess I didn’t need to explain Elsa. Oops, hope this didn’t sound too silly. I am smiling at the image of your Flapper costume and your compound hippie Stevie Nicks,Lana. πŸ™‚

  6. Wonderful photographs on this and the last posts, Robin. You have really got the sense of the season with these clever and entertaining poems. We will be heading out on our own photographic safari later but I never manage to capture the moon, so I applaud your skill!

    • This was a little challenging not to allow the campus lights to interfere too much, Beth. You are extremely professional and skilled do I believe you could take this large sized moon’s photographs. πŸ™‚ Thank you for the really kind compliment. πŸ™‚

    • This was a sincerely special comment, Dan. It is getting a little too addictive, taking pictures with cell phone and also, writing words that hold some sense of fun. I like to write and need to always catch up on reading both blogs and my book club books. πŸ™‚

      • Most people look up and don’t even really see the moon, let alone the beauty around it. You look up, see a beautiful scene and take the time to share it and your impressions. That’s what’s special Robin. Keep it up.

    • Thank you, Natalie. I have enjoyed these posts with photographs. Have you tasted caramel flavored candy corn? I really like this treat. Hope you have a wonderful weekend, Natalie. β™‘

      • You may find after Halloween, Brach’s caramel flavored candy corn orange yellow snd white on sale. Those triangular candies are delicious and no kernels stuck between your teeth, dear Natalie:) I also love popcorn any flavor like cheddar, caramel or butter. Yummy!

  7. That building with it’s brickwork and the white moon, certainly brings your words to life.
    A night when Spirits of the night are free to roam in trick or treat pursuit.
    Enjoyed that post.

Leave a Reply

